2 Andrew McLeod
1 Tyson Stenglein

Best Team Man

3 Wayne Carey
2 Roo
1 Nathan Bassett

Rookie

-

A great win for the boys - a pleasure to watch :) :) :)

k
xx

Many many good players for the Crows today.

Good games from Bassett, Massie, Edwards, McGregor, Ladhams, Hart, Ricciuto, Biglands and Stenglein without cracking the votes for best players.

Best on Ground

5 - Brett Burton (Comfortably best player with his non stop run and much better use of the ball)
4 - Graham Johncock (Versatile isn't he, going forward and getting 5 big ones on a day when they were hard to get)
3 - McLeod (Quieter second half but the display from the magician in the first half set up the win)
2 - Robert Shirley (Repaid the faith of the selectors by cutting Camporeale out of the game when he went on him for the last 3 quarters and got 22 possessions himself)
1 - Wayne Carey (Showed his class in the wet after many weeks off and set up 4 goals)

Best Team Man

3 - Nathan Bassett (Never beaten all day - held the backlines together)
2 - Rhett Biglands (Thrashed Allen in the ruck)
1 - Tyson Stenglein (Kept Kouta to a very ordinary game as we knew he would, didn't we Stiffy :D)

Rookie

None

BOG
5. Johnc.ock
4. Massie
3. Stenglein
2. Shirley
1. Hart

BTM
3. Massie
2. McLeod
1. Stengein

ROTY
None.

Mention to Burton, although Burton will never feature in my best players as, to me, his personality tarnishers any of his actions...on and off the field.

BOG

5: Brett Burton - Was all over the ground. Air Burton is back in the skies too)
4: Graham Johntodger - Superstar in the making... can you feel it!
3: Andrew McLeod - He is the classiest footballer in Australia. On a wet, greasy day when even the likes of Matthew Lappin & Nigel Smart were struggling to stay on their feet, Macca was a class above below his knees.
2: Mark Ricciuto - What is it about Carlton he loathes? Another sublime game from Captain Roodog of the HMAS Crow. Recovered from a nasty poke in the eye to punish the boys from Brunswick again.
1: Wayne Carey - He's a weapon. Plain and simple.

Best Team Man

3: Wayne Carey - How many hardball gets and assists did he end up with???!!! And had the Carlton defenders sh1tting themselves. He is a behemoth.
2: Rhett Biglands - Made Allan, who was coming off a very good game against Richmond, look stupid.
1: Tyson Stenglein - Very good defensive game from Stinger.

Rookie

N/A

If there's any light at the end of the Carlton tunnel it's coming from our changerooms. I feel like all my Krismassies have come at once. :D

B o G

5 = B Burton, best game for 2 years
4 = A Mcleod, broke the game open in the 2nd 1/4 & hardly missed a beat,
3 = G Johnc*#k, 5 goals in those conditions !!! & put in all day,
2 = B Hart, led a tight defense & provided plenty of run from defense
1 = R Shirley, quietened Campo & picked up a heap of possessions himself,

unlucky to miss out on votes where Bassett, Smart, McGregor, Ladhams & Massie

BTM
3 = W Carey, a great return & played the team game
2 = R Biglands, rucked for most of the game & gave M Allen a real touch up
1 = T Stenglein, Kouta who ???

rookie
-

who goes out when Stevens, Bode & Goodwin ( although be a while for Goody) come back ???

gonna be a real headache for the selectors in the next few weeks provided we don't suffer any more injuries,

POTY

5- Brett Burton
4- Andrew McLeod
3- Graham Johncôck
2- Kris Massie
1- Ken McGregor

TTM

3- King Carey
2- Brett Burton
1- Tyson Stenglein

Rookie

-

Originally posted by noddy

who goes out when Stevens, Bode & Goodwin ( although be a while for Goody) come back ???

gonna be a real headache for the selectors in the next few weeks provided we don't suffer any more injuries,
And Begley, and Doughty.

