Well done Hendo

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/...2=4&pid2=2308&type=A&fid1=P&fopt1=2001&fid2=S

Hendo compared against Jon Brown's first full season (second season). I would have compared to his third season as its Hendo's third year at the moment, but he suffered from injury that year and his second was better statistically anyway. I know stats isn't a completely accurate method, but it does show basically how they're getting hands on the ball, doing certain things etc. Hendo definitely compares favourably.

(No i'm not saying he is or will be as good as Jon Brown, he is just one of the benchmarks for the position)

Starting to develop nicely. Doesn't have much x-factor (ie. not a big leap, not super quick) so his game will need to be modelled on J.Brown in that he needs to develop a really big tank and cover a lot of ground.

Love his attitude - just looks to be the type of solid citizen we need at Carlton after Fevola.

Would like to see some work done on his kicking over the summer. His action is very tight.

I think if he can loosen this up a bit he will get more distance.

Starting to develop nicely. Doesn't have much x-factor (ie. not a big leap, not super quick) so his game will need to be modelled on J.Brown in that he needs to develop a really big tank and cover a lot of ground..
Agree he is showing the attributes of developing into a very good KPF for us. Reckon he could become a 50 goal & 30 goal assists forward for us.

Sticks came to us as a fully developed CHF... what was he like after a couple of years while he was still at Glenelg? Was he as far along as what Hendo is or was he better than that Hendo is at the same stage of their developments?

And we all know how Sticks turned out :D

Give him the time to develop and we should see someone who will play in a similar vein to Kernahan.

O.K...........I'm here to defend my boy. :p

It's not always the best option to lob it from outside 50 tho...try find a free man instead Hendo!!
Lol, 2 weeks ago he was questioned on here for poor decision making when he DID make the short pass. :D

Do you recall the round 1 game vs Richmond........a beautiful mark that Waite took over Betts at the city end............do you know who delivered that 30m bullet pass to Waite?
There are countless examples from every game he has played this year.

If you think Hendo just lobs it into 50 all the time without spotting up targets, I think maybe you are watching the wrong guy........he isn't number 3.......but number 23. :thumbsu:

As for those stating he will never kick X number of goals.......how do you know?
His game has devloped that much over the past year, who knows what he will look like in 12 months time.
Go back and look at what he was able to do vs Hawks in the 3rd Q this year......is that not a glimpse of a 60-80 goal a year forward?

Sure, he works up the gorund, but he works hard back the other way too.........would you have said Riewoldt would never kick 70 goals?

Anyways, I think the biggest improvement I have seen is his overhead marking. He has always (going back to Brissie games) lead well and been strongish in contest, but usually tried to mark on his chest.
There was also a knock on his kicking.

This year I have watched him start to pluck some overhead marks, and from 45m out is a good kick at goal (with the occasional shank - ala Fev).
Time, strength and confidence will see him kicking a bit longer, and holding his grabs, and also learning where to lead to our midfield.

I think Kennedy is a good comparison, but at the same age, I'd take Hendo. Works harder, stronger hands, better decision maker and short kick (despite the baffling comments above).

You've always hated Hendo, Bluebear.

In fact, you wanted to crack his skull open with a lead pipe!

:p
Damn........and I thought I had covered it so well. :(

One thing that has impressed me has been his field kicking, so I too am suprised at the comments. He makes good decisions as well.

But like BlueBear I am also a Hendo hater and think he will fail. :p

Spot on. When he's been up against backmen of similar experience to his own he's done very well.
Was too strong for McKenzie and Schofield in both games this year.

Used his body beautifully at Etihad to protect the drop of the ball three times and keep it moving.

Did MacKenzie cold on Saturday night to beat him in a one on one and take a contested mark.

Kept the WC defender who is older and 97 kgs at bay with one arm.

Better field kick than Waite after he placed his kick to the right side of Betts.

Reminds me of Kreuzer who is another honest tall with intensity, mobility and a great workrate.

Doesn't appreciate Hampson crashing over the top and spoiling his marks. :cool:
When he's been up against experienced, older backmen he's struggled
Kicked three goals on Maguire and exposed his lack of agility on more than one occasion.

The goal assist to Setanta in that game was brilliant.

Kicked two on Tarrant.

O.K...........I'm here to defend my boy. :p

Lol, 2 weeks ago he was questioned on here for poor decision making when he DID make the short pass. :D

Do you recall the round 1 game vs Richmond........a beautiful mark that Waite took over Betts at the city end............do you know who delivered that 30m bullet pass to Waite?
There are countless examples from every game he has played this year.

If you think Hendo just lobs it into 50 all the time without spotting up targets, I think maybe you are watching the wrong guy........he isn't number 3.......but number 23. :thumbsu:

As for those stating he will never kick X number of goals.......how do you know?
His game has devloped that much over the past year, who knows what he will look like in 12 months time.
Go back and look at what he was able to do vs Hawks in the 3rd Q this year......is that not a glimpse of a 60-80 goal a year forward?

Sure, he works up the gorund, but he works hard back the other way too.........would you have said Riewoldt would never kick 70 goals?

Anyways, I think the biggest improvement I have seen is his overhead marking. He has always (going back to Brissie games) lead well and been strongish in contest, but usually tried to mark on his chest.
There was also a knock on his kicking.

This year I have watched him start to pluck some overhead marks, and from 45m out is a good kick at goal (with the occasional shank - ala Fev).
Time, strength and confidence will see him kicking a bit longer, and holding his grabs, and also learning where to lead to our midfield.

I think Kennedy is a good comparison, but at the same age, I'd take Hendo. Works harder, stronger hands, better decision maker and short kick (despite the baffling comments above).

