Big Fella 37

Rookie
Jul 25, 2005
Albury Wodonga
kangaroos
News, Reviews, up and coming talent? etc....

Boe Dowler makes a return to footy this weekend if im not mistaken, should be interesting to see how he goes.

Cheers

Win Your Taps Kids

Big Fella 37 said:
News, Reviews, up and coming talent? etc....

Boe Dowler makes a return to footy this weekend if im not mistaken, should be interesting to see how he goes.

Cheers

Win Your Taps Kids

What a s hit thread.....Seriously if blokes are playing resis footy they are wasting there time! :eek:
Go and play local footy in GVFL or Eastern if they want to play good footy,
It's common knowledge blokes only play 2's to get the shorts and the bag! :eek:

EDFL MAN said:
What a s hit thread.....Seriously if blokes are playing resis footy they are wasting there time! :eek:

Goose

EDFL MAN said:

You can't bag young blokes that are trying to play their best footy. If they are not getting a look in after 2-3 yrs then I reckon they would enjoy playing local footy more.
Does that mean that blokes that are playing EDFL seconds should go to divvy 2 or 3 or a lesser league to play seniors?

journeyman said:
You can't bag young blokes that are trying to play their best footy. If they are not getting a look in after 2-3 yrs then I reckon they would enjoy playing local footy more.
Does that mean that blokes that are playing EDFL seconds should go to divvy 2 or 3 or a lesser league to play seniors?

it's not even worth replying back to that c o c k head edfl man mate coz his knowledge on football is relatively non-existant. he is one of those s h i t trucks that was pathetic at footy and now thinks he know's what he's talking about. he's a complete waste of space on this earth

Kick_it_2_me said:
it's not even worth replying back to that c o c k head edfl man mate coz his knowledge on football is relatively non-existant. he is one of those s h i t trucks that was pathetic at footy and now thinks he know's what he's talking about. he's a complete waste of space on this earth

Yep you got me kick it 2 me, l cut the oranges for the boys on saturday and clean the rooms up after the game! :eek:

Oh Furious One said:
Explain this topic.

It's simple furious one, there are many blokes out there that waste there time playing vfl resis footy. My opinion is do not waste your time, unless you are a listed player on an AFL list or a rookie you do not have a chance! Port Melbourne showed great courage last year and rewarded the players by picking the best 22 each week no matter who they were and if they were listed by the Roos, but look where they are now...stand alone, a huge fall out down there!

Yes l agree with players going and doing a pre season at a vfl club and then going back and playing footy with there mates and in return getting some good coin. More to the point if your dream is to get drafted, move interstate and play in SANFL, you have more chance getting picked up in that system in my opinion. :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

As for the shorts and bag......some blokes just like getting them so they go back to there local club and wear them......:p

Any VFL seconds team would flog any local football side EDFL Man. Better standard of football on better grounds and better coaching. Also have supporters who know what they are talking about. That is why young men give it a crack. to make better footballers of themselves.

What an arrogant attitude towards the VFL some of you have.

Blokes can play suburban and country footy until they are fat, slow, 35 year olds so there is nothing wrong with young guys who are 18-22 testing themselves out in a competition where AFL listed footballers compete as well. And even if it is only reserves footy, I'd say many of these guys would learn a hell of a lot in their time involved at a VFL club.

I sympathise that after two or three years most guys pack up and start playing for the cash thrown about by suburban/country clubs, but the fact so many of these clubs head straight to VFL clubs with the open cheque book is a clear acknowledgement of the standard of the competition.

As for EDFL man, the SANFL providing more mature aged AFL recruits is incorrect. And given the extreme difference in cash available to VFL clubs against SANFL clubs to buy talent, plus all the extra opportunities to get a senior game as you noted, the VFL strike rate is terrific.

Out of the VFL Michael Rix, Tim O'Keefe, Ben McGlynn, Cam Howat, Adrian Bonnaddio, Lachlan McKinnon, Danny Hughes and Djaren Whyman went to AFL clubs in last years National and Rookie drafts. And not all of them went through the season in the VFL seniors either. I could go on with the likes of Chris Bryan, Ben Hudson, Adrian Deluca, Sam Mitchell...but you should get my drift by now.

The only thing that destroys the VFL reserves competition are the three or four clubs who don't have the ability to compete with the clubs who have better resources.

As for the VFL reserve competition this year, will anyone get near Williamstown? For the first time in a while Port Melbourne will struggle to do much, and its nice to see Frankston and Casey winning a few games after having a couple of dry seasons towards the bottom of the table.

EDFL MAN said:
It's simple furious one, there are many blokes out there that waste there time playing vfl resis footy. My opinion is do not waste your time, unless you are a listed player on an AFL list or a rookie you do not have a chance! Port Melbourne showed great courage last year and rewarded the players by picking the best 22 each week no matter who they were and if they were listed by the Roos, but look where they are now...stand alone, a huge fall out down there!

You really have no idea EDFL man:rolleyes:

Aaron Davey was running around for Port Melbourne twos for the majority of the season before Melbourne picked him up on their rookie list.

You sound like some tosser who went alright in the under 11's cause you were 6" taller than everyone but ended up being a useless backpocket flog who pumps himself up to anyone bored enough to listen....

Junkie said:
You really have no idea EDFL man:rolleyes:

Aaron Davey was running around for Port Melbourne twos for the majority of the season before Melbourne picked him up on their rookie list.

You sound like some tosser who went alright in the under 11's cause you were 6" taller than everyone but ended up being a useless backpocket flog who pumps himself up to anyone bored enough to listen....

Yep you got me Junkie, but l have cut oranges all my footy career even in the under 12's! :eek:

Lets remember this site is about opinions, did you forget that Junkie... if so go back and shoot up SON!

footyman said:
What an arrogant attitude towards the VFL some of you have.

Blokes can play suburban and country footy until they are fat, slow, 35 year olds so there is nothing wrong with young guys who are 18-22 testing themselves out in a competition where AFL listed footballers compete as well. And even if it is only reserves footy, I'd say many of these guys would learn a hell of a lot in their time involved at a VFL club.

I sympathise that after two or three years most guys pack up and start playing for the cash thrown about by suburban/country clubs, but the fact so many of these clubs head straight to VFL clubs with the open cheque book is a clear acknowledgement of the standard of the competition.

As for EDFL man, the SANFL providing more mature aged AFL recruits is incorrect. And given the extreme difference in cash available to VFL clubs against SANFL clubs to buy talent, plus all the extra opportunities to get a senior game as you noted, the VFL strike rate is terrific.

Out of the VFL Michael Rix, Tim O'Keefe, Ben McGlynn, Cam Howat, Adrian Bonnaddio, Lachlan McKinnon, Danny Hughes and Djaren Whyman went to AFL clubs in last years National and Rookie drafts. And not all of them went through the season in the VFL seniors either. I could go on with the likes of Chris Bryan, Ben Hudson, Adrian Deluca, Sam Mitchell...but you should get my drift by now.

The only thing that destroys the VFL reserves competition are the three or four clubs who don't have the ability to compete with the clubs who have better resources.

As for the VFL reserve competition this year, will anyone get near Williamstown? For the first time in a while Port Melbourne will struggle to do much, and its nice to see Frankston and Casey winning a few games after having a couple of dry seasons towards the bottom of the table.

Some great points there footyman! :thumbsu:

So out of about 400 players in the VFL footyman how many are drafted a year?

EDFL MAN said:
Some great points there footyman! :thumbsu:

So out of about 400 players in the VFL footyman how many are drafted a year?

There are not 400 VFL listed players you cretin.

VFL seconds