Wacko Mark Jacko Jackson

Royal Flush

I couldn't believe my ears this morning listing to ABC Brisbane talk back AM radio.
The topic was Nick DArcy's expulsion from the swimming squad-Is it harsh or not?

Wacko Jacko calls up identifies himself as an ex VFL/AFL champion (not sure if he played any official AFL games) and agrees the elite athletes should be dealt with harshly if they play up. Then he goes on and says he was an instigator years ago with an elite player that was charged of a criminal nature and convicted and then went on to coach at an elite level a few premierships. He then names the coach-obviously Leigh Mathews and says there is one rule for top league players and another for those in the elite club. Jackos opinions were that Mathews should have been basically excommunicated as a player (after his conviction, much like DArcy)to allow an opportunity for the thousands of others wanting to break in and that it was unfair that he was allowed to continue in his AFL career as a coach.

Sour grapes I think.

Nah - his opinion is sound enough, even if you or I don't agree with it.

In a nutshell he was saying that people, whether they are footballers or swimmers, will have their indescretions overlooked if they are a highly valued asset. Like Cousins at West Coast or Didak at Collingwood.

The AFL took action against Matthews(albeit belatedly) and degregistered him as a player. You have to remember that back then, there was no trial by video(the matthews/bruns incident started it)and the umpires didn't see anything, which is why the AFL had to take action. The police charged Matthews and he went to court(which he subsequently appealed and won) and was initially recorded with a criminal conviction.

So for Jacko to say that nothing happened to Matthews is rubbish. I have to say that it is a bit rich for Jacko to bring up that game of all games, given that he whacked guys right, left and centre in that match. He was reported and suspended in that game for many weeks, and started many of the fights.

Jacko, is also comparing apples with oranges. Matthews incident was an onfield one. D'arcy's was off field. D'arcy is in a sport with major events that don't come around regularly. That is tough luck for him if he misses an olympics or a world championship. He shouldn't have got intoxicated and smashed the guys face in, if he badly wanted to compete in these championships. I can't understand why the media are portraying him as the victim here.

Mark Jackson was one of the most entertaining blokes to ever step onto a footy field. He was also a very good footballer who kicked hundreds of goals during his illustrious VFL career.

And Jacko is still one of the funniest buggers on the planet. So whatever he says is OK by me. As he sang in his chart-topping single, "I'm an INDI-BLOODY-VIDUAL - you can't fool me."

Jacko's also crazy - like a fox. I love him.

Imagine (if you can ahaha) Ian Thorpe at the height of his swimming powers snotting Daniel Kowalski on a boozy night out not long before a huge meet. Would they expel him from the team?

Mark Jackson was one of the most entertaining blokes to ever step onto a footy field. He was also a very good footballer who kicked hundreds of goals during his illustrious VFL career.

Funniest and most unpredictable guy ever to walk onto a footy field:thumbsu: You never knew what the f&%$ he was capable of doing!

Still remember how people used to get up from their seats and move to the other end of the ground during the breaks to be up the "Jacko end":D

Its funny thinking of how the media would have handled Jacko if he was playing today. The media went into overdrive back then over Jacko and that was over 20 years ago. Imagine it today.

How many weeks suspension would Jacko have got for these incidents in todays era(either by the AFL or his club)?

Urinating on Trevor Barker in the showers after many matches

Putting lit cigarettes into the back pockets of club sponsors

Hitting Rob Flower four or five times in a practice match because he had outmarked him, starting a massive intra club brawl

Throwing a large brick at the assistant coach

Putting his false teeth into the presidents bowl of soup at a club function

Doing handstands in the middle of a game

Throwing full cans of beer full pelt at the crowd when they were thrown at him.

Calling Maurice Rioli a black so and so, just before every training session.

Jacko was certainly entertaining, if nothing else.

Funniest and most unpredictable guy ever to walk onto a footy field:thumbsu: You never knew what the f&%$ he was capable of doing!

Still remember how people used to get up from their seats and move to the other end of the ground during the breaks to be up the "Jacko end":D

He was always good for an extra 5k crowd at AFL level .
When he dropped to some unknown team/league they still got 5k .

And Jacko is still one of the funniest buggers on the planet. So whatever he says is OK by me. As he sang in his chart-topping single, "I'm an INDI-BLOODY-VIDUAL - you can't fool me."

Jacko's also crazy - like a fox. I love him.

