Warren

• Thread starter Thread starter Midas

Honestly, for all the huffing and puffing and youth policy talk, why the hell is this kid being retained on our list.

There are surely a truckload of kids with far more ability than he has shown in his two years at the footy club that would be worth a shot at our footy club, particularly as he doesn't seem to have the potential to fill any void we have - ie midfield, defence.

Sometimes we seem to hold on to people for a year or two too long, and I fear he will be another case in point along the lines of the Urch's, the Trotters etc that just seemed to be in between players with no real purpose or plan for them at our footy club.

Happy to be surprised, but I'd really like to find out other people's thoughts on him - wreaks of list clogging to my mind.

So you've watched him play? BTW he was underage when we picked him up so he's only 19 now

Yeah I have, on three occasions live in the VFL and another 4 or 5 on the TV.

He looks completely outclassed, and I don't see what it is he is going to offer us - this only 19 thinking is rubbish.

Malthouse manages to throw kids in the deep end and they swim. Look at McCarthy, he is half Warren's size (which is a feat and there is some artistic licence applied), but performed brilliantly for their footy club.

Instead we molly coddle him because he was "bottom age" and he has just looked inept despite being in the system 2 years.

He had no impact in the VFL finals, unlike the remainder of our 18 & 19 year olds who I thought all had reasonable patches and it least were given game time based on the fact it was obviously felt they had plenty to contribute.

I was really surprised he was kept on the list, if we wanted him for another year why wouldn't we have delisted him then rookied him.

The question I have is why has he been kept - what are the reasons because I've never seen any.

Is it just guilt because he wasn't given what he should have been when he had to play for Tassie the previous year?

I personally don't see him making it - happy to be proven wrong.

don't we have to give the GC17 2 uncontracted players fairly soon.?? Well i suggest Ben Warren will be one of them. As he's from Queensland - so might as well give 'em a local back i'd reckon.

Malthouse manages to throw kids in the deep end and they swim. Look at Anthony, he is half Warren's size (which is a feat and there is some artistic licence applied), but performed brilliantly for their footy club.

You obviously have been mistaking either Warren or Anthony. Ben Warren is 186cm and 85kg whereas Anthony is 192cm and 92kg.

Warren looked very good in the first half of the year until he got injured and then couldn't get right. Whether or not he makes it in the AFL he deserves one more season to prove himself, if no good by the end of 2009 then i agree.

Haven't seen him much at all, but I would guess that chucking a mental because we offered a 19yo another contract is slightly over the top.

You obviously have been mistaking either Warren or Anthony. Ben Warren is 186cm and 85kg whereas Anthony is 192cm and 92kg.

Yes, I was thinking the same thing. Having seen Jack Anthony, I couldn't think of anyone twice his size playing AFL (maybe sumo).

Sort of undermines the OP's credibility. Completely.

Yeah I have, on three occasions live in the VFL and another 4 or 5 on the TV.

He looks completely outclassed, and I don't see what it is he is going to offer us - this only 19 thinking is rubbish.

Malthouse manages to throw kids in the deep end and they swim. Look at Anthony, he is half Warren's size (which is a feat and there is some artistic licence applied), but performed brilliantly for their footy club.

And who out there are you going to pick up even if we delisted him? How can you guarentee the guy that will replace him will be any better?

And as others have said, he was definately better in the first half of the year, but hey, how many others have actually broken into our midfield and stayed there? Riggio... nope, Ross ... Nope , Swallow ... nope, Lower ... nope.

From an old post of mine from another thread:

Reading through the season i was interested in what stibbard thinks of our 06 draftees:

Pick 3: Lachlan Hansen - AA under 18 who is an agile and powerful player who can play at either end. Extremely stong overhead and attacks the contest

Pick 21: Gavin Urquhart - Lightly framed hard running midfielder who can play inside or outside, who was named under 18 AA.

Pick 37: Todd Goldstein - A member of the Australian under 19 Basketball team his ruckwork and skills are highly rated. Can go forward.

Pick 53: Lindsay Thomas : Super quick Aboriginal left footer who is a profilic ball winner who played seniors in the SANFL.

Pick 69: Ben Warren : Medium Sized forward who runs well, is a good finisher and is hoped to become a class midfielder.

