Walsh Street murders

Damian and Steve were completely uninvolved, Damian only six months out of the Academy. Even that one eyed hag Kath knew it when she was asked if her clan was responsible.

''It wasn't us,'' she said. ''I hate coppers but those boys didn't do anything. Our family wouldn't do that. We were not involved.
''You don't kill two innocent coppers. If you want to get back, you would kill the copper who killed Graeme.''

She basically said what every member of the underworld and most of the public was thinking.

If it was a war, then those two were civilians.

I’d it was a war, then those two were civilians.

Definitely. The way it happened it would have been impossible for the shooters to predict who it would be arriving on the scene, and if not for a suicide it probably wouldn't have been those two officers.

Damian and Steve were completely uninvolved, Damian only six months out of the Academy. Even that one eyed hag Kath knew it when she was asked if her clan was responsible.

''It wasn't us,'' she said. ''I hate coppers but those boys didn't do anything. Our family wouldn't do that. We were not involved.
''You don't kill two innocent coppers. If you want to get back, you would kill the copper who killed Graeme.''

She basically said what every member of the underworld and most of the public was thinking.

I can't see the correlation between my quote and your response.

Aside from that, I completely agree with your sentiment. The killing of the two young cops was completely unjustified, as were the murders of Jensen, Abdallah and quite a few others.

Houghton was also murdered. His girlfriend who was present in the caravan stated that he was asleep when the cops burst in and covered her head with a blanket when they entered the van and shot Houghton 3 times with a shotgun. One chest blast from 10cm ensured that most of his vital organs were obliterated. The two S.O.G. members then refused to give evidence at the inquest on the grounds that they may incriminate themselves!!!!!!!!!! Another straight up murder.

Aside from that, I completely agree with your sentiment. The killing of the two young cops was completely unjustified, as were the murders of Jensen, Abdallah and quite a few others.

Houghton was also murdered. His girlfriend who was present in the caravan stated that he was asleep when the cops burst in and covered her head with a blanket when they entered the van and shot Houghton 3 times with a shotgun. One chest blast from 10cm ensured that most of his vital organs were obliterated. The two S.O.G. members then refused to give evidence at the inquest on the grounds that they may incriminate themselves!!!!!!!!!! Another straight up murder.

Houghton killed Eyre and Tynan, was on the run from police for those murders, and (understandably) had a stash of guns on him when found and killed.

I doubt you’ll find much sympathy for him or any others that were at Walsh St.

Houghton killed Eyre and Tynan, was on the run from police for those murders, and (understandably) had a stash of guns on him when found and killed.

I doubt you’ll find much sympathy for him or any others that were at Walsh St.

If you know this as fact then I suggest you make your way down to StKilda Rd and ask to speak to a detective.

And if you know as fact Jensen, Abdallah and Houghton were murdered you should do the same.

Weak answer. Houghton was part of the Walsh St hit squad. His demise was of his own making and you won’t find much sympathy for him.

Some of the statements here are ridiculous. I agree totally with snake here. All he is saying that many innocent people were murdered here.
Your occupation nor background shouldn’t make you MORE IMPORTANT than others. Going on the logic of some here we should probably find out which of the two cops shot had less detentions at school. Whoever had less than their death was surely more important

Why are the murders of Tynan and Eyre any more important than the murders of Jensen and Abdallah?

I am highlighting the massive double standards in public opinion.

Exactly!!!! Because one party had a different job or background. None deserved to die the way they did

And if you know as fact Jensen, Abdallah and Houghton were murdered you should do the same.

Weak answer. Houghton was part of the Walsh St hit squad. His demise was of his own making and you won’t find much sympathy for him.

Okay, so you have no issues with cops behaving as judge, jury and literally executioners?

Do you also support the death penalty?

Okay, so you have no issues with cops behaving as judge, jury and literally executioners?

Do you also support the death penalty?

Stupid question. Of course Houghton’s death was far from the ideal outcome.

It’s possible to think that without having any sympathy for him. He was heavily armed and on the run after murdering two police officers. His demise was predictable and I doubt many lost much sleep over it. I doubt you’ll have much luck trying to convince anybody his death can be equated with that of Tynan and Eyre, or even Jensen.

Jensen was also killed by police. On the other hand I have far more sympathy for him.

I was responding to your comment about public opinion that you see as skewed in favor of Eyre and Tynan. When Damian and Steve were killed, it was seen as an attack on an innocent community. I chose to quote Kath Pettingill over many others because even she read the situation and how their murders would be perceived. Damian and Steve weren't "involved" in the war going on between the Armed Robbery Squad and that crew. The other casualties were heavily involved.

The broadest corruption inquiry Victoria's ever seen was raised out of these events, the Armed Robbery Squad disbanded in disgrace the public wasn't sorry to see them go, eight charged with murder, one went to trial and was acquitted and their Snr Sgt killed himself.

The public can't be blamed for identifying more closely to Damian and Steve. imo.

All he is saying that many innocent people were murdered here.
Your occupation nor background shouldn’t make you MORE IMPORTANT than others.

In the eyes of the law they're not.

It took nearly two weeks for the cops to raise a taskforce after Walsh Street, with insistence well documented that their murders be treated the same as anybody else. The taskforce that was part of the machinery driving future inquiries not limited to Damian and Steve's murders.

