Welshy gets off

• Thread starter Thread starter Stiffy_18

hmm i have to agree with you there. His form in the last few weeks has been terrible

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Sanity prevails. Welshy gets off tonight, now its time to drop him back to Westies.

Dont agree due to McGregor having to go back to HB and Carey being our main marking forward there was alot of pressure on him to be a target,he plays his best as a crumbing forward,if Stevo in given a recall he is going to have less pressure on him and will play his natural game also Torney should be recalled meaning McGregor can go to HF again with a few better players available our options are opening up and with the return of Stevo and Toreny gee it makes our team alot better;)

In's: Stevo,Torney

Out's: Bock,Jericho

Re: Re: Re: Re: Welshy gets off

Originally posted by maccas_no1
Why not?????Who do you want to drop?????

I agree with Stiffy, not Bock or Jericho. They are the future, and if any of them get dropped, I will lose any faith in the AFC that I have now.

Why not?????Who do you want to drop?????Are Bassett and Begley right to play?????
Because they have done a hell of a lot more than Welsh has so far this year. Dropping those 2 would be criminal and would really p|ss me and a number of other suppporters off.

Don't give me this crap, he was made a key target against Magpies. Lets look to begining of the year. We had Carey, McGregor and Scott Stevens as out key tall targets. Welshy was there but he played like he wasn't. Has he been a multiple goal kicker this year?????? Playing him would be rewarding medicrity.

Begley is likely to play and Bassett will be tested and should play.

We should play youngsters not, players who are bludging and more concerned with their social life and how their hair looks rather than getting a kick and kicking a couple of goals for the side.

Welshy can p|ss off back to SANFL so he learns a bit of a lesson. He is not as good as he thinks he is.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Welshy gets off

Because they have done a hell of a lot more than Welsh has so far this year. Dropping those 2 would be criminal and would really p|ss me and a number of other suppporters off.

If this incident does occur I will personally go down and give Ayers a hiding! :mad:

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Welshy gets off

We should play youngsters not, players who are bludging and more concerned with their social life and how their hair looks rather than getting a kick and kicking a couple of goals for the side.

Welshy can p|ss off back to SANFL so he learns a bit of a lesson. He is not as good as he thinks he is.

No arguments from me Stiffy.

I'd rissole him back to Westies.

As Welshy was up of charging, I decided that the best way to determine if he's guilty of not (because of the AFL's inconsistency with this rule) was to flip a coin.

HEADS: Guilty, 1 week
TAILS: Not guilty, but needs to be dropped because of poor form (worst player Friday night IMO).

Obviously, it landed on tails, and he got off. I wonder if this is the way the tribunal determines a players guilt for charging.

Never really looked like Welsh would be penalised for that incident. Just something else to unsettle our already unsettled side.

And as for ditching Jericho and Bock..............no way. I thought Jericho in particular looked real promising against Collingwood and would no doubt take that further this week.

Originally posted by ford71
And as for ditching Jericho and Bock..............no way. I thought Jericho in particular looked real promising against Collingwood and would no doubt take that further this week.
On that note why was he benched at quarter time when he had a great 1st quarter??????:confused:

I don't want to give a smart A$$ comment about another Ayres' strategy.......so I'll stick with the reason of resting him to pace him thru the game (just to keep my sanity:rolleyes: :confused: ).

Any confimation/news on whether Bassett will be playing anybody??

Re: Re: Welshy gets off

Dont agree due to McGregor having to go back to HB and Carey being our main marking forward there was alot of pressure on him to be a target,he plays his best as a crumbing forward,if Stevo in given a recall he is going to have less pressure on him and will play his natural game also Torney should be recalled meaning McGregor can go to HF again with a few better players available our options are opening up and with the return of Stevo and Toreny gee it makes our team alot better;)

Would drop both Welsh & Ladhams this week as they have been our most obvious passengers. Welsh & Jericho are similar types, but 1 has been giving his all. If Stevo come back in, that takes some pressure off Carey. Was a big mistake playing him as the only tall forward last week, as we were in strife as soon as Wakelin shut him down.

Re: Re: Re: Welshy gets off

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Would drop both Welsh & Ladhams this week as they have been our most obvious passengers. Welsh & Jericho are similar types, but 1 has been giving his all. If Stevo come back in, that takes some pressure off Carey. Was a big mistake playing him as the only tall forward last week, as we were in strife as soon as Wakelin shut him down.

Have to agree (reluctantly) both Welsh & Ladhams are not performing where it counts & again it's players with heaps of natural ability that our coaching staff are not getting the best out of.

Getting harder & harder to keep the faith in our selection panel
/coaches when decisions are made such as no back-up to Carey in the forward lines last week against the pies,

At Telstra with the roof closed as well , strange selection that one.

