What are you listening to?

I am so over Wonderwall and Bittersweet Symphony, some of the most overplayed songs of all time. Creep and Iris are great, so is Slide by the Goo Goo Dolls. There's a song the lead singer wrote for the Treasure Planet soundtrack, it's one of my favourite songs.

My best mate is into a lot of indie and acoustic stuff, but then she'll come out with some 70's disco track. And i'm not too much of a fan of 70's disco, it's not really my genre. :p

Everybody has that reaction! Yes it's a guy! You can hear the male-ness in his voice. Sometimes, not often... Some of my favourites:

With Wrecking Ball it's well written and well produced, I like her voice on the track as well though :D I used to think she was hot though, and now... well she kind of shattered that image. Also I prefer Miley's version to this guy's version. He pronounces his words strangely. So sue me!
There's a reason they're so overplayed. ;) I actually haven't heard them in a looooong time, which is why I had a bit of a nostalgia trip, haha. But yeah, some great songs there.
This song is brilliant, I love his voice. Nice lyrics too.

Hahaha, she reminds me of a girl I used to know. Was a massive fan of a lot of the music I listened to, then some ridiculously upbeat old pop song would come on and made me want to throw up. Then she became a bitch so I don't have to deal with it anymore. :cool:

No way that's a guy, hahahaha. Reminds me of the Sleeping With Sirens singer, but he's not quite as female-sounding until he gets into the really high registers.

The second one has a pretty funny but really excessive video clip. :p 1:25 for the start of the song.
I like all of those Circa Survive songs though. Will definitely have to go on a hunt for more of their stuff. That last song has an interesting meaning if I'm interpreting it right, hahaha.

I will sue you. For crimes prejudicial to the future quality of music.

I can't work out how I feel about this song:

I keep listening to it but it's one of those that I just can't figure out if I like it or not. Has some good aspects and some bad ones.

Have also been getting into these two songs a bit lately. Used to listen to Coldplay all the time but kinda moved off them. These two are a couple of lesser-knowns but two of my favourites.

There's a reason they're so overplayed. ;) I actually haven't heard them in a looooong time, which is why I had a bit of a nostalgia trip, haha. But yeah, some great songs there.
This song is brilliant, I love his voice. Nice lyrics too.

Hahaha, she reminds me of a girl I used to know. Was a massive fan of a lot of the music I listened to, then some ridiculously upbeat old pop song would come on and made me want to throw up. Then she became a bitch so I don't have to deal with it anymore. :cool:

No way that's a guy, hahahaha. Reminds me of the Sleeping With Sirens singer, but he's not quite as female-sounding until he gets into the really high registers.

The second one has a pretty funny but really excessive video clip. :p 1:25 for the start of the song.
I like all of those Circa Survive songs though. Will definitely have to go on a hunt for more of their stuff. That last song has an interesting meaning if I'm interpreting it right, hahaha.

I will sue you. For crimes prejudicial to the future quality of music.

I can't work out how I feel about this song:
I keep listening to it but it's one of those that I just can't figure out if I like it or not. Has some good aspects and some bad ones.

Have also been getting into these two songs a bit lately. Used to listen to Coldplay all the time but kinda moved off them. These two are a couple of lesser-knowns but two of my favourites.

Oh I know so much about your friends turning into bitches or bastards. One of my old mates used to copy my music taste all the time, and when I stopped seeing him I was into All Time Low and Paramore. So for some reason I saw him the other day, his two favourite bands are All Time Low and Paramore. His taste was constantly evolving and following mine and then when I stopped hanging out with him he stopped changing the music he liked, was weird!

Sleeping With Sirens are alright. I think they're a bit too mainstream metal if that makes any sense. You have the bands with the production that is so mainstream but they're trying to hold on to the metal/hardcore roots. I love the singer though.

That second video was so cheesy. So cheesy. I did like it how the news anchor was normal, and then once he started talking to the kid he turned ghetto :p The way I interpreted the song is just a big **** you to anyone who said that they couldn't make it haha I don't know what you're thinking of!

I really really liked that song. It's perfect to just chill out and relax, the guitar riff reminds me of another song but I can't place it.

Coldplay is amazing and I don't care what anyone says. I've always loved Life In Technicolour 2, never been a big fan of Cemeteries of London. My favourite song from theirs is from their first album, just an acoustic and electric guitar and Martin's vocals.

I've also been loving this song and the music video. Combined they are just so beautiful but so sad as well.