When Damian and Steve were killed, it was seen as an attack on an innocent community.

This is a bizarre way to look at the world.

I saw it as an attack on two young cops.

This is a bizarre way to look at the world.

I saw it as an attack on two young cops.

Both. First on the scene were residents, wild shots hit the walls of the surrounding flats when people were just starting to get up and shuffle around.

Found this podcast today with Meshel Laurie on The Pettingill's - A family born of crime. It covers Walsh Street but opens with radio when an offended Wendy Peirce rang Derryn Hinch to have a go. ha ha Classic. Just in case anybody is under the illusion Wendy has any redeeming qualities.

https://player.whooshkaa.com/episode?id=106760

They actually took him up to Mansfield which was the epicentre of police corruption brutality and cover ups at the time.
Jenny Tanner had been murdered by a phantom serving Victorian Policeman she was having an affair with (Not her fall -guy brother in law by the way) and Adele Bailey had been kicked to death at a drunken party at the Police water boat club in Maintongoon rd Bonnie Doon in the preceding couple of years.
Both of these then as yet/ undiscovered crimes had been ignored by police, doctors and the local newspaper.
What better place for the bloodthirsty thug Noonan to take a teenage boy up to,and then take him out for a night of spotlight" kangaroo shooting " to frighten the shit out of the kid that he might be the next to get a bullet there and then if he didn't cough up a story.
No wonder the subsequent prosecution turned out to be the biggest stuff up since Mons.

They actually took him up to Mansfield which was the epicentre of police corruption brutality and cover ups at the time.
Jenny Tanner had been murdered by a phantom serving Victorian Policeman she was having an affair with (Not her fall -guy brother in law by the way) and Adele Bailey had been kicked to death at a drunken party at the Police water boat club in Maintongoon rd Bonnie Doon in the preceding couple of years.
Both of these then as yet/ undiscovered crimes had been ignored by police, doctors and the local newspaper.
What better place for the bloodthirsty thug Noonan to take a teenage boy up to,and then take him out for a night of spotlight" kangaroo shooting " to frighten the shit out of the kid that he might be the next to get a bullet there and then if he didn't cough up a story.
No wonder the subsequent prosecution turned out to be the biggest stuff up since Mons.

Dunno where you got your info from but Mansfield was never mentioned.

I was growing up in Flemington at the time, and it had a real impact. The police helicopter was out night after night spotlighting houses, cars, people, often hovering for extended periods quite low. Police raiding houses regularly, some places multiple times, doing horrific things and bashing people (sticking the barrel of a gun in the vagina of the sister of a "suspect" and threatening to pull the trigger.

Friends of mine from school and junior footy and the general area had fathers/brothers etc, who were very well known to police, and involved in those circles. The cops would pull us up and push us around and mouth off - we were 11/12 year old kids. I distinctly remember on one occasion being pulled over coming home from cricket training at JJ Holland Park and the cops telling one kid his Dad wasn't coming that night. This went on for a long time.

And then you had the police murdering people afterwards, those people had family and friends and those murders had an impact on us.

All it did was install a lifelong hatred of the Victoria Police in me.

My brother was a copper at the time in the Protective Services Group and was part of the team that had young Jason Ryan in protective custody somewhere outside of Melbourne.

They used to have a running joke with the NSW coppers.

You don't steal from us and we won't shoot you.

They didn't do a very good job did they?

sticking the barrel of a gun in the vagina of the sister of a "suspect" and threatening to pull the trigger.

Really? Kinda festy when you probably know how fussy they are about where they stick those things.

My brother was a copper at the time in the Protective Services Group and was part of the team that had young Jason Ryan in protective custody somewhere outside of Melbourne.

They used to have a running joke with the NSW coppers.

You don't steal from us and we won't shoot you.

Mate, I saw him personally in the corridor of the old City watch house.

He was also heavily rumored to be staying in a pub in North Melbourne.

They had him all over the place.

I was growing up in Flemington at the time, and it had a real impact. The police helicopter was out night after night spotlighting houses, cars, people, often hovering for extended periods quite low. Police raiding houses regularly, some places multiple times, doing horrific things and bashing people (sticking the barrel of a gun in the vagina of the sister of a "suspect" and threatening to pull the trigger.

Friends of mine from school and junior footy and the general area had fathers/brothers etc, who were very well known to police, and involved in those circles. The cops would pull us up and push us around and mouth off - we were 11/12 year old kids. I distinctly remember on one occasion being pulled over coming home from cricket training at JJ Holland Park and the cops telling one kid his Dad wasn't coming that night. This went on for a long time.

And then you had the police murdering people afterwards, those people had family and friends and those murders had an impact on us.

All it did was install a lifelong hatred of the Victoria Police in me.

They terrified a mate of mine when he was 15, and I think you have met the gent. Door kicked in at 5 am and guns pointed at kids. Classy stuff.

His mother was so terrified of the trigger happy nature of VicPol at the time that she packed him up and sent him out of the country.

This was back when they used to throw people off bridges in to the Maribyrnong.

The killing of those two boys in Walsh St was 100% wrong and a tragedy, but I reckon the killing of a policeman was inevitable. They were that far out of control.

Really? Kinda festy when you probably know how fussy they are about where they stick those things.

Really. The police brutality after Walsh Street was horrific,