I recall there being queries on his kicking over the preseason. Some Brisbane supporters claiming he'd struggle to make the distance from 40m.

Certainly shown this season that he's got a decent kick on him, even if it doesn't extend to shots from 55m. Loving his work thus far and has now become my favourite footballer at the club for a number of reason - having to defend him from morons being one of them. :thumbsu:

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/...2=4&pid2=2308&type=A&fid1=P&fopt1=2001&fid2=S

Hendo compared against Jon Brown's first full season (second season). I would have compared to his third season as its Hendo's third year at the moment, but he suffered from injury that year and his second was better statistically anyway. I know stats isn't a completely accurate method, but it does show basically how they're getting hands on the ball, doing certain things etc. Hendo definitely compares favourably.

(No i'm not saying he is or will be as good as Jon Brown, he is just one of the benchmarks for the position)

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/...id1=302&tid2=4&pid2=2308&type=T&fid1=O&fid2=O

Even better, did it with the guy we got rid of, same age. Already playing better than Fev.

Doesn't appreciate Hampson crashing over the top and spoiling his marks. :cool:
Not to mention the 3 of ours that flew into him vs Doggies hurting his knee.

Sticks came to us as a fully developed CHF... what was he like after a couple of years while he was still at Glenelg? Was he as far along as what Hendo is or was he better than that Hendo is at the same stage of their developments?

And we all know how Sticks turned out :D

Give him the time to develop and we should see someone who will play in a similar vein to Kernahan.

Sticks was a star before he came to the Blues. BOG in the 1985 GF against North Adelaide with an incredible dominant game, booting 5 or 6 big ones. Sticks is a Carlton legend, lets hope Hendo becomes half as good.:thumbsu:

Hes going to be a star just wait and see

Hendo Yarran Garlett Betts Waite

Our forward line has much talent waiting to explode. :eek: :D

Hendo is going to be good. He hardly ever get's outmarked, is starting to take a few nice grabs, leads and tried his hardest. For your first year as a forward he is very impressive. Everyone knows forwards take at least 3 years to develop so give him a chance!

Hopefully Hampson improves as well because a Hendo and Hampson with some experience under there belt have massive forward potential. Not to mention Waite.

We are on track to make the 8 which was our aim at the start of the year. Next year our list will be more experienced and the year after that look out. Grand final time!

I think Hendo is coming along bloody fantastically!

The way he was moving, his marking, kicking and decision making all seemed so smooth. For a 3rd year player in his 1st year playing at CHF, it's a mightly effort to be travelling as well as he is!

I'm seeing glimpses of improvement in Hammer aswell. He positions well and is an excellent big man to have up there due to his agility, so if he starts sticking those grabs he could be very dangerous. I see him playing more of a 'FF/relieving Kreuz in the ruck' role in future.

HF: Yarran, Henderson, Waite
F: Betts, Hampson, Garlett

Sticks was a star before he came to the Blues. BOG in the 1985 GF against North Adelaide with an incredible dominant game, booting 5 or 6 big ones. Sticks is a Carlton legend, lets hope Hendo becomes half as good.:thumbsu:

.. not to mention 10 Goals on one B. Doull in the State of Origin game in the same year.

We shouldn't even be mentioning Kernahan and Henderson in the same sentence at the moment. I'm just happy that Hendo can pick Sticks brain and learn from the master (a la Grasshopper in the Kung Fu TV Show)

(did I just mention them in the same sentence ??? :D:D)

When you look how Hendo and Lucas are developing compared to the fat unfit shadow of his former self full forward up in Brisbane it really is amazing the ideal we got. Particularly considering we were going to delist him anyway.:D I think Voss will be cursing Hendo and Lucas for the reaminder of his coaching career.(Which will not be long)

Thank **** Rischitelli and Bradshaw said no.

What a disaster that deal would have been for us.

I still can't believe the head honchos at our club accepted it.

Instead of getting an average midfielder and a gun KP forward who's body is shot and who has 1 year more at the top flight, we've managed to get 2 players that will be important members of our best 22 heading forward.

Great trade.

Maybe more relevant to the other thread regarding the KP forward targets, maybe we can get in Vossy's ear and tell him we'll trade Carrazzo for Cornelius and their first round pick.

That'd suit his recruiting methods to a tee.

Exactly. I was in shock that people were actually pleased with that **** of an offer. :eek:

Was absolutely rapt when we ended up with Henderstar and pick 12. Even moreso 10 months on. :)

Though you still find the odd moron who'd prefer Bradshaw. :confused:

Exactly. The first legitimate "attempted blunder" by WH, and yet his detractors never mention it.

Instead of getting an average midfielder and a gun KP forward who's body is shot and who has 1 year more at the top flight, we've managed to get 2 players that will be important members of our best 22 heading forward.

Great trade.
As soon as I heard the Lions were interested I thought it would be great to get Henderson, more on reputation as a junior than what I later saw reviewing his games.
Pumped he's in Navy Blue.

Lucas is going to be a gem IMO. Looks to be a great ball user and reads it well. Hope he has a big pre-season. :thumbsu:
Maybe more relevant to the other thread regarding the KP forward targets, maybe we can get in Vossy's ear and tell him we'll trade Carrazzo for Cornelius and their first round pick.

That'd suit his recruiting methods to a tee.
Not sure Carrazzo is near enough to his used by date. Houlihan would be more the deal IMO........Fev would back it. :D

Not only thank **** we didn't get Bradshaw and Rischitelli.........double thank **** we didn't get Voss as coach. :eek:

Well done Hendo