Manchester United
that we wouldnt make the finals this year...

Why the **** is everyone getting upset about a loss to a team in contention?

We all knew at the start of the season that we would be in the top half of the bottom 8 and while some of us were saying that if a few matches at the end of the season we might make the bottom half of the top 8.

Personally I am wrapped with the way that things have gone this year because finally we see the promise of the team that the club has been building for the last couple of years and we all know that we are a couple of KPP and some more experience away from being a complete team.

So we lost to North... we all knew it was going to be a touch and go match against the form team of the league right now. We got some shocking umpiring decisions maybe but at the end of the day, the better team won.

We come away from the season knowing that the future is a lot brighter for us now than it has been for the last 6 years.

Well done to the lads for their efforts for the year. If we can pull a win against brisvegas out of the hat and finish off the season with 10 wins and possibly Fev finishing out with 100 goals for the season :)

I am more excited about the future than I am disappointed about losing last nights match...

Wasn't that we lost mate, it was the way we lost today. We were absolutely smashed around the clearances today, and North Melbourne made us look very average indeed. I realise that with everything being even, we were not likely to make the 8 this year, but that doesn't excuse the way we played today.

When we had the ball, North Melbourne got every player behind the ball, and really clogged us up, hence the reason why we really played a stop-start game. Just a frustrating game, and with the players we have in the midfield, we should have at least broken even with them around the clearances.

Why the **** is everyone getting upset about a loss to a team in contention?

I'm upset because it was a shit performance from us. As far as finals are concerned, if we get there, we get there. If not, oh well. I'll be disappointed for getting so close but just falling short, of course, but inconsistent football and relying on other teams to fall for us meant that it was always likely that we wouldn't make it anyway.

im upset because we have a sh*t match commitee. :mad: why was saddington played? fisher and thornton are not and never will be A grade talent, move on from them. play austin at CHB, and play waite as a second forward.

I was mad watching the game, but I'm not upset particularly. Disappointed, but not raging or anything. After a loss I usually take my own football out the back of the house and run like crazy and bomb "goals" (that being two trees standing next to one another :p ) until I've got no energy and it helps clear my head.

Personally, I'm happy we've got 9 wins this year instead of 4. I love seeing kids like Kreuzer and Grigg in action and developing so well. So now I'm hoping we give guys like Austin another crack, though I'm entirely sure he will because I recall Ratts saying something like he's not ready for AFL football or something. :confused:

Here's hoping we give the Lions a nice touch up though.

im upset because we have a sh*t match commitee. :mad: why was saddington played? fisher and thornton are not and never will be A grade talent, move on from them. play austin at CHB, and play waite as a second forward.

Awesome.

So we take Waite, Saddington, Thornton out of our backline.

Bring Austin in. And then? Play 2 men short down back?

You are a fool. :D

They will continue to get games until we have adequate replacements for them.

What did Jones do today given their dominance?

He kicked just two today.

I don't know why you would want to play a 19 year old Austin on the 201 cm Hale instead of Saddington when he isn't ready.

People have a short memory after we burned Livingston by playing him on the big forwards when he wasn't capable of doing the job.

Saddington was poor, but the finger should be pointed at the midfield who didn't apply any defensive pressure on North's midfielders and made life hard for our backmen.

Personally i reckon the game was lost in the midfield,
sure we got a heap of it,
but so did they,
and they used the ball far more efficiently,
and scored goals against our major ball winners.

All this finger pointing at our backs is very easy
when the bloke is left one out, with no help,
is on a hiding to nothing,

When we went forward,
they swarmed around us.

Tactically we were outcoached.

i'll admit i thought we were a chance. To me it was just like the 3rd quarter in the adelaide game accept it went for the last 3 quarters... painful to watch, the ball was our worst enemy, and they just seemed to have numbers everywhere.

If there's one thing i can take out of it... it's that IMO we weren't as bad as Richmond last week when they suffered their heavy defeat in their crucial match

I'm upset because it was a shit performance from us. As far as finals are concerned, if we get there, we get there. If not, oh well. I'll be disappointed for getting so close but just falling short, of course, but inconsistent football and relying on other teams to fall for us meant that it was always likely that we wouldn't make it anyway.

shit performances is something that is not to be accepted but, considering the amount of experience in the team we cant get past that just yet.

All I know is that next year things will be better...

And as for blaming the umpires... they are crap at times but they do their job.

Blaming individual players... get a life... it's a team sport and the team has to take the blame

Still... 2 games to the end of the season so lets see what happens then

Awesome.

So we take Waite, Saddington, Thornton out of our backline.

Bring Austin in. And then? Play 2 men short down back?

You are a fool. :D

They will continue to get games until we have adequate replacements for them.

i take your point, but he way i see our future backs; Jamison, Austin, Bower; 3 big men, and take your pick from the plenty of options for small defenders.

waite played loose most of the game, so he could easily be replaced with scotland for example as a rebounding defender.

And as for blaming the umpires... they are crap at times but they do their job.

Blaming individual players... get a life... it's a team sport and the team has to take the blame

Well, yeah. Can't disagree with that. I can't believe the amount of people blaming Fevola.

Still... 2 games to the end of the season so lets see what happens then

Knowing our inconsistency, we'll probably beat either one of Brisbane or Hawthorn.

Well, yeah. Can't disagree with that. I can't believe the amount of people blaming Fevola.

Knowing our inconsistency, we'll probably beat either one of Brisbane or Hawthorn.

or both ;)

If Carlton were to finish between 9th and 11th as
everyone had predicted than games like yesterday's
were always coming.

Have a look at our year.
All but 2 of our losses have been around 5 goals all less
and the other heavy loss was against the cats.
All the other games we're been around the mark
and 3 games were we in it right down to the siren.

Unlike before when the light at the end of our tunnel
was an oncoming train, we can really feel good about 2009.

I was mad watching the game, but I'm not upset particularly. Disappointed, but not raging or anything. After a loss I usually take my own football out the back of the house and run like crazy and bomb "goals" (that being two trees standing next to one another :p ) until I've got no energy and it helps clear my head.

Personally, I'm happy we've got 9 wins this year instead of 4. I love seeing kids like Kreuzer and Grigg in action and developing so well. So now I'm hoping we give guys like Austin another crack, though I'm entirely sure he will because I recall Ratts saying something like he's not ready for AFL football or something. :confused:

Here's hoping we give the Lions a nice touch up though.
You must have been one fit fella over the past few years:p