WAFL 2016 - Finals

Oliver G

Premium Platinum
May 14, 2009
Here is the schedule for week one of the WAFL finals...

3/9/16
QF - South Fremantle vs. West Perth - 2:10PM (Fremantle Oval)

4/9/16
EF - Peel Thunder vs. East Perth - 3:10PM (Rushton Park)

Subiaco have taken out the minor premiership for the second year running and get the week off. They will be looking for a third straight premiership and fourteenth overall. They have one three in a row once before (2006-2008).

Subiaco will play the winner of the QF on Saturday 11th September for a spot in the GF.

http://australianfootball.com/seasons/season/WAFL/129/premiership+season/10/10/2016

The disgrace is pretty much complete. Peel are in the Grand Final.

Looking at it through a level head, why is it a disgrace Peel being in the Grand Final ?.

Been the laughing stock of the WAFL for nearly 20 years.

Teams happily took the 4 points when they were thumping them by 100 points.

Some seasons the AFL teams have struggled to provide many players to their alignment teams due to injuries. As such, at times Peel and East Perth have been sitting ducks.

No one complained last season when Peel were knocked out of the finals, due to Freo still being involved in finals.

Footy has swings & roundabouts. Peel have been down in the grubby bit of the cycle for many seasons, this year could be seen as them being in the top of their cycle. Why begrudge that ????.

Yep, I'm a dyed in the wool Black Duck supporter.

17 professional footballers in a semi-professional league...

This year should be an outlier because of how unexpectedly rubbish Freo have been. It's meant that not only the kids, but also quality WAFL players have qualified for Peel.

People were complaining about the alignment from the start, regardless of Peel's ineptness, don't pretend they haven't.

How come the Joondalup Falcons president wasn't complaining about it last year when they beat Peel in a final by 109 points?
This is an awful defence. West Perth have been anti-alignment since before it was implemented. Just because they don't bring it up every week, doesn't mean they are OK with it.

Further...

“Seventeen is far too many,” Raponi said.

“It is very difficult for 17 AFL-listed players to go up against 22 semi-professional players.

“The WAFC should absolutely be having a look at that situation. We will suggest that to them.

“Maybe there’s a better way that could even up the competition.

West Perth Football Club, along with a number of other football clubs, raised the concerns about the integrity of the competition last year.

“The WAFL chose to accept the position as it was and now we have the situation as it is.”

Will probably lose to Subiaco who have a host of ex AFL players, a season to train together and a host of experienced WAFL players who have spent years together anyway.
Don't let facts get in the way of a good story...
Greg Broughton 110 games
Kyal Horsley 14 games
Adam Cockie 7 games
Wayde Twomey 2 games
Jordan Lockyer 0 games
Hamish Shepheard 0 games

As for spending years together...what do you think 17 Dockers players do? They're also topped up with quality ex-AFL talent like Bootsma and Ugle, and have Rory O'Brien (Sandover Medalist, 4 x B&F)

Don't let facts get in the way of a good story...
Greg Broughton 110 games
Kyal Horsley 14 games
Adam Cockie 7 games
Wayde Twomey 2 games
Jordan Lockyer 0 games
Hamish Shepheard 0 games

As for spending years together...what do you think 17 Dockers players do? They're also topped up with quality ex-AFL talent like Bootsma and Ugle, and have Rory O'Brien (Sandover Medalist, 4 x B&F)
I would call that a host of AFL talent, the 17 dockers players train in separate groups one for the AFL and one for the WAFL and that changes week in week out dependant on form and injury as such, the only time they have trained with the peel players and as a solid group was during these finals series.
Lets not forget that Peel has used 57 individual players in order to qualify for the finals which would be higher then most WAFL teams this year.

17 professional footballers in a semi-professional league...

This year should be an outlier because of how unexpectedly rubbish Freo have been. It's meant that not only the kids, but also quality WAFL players have qualified for Peel.

People were complaining about the alignment from the start, regardless of Peel's ineptness, don't pretend they haven't.

You are a hard man.

Yes a lot of people were anti the alignment, for many reasons. One of the main complaints was that these two teams ( East Perth & Peel ) would dominate the competition, due to their AFL players. This has not occurred until this Peel finals series.

In essence the alignment teams have been very meh, due to blending them as a team and access to AFL players when the AFL teams have scores of injuries. In general most the AFL players in the alignment teams have been very young and still learning their craft, granted in the latest Peel team are De Boer, Clarke & Silvagni who are mid 20's, but have earnt their spot at Peel due to being squeezed out of the senior team during the season.

Give credit where credit is due, it aint as easy as some of us thought blending local kids & AFL kids into the same team. Peel are playing well and I reckon they have brought some WAFL watchers out of the woodwork during these finals.

In closing, the alignment teams have not dominated the competition and for various reasons I think that we will not see them dominating too often. All the planets are aligning at the moment for Peel, come on don't begrudge that.