Pick 82: Aaron Edwards: Former WC forward who returned to the VFL kicking 100 goals in 2006 and winning the Liston Trophy. Great hands and deceptively strong

PSD

Pick 3: Ben Ross - Pacy crumbing forward who represented Vic Country at the National Under 18's Championships. An oppurtunist who is dangerous around goals. Kicked 29 goals in 13 TAC Cup games.

RD

Pick 3: Leigh Adams - Inside Midfielder who captained Vic Metro to the National U18 title. Can go forward and kick goals. Noted for leadership and competitiveness.

Pick 19: Ben Hughes : Strong Marking forward who is noted for his work rate and goal assists. Kicked 32 goals and 41 contested marks in the TAC Cup.

Pick 35: A 19 yr old who has played 38 senior games with NA. A goalkicker with genuine speed and evasive skills.

Pick 51: Tim Hutchison - A tall leading and marking forward with plenty of raw talent.

You must've watched him at the wrong times.

Or he could be talking about our other Warren.

And who out there are you going to pick up even if we delisted him? How can you guarentee the guy that will replace him will be any better?

And as others have said, he was definately better in the first half of the year, but hey, how many others have actually broken into our midfield and stayed there? Riggio... nope, Ross ... Nope , Swallow ... nope, Lower ... nope.

Well I've never seen him run through the midfield, I've seen him take a few marks as a lead up player but haven't been impressed with his vision and awareness, traits I'd think would be critical for a midfielder.

2006 - 2008 is a long time, and I've seen nothing from in the limited number of times I've seen him to warrant even the slightest consideration that he could become a quality midfielder.

Haven't seen him much at all, but I would guess that chucking a mental because we offered a 19yo another contract is slightly over the top.

Sorry I should be rapt that we got rid of a host of others, and because the decision was made to keep him it should be exempt from comment?

Surely debate on who has been retained on the list is the equal of any discussion on those that have been delisted of which there has been a few this year.

I stand by my opinion - I don't know where the id fits into our longer term plans, therefore I question the decision to keep him when he could have been rookied given, apart from as posted here earlier, that he has done little to suggest he will be an integral part of our push for a flag in the foreseeable future.

Midfielder - No, Power Forward - No, Key Defender - No, Medium Forward - We have a truckload of them, and there's only two spots - No.

Perhaps there is something in the Gold Coast suggestion.

Well, then the guy has no clue.

I was referring to Ben Warren clearly, and given the reference to his performances in the VFL Finals it is in no way a reference to Warren Benjamin.

I was clueless with the faux pas on John McCarthy as Jack Anthony

It will never Happen but,

COUSINS.

Best player in the draft this year.

Apologies I was referring to McCarthy!!

From Collingwood's web site we find McCarthy is 19 yo, 188 cm and 80 kg. So, same age, taller and slightly lighter. Even poetic licence doesn't give you that much wriggle room, so the "half Warren's size" line is rubbish.

He played 6 games for 3 goals. Not sure how that qualifies as "performed brilliantly". Also rubbish.

I have no particular feeling for or against Warren, but if you're going to kick the sh*t out of an untried young player, how about having some genuine basis for your opinion rather than throwing up bogus garbage when called?

From Collingwood's web site we find McCarthy is 19 yo, 188 cm and 80 kg. So, same age, taller and slightly lighter. Even poetic licence doesn't give you that much wriggle room, so the "half Warren's size" line is rubbish.

He played 6 games for 3 goals. Not sure how that qualifies as "performed brilliantly". Also rubbish.

I have no particular feeling for or against Warren, but if you're going to kick the sh*t out of an untried young player, how about having some genuine basis for your opinion rather than throwing up bogus garbage when called?

And McCarthy averaged 13 disposals, 2 tackles in those 6 games and was a genuine contributor in their finals victory over Adelaide - all in his first year in the system, not his second.

Furthermore, taller and slightly lighter would suggest he is in fact of a lighter frame which was the point I was making - bogus garbage???

Warren remains untried and couldn't get a game in a VFL Finals side., surely that is a concern.

So back up, take off the rose coloured glasses and portray all the facts.

Still noone has built a case for what he has to offer, and that is all I would like to see.

Warren remains untried and couldn't get a game in a VFL Finals side., surely that is a concern.

So back up, take off the rose coloured glasses and portray all the facts.

Still noone has built a case for what he has to offer, and that is all I would like to see.

Mate he busted his shoulder up and only played a couple of games leading into the finals - of which as you say he really didn't look up to scratch. He looked very good as a quick leading strong mark before the injury. That's the case that people who disagree with you are making.