I reckon this week based on performances it should be
OUT : Welsh, Gallager
IN: Bode, Begley.

I think stevens is still a couple of games away.

BOG
5-Graham John****
4-Brett Burton
3-Andrew McLeod
2-Robert Shirley
1-Ben Hart

TTM
3- Rhett Biglands
2-Ken McGregor
1- Kris Massie

BOG
5. Burton
4. McLeod
3. Massie
2. John****
1. Carey

BTM
3. Shirley
2. Massie
1. Ricciuto

ROTY
Pass

Honourable mentions must go to Ladhams Hart and Edwards who just missed out on my votes this week.

Tough team game which we had to win.
Well Done Crows

This is probably the hardest game to award votes simply because most of the players could consider themselves unlucky for not getting votes

Best on Ground

5 - Brett Burton (He had an absolute blinder in the wet. Got sh*tloads of kicks and used the ball well. Arguably his best game. You don't often walk away with 30 kicks especially on a day like today)
4 - Graham Johncock (2 weeks in a row where he has been sensational. Last year he was more of an impact forward where as this year he can be lively a whole game as a forward. Top game)
3 - McLeod (How good was he in the 1st half?????? Quiter in the second but his ball handling skills in the wet were superb. He opened up the floodgates with 2 quick goals)
2 - Robert Shirley (Justified his selection by playing a VERY good game. Kept Camporeale out of the game after Edwards couldn't do the job. Top Effort)
1 - Ben Hart (He was great today especially in the 3rd quarter. He saved a couple of crutial goals and he really used the ball well)

My best man votes are really the players that didn't get into top 5.

Best Team Man

3 - Wayne Carey (Very unlucky not to get the votes for BOG but his 1st half was vintage Carey. I reckon he would have set up 4-5 goals today. His tap ons to his team mates were all class. Moved well but ran out of legs in the end.)
2 - Tyson Stenglein (God that humble pie tastes great :). Did sensational job on Kouta. Great Effort :D)
1 - Kris Massie (His desperation was 1st class. Whether it was getting the hard ball, tackling or throwing himself at the ball at every cost. His last month has been great and he is going to be one hell of a player for us for years to come :) )

Honourable Mentions: McGregor, Bassett, Ladhams, Biglands and Torney were all very good today and a few of them were very unlucky not to get votes. BTW, did anybody feel like strangling Tyson Edwards in the first 10-15 minutes?????? :mad: :(

Only one change for me this week. IN: Bode, OUT: Gallagher;)

Originally posted by noddy

What a problem to have. Whilst he did well today, Shirley for Bode, Gallagher for Goodwin and not sure for Stevens. Still at least its great to be in that position.

Three on the trot at Optus Oval and another valuable away win. That leaves only three more, both WA sides and Collingwood.

BOG

5 Burton- Was everywhere
4 John****- 5 very valuable goals
3 Shirley- Was born to play on days like today.
2 McLeod- 1st half was special, cruised around in 1st gear on the way home.....no point extending yourself Macca.
1 Massie- Wonderful sweeping job, thankyou Carlton.

BTM

3 Carey- Had a profound influence on the game. (Personal highlight was the first touch, the opposition ran hard at him, trying to be the tough guys, they bounced off like dummies and he handballed to Ladhams who goaled)
2 Stenglein- Tough in the clinches.
1 Bassett- Solid all day, read the play well.

Rookie

-

Agree that barring no training injuries, and at this early stage in the week, just the one change for Richmond, Bode in for Gallagher.

Originally posted by dyertribe
If there's any light at the end of the Carlton tunnel it's coming from our changerooms. I feel like all my Krismassies have come at once. :D
LOL:D

Fair dinkum how good has that trade been for us. Carlton could DEFINETLY do with a Kris Massie.

