Well Done

Stafford678

Well done on getting the four points.

The game was ugly and i know you guys didnt play your best football and lost your captain early and i know our footy wasnt that crash hot eiether we really miss richo as that target at CHF. IMO the umpiring at the end of the game killed us but in the end in come down to freo's pressure manning up around the ground in that final 8 minutes that caused us to mess around with the footy, chip short and make bad desicions with the ball.

Im extremely gutted about the loss, its not often a team with outs such as richardson , brown and deledio could get so close to the dockers at subi, im proud of our effort and gutted at the same time.

Bowden broke even with PAvlich i reckon but it was pavlich's suberb vision and handball that set up the medhurst goal which sealed the game, the cream rose to the top then. and i thort Micheal Johnson was superb down back, giving patison a tough time, and peake was dominant through the midfield.

The other thing that also stood out for me was the tackling, farmer and a few others just laid tackle after tackle after tackle, not alowing richmond players to get the handball out. The tigers where soft and could not compete with freo's pressure.

Stafford678 said:
Well done on getting the four points.

The game was ugly and i know you guys didnt play your best football and lost your captain early and i know our footy wasnt that crash hot eiether we really miss richo as that target at CHF. IMO the umpiring at the end of the game killed us but in the end in come down to freo's pressure manning up around the ground in that final 8 minutes that caused us to mess around with the footy, chip short and make bad desicions with the ball.

Im extremely gutted about the loss, its not often a team with outs such as richardson , brown and deledio could get so close to the dockers at subi, im proud of our effort and gutted at the same time.

Bowden broke even with PAvlich i reckon but it was pavlich's suberb vision and handball that set up the medhurst goal which sealed the game, the cream rose to the top then. and i thort Micheal Johnson was superb down back, giving patison a tough time, and peake was dominant through the midfield.

The other thing that also stood out for me was the tackling, farmer and a few others just laid tackle after tackle after tackle, not alowing richmond players to get the handball out. The tigers where soft and could not compete with freo's pressure.

cheers bro, seems like you the only tigers fan whos got sense in him and not just blaming the loss to the umpires, your mob went defensive and shut shop too early and thats one of the reasons you lost

whilst all your other fellow supporters blaming the umps for the sole reason of your loss.

Wow. Your the first Richmond supporter to post without bagging the umpiring. Kudos for that, and thanks for being gracious in defeat.

The game was ugly, and never reached great heights. Farmer is an absolute asset with his defensive pressure and is highly underrated. Those who call him a dirty dog don't watch him play. For the past 2 seasons he has been completely disciplined and has been rewarded with a spot in the leadership group.

A couple of your youngsters look likely types. I like Tambling. His impact will improve with age.

I do think the umpires calls at the end where dodgey , the polo mark was a bad call , and the line ball call was a bit iffy considering the one that happened early on for us but given a goal, the thing is that while they seemed to play a part in the result in a small way, it was the moments before those goals that defeated us, the pressure freo put on when maning up forced bowden to chip short to polo , and the pavlich handball was sensational to get that goal that nailed it.

The Ray Hall running to far call was spot on . Stuipid mistakes like that cost us, Hall could have easily just rushed the ball through for a point, which would have wasted a bit more time and we could have found an option then, also Bowden instead of chipping the ball, could have bombed it long, that eats up a bit more time and the closer to our forward line the better

kanabar said:
cheers bro, seems like you the only tigers fan whos got sense in him and not just blaming the loss to the umpires, your mob went defensive and shut shop too early and thats one of the reasons you lost

whilst all your other fellow supporters blaming the umps for the sole reason of your loss.

The umpires arent the sole reason we lost, and im not trying to take anything away from freo, but they were probably 60-70% of the reason we lost, along with us stopping our attack.

Before you say im looking for excuses or simply blaming the umps for a poor last qtr, put the shoe on the other foot.

lucas_hsv said:
The umpires arent the sole reason we lost, and im not trying to take anything away from freo, but they were probably 60-70% of the reason we lost, along with us stopping our attack.

Before you say im looking for excuses or simply blaming the umps for a poor last qtr, put the shoe on the other foot.

We'd just be annoyed we got into that situation in the first place and you can ask most Freo fans and get that same response. You are just looking for excuses

Kapow!!! said:
We'd just be annoyed we got into that situation in the first place and you can ask most Freo fans and get that same response. You are just looking for excuses

Thats a load of crap and you know it, remember the game against St.Kilda? Your fans were raging about the umpires, not your team letting go of a 5 goal lead.

lucas_hsv said:
Thats a load of crap and you know it, remember the game against St.Kilda? Your fans were raging about the umpires, not your team letting go of a 5 goal lead.