Oh I know so much about your friends turning into bitches or bastards. One of my old mates used to copy my music taste all the time, and when I stopped seeing him I was into All Time Low and Paramore. So for some reason I saw him the other day, his two favourite bands are All Time Low and Paramore. His taste was constantly evolving and following mine and then when I stopped hanging out with him he stopped changing the music he liked, was weird!

Sleeping With Sirens are alright. I think they're a bit too mainstream metal if that makes any sense. You have the bands with the production that is so mainstream but they're trying to hold on to the metal/hardcore roots. I love the singer though.

That second video was so cheesy. So cheesy. I did like it how the news anchor was normal, and then once he started talking to the kid he turned ghetto :p The way I interpreted the song is just a big **** you to anyone who said that they couldn't make it haha I don't know what you're thinking of!

I really really liked that song. It's perfect to just chill out and relax, the guitar riff reminds me of another song but I can't place it.

Coldplay is amazing and I don't care what anyone says. I've always loved Life In Technicolour 2, never been a big fan of Cemeteries of London. My favourite song from theirs is from their first album, just an acoustic and electric guitar and Martin's vocals.

I've also been loving this song and the music video. Combined they are just so beautiful but so sad as well.
Hahahaha, that's very funny. Maybe he just loved you so much he wanted to be you? Next time you see him he'll have had plastic surgery to look just like you.
That sounds like an old mate of mine though, except instead of music taste it was girls. :rolleyes: It was pretty funny.

Nah I know exactly what you mean. I'm not a huge fan of them either, I just like the second song I showed you plus a couple of others. They've absolutely tried to move away from the 'mainstream metal' tag though...check out one of their newest songs:

I don't really like it but it's definitely...different. Haha.

Totally cheesy, but in the kind of way that makes you want to laugh. :p The news anchors are great.
The Holding Someone's Hair Back meaning? Entirely possible I'm looking at it the wrong way, hahaha. Just when I heard it the first time the, "She's got the photos but no recollection," and the, "It's a surprise you haven't caught on yet; it's nothing personal you're an embarrassment," I got the impression that he was on the "other side" of a one night stand with a drunk out of his league girl who now wants nothing to do with him. :p

Yeah I've been listening to it quite a bit while studying but I still just can't quite pick how I feel about it. I really love the chorus but I'm just not sure. I had a look at some of their other stuff and wasn't a fan which is a shame.

Yeah that's a great song. My favourite just has to be The Scientist or Yellow, though (I know, I'm boring). Great to play and sing along to as well.

That's a nice song but I can't get past her voice. Not really for me. Can appreciate the song (and the video clip) though.

Really love this song; have it on repeat to keep me sane while I study, haha. Not sure you'll like it but it's worth a try. :D The intro puts most people off.

Video clip is simple but I love it. Lyrics are great too.

I won't turn into a bitch or a bastard. I promise guys !! :)

Can one of you put up Teen Idle by Marina & The Diamonds... I love the lyrics..
:hearts:

I was expecting something a lot worse than this!

Hahahaha, that's very funny. Maybe he just loved you so much he wanted to be you? Next time you see him he'll have had plastic surgery to look just like you.
That sounds like an old mate of mine though, except instead of music taste it was girls. :rolleyes: It was pretty funny.

Nah I know exactly what you mean. I'm not a huge fan of them either, I just like the second song I showed you plus a couple of others. They've absolutely tried to move away from the 'mainstream metal' tag though...check out one of their newest songs:

I don't really like it but it's definitely...different. Haha.

Totally cheesy, but in the kind of way that makes you want to laugh. :p The news anchors are great.
The Holding Someone's Hair Back meaning? Entirely possible I'm looking at it the wrong way, hahaha. Just when I heard it the first time the, "She's got the photos but no recollection," and the, "It's a surprise you haven't caught on yet; it's nothing personal you're an embarrassment," I got the impression that he was on the "other side" of a one night stand with a drunk out of his league girl who now wants nothing to do with him. :p

Yeah I've been listening to it quite a bit while studying but I still just can't quite pick how I feel about it. I really love the chorus but I'm just not sure. I had a look at some of their other stuff and wasn't a fan which is a shame.

Yeah that's a great song. My favourite just has to be The Scientist or Yellow, though (I know, I'm boring). Great to play and sing along to as well.

That's a nice song but I can't get past her voice. Not really for me. Can appreciate the song (and the video clip) though.

Really love this song; have it on repeat to keep me sane while I study, haha. Not sure you'll like it but it's worth a try. :D The intro puts most people off.

Video clip is simple but I love it. Lyrics are great too.