BTW, "I can't play for sh*t" Franchina has got to be one of the "dirtiest" taggers around. :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

A classic game today didnt care it was ****ing with rain,I love winning at Optus and and watching all those soft **** Carlton supporters walking out 10 mins into the last quarter:D

Carey was sensational today and was alot more commited to getting the 'hard' footy he put his body on the line,he will prove his worth,hopefully he will be cherryripe come the month of September:D

Burton was also a great contributer all day ran hard created alot of opportunities for his fellow team mates:D

Graham John**** was sensational infront of goal how good were his first two goals;)

Very impressive four quarter effort today and if we keep injury free and get a regular side on the park we will be a very feared force come September;)

Carn You Mighty Crows two games at home that need to be won to consolidate our place in the top four!!!!!

If these is one aspect of the game where the question has to be asked its our goal kicking in 4th Quarter. I think we kicked something like 2.6 or 2.8. I would love us to actually finish off the games a bit better but todays game was one hard slog that I thoroughly enjoyed. 2 good games of wet weather footy in 2 days. i must be in hevean:D

BOG

5. McLeod (Fantastic first half, was a ball magnet, brilliant disposal, superb finishing. Faded in the second half, but he'd already won the game for us by that stage.)
4. Burton (Absolutely everywhere, down back, in the middle, up forward, used the ball well too. That's two good games in a row which should keep some of the critics on this board silent for a while. :p)
3. Hart (Made some costly mistakes early and I had him down in my mental "won't get votes" list. But by three quarter time he'd more than redeemed himself with his excellent mopping up in defence with Carlton often bombing the ball in long.)
2. Johncock (Can't leave out a guy who kicked 5 goal. Did he really kick that many? I can only recall about 3. Very likely up forward.)
1. Stenglein (Could throw a blanket over some of the rest, but I thought Stinger was good in the first half when the game was there to be won.)

BTM

3. Carey (Provided a focal point at CHF, set up so many of our goals.)
2. Massie (He's starting to remind me of Torney, does the hard tough things.)
1. Stenglein (I don't recall Kouta having much of an impact.)

What is this about Burton's personality?

And oh what might have been - 13.14 ?????????????

We would have had the best % in the comp but what is good to see is we played well in that weather. Now I only help the VCR works and sets the tape at 1.30am so I can watch it tomorrow......

A great win in atrocious conditions. Well done Crows!!

BOG
5 John****
4 McLeod
3 Burton
2 Ricciuto
1 Massie

TTM
3 John****
2 Bassett
1 Carey

5. McLeod - Hanging out for the replay so I can see THOSE two goals again.Well it's not like you can see them on the 'big' screen at Optus.
4. Burton - All over the place like a mad woman's custard.
3. John(o(k - Our future captain;) was sensational. The five goals were the icing on the cake and his greeting to the Carlton Cheer Squad.
2.Bassett - Good solid game in defence.Never stopped.
1.Massie - Enjoyed his homecoming. Not brilliant but hard. Probably the hardest gutsiest game he's played for us.

BTM

3. Carey - No goals but who cares created a strong presence up forward.
2. Massie - See above
1. The rest of the team! Whilst some of the team didn't necessarily play brilliantly not one of the players out there today in the tri-colours took a backward step. Every single one out there gave there 100% in shirthouse conditions. I was very proud of them ALL today!

BOG

5... Brett Burton - had the ball on a string today and disposed quite well considering the conditions
4... Graham Johnc ock - 5 goals- would have got BOG if he had of disposed a bit better can sometimes kick the ball too high in the air.
3... Andy McLeod - skill, skill, skill!!
2... Robert Shirley - a "Bode- like game" in and under and did well to control Camporeale
1... Kenny McGregor- he is turning into a very good centre half back for us, solid all day

BTM

3... Wayne Carey- Did the team thing and created goals for his team mates
2... Rhett Biglands- Contested hard all day
1... Kris Massie- One massive win for the Crows in the trading stakes:D