Welsh Out

• Thread starter Thread starter -WWJD-

Depends where we see Reilly's future.

Personally I'd like to see him playing wing for some time. When did we last have a genuine wingman, and Reilly is a genuine wingman.

But Stiffy is right if the plan is to turn him onto an on-baller. He'll learn the game so much quicker as a tagger, because the good players will take him to the ball.

I'd still like to see him establish his career initially as a wingman.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18

Why is that??????:)
How did you get to that conclusion??????:confused:

I don't believe that Reilly is that real defensive player. I believe he was bought to the club as an attacking wingman, so why not let him play his natural game? He doesnt have a good defensive head for the ball. His injuries tell that, sorry Raids.

With this years previous weeks consistancy of Doughty, one spot on the wing may have been cemented for the rest of the year, but what about the other one? IMO, Burton is too loopy for the possie, so why not see if Reilly can perform what he came to the club to do? Become a professional wingman.

We can still make the finals, so why give up all hope yet. give him 1-4 games and hopefully with no injuries and good form, EASE him into the tagger possie. Perhaps with inspiration from the future captain in Stenglein. If Reilly does not show good consistant form, and get's injured, then the club needs to teach him how to protect his body. Then chuck him in the SANFL, teach him how to tag, and then AFL tag if he has proven the goods.

Granted I havent seen much of Reilly play, but can you tell me, does he check well? I have failed to see that in the games I have seen him play.

Oh and Judd went 3rd hey? Who went before him?

Originally posted by AngelEyes
I don't believe that Reilly is that real defensive player. I believe he was bought to the club as an attacking wingman, so why not let him play his natural game? He doesnt have a good defensive head for the ball. His injuries tell that, sorry Raids.

With this years previous weeks consistancy of Doughty, one spot on the wing may have been cemented for the rest of the year, but what about the other one? IMO, Burton is too loopy for the possie, so why not see if Reilly can perform what he came to the club to do? Become a professional wingman.

We can still make the finals, so why give up all hope yet. give him 1-4 games and hopefully with no injuries and good form, EASE him into the tagger possie. Perhaps with inspiration from the future captain in Stenglein. If Reilly does not show good consistant form, and get's injured, then the club needs to teach him how to protect his body. Then chuck him in the SANFL, teach him how to tag, and then AFL tag if he has proven the goods.

Granted I havent seen much of Reilly play, but can you tell me, does he check well? I have failed to see that in the games I have seen him play.

Oh and Judd went 3rd hey? Who went before him?
The reason I WOULD play Reilly as a tagger is to improve his defensive game. First fundamental that good midfielders learn when they play AFL is being defensive. Reilly is naturally attacking player so playing him as a tagger will not take away anything from him. In fact he would learn a hell of a lot from playing as a tagger

Reilly is OK defensively and he did a pretty good job tagging Akermanis this year. I might be in majority in suggesting that Reilly should be played as a tagger but its something I think would be of massive benefit to Reilly and the club. There is no better way to learn your craft than to learn from the best. As macca23 said he will be led to the ball by the best ball getters in the AFL. However, once you learn how to play a position it never leaves you. Reilly is a natural wingman. Playing him as a tagger will not take anything away from his development. Once he gets more experienced and learns more from being a tagger, he will become a gun wingman.

Mate there is NO WAY we will make the finals. This club has never strung more than 5 wins in a row. We are on a bad losing trot and you don't turn that overnight. We will NOT make the finals and the club is aware of that.

Hodge (Hawks) and Ball (saints) were taken before Judd.

Luke Hodge went #1 in that draft, Luke Ball went at #2.

Ball is a gun, Hodge has struggled with injury, but I reckon Judd shades Ball.

Originally posted by macca23
Depends where we see Reilly's future.

Personally I'd like to see him playing wing for some time. When did we last have a genuine wingman, and Reilly is a genuine wingman.

But Stiffy is right if the plan is to turn him onto an on-baller. He'll learn the game so much quicker as a tagger, because the good players will take him to the ball.

I'd still like to see him establish his career initially as a wingman.
Doesn't matter where we see his future. I still say he will learn more from being a tagger than he would playing on the wing. As I said, Reilly is naturally attacking player so tagging will not be a burden for him. As you say he will be lead to the ball once he gets it he could be damaging.