Oh no mine was with girls as well. With a lot of things... I started guitar, he picked it up. Changed music tastes, he changed with me. I was into a girl, so then he decided to go for her. While I was dating her. But that was a while back, not fun though!

Ok yeah this is a bit different. I actually like it though :D His/her voice suits it I think.

Holding Someone's Hair Back, well that was the album that he wrote about Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. So it's really about that, she's got the photos but can't remember because she's had her memories erased. She had them erased cause he's an embarrassment etc. But the other popular version is it's just a one night stand :p

I actually looked through some of their other stuff and really liked it. So I am definitely getting into them, thank you very much :D

I didn't really like that one, I'm not that big a fan of that really super clean distorted sound that you hear on a bit of stuff these days. Give me something dirty over that any day. But I do love those kinds of lyric videos.

I'm not sure if you'll like this one at all, but i've had it on repeat for the past few days.

Oh no mine was with girls as well. With a lot of things... I started guitar, he picked it up. Changed music tastes, he changed with me. I was into a girl, so then he decided to go for her. While I was dating her. But that was a while back, not fun though!

Ok yeah this is a bit different. I actually like it though :D His/her voice suits it I think.

Holding Someone's Hair Back, well that was the album that he wrote about Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. So it's really about that, she's got the photos but can't remember because she's had her memories erased. She had them erased cause he's an embarrassment etc. But the other popular version is it's just a one night stand :p

I actually looked through some of their other stuff and really liked it. So I am definitely getting into them, thank you very much :D

I didn't really like that one, I'm not that big a fan of that really super clean distorted sound that you hear on a bit of stuff these days. Give me something dirty over that any day. But I do love those kinds of lyric videos.

I'm not sure if you'll like this one at all, but i've had it on repeat for the past few days.
Hahahahaha, wow. My mate didn't quite go that far but he's still a dick. :p

His voice suits it better than the other stuff but I'm still not a massive fan. Dunno what it is. I like his voice but I can't find a song of theirs where he actually suits it, haha.

Yeah I don't think I've seen ESOTSM so I wouldn't have gotten that, haha. My interpretation is better. ;)

Haha, no worries. I'm getting into Circa Survive and have already blown three mates' minds by telling them it's a guy, so thanks for that too. :thumbsu:

Yeah see I'm the opposite, I like the clean sound in most songs but obviously there are exceptions. I'll listen to both but I tend to favour clean sound.

Yeah that's a great song, really like that one. Will have to look up some of their other stuff.

And now for something completely different...

John Butler :hearts:

His voice suits it better than the other stuff but I'm still not a massive fan. Dunno what it is. I like his voice but I can't find a song of theirs where he actually suits it, haha.

Yeah I don't think I've seen ESOTSM so I wouldn't have gotten that, haha. My interpretation is better. ;)

Haha, no worries. I'm getting into Circa Survive and have already blown three mates' minds by telling them it's a guy, so thanks for that too. :thumbsu:

Yeah see I'm the opposite, I like the clean sound in most songs but obviously there are exceptions. I'll listen to both but I tend to favour clean sound.

Yeah that's a great song, really like that one. Will have to look up some of their other stuff.

Nice Dan.
Sounds beautiful.. and he's like Jesus with dreads.. :)

I don't care enough about Sleeping With Sirens to actually look around for some of their stuff :D They're one of those bands that go into the 'meh' pile. If someone puts them on then i'll listen to them, but I won't actively seek them out.

The best part of Circa is telling your mates that it's a guy :D Best time was when one of my mates said "Wow she's a good singer, is she hot?" So I got my phone out, got a pic of him up and said "I don't know, you tell me ;)" hahaha

John Butler is absolutely amazing. And from all reports his a nice bloke and insanely down to earth as well. Started his own independent label for his band, and look how that turned out for him! I'm happy there are guys like him in the industry.

The start of that song reminded me of Andy Mckee, he's one of those acoustic guitar virtuosos. Rylynn's my favourite track by him.

At one of the gigs I was organising during the week, there was a band with a string section and a clarinet that covered this song. It is glorious.

I don't care enough about Sleeping With Sirens to actually look around for some of their stuff :D They're one of those bands that go into the 'meh' pile. If someone puts them on then i'll listen to them, but I won't actively seek them out.

The best part of Circa is telling your mates that it's a guy :D Best time was when one of my mates said "Wow she's a good singer, is she hot?" So I got my phone out, got a pic of him up and said "I don't know, you tell me ;)" hahaha

John Butler is absolutely amazing. And from all reports his a nice bloke and insanely down to earth as well. Started his own independent label for his band, and look how that turned out for him! I'm happy there are guys like him in the industry.

