Wallace at coburg game?

I'm with you on this IDGAF. Eade doesnt have as good PR as Wallace, but I reckon his record is streets better.

Its a moot discussion anyway. My mail is that Ayres is going to be appointed at the Hawks and Wallace is a shoo-in at Punt Rd.

If it turns out this way, we'll be behind him. Even on those occasions Frawley tried to play the tough guy, he failed.

Its a moot discussion anyway. My mail is that Ayres is going to be appointed at the Hawks and Wallace is a shoo-in at Punt Rd. Posted by " 1980 "

Easy to make this statement "1980", where is your source. Look at the beginning of this thread .The source was quoted as Wallace himself . Evidence is required otherwise your statements fall on deaf ears. Its too easy to say something here in anonomous frames.

Boys Boys Boys I don't believe some of the stuff I read on here.

John NORTHEY must have been a dirten wrotten mongrel. After all wasn't he coach when Scotty TURNER knocked out O'Donnell and cleaned up Grenvold in the 1995 Semi Final. Most like I hailed Scotty TURNER as the match winner.

Who was coach when Johhny HOWAT cleaned up Johnny BARNES. Not sure if it was NORTHEY or WALLS, but I didn't hear anyone screaming blue murder in defence of those dealt a body blow. Infact again most proclaimed it as true tiger spirit.

the incident you are referring to with Gardner involved Danny SOUTHERN, Craig ELLIS I think and one other. It wasn't Gardners first game, but was early on in his career. There wasn't much in it other than roughing him up a bit to distract him from his game. Essendon do it every week but not to many call for SHEEDYS head for rough house tactics.

You have been listening to the sanitised AFL skirt wearers too long. Remeber it is football not netball, its a mans game and if you can handle the heat as they say.

God I would much rather see a physically committed Tigers side like we used to see under Northey any day and if WALLACE is the man to bring that back to the club then bring him on, I personally beleive he is the man for the Job and as CJF says the bulldogs did play a fast running skillfull brand of football under WALLACE.

Libber was dirty little tagger who resorted to any tatics he could to keep his place. Pity a few more Tigers were not so single minded in their committment to the Yellow and Black. By the way I am not advocating Libbers tactics, just his committment to getting the job done anyway he could.

Go for Gary - 3 year deal

Costings:

Wallace: $500,000 plus. Has never been in a premier's coaching box on GF Day

Eade: $350,000 - $400,000. Has never been in a premier's coaching box on GF Day

O'Donnell - $250,000. Has been in the premier's coaches box 3 (about to be 4) times. 2 flags (or was it only 1993?), heaps and heaps of finals, captain, 13 years under Sheedy.

Seriously, I reckon it HAS to be Gary O'Donnell.

Multiply the above salaries by 2-3 and that's what it'll cost to bring us to a competitive top 6 side (2-3 years before we can be such a side).

We ain't dripping with cash. I'd rather spend the $100K saved in the guy that will be the most important person at the RFC in the next 2 years - the recruiting manager.

Wallace, Eade etc just = going for a messiah. The "experienced" coach route? No thanks, Robert Walls.

Originally posted by 1980
If it turns out this way, we'll be behind him. Even on those occasions Frawley tried to play the tough guy, he failed.

Like the time we were about level, maybe a touch in front of the Roos at 3/4 time when Spud shouted at the Roos huddle, "you're too old and too slow!" I think the Roos kicked around 10 unanswered goals in the last term???

No use really debating too much who will be appointed, it has to be better than the current situation. Anyone literate will still provide me enough hope to renew membership and be more positive about our future.

Originally posted by HerveyBayTiger
Easy to make this statement "1980", where is your source. Look at the beginning of this thread .The source was quoted as Wallace himself . Evidence is required otherwise your statements fall on deaf ears. Its too easy to say something here in anonomous frames.

HBT, thats just my opinion. It will be interesting to see if I'm right or wrong.

Ayres to Hawks, Wallace to Tigers.

Point taken IDGAF. Good constructive comments. My problem with Eade is that he left with the players and the supporters having nothing but contempt for him. With a young list this would be disasterous.

Thats the only problem i have with Eade. Comments that came from players after he left are a bit concerning.

If they could be allayed or put in perspective I could lean towards Eade a bit more but having someone like Goodes losing the passion of the game is not something a champion starved team can afford.

As for Dannys tough guy attempts.