These days there is no use of having a wingman who can't play on-ball. Reilly is a natural wingman and once you learn how to play a position, you will never forget it. Once he learns his craft as a tagger, he would take to wing like a fish to water and be better for it.

We have absolutely nothing to lose and a lot to gain.

Check out the quality in that draft:

Hodge
Ball
Judd
Polak
Xavier Clarke
Sampi
David Hale (impressive so far)
James Bartel
Nick Dal Santo
Matt Maguire
Mark Seaby
Steven Armstrong

That's 12 of the first 25 who are good players, a couple more who could come along.

Originally posted by spindoctor
Check out the quality in that draft:

Hodge
Ball
Judd
Polak
Xavier Clarke
Sampi
David Hale (impressive so far)
James Bartel
Nick Dal Santo
Matt Maguire
Mark Seaby
Steven Armstrong

That's 12 of the first 25 who are good players, a couple more who could come along.
Thats why experts rate it as the best draft ever.

Some real guns are coming from that draft.

A certain Jacob Schuback was taken at pick 58.

A certain Ben Finnin was taken at pick 44.

Doesn't matter where we see his future. I still say he will learn more from being a tagger than he would playing on the wing. As I said, Reilly is naturally attacking player so tagging will not be a burden for him. As you say he will be lead to the ball once he gets it he could be damaging.

These days there is no use of having a wingman who can't play on-ball. Reilly is a natural wingman and once you learn how to play a position, you will never forget it. Once he learns his craft as a tagger, he would take to wing like a fish to water and be better for it.

We have absolutely nothing to lose and a lot to gain.
Each team has one or two recognised taggers. There are certain players who do benefit from learning the game as a tagger, to then progress to an onballer - but not all.

Reilly has a natural feel for the game (remember comments from Brereton in the Coll v Adel Wizard grand final), and an ability to read the play extremely well.
He does not need to learn how to be taken to the ball, nor does he need to develope a stronger mental toughness.

You say we have nothing to lose.
Ask Mattner how much damage was done to his reputation by trying to be converted to a tagger.
It's not a role suited to everyone.

Reilly is going to be a very very good attacking wigman and midfielder, just needs to string some games together.

Ayres suggested Martin Mattner or Graham Johncock would be assigned to mind Phil Matera, one of the Eagles' elusive forwards.

"I think the taller type does a fairly sound type on Matera," he said. "You saw that last week with Richard Cole playing on him, although I thought he fumbled a bit, which made the defender's job easider.

"We've got a couple of options - Johncock, Mattner, that type of player. One's a reasonable match-up for height. Mattner's got a taller advantage to him and he's pretty reasonable once the ball hits the ground.

"Little Matera likes to lead you up the ground then try to turn you around. If we can, we've got to try to make sure there's enough forward-line and midfield pressure so that when the ball's coming in, it's coming in long rather than on the lead. Once it hits the deck, you've got to be pretty keen to keep it off him or dispossess him."

==============================================

Stiffy_18 is worried :(

Hey you arent the only one,Johncock should be playing his natural role up at CHF or in the middle, and Mattner wont be physically strong enough to hold Matera:rolleyes: :( I dont think Ayres is thinking very clearly:mad: Bassett or McGregor for Matera;)

Smart, 34, was dropped after round four and Ayres said later he wanted to be certain Smart would stay in the side if he were recalled or it could signal the end of his 14-season career.

"Nigel came in late for Nathan (Bassett) last week, anyway," Ayres said on Friday.

Reminded of what he had said earlier this season, Ayres said: "Exactly what I said - it could be, mightn't be, may be, may not be. We obviously look at it every week - who's playing well, who's not playing well. It'll be no different after this weekend's round."
Given we are playing youth, I can't see Nigel getting a game until round 22, unless we are hit with injuries. Sad way to end his career.

Of Adelaide's naming all three ruckmen in its 22 - Matthew Clarke, Ben Hudson and Rhett Biglands - for the first time this season, Ayres said: "West Coast have been playing a fairly tall forward line with (Mark) Seaby, who's 200 centimetres, and (Dean) Cox, who's a bit bigger than that, and they've been basically changing out of full forward.