The start of that song reminded me of Andy Mckee, he's one of those acoustic guitar virtuosos. Rylynn's my favourite track by him.

Only a week late in replying, no biggie.

Yep, I know exactly what you mean. I'm the same. Won't actively seek them out but if someone plays a song of theirs I won't beg them to turn it off. Mostly because his voice just fascinates me. How do you sound so much like a girl? Actually, I know of someone who sounds more like a girl.

It's awful and I hate it, but skip to 2:31 just to listen to this guy sing. I literally thought it was a chick singing.

Hahahaha, nice. Definitely sounds like a chick. Have been listening to a bit more of their stuff lately. They're very good. Strange Terrain still probably my favourite.

He's ridiculous, haha. Does everything - except trim his nails. They scare me every time I watch that video.
Ocean is just an incredible instrumental, so awesome. The 'real' version is over 12 minutes long and is even better.

Yeah, I like McKee. Haven't heard any of his stuff in a while though. Was always a big fan of Drifting. Rylynn's good too.

Have had this on repeat for a while whilst I study. Nice song.

Nice thread guys. Some good picks in here...
timtamWB Brand New and Coheed & Cambria are both pretty good. Brand New's album The Devil and God are raging inside me is an absolute classic. Second Stage Turbine Blade is my pick from Coheed's stuff. Circa Survive are pretty good as well, I like Anthony Green but I prefer his stuff with Saosin. It's more in the post-hardcore mold so it's quite different to his Circa stuff. Being post-hardcore he does some screaming vocals as well, really highlights how good of a range he had in his voice. He was a master of quickly changing to a scream for just a word or two then going back to clean vocals again. He was only with the band when they were starting out so their work together sounds pretty raw (which I like). Shame they only did a couple of EPs together before he left to make Circa.

Good to see a fellow post-rock fan as well! Not exactly the most popular genre around. You might have already heard of some of these guys but some other bands I like (apart from the ones you've mentioned already) are: Japanese band called Toe, Caspian, Codes in the Clouds, Goonies Never Say Die, If These Trees Could Talk

Dannnnnnnnnn Emarosa are one of my fav bands, just can't beat the voice of Jonny Craig. Although he is a dude with a lot of problems in life. He is another singer that is a post-hardcore band as well which I like, they are called Dance Gavin Dance. Fairly different to Emarosa. In this case though I like his stuff with the more rock sounding Emarosa (although they still have elements of post-hardcore also). Hands Like Houses are a nice little Aussie band too, their music sounds heavily influenced by Emarosa. They are from Canberra which is kinda cool because I've lived there for the past 3 years. Some bands you might like (you might already know about them): Emery, Closure In Moscow, Dead Poetic (best album: New Medicines), Bayside, Thursday

Yeah I like GDG...when they don't scream. ;) Am actually slowly going through my library of GDG music and deleting the screaming ones, haha.

Haven't heard of any of those bands; when I get a chance I'll check 'em out and let you know what I think. Cheers for the suggestions. :thumbsu:

Yeah I like GDG...when they don't scream. ;) Am actually slowly going through my library of GDG music and deleting the screaming ones, haha.

Haven't heard of any of those bands; when I get a chance I'll check 'em out and let you know what I think. Cheers for the suggestions. :thumbsu:

haha yeah Dance Gavin Dance do have quite a lot of screaming. I'm not a fan of over-doing it but I think when done right it sounds pretty good. Can get a nice layering of sounds happening. Their album Downtown Battle Mountain 1 is a pretty good example of that. Their album Happiness has very little screaming at all. The rest of their albums have fair bit. I still need to listen to their new one. Spending a year travelling has put me behind the 8-ball big time with music!!

Only a week late in replying, no biggie.

Yep, I know exactly what you mean. I'm the same. Won't actively seek them out but if someone plays a song of theirs I won't beg them to turn it off. Mostly because his voice just fascinates me. How do you sound so much like a girl? Actually, I know of someone who sounds more like a girl.

It's awful and I hate it, but skip to 2:31 just to listen to this guy sing. I literally thought it was a chick singing.

Hahahaha, nice. Definitely sounds like a chick. Have been listening to a bit more of their stuff lately. They're very good. Strange Terrain still probably my favourite.

He's ridiculous, haha. Does everything - except trim his nails. They scare me every time I watch that video.
Ocean is just an incredible instrumental, so awesome. The 'real' version is over 12 minutes long and is even better.

