What are your drinking habits?

Basically non existent now.

I have never really enjoyed drinking aside from the occasional bourbon at home and the social aspect of drinking has progressively become more and more uninteresting. No occasional visits to an overseas nightclub either in 2020. I avoid any gin.

My drinking has changed during covid. Last few years I've been tending to drink quite a bit Fri-Sun, especially when out with friends or at sporting events etc. Once things shut down this year I still kept up the habit of having a few beers over the weekend, but I did start packing on the weight with the lack of gym and work commute. When July came around I thought I would try to do the "