Opinion Western Derby's @ New Stadium

• Thread starter Thread starter Dirty Bird

Hey guys, I've just put up this idea on the Adelaide and Port boards, but felt it could work for you guys as well.

I was thinking, split the Western Derby's 50/50. Have 1 end of the ground being completely Fremantle supporters, whilst the other end of the ground is completely Eagle supporters.

This in effect will make it 10 home, 10 away, 2 neutral.

The idea stems from a college football game in America between Oklahoma and Texas. each year 1 team plays 4h and 5a games in conference, while the other is 5h and 4a, but in reality it's 4h 4a 1n.

What they have is the crowd split in half at the midway point of the field. I just thought it could work in the AFL in regards to the Western Derby and Showdowns (even ANZAC day but the MCC and AFL Members ruin that happening)

It could look something like this...

1028896%5Crr_03.jpg

Though, those colours are a little similar, so here's a close up of the line

red-river-rivalry.jpg

Do you think it could work for Western Derby's?
Do you like it? if not, why?

Interesting idea, I don't mind it but how could it apply to reserved seat members? Could you imagine the sledging on the divide?? Might have to beef up security their lol.

Interesting idea, I don't mind it but how could it apply to reserved seat members?

They could just split the members in half - half the ground has the first derby as their home game ticket and the other half gets the second derby. And vice versa for the eagles obviously.

I'm open to the idea, would create a great atmosphere, though I pity the poor souls whose seat are on the divide and would have to sit next to a wall of eagle w***ers every derby.

They could just split the members in half - half the ground has the first derby as their home game ticket and the other half gets the second derby.
I love that idea, :thumbsu:
I just put it forward to the Port board. The major problem I seem to be getting from them is that some feel it's an insult to force them to the Northern End for every game (My logic was - Adelaide Oval has more seats at the Southern End).

EDIT: Wow, my 6,000th post was on the Freo board, feel very very special :p;)

I actually really like it. Every other game is a massively lopsided pro-Freo or anti-Freo crowd, it would be awesome to have two equal sized armies a couple games a year, the atmosphere would be intense

When we play the Pies, Carlton or Essendon in Perth it's pretty close to 50/50 in terms of atmosphere to be fair.

Always liked this sort of idea in alot of sporting events.. certainly looks awesome.. i for one would gladly volunteer to sit on the divide.. you could even turn my seat slightly to face closer to the enemy

Actually this is one thing I didn't think of, if it got me better seats I'd be all for it!

no, half the fun of the western derby is getting stuck into eagle flogs

I'll never forget the first 'away' derby I went to, stepped on the train and I'm the only person wearing a Fremantle shirt on in the entire carriage, the train ride home after a win was pretty awesome though :) I actually don't mind it, it's quite a weird feeling going to a place that is usually home and feeling like you are on enemy territory..

iirc in the event of a Derby final the tickets a split between both the members, seems a bit unfair really if one team finishes 5th and the other 8th, home team should really get something like 3/4 of the tickets imo.

I love the idea and think the atmosphere would be great. I hate the one-sided nature of our crowds. Even the crowds at interstate matches are one-sided, just the other way around. A 50-50 split, maybe throw all the seating open to the general public and you take your luck on the day? If you've got a membership, you get the ticket for free, if not, you pay up (not sure if this would work?).

I like that the new ground will be big enough to have lots of fans from both sides, definitely think it will a create better atmosphere and hope they go down that route, even with some specific eagles/dockers sections.

Not a fan of the complete split though, its impractical for members seating etc but that can probably be gotten around but one thing I love about AFL compared to leagues like the Premier league in England is that fans DO mix, there's heaps of good natured ribbing, sometimes it goes to far but normally that gets sorted out quickly enough. Maybe it'd work great but I'd hate to end up with an atmsophere of 'get back on your own side'.

Besides most of my mates and family are Eagles fans, I want to be sitting beside them in the new stadium, sledging them while the Dockers go on a massive unbeaten streak will be so much more fun then having to yell down field :).

Yep, something I have thought for a long time, ever since all ticketing became electronic/scanable. Would not be difficult and I think it would be better to take it that next step and do it block by block.

I am not sure what it is like in SA but over here they would need to double the security me thinks.

Easier to do than you think. Just allocate half the members of each club to each derby. Say Freo members with reserved seats on one side get the first, along with Eagles members that have seats on the other side. For the 2nd derby you alternate, so that the Freo and Eagles members with reserved seats on the other side keep their seats.

I reckon it's a great idea. I don't like how there is a full stadium of one supporters and only about 3 thousand of the other team.

It would be terrific atmosphere and closest thing to what Melbourne teams enjoy on a weekly basis.

I think it'd be bloody fantastic as long as the general public also got the chance to buy tickets as well

I'd love to sit on the divide and rip shit out of those Eagles fans :D

That said, you'd be going down the path of segregation which occurs in the EPL and AFL is known for inclusiveness and mixing with the opposition

It can't work unless the original member seat allocations are split the same way. I'm also with Kram, I like the idea of being outnumbered by the opposition in away derbies (yes, derbies, not derby's, don't come here spreading your SA pidgin english). A win at an away derby is the sweetest win you'll get outside of finals.

Think that it would look great but should be reserved for finals should we ever meet.

If I remember correctly they had two bays for the NRL state of origin at Etihad earlier this year. The two distinct colours looked great, unlike the photos above which look a bit washed out. The SOO supporters go all out with wigs etc and it is a sea of maroon and blue side by side. I can't seem to find a picture unfortunately.

The purple against the blue/yellow would be a sight to see and great for the game.