Yeah, I like McKee. Haven't heard any of his stuff in a while though. Was always a big fan of Drifting. Rylynn's good too.

Have had this on repeat for a while whilst I study. Nice song.

Yeah I wasn't a fan, but had that running through the background, clicked back, and was shocked to see that guy was singing. It sounds exactly like a girl! Or an extremely gay guy :D

McKee is absolutely crazy, I tried playing Drifting and got sad :( For My Father is probably my favourite, just because I can actually play it :p

I do like City and Colour, I should listen to a lot more of his stuff. Great acoustic sounds. I've been listening to this a lot lately:

My mate keeps linking me songs from The Vampire Diaries, and I have to say that they use a lot of damn good songs.

Nice thread guys. Some good picks in here...
timtamWB Brand New and Coheed & Cambria are both pretty good. Brand New's album The Devil and God are raging inside me is an absolute classic. Second Stage Turbine Blade is my pick from Coheed's stuff. Circa Survive are pretty good as well, I like Anthony Green but I prefer his stuff with Saosin. It's more in the post-hardcore mold so it's quite different to his Circa stuff. Being post-hardcore he does some screaming vocals as well, really highlights how good of a range he had in his voice. He was a master of quickly changing to a scream for just a word or two then going back to clean vocals again. He was only with the band when they were starting out so their work together sounds pretty raw (which I like). Shame they only did a couple of EPs together before he left to make Circa.

Good to see a fellow post-rock fan as well! Not exactly the most popular genre around. You might have already heard of some of these guys but some other bands I like (apart from the ones you've mentioned already) are: Japanese band called Toe, Caspian, Codes in the Clouds, Goonies Never Say Die, If These Trees Could Talk
You. I like you. :p

TD&GARIM is one of my favourite albums of all time, I keep trying to get my mates into it and it's hard. Jesus is the best track to get someone hooked though, that was my introductory song to Brand New. Coheed changes so much from album to album, and each album has a distinctly different flavour, it's what I love about them. If I had to pick a favourite album, at the moment it's their latest, The Afterman. Have you listened to it? I was hesitant, but it's a damn good double album. And the Key Entity Extractions Domino and Sentry are awesome. But it's hard to rank them, i'd go Afterman > SSTB > In Keeping Secrets > Good Apollo 1 > Good Apollo 2 > Black Rainbow.

I've been meaning to get into Saosin, but I keep having weird Vietnam flashbacks whenever I hear their name because I remember being really scared of them when I was younger :p But this song sounds pretty damn good. You can definitely hear how this is heavier than Circa and a lot more post-hardcore influenced. It's a really polished sound. And what I love is that it's not the generic screaming you find in a lot of post-hardcore bands that really puts me off, he uses it tastefully.

I've heard of If These Trees Could Talk and Caspian, but not the others. I've mostly stuck with Mogwai, Explosions In The Sky, God Is An Astronaut, and Godspeed You! Both the tracks you posted are great, I'm really digging the Toe groove.

I like a lot of different music.. ranging from 50s to now.

But at the moment im currently listening to heaps of:

Roy Orbison

Neil Young

Disclosure

Kendrick Lamar

Tame Impala

timtamWB I didn't really ever get into City & Colour but when I was younger I used to love Alexisonfire and went and saw them live at billboards when i was like 16. was really good.

Roy Orbison

Neil Young

Disclosure

Kendrick Lamar

Tame Impala

timtamWB I didn't really ever get into City & Colour but when I was younger I used to love Alexisonfire and went and saw them live at billboards when i was like 16. was really good.

Wow that's a really eclectic range, some country, an MC, some electronic, and then Tame Impala :p

I never really got into alexisonfire, I don't know why, they just kind of slipped past me? But i'm listening to The Northern and it's awesome.

Also something that bugs me, is it Alexis on fire, or alex is on fire? :p

Roy Orbison

Neil Young

Disclosure

Kendrick Lamar

Tame Impala

Roy Orbison was a genius..
That's all I've got to say..

Nice music taste.

I absolutley love the doors and used to think Jim morrison was the coolest when i was 17/18. he still is the coolest!

Elvis shall always be the coolest :D. Jim Morrison can sit a comfortable #2 or #3, alternating with David Bowie. Although Johnny Cash may have to slip in there, same as Freddie Mercury...

They can all share spots 2-5 while Elvis sits at the top :thumbsu:

But yeah, love The Doors.

What are you listening to?