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin

Alrighty I have been shot down in flames once again we anit dropping Bock and Jericho:rolleyes:

Welshy definitely needs to be dropped, and I reckon could quite possibly be used as trade bait at the end of the year. What I'd truly like to see tried (Won't be under Gary Ayres, he wouldn't think of this in a million years) is have Scott Welsh a strong fast leading Full forward given plenty of space in the forward 50. He'd give a contest even if he didn't mark it and then you'd have the likes of McLeod, Edwards, Johncock, Jericho etc, swooping on the crumbs provided.

DEFINITELY DON'T DROP JERICHO, his biggest problem is his inconsistency and dropping out of matches for periods, Gary should just leave him on the half forward flank for every game left in 2004. He needs to learn his craft 100% in his specialty position before being shifted around the ground each week.

This week:

INS: Mark Stevens, Matthew Bode,
OUTS: Scott Welsh, Chris Ladhams (If we had the depth to replace this blokes I'd also have a number of other players dropped)

Originally posted by southozsport.tk
What I'd truly like to see tried (Won't be under Gary Ayres, he wouldn't think of this in a million years) is have Scott Welsh a strong fast leading Full forward given plenty of space in the forward 50. He'd give a contest even if he didn't mark it and then you'd have the likes of McLeod, Edwards, Johncock, Jericho etc, swooping on the crumbs provided.
Well aren't you Einstein??????:rolleyes:

You obviously haven't watched the game against Collingwood because Welshy was the leading FF with plenty of space (before MM heavily flooded to clog up the space) and what he gave us all night was sweet **** all. Maybe you should analyse a game a bit more before mouthing off at Gary for something that you think he should be doing when in fact he is doing it.

Originally posted by southozsport.tk
DEFINITELY DON'T DROP JERICHO, his biggest problem is his inconsistency and dropping out of matches for periods,
I agree, he's had this problem his entire AFL career.

Originally posted by Wayne's-World
I agree, he's had this problem his entire AFL career.
Which is what, 6 games old.

It will take time. He is playing AFL footy a year before his time. Lets not forget he played SANFL reserves last year and only has 3 senior SANFL games under his belt.

I am now fussed really. I expect him to be like a yo-yo. As long as he keeps contributing in some way shape or form I am happy.

What I would like to see him cut out of his game is his tendancy to go for marks one-handed. That might work in junior footy but you will get cut up in AFL Jezza. Just a little thing I noticed him do at least once a game. I am sure he will iron this out of his game in time.

Re: Re: Welshy gets off

Agree that Mark Stevens and Jason Torney need to be in the side but at the expense of bock and jerico l do not think so. So who do l suggest should be droped well l would have 5 changes

IN M Stevens, J Torney, B Reilly, J Schuback, F Watts

Out: N Bassett (inj) J Begley (inj) S Welsh, H Skipworth, R Shirley

Scott Welsh isnt kicking goals this season, the first 8 games in season 2001 he kicked like 30 goals then he had Ostitis pubis and missed the rest of the season. During that period of time he as well as the other forwards were chasing, Tackling and at all cost just trying to keep the ball in our forward 50 metres, Scott Welsh was the best at that and was keeping him in the side. But this season he isnt doing that, is there a rift between him and gary as was alleged the week of the power trial match (pre season)

maccas_no1 you said to drop Bock and Jerrico and your are entitled to your opinion maybe your can explain why your would drop them two players???

Originally posted by crows98

maccas_no1 you said to drop Bock and Jerrico and your are entitled to your opinion maybe your can explain why your would drop them two players???

Simply beacuse they may need a rest in th SANFL not for form or any other reason,give a couple of other' ago such as Schuback and Reilly;)

In: Stevo,Torney,Reilly,Schuback

Out: Begely (inj), Bassett (inj),Bock and Jericho

Skipworth needs more of a go like the other youngster's, like all new kids at AFL level, he made a few mistakes but they will learn,Hentshel will learn he has to dispose of the ball quicker also;)

Scott Welsh young and needs another week to prove himself, lets be honest he is a confidence player if he has a good 1st quarter he will tear the opposition a new one, I say give him one more week with a few other marking options up forward let him go back to being a crumbing forward get him in and close around the stoppages,the more forward options we have to stretch Hawthorn's defence the better;)

Scott Welsh young and needs another week to prove himself
We've been saying this for weeks now. He is a blidger and playing him this week would be rewarding mediocrity. There are far more deserving players than Welsh ATM

I'd like to see Fergus Watts get a game ASAP!

But I don't reckon it'll happen until it's mathematically impossible to make the 2004 finals series.