"It gives us an opportunity to have a look at Rhett, either in the ruck or down in defence. He goes back to the ground where he unfortunately got suspended (for four weeks, against Fremantle in round three). His form last week was very good for the Eagles (Woodville-West Torrens in the SANFL).

"He's physically a big boy, obviously, and he's pretty quick so if we can play the three of them … but the weather's been pretty ordinary in Perth all the week."
Reckon we are stuffing around with Biglands playing him as a KPP, as his rucking has gone down hill since this experiment. Would prefer us trying Bock, Rutten or Watts as KPP & leaving Biglands in ruck. From memory last time we played 3 ruckmen we got flogged, with 2 spending a fair amount of the game on the bench, limiting our options.

Ayres suggested Martin Mattner or Graham Johncock would be assigned to mind Phil Matera, one of the Eagles' elusive forwards.

"I think the taller type does a fairly sound type on Matera," he said. "You saw that last week with Richard Cole playing on him, although I thought he fumbled a bit, which made the defender's job easider.

"We've got a couple of options - Johncock, Mattner, that type of player. One's a reasonable match-up for height. Mattner's got a taller advantage to him and he's pretty reasonable once the ball hits the ground.

"Little Matera likes to lead you up the ground then try to turn you around. If we can, we've got to try to make sure there's enough forward-line and midfield pressure so that when the ball's coming in, it's coming in long rather than on the lead. Once it hits the deck, you've got to be pretty keen to keep it off him or dispossess him."
Like you Stiffy I'm very worried if either Mattner or Stiffy play on Matera. Need a player with footy smarts like JT or Hentschel.

Also, reckon we should start Reilly on one of their gun midfielders such as Judd, as he would learn heaps like he did when playing on Aker earlier in the season.

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin

Like you Stiffy I'm very worried if either Mattner or Stiffy play on Matera. Need a player with footy smarts like JT or Hentschel.

Also, reckon we should start Reilly on one of their gun midfielders such as Judd, as he would learn heaps like he did when playing on Aker earlier in the season.
Matera's great asset is his speed and ability to turn players around.

I think stiffy or Edwards are the best bets, but either one robs our attacking options.

From memory last time we played 3 ruckmen we got flogged, with 2 spending a fair amount of the game on the bench, limiting our options.

Your memory is a bit average then...last time was Fremantle at Subi the day Biglands got suspended.

We got nowhere near flogged, in fact we would have won except for some shocking kicking, in an awful game we had it all over Fremantle, but once again conversion let us down.

Biglands played KP and nearly killed Polak in the course.

Originally posted by spindoctor
Your memory is a bit average then...last time was Fremantle at Subi the day Biglands got suspended.

We got nowhere near flogged, in fact we would have won except for some shocking kicking, in an awful game we had it all over Fremantle, but once again conversion let us down.

Biglands played KP and nearly killed Polak in the course.
Well we all don't have minds like you Spinny.

IMO, none of our ruckmen are good enough to make the team to predominantly play as KPP ahead of the likes of Watts, Rutten, Perrie, etc - so playing all 3 of them is a waste.

Originally posted by Wayne's-World
Matera's great asset is his speed and ability to turn players around.

I think stiffy or Edwards are the best bets, but either one robs our attacking options.

I agree Edwards would have been the best option, but we couldn't afford to take him away from his forward/midfield role. Need a smart player on Matera & Stiffy hasn't got the smarts IMO. Why we started JT on the bench was baffling, then played him away from his normal defensive role when he 1st came on was even more baffling...
Big ground, and we had a lot of slow players playing.
I can only assume not playing JT on the ground initially was based on pace.

Fact is we took a very slow team what with Bode, Skippy, Stenglein...
Their pacy midfield carved us up.
As well as we think our taggers played, Judd and Kerr were in West Coasts top 3 players.

Interesting we played Stinga on Cousins, who everyone in Melb agreed a week prior was the 3rd best West Coast midfielder.

Why? because his possessions are not as damaging as Kerr and Judd. Interesting matchup?