Not the umpires (god forbid), the timekeeper. ;)

We've been on the bad end of the stick a lot this year. Probably every game bar this one. Jeff Farmer never, never gets a free paid, yet he continually gets his head ripped off.

I'd be annoyed about the non-mark to Polo. That was the only questionable decision. Though McPharlin had a similar decision not paid earlier in the game.

The ones whether the ball was over the line or not, is best decided by the linesman.

One percieved umpiring mistake I will most definitely defend the umps on is that final goal. The goal umpire had easily the best seat in the house. It looked like it was over the line when the Richmond player flicked it back onto the post. Can't see any problems in that.

I was as livid about some of the umpiring decisions that went against us as Richmond fans were with decisions that went against them. So it's a relief that we didn't lose.

But apart from that, it was a good game and I am delighted with the win. Richmond outplayed and outcoached our mob for most of the night and we were able to find enough cracks in their strategies to snatch the game away in the final half of the last quarter.

rgauci said:

I'd be annoyed about the non-mark to Polo.

about that i agree with the umpires decision for it to be a mark he must hold it for over 5-10 seconds and that ball was not held long enough i know i spoke to AFL umpire at training and he said no mark as well. rules state how long you must hold theb all before it is called a mark.

kanabar said:
rgauci said:

about that i agree with the umpires decision for it to be a mark he must hold it for over 5-10 seconds and that ball was not held long enough i know i spoke to AFL umpire at training and he said no mark as well. rules state how long you must hold theb all before it is called a mark.

A mark has to be held for over 5-10 seconds? :confused:

peternorth said:
BTW is pav for AA freo's flagship supporter in bigfooty?

I don't think I've ever even seen him post on this board ever. He seems to exist just to troll Richmond on the main board. :rolleyes:

But back to the umps - I thought they were deplorable all night. It's just the decisions when the game is up for grabs that you remember most - esp if they go against you. And really, The Polo one was the only contentious issue from a Richmond POV. FWIW, I thought we got a pretty rough deal for the first three-quarters, then got a fairly good run in the 4th. I just would like to see a little consistency to eliminate the frustration we all feel at different times.

It's amazing to think that in 10 games so far, we have not come out in front on the free-kick count once - and broken even on just two occasions. I just wonder what Jeffrey has to do to get a kick. Someone attempts a hanger on him on the HFF and knocks him to the ground. Whistle goes, Jeff gets up to take his kick. Free kick against. Please someone explain that one to me... :confused: Then Gaspar flattens him from behind in the FP. Whistle goes, Jeff gets up to take his kick. Free kick against. WTF??? Someone help me with that one too, cos I just do not get it.... :confused:

kanabar said:
rgauci said:

1. A mark is decided when the umpire deems the player to have control, 5 seconds is crap.
2. Polo should have received a free for being dragged off the contest whilst attempting the mark ie a free not a mark paid

kanabar said:
hoss said:
yup ball has to be held for 5-10 seconds before paid a mark.
5-10 seconds?:confused:
That is an eternity. Even three seconds is more than enough. Look at your watch and count out five seconds. It's a long time. Suggesting 5 seconds is inaccurate and ridiculous. Suggesting 10 seconds is simply astonishingly stupid.

tugga said:
kanabar said:
5-10 seconds?:confused:
That is an eternity. Even three seconds is more than enough. Look at your watch and count out five seconds. It's a long time. Suggesting 5 seconds is inaccurate and ridiculous. Suggesting 10 seconds is simply astonishingly stupid.

mate thats the AFL rules...

5-10 seconds ain't in the rules, and is a frankly ludicrous suggestion, sorry. It is only a mark if the umpire deems the player has controlled the ball in arresting its flight.

Are people going on about the Medhurst goal here? After the goal umpire, I had the best seat in the ground for that one, I sit in 111 directly in line with the goals and can literally only see one post. I guarantee I saw all of the ball fall behind the posts before it was thumped back. Not much in it, but no doubt about it. Fantastic call by the umpire, as it was a really tough decision with trajectory of the ball.

I couldn't actually believe it made the distance. Off the boot I was screaming for McPharlin to come in off the line because I didn't think it had a hope in hell of making it, I thought it would fall 1-2m short. Maybe it was the collective will of all Fremantle supporters that drove it through.

And the Polo non-mark I didn't actually see, and can't comment upon, but I would be happy to go back through the game and find a lazy half-dozen nondecisions or rubbish decisions that should have or didn't go Fremantles way without scratching the surface.

Thanks for coming Tiges. Big ask to do Subiaco twice this early in the season and you were very good and switched on, despite being undermanned. You'll beat some more good sides this season no problems.