Subi are a darn good team, all the best to both teams.

I don't think the winging has been as loud when the eagles aligned club has been doing well. Good on peel. They have had it hard since they were conceived 20 years ago. And if they can win a premiership I think it will a great thing for the peel area. There have been a lot of good footballers from the area. They are not a gws type expansion club. Go peel

You are a hard man.

Yes a lot of people were anti the alignment, for many reasons. One of the main complaints was that these two teams ( East Perth & Peel ) would dominate the competition, due to their AFL players. This has not occurred until this Peel finals series.

In essence the alignment teams have been very meh, due to blending them as a team and access to AFL players when the AFL teams have scores of injuries. In general most the AFL players in the alignment teams have been very young and still learning their craft, granted in the latest Peel team are De Boer, Clarke & Silvagni who are mid 20's, but have earnt their spot at Peel due to being squeezed out of the senior team during the season.

Give credit where credit is due, it aint as easy as some of us thought blending local kids & AFL kids into the same team. Peel are playing well and I reckon they have brought some WAFL watchers out of the woodwork during these finals.

In closing, the alignment teams have not dominated the competition and for various reasons I think that we will not see them dominating too often. All the planets are aligning at the moment for Peel, come on don't begrudge that.

Subi are a darn good team, all the best to both teams.
Alignment-Part Alignment Seasons for both teams below-

1999- CL-WC 5th (11-9) SF-FD 2nd (18-2)
2000- EP-WC 1st (15-3) SF-FD 7th (8-10)
2001- EP-WC 1st (14-4) SF-FD 2nd (13-5)
2002- EP-WC 1st (13-5) SF-FD 6th (9-9)
2013- EP-WC 2nd (12-8) PT-FD 9th (3-17)
2014- EP-WC 2nd (16-4) PT-FD 8th (4-16)
2015- EP-WC 3rd (11-9) PT-FD 4th (13-7)
2016- EP-WC 5th (10-10) PT-FD 1st/2nd (11-9)

A few facts are "East Perth" have never missed the finals as an alignment team.
There has been an alignment team in 7 Grand Finals of the 8 years of alignment/part alignment seasons the only year neither made the GF was in 2015 when both teams finished 3rd & 4th respectively.

If that isnt dominating I dont know what is especially when the other AFL benefited club $ubiaco is factored into the equation.

I want Peel to win for the simple fact I hate $ubi, at the end of the day Peel are taking the piss the other reason a Peel win will be good for the WAFL is that hopefully the WAFC see what a farce having that many AFL players playing off in a GF is,and set new qualifying rules for AFL players, no way should you be playing in a WAFL GF having played more AFL games in a season than WAFL games.

Why anyone that doesn't follow $ubi would want them to win again is beyond me, biggest flog club in the comp.

Kram this isn't a dig at your , more the situation as it stands.

Please don't think for a minute that I want The Poachers (otherwise know as $ubiaco ) to win, I cant stand the Club with their obsession of continually pinching players from other WAFL Clubs, more often than not the weaker WAFL Clubs.
$ubiaco's lack of commitment to WA junior football in general and young player development can be no better illustrated than by their pathetic performances in the Colts over successive years.

Sorry I digress.

However I neither want a AFL aligned team to win either.
And 17 players from Fremantle is a massive piss take and shits in the faces of the other genuine WAFL teams.

Its not an anti Fremantle thing either, as I didn't want East Perth , when aligned, to win either.

I have written to the WAFC and told them what I think of the aligned teams being able to win premierships.

As infantile and petulant as this may sound I express my displeasure by not going to the WAFL Grand Final if an aligned side plays.... the exception would be if Claremont where in the GF ;).

As a neutral, pre alignment, I generally went to all the WAFL Grand Finals.

The other thing that pisses me off, big time about Peel and East Perth, is that they did the dirty on the other WAFL Clubs and in an act of betrayal they broke ranks and did a sweetheart deal with the two WA based AFL Clubs behind the backs of the other WAFL Clubs.
Peel ( understandably ) did this to survive where as East Perth did it for purely selfish greedy reasons.

So as much as it would shit me if $ubiaco were to win this year it would be the lesser of two evils.

The current situation is farcical and is a shit stain of WAFL history.

The problem with Peel winning is the WAFC will then use that to justify the Peel debacle, err I mean experiment.
The problem with $ubi winning is they're $ubi and have had sustained success because they can afford to bring in recruits to top up all the time.
I have so little interest in the WAFL GF this year, that it surprises me, I normally at least care. ;)

Geez getting pretty heated at the 3 quarter time break.

Very - it's been willing all day

I would love nothing more than to see someone punch Suban in the face
How he even remains on freo's list is beyond me

Just disgraceful, hopefully this forces the clubs to severely alter the rules next year.

Yer, thought I didn't care but watching it, it just doesn't seem right.
I followed the royals all my life but stopped when they became the Eagles - it's just not the same

WAFL 2016 - Finals