Dumb like a fox? Definitely in the top 3 autobiographies i've ever read!

Jacko finished in '86. AFL started in '90. So technically he never played an AFL game.
That doesnt matter, players who only played during the VFL days, are still considered ex AFL footballers.. Its just a name, the league standard didnt change overnight just because it was renamed AFL.

Jacko still holds a unique record for goals in consecutive matches.

From Wiki: He holds the record for the most consecutive games from debut with at least one goal, with 79 games.

That doesnt matter, players who only played during the VFL days, are still considered ex AFL footballers.. Its just a name, the league standard didnt change overnight just because it was renamed AFL.
By who?

The OP was technically correct and even if he wasn't it didn't warrant that response from HFC082

So for Jacko to say that nothing happened to Matthews is rubbish. I have to say that it is a bit rich for Jacko to bring up that game of all games, given that he whacked guys right, left and centre in that match. He was reported and suspended in that game for many weeks, and started many of the fights.

You've certainly got this right. Jackson was waltzing around belting everyone, for no apparent reason. Matthews was quoted as saying he thought it was open slather to smash anyone, that it was a 'no rules' game. He saw Bruns run past and thought, "I've never liked him", and belted him.

Jackson is, and always was, an imbecile, nevertheless he was a great footballer. Totally unworthy of admiration for anything but his football prowess though. Even his teammates hated his guts.

You've certainly got this right. Jackson was waltzing around belting everyone, for no apparent reason. Matthews was quoted as saying he thought it was open slather to smash anyone, that it was a 'no rules' game. He saw Bruns run past and thought, "I've never liked him", and belted him.

Jackson is, and always was, an imbecile, nevertheless he was a great footballer. Totally unworthy of admiration for anything but his football prowess though. Even his teammates hated his guts.
A friend of mine who had just come out from Ireland, ended up working with jacko doing an apprenticeship for roof tiling. He said he thought they were mad in Ireland, but Jacko was absolutely a genuine nutter.

As some of us can recall those hand stands he did in front of kelvin Moore one day. All because Moore had just said to him that: as long as your dick points down, you'll never be a footballer.

Called From crowd:
Jacko ya big ****ing girl!!

Jacko, unleashing two aggarts: What are these then?

i remember when he came back to play for south and Mal Brown was coaching.

won the first 3 in a canter and never one a game for the rest of the year :o

He drove Mal nuts :D

I've got a video from a game in the early 80s of Jacko (when with Geelong) playing against Fitzroy, at the Junction Oval. On the soundtrack, it is easy to hear my mate who stood next to me say, "**** off Jackson", as he bounced through one of those flukey goals out of his bum, from 40 metres out, over his shoulder (if that's in any way possible). This was one of the advantages of standing almost underneath the commentators' scaffolding.

Nah - his opinion is sound enough, even if you or I don't agree with it.

In a nutshell he was saying that people, whether they are footballers or swimmers, will have their indescretions overlooked if they are a highly valued asset. Like Cousins at West Coast or Didak at Collingwood.

and ablett and johnson, but couldnt agree with you more jimboy, it also filters throughout all celebrity status be it actors pollies judges but simple people like us dont get it , why? is it because we put these people on a pedastool that we believe they are idols in our eyes?

Wacko Jacko calls up identifies himself as an ex VFL/AFL champion (not sure if he played any official AFL games)

April 5 1986 was his last game.

and agrees the elite athletes should be dealt with harshly if they play up. Then he goes on and says he was an instigator years ago with an elite player that was charged of a criminal nature and convicted and then went on to coach at an elite level a few premierships. He then names the coach-obviously Leigh Mathews and says there is one rule for top league players and another for those in the elite club. Jackos opinions were that Mathews should have been basically excommunicated as a player (after his conviction, much like DArcy)to allow an opportunity for the thousands of others wanting to break in and that it was unfair that he was allowed to continue in his AFL career as a coach.

Sour grapes I think.

A little late for this sort of thing, isn't it?

On a side note, I met Jacko many years ago. He was really a top bloke. Nothing like what he is in the media.

I'll go along with that, but I still had no time for him a a footballer. I have no time for players who put self promotion ahead of team success. Jacko really didn't care what the scoreboard read, if the chance presented itself to act like an idiot, he took it.

In an era when players didn't swap clubs all that often, he had more clubs than a deck of cards.