Frigate

Liverpool
Never thought I would say this, but geez Medhurst has turned into a quality AFL footballer. Everytime he gets it his vision is excellent and his kicking is top notch. The part we really need is the entry into the 50 hitting a target. I was happy when we traded him (as I thought he was never go to come to much), but cudos to him for taking the next step.

I wonder how many of our players with the big potential would take the next step if they played for another club. We have rarely seen the best of our players. 2006 was really the only year.

Never thought I would say this, but geez Medhurst has turned into a quality AFL footballer. Everytime he gets it his vision is excellent and his kicking is top notch. The part we really need is the entry into the 50 hitting a target. I was happy when we traded him (as I thought he was never go to come to much), but cudos to him for taking the next step.

I wonder how many of our players with the big potential would take the next step if they played for another club. We have rarely seen the best of our players. 2006 was really the only year.

Agree, looks like he's matured a lot - no sign of any carry on, just focused on the footy e.g his approach to set shots is fairly different, not worrying about going up to the man on the mark etc. He always looked distracted when playing for us. His decision making and skill was first class in last night's game.

And while his team mates were choking on their kicks under pressure, he seemed very confident. His accuracy was superb, he almost single handedly bought them back into the match.

Again...thanks for Medders! :)

Shame Tarrant has gone down hill. When playing well he's great to watch. I'd love to see him actually realise his potential.

He was good wasn't he. Hard to say who contributed more to him often being an ordinary performer at Fremantle - Connolly, the strength and conditioning staff, or Medders himself. Probably all equally to blame.

Not to mention the supporters. Medders was excellent at Freo and was in the top 20 goal kickers in most of his seasons with us. However, that was still not enough for many of our supporters.

At the moment, we could use any half-decent small forward. If you look at the last 15 years, very few teams have made the finals, let alone got to the granny, without getting at least 60 goals from small forwards.

In Farmer's absence, we have these small forwards:

Peake - 18 matches 08, 7g3b; 59 games career, 28g14b (to end 08 season) - (playing great so far this year, hope he keeps it up, but unlikely to kick 40 IMHO)
Mayne - 17 matches 08, 10g8b; 17 games career, 10g8b - (gun, but injury means he will struggle to play 17 for us this year)
Balla - 0 games, 0 goals (injured)
Walters - 0 games, 0 goals (not ready yet - maybe from round 16 onwards??)
Hally - 0 games, 0 goals (might get a game or two - late 2010/early 2011 is his time)
Ruffles - 0 games, 0 goals (won't play this year - look out for him in 2011)

So who do we use up front in the pockets??

My only suggestions are to try resting Hase and Palmer down there - I reckon Palmer could evolve into quite a handy goal-kicker. But that is really robbing Peta to pay Pauline, so we need something else (besides Peake continuing to play well). Maybe Hill, Ibbo or Drum in a pocket? Hayden was super-impressive in a forward pocket a few times, but can we afford to have him out of defence? (I think not).

What do people think?

Not to mention the supporters. Medders was excellent at Freo and was in the top 20 goal kickers in most of his seasons with us. However, that was still not enough for many of our supporters.

Dead right RD, Medders was always good here and I was appalled when he was traded. But he still copped a bagging from a lot of people, unfairly IMHO

Personally I think we should take a look at grooming Sibosado ASAP.

I know that he is as raw as they come but he has excellent skills and goal smarts that we just do not have up there at the moment.

He is also physically big enough to play at the moment.

Seriously, it is like we are playing short up forward at the moment.

When Pav is by himself up there it is like he is being triple teamed.

Peake as a side note is playing very well. Keep it up my man.

It looks like he is doing it by himself in the pockets and flanks though.

Again...thanks for Medders! :)

Shame Tarrant has gone down hill.

:confused:

The only period of time Tarrant hasn't been at least OK for us was the start of last season. I wouldn't say he's gone downhill at all. In our first 2 woeful games he's arguably been our best player, certainly top 3.

Medhurst was close to my favourite player when he was at Freo and it sucked seeing him go, it's good seeing him play so well and we could definitely use him.

The Collingwood fans and their gloating shits me to tears though.

I was about to say.. can we start a thread saying we need Chris Judd after we traded away that number 1 pick... it happened, we have to move on. Medders is ok, but he also missed an easy shot early on.

The last 2yrs he played for us when they built up his body too much and the next when he couldn't work out how to play how they wanted are the only ones that count.

We could also use Gary Ablett, Buddy Franklin, Luke Hodge................
But that isn't going to happen either....:)

I was about to say.. can we start a thread saying we need Chris Judd after we traded away that number 1 pick... it happened, we have to move on. Medders is ok, but he also missed an easy shot early on.

I agree. We could use more decent midfielders

Whats the point of this thread.... Just going to attract flogs