Wed training

Just a short post on todays training
Boys trained at mcgillvray
Rehab group included Balla,Pitt,Walters as well as the usual suspects Hinkley,Siba,Roberts and Shepherd
Fyfe and Mundy watched proceedings from the sidelines
Hill was there briefly and then left ,De Boer and Schammer not sighted
Boys did their warmups and skill work and then participated in a 4 quarter scratch match with I think 13 a side which was mainly skills orientated although Sandi monstered Clarke with some heavy tackles to test him I guess and Clarke stood up well and played a reasonable game
Mcpharlin and Grover continued their good pre and Anthony took a couple of nice contested marks
Mzungu :thumbsu:was the stand out and continued to rack up possessions covering a ton of ground. This boy has the goods,cant wait to see him in the nab,get him in your super coach:D
Rhys retired from the game early and sat on a rub down bench with an ice pack on his left knee,with Mellington ditto
They both seemed ok after the session so most likely precautionary

Any mention for Crowley or McPhee during the simulated game? I would like to see which enforcer has had the better pre season and recent sessions. All the news ive heard is McPhee has dropped a bit of weight and is looking ripped, while Crowly has just been increasing his tank.

Thanks as always Salim. Obviously the boys are back from the Aboriginal all stars camp. I don't care what any one says but I am getting super worried about Hill. It's all well and good to take it easy but to miss training session after session is not good.

Just throwing out what I was told 2-3 weeks back by someone I trust highly

Stephen Hill has been battling pretty severe shin splints which was the reason for the lighter running program not OP as feared by many on here.

although Sandi monstered Clarke with some heavy tackles to test him I guess and Clarke stood up well and played a reasonable game

That seems a good sign that he can be crunched by Sandi and get up :)

How's Griffen looking? Or is he still away at the indigenous camp?

Hill was there early but didn't do much. Kicked a few footys over a short distance and did some stretching then headed back to the Club. DeBoer also put his head in before heading back to the Club. Not sure what the story is with DeBoer. I did hear Sibbo has a touch of OP from someone watching on, not sure of the veracity of that.

Harves gave us the evil eye and came over and asked if we were spies but mellowed out when we said no. I asked him how he was feeling about the team and he said they are getting close to where they want to be in terms of the squad. He said they probably overachieved a bit last year, looking to consolidate this year.

As far as the scratchy goes, I was very impressed by McPharlin. Looks as fit as he has ever been and playing with real flair. Also impressive were Duffield, Broughton, Grover, Mzungu.

Clarke is getting up to the required standard. His skills are excellent and his marking strong. I can confirm Sandi absolutely buried him at least once. Griffin is a tryer but to my eyes not much more than a big body to throw in the ruck if required. Could be doing him and injustice.

Faulks got schooled by Pav a couple of times in terms of positioning and missed at least one target for a turnover eliciting a loud F*&$$*$($($(KKKKKKKK. I don't think we will know till we see how he goes under fire. Silvagni never really impresses me in drills but he's got such a cool head under live fire and you can't measure that at training.

Suban looks fantastic. Running well and drilling passes to advantage. Great vision and depth in his kicking. Some of the balls he sent inside 50 were works of art.
Mzungu is top shelf in terms of vision and delivery too. Chrighton got a bit of it and is generally tidy with his feet. Roberton was sharp and focused as usual. Rhys looked good for the short time he was out there. The one kick I saw was precise and well weighted.

I didn't recognise McPhee so much has he slimmed down. I kept wondering who the blonde 15 was doing good things. Crowls wasn't involved that much at least to my eyes but he's seriously ripped and very vocal as usual.

Anthony I'm not convinced yet. Dropped a few he should have taken but did hold at least one strong mark. He doesn't have anything like the impact Mayne does when he hasn't got the ball. Mayne looked great, really calling the shots organising the forward zone and his kicking was excellent, particularly at goal.

Write Grover off at your peril. He is strong, fit and very hard at it.
Bollenhagen could be a real boom player this year. He's so fast and skilful. Has the same sort of impact as Hill when he gets it in the clear. The quick sprint, bounce and then laser guided left.

Johnson looks fit and his skills were excellent. Ibbo did some super classy things. He's a beautiful mover.
Broughton is class personified. Still shake my head he couldn't get drafted.
Van Berlo looks super ripped and like he means business.

Son Son ran a heap of laps. As we was walking off up the hill I said gidday and he gave me a big smile. I said "Man they made you run some laps today" and he laughed and agreed. Pearce cut a fair few laps too. He's dropped a lot of weight.

All in all they are getting ready to play footy. It will be very interesting to see how we cover the loss of Tarrant, Hayden, Morabito, Headland, Haselby. Of those Mz is a good in for Rodger, Walters for Haze but you can't replace Tarrant and Mora. I guess Ibbo for Mora isn't too bad. Interestingly Van Berlo seemed to be training in the defensive forward role he started in last year. We really need Balla and Barlow to get on the park as early as we can (without risking them off course).

Just a short post on todays training
Boys trained at mcgillvray
Rehab group included Balla,Pitt,Walters as well as the usual suspects Hinkley,Siba,Roberts and Shepherd
Fyfe and Mundy watched proceedings from the sidelines
Hill was there briefly and then left ,De Boer and Schammer not sighted
Boys did their warmups and skill work and then participated in a 4 quarter scratch match with I think 13 a side which was mainly skills orientated although Sandi monstered Clarke with some heavy tackles to test him I guess and Clarke stood up well and played a reasonable game
Mcpharlin and Grover continued their good pre and Anthony took a couple of nice contested marks
Mzungu :thumbsu:was the stand out and continued to rack up possessions covering a ton of ground. This boy has the goods,cant wait to see him in the nab,get him in your super coach:D
Rhys retired from the game early and sat on a rub down bench with an ice pack on his left knee,with Mellington ditto
They both seemed ok after the session so most likely precautionary

Thanks again SM. I caught a glimpse of Schammer at amphoras bar on Hay st West Perth around 11:30/12:00 on my way to Subway during my lunch break. He was talking to some fella. That may explain his absence :rolleyes:

Harves gave us the evil eye and came over and asked if we were spies but mellowed out when we said no.

lol - he did the same thing to us when we went and watched training at the Junction Oval a few years back.

I would have thought that most of most clubs spies would be known in such a competitive industry as the AFL. Do you reckon Harves just likes to stir a bit, or do you reckon that there are actually hundreds of spies out there that they don't know about? Just curious.

Pretty worrying that he takes your word for it so easily about not being spies though :)
Real spies could go there he asks them if there spies they say no an he accepts it.

Or is there some rule that states if asked they must say so?.

Thx for the reports guys

Pretty worrying that he takes your word for it so easily about not being spies though :)
Real spies could go there he asks them if there spies they say no an he accepts it.

Thx for the reports guys

Maybe you have to bring ID's in the future (Freo memberships)?

Thx for the reports guys

With the evil eye he gives you fair dinkum you would give it up if you had a guilty conscience. I felt guilty and I know I'm for real. I pulled my new cap out of my bag and waved it at him and he just frowned more and said doesn't mean anything, spies wear the Freo gear sometimes to fool you. Maybe he was taking the piss but he does it well if he was. I was scared :eek:

Seriously funny, not much gets by that stonewall exterior of his :thumbsu:

Your fear is perfectly understandable too.