Running out against Kangaroos yelling they are too old
We lost

Saying Carlton looked ahead of our game in the finals
Quickly retracted with apology

Every dog has its day.
We fell over the line next game but before the game Danny said he was emotional at the time and retracted it.

Telling StKilda they can stuff their Morrison apology and saying that we would apply the blowtorch
Did anyone see any heat on Saturday

If Wallace can get that on the field where it counts and the football world dont laugh at it but are wary of it then go for it.

your comment

Very interesting your point of view hervry bay tiger.
I wonder what kind of a coach we really need at tigerland?
Wallace could be the guy!

We need a coach who can inspire AND develop the skill levels of our guys to be as good as teams like the Lions.

Can we have a coach who can get our players to hit Richo on the chest like Lynch and Loyd do by there team mates?

Just a thought

Filthed this is one thing that sway me towards Wallace. He took a team of average skilled players and turned them into a skilled running unit.

Remember when all the talk was how Wallace had erred by bringing out the ball too early and that the team would suffer. Some thought it was innovative, but it sure as hell worked for the Doggies and sure as hell couldn't hurt our skills. Could it. Surely we couldn't get worse.

Saw a photo of Campbell at training kicking a round ball. No wonder our skills with the oval ball are lacking. He was dressed in full tiger gear so assume it wasn't at training for the Gaelic squad.

Filthred and gustiger12, it seems our illustrious club has buggered up again.

Wallace is surely gone now with the resignation of Schwab from the Hawks.

Once again our admin has procrastinated and left us with nothing.

Danny was our last choice in 1999, is an untried coach going to be our reward again in 2004.

Enough is enough.

Wallace is surely gone now with the resignation of Schwab from the Hawks.

Once again our admin has procrastinated and left us with nothing.

did he resign or was he sacked?
either way who,s to say that:
a)-we signed wallace weeks ago.
b)-wallace may have indicated to the club he,s not interested.
c)-the hawks behind the scenes had already talked to wallace.
d)-eade may be our preferred option.

for what its worth i think wallace is overated.

cheers!

Originally posted by tiger of old

cheers!

Ill say TOO.

He is the most talked about (By Tiger supporters) one year Richmond player we have had in the history of our game.

Who ever thought that he would play on the minds of Richmond supporters 17 years after that inglorious 1987 year that he had with us.

In seriousness though we have been burnt by overrated in the past.

Walls premiership coach - with that Carlton list of 1987

But I think Terry just looks such an improvement on the bloke there at the moment.

Originally posted by 1980GFVideo
But I think Terry just looks such an improvement on the bloke there at the moment.
hit the nail on the head there mate.

lets look at both eade and wallace:

Eade:
*like wallace played in a succesfull era with the hawks.
*went to north as an assistant[i presume at the begining of norths dominence]
*went to sydney and was the pioneer in the flood[good at the time].indicates to me he is a deep thinker.
*got sydney into a GF.

Wallace:
*took the bulldogs to 2 prelims.[should have been to one GF].
*a game plan of attacking football with highly skilled midfeilders[he would have to turn over just about the entire tiger playing list to achieve the same results].
*left the WB in very suspect circumstances.

what makes me doubt wallace,s ability as a coach is look at the bulldogs at the moment and where the swans are.

cheers!

what makes me doubt wallace,s ability as a coach is look at the bulldogs at the moment and where the swans are.

The Bulldogs have a good list of younger players who arent 'stepping up to the plate' under Rhode but could be winning those games under Wallace (Ouch, - stepping up to the plate- Im even talking like Danny now - He has so much to answer for).

Wallace knew he had to bite the bullet after finals performances showed that whilst they could make the finals, they werent actually going to go all the way. They had been there enough to not get excited by simply being in the finals.

People dont acknowledge our finals performance in 2001 as totally insipid as we were too excited to simply be there.

The Wallace approach would have been what we needed back then.

did he resign or was he sacked?
either way who,s to say that:
a)-we signed wallace weeks ago.
b)-wallace may have indicated to the club he,s not interested.
c)-the hawks behind the scenes had already talked to wallace.
d)-eade may be our preferred option.

cheers!

As I have said on another thread, Wallace has stated catagorically that he has not been interviewed by Richmond and Eade has stated that only his management has spoken to us. Both these candidates confirmed this tonight on Melb radio. You would have to take their word for this and if this is the case what the hell is the RFC doing.

Cheers.