Weaver's Phantom Draft Mk2

Originally posted by bulldogs54
Take a good look at how many Draft Picks youve given Carlton after they have been banned from any picks outside of priority round (picks 2&5)....youve given them picks in the following rounds as well when there actually banned from participation arnt they????
I think the only thing he's done wrong is put Carlton ahead of the Bulldogs in rounds three and four.

Originally posted by Yze_Magic
if the Dees get Sylvia and Tenace you can pencil down a Demon premiership before theis decade is over

however, the Blues wont let tenace go, they will take him at 2
hence we wont see a demon premiership in the next decade??

Originally posted by marcuz
Ricky Dyson will be picked by essendon at 13. He better ive e-mailed the bastards about him since i saw him play a tac cup game against geelong last year. Although im sure the bomber recruiting staff are on top of things

You legend!

Kepler is a star not only a big mark and good skills but s quick and suprisingly good at ground level.

I must not watch the same Kepler Bradley then. I'm thinking of the tall, slowish guy from WP who runs all day and for a tall doesnt take overhead marks.

PS: Also has filled out a bit.

Is that right? I might need my prescription checked because I'm pretty sure he still looks like a rake to me.

Originally posted by dasler
I must not watch the same Kepler Bradley then. I'm thinking of the tall, slowish guy from WP who runs all day and for a tall doesnt take overhead marks.

Is that right? I might need my prescription checked because I'm pretty sure he still looks like a rake to me.

gathering your not a fan of Kepler??? I must say I was very impressed by him.

I dont know about ben davies dropped off heaps!!! there are heaps more players from calder to put in, and i reckon mc qualter should be up in amongst the rest good attacking half back- on baller.;)

BT, on the contrary I think he is a predigious talent in the making. However I dont see a ruckman doing a rover's job helps his cause when he gets to AFL level.

I look at Kepler and i think aerobic capactiy enormous = Bandy.

I dunno with Kep, i sincerely hope he goes on to prove me wrong, i just remember Matthew Spencer as the best ruckman WA has seen in years and everyone ranting on about Kepler.

i dunno!

I think its hard to judge his pace because he just kind of jogs around alot. I have only seen him sprint a couple of times and he doesn't look slow. He might not take alot of marks but he doesn't bungle them either and will take more contested marks as he bulks up. On the upside I have seen him dive into packs and win the hardball. I see a framework that, with the right kind of coaching, will be a very very good AFL player... a 198cm midfielder in the Pavlich mold. I guess its a question of whether he can bridge the gap between the big man and small man game or whether he falls in it.

Originally posted by Rooboy36
I dont know about ben davies dropped off heaps!!! there are heaps more players from calder to put in, and i reckon mc qualter should be up in amongst the rest good attacking half back- on baller.;)

Major disappointment for mine, Ben Davies. He hasn't shown anything to suggest he will be picked up. I think he has another year though.

Would be unusual - something like 90% of AIS players end up on a list.

Ever heard of Kurt Hinkley from East Fremantle GH? Biggest waste of an AIS/AFL Scholarship I've ever seen. Struggles to get colts games at East Fremantle and not even considered for State teams anymore.

Same goes with Scott Mathieson from West Perth who has deeply disappointed me as I thought he had the goods to go on with it.

Good point about more players from calder, what about dawson, clifton, bentick, douglas, iaccabucci, kent, maric, davis?

not sure if u had pinwill in there dare say hell get drafted, foley, travers? herrington, boyd, oswald, gauci, moore some of these players might be in the phantom draft but the majority i didn't see

I dunno with Kep, i sincerely hope he goes on to prove me wrong, i just remember Matthew Spencer as the best ruckman WA has seen in years and everyone ranting on about Kepler.

i dunno!

Problem is Mathew Spencer is only 193cm. The trick is to look at players not in terms of how they play in the league that they are in, but in relation to the guys they have to play against in the AFL.

When you are conceeding height to Jeff White you better have some super-serious athleticism and leap to make the grade. Spencer doesn't. He was overlooked last year despite finishing 2nd in the Colts b+f (to Bradley) and could easily be overlooked again.

He will only be drafted if someone thinks he can be converted into a marking forward.

I imagine by Mock Draft 3, I could well have worked up the courage to leave out some of the 'name' players like Spencer and put in some of the very raw guys like Chester, Proctor and Attard who aren't much chop as footballers but have super leg speed.

Originally posted by Bomber12
Good point about more players from calder, what about dawson, clifton, bentick, douglas, iaccabucci, kent, maric, davis?

not sure if u had pinwill in there dare say hell get drafted, foley, travers? herrington, boyd, oswald, gauci, moore some of these players might be in the phantom draft but the majority i didn't see

Pinwill doesn't have a position in the AFL. He is caught between being a CHF and a ruck-rover. Same with Gauci who is not quite a FF, not quite a FB and not quite and onballer.

Travers is slow. He is no better than Adam Fisher, and Fisher was rookie-listed. Foley and Oswald are similar. Every year some very very good midfielders don't get taken. The likes of Nick Gieschen, Abe Williams, Peter Sumner from last year come to mind. So much competition for midfield spots you have to be pretty special.

Boyd is flat-footed and slow at CHB. He looked out of his depth at the championships. The AFL insists that their KP players are more athletic than that.

Herrington will be interesting. I think that the clubs have figured him out now. Put a tall-quick guy on him (Thurgood, Mundy) and he runs out of tricks.

As for the Calder boys ... Maric no way. He shouldn't be getting a game for Calder. Davis was on the list. Douglas is 184cm full-back, that is too short, might be rookie-listed. Bentick is a rookie list chance. Iacobucci is just OK. I am not a fan of Kent, Clifton and Dawson but others are and that's just the way it goes sometimes.

Mundy- top 10???

Mundy is a good player but I'd be surprised if we took him with a top 10 pick.

He's worth a top 10 with the way he played today in our schools annual boys vs girls footy match, considering he was wearing gumboots and rubber gloves coated in detergent he still managed to drag several of his own team mates through the mud:p

"12. Farren Ray - Fremantle

They love locals. They love soft, unaccountable outside players with pace."

That comment tells me that you don't have much idea what you're talking about and you obviously haven't seen much of Farren Ray.

To emphasise my point further, have you heard of Paul Richardson from Swan Districts? I am sure you have and you can't fit him into the first 60 and yet you can find a place for the likes of Priddis, Chidlow and Adams. Maybe you just overlooked him???

there are heaps more players from calder to put in
I agree. Weaver you only think 4 Calder Cannons will be drafted?? Surely McLean, Trotter, Silvester and Jolley will not be the only ones. There would be at least 6 more chances to be taken. They had 7 players drafted last year plus a few more on rookie lists... do you think there is less draftable talent in this years group????

Yakuza
That comment tells me that you don't have much idea what you're talking about and you obviously haven't seen much of Farren Ray.

Yakuza you have no idea do you. He isn't all that he is cracked up to be. RooMatera and I have already said this on another board and I HAVE watched alot of Farren and am telling you Weaver has it spot on.

Thats a big comment from you Yakuza as I have alot of respect for Weaver's views are they are pretty spot on.

"I have alot of respect for Weaver's views are they are pretty spot on."

That makes a lot of sense, still for someone who doesn't rate Bradley that's about all one could expect. Maybe you can help weaver out re Richardson or do you agree with him on that one as well?

Yakuza if you go through I think you will find alot more people have respect for our views than yours. You come on and cause trouble where we like to speculate and chat.

This is a phantom draft atm, not confirmed if you already read that. There is still alot of things that will go on before now and the draft yeah?

As for Richardson yes i think he is a good player and is in contention and i disagree with alot of picks but i wont make some outlandish statement like you.

Go back, do some research then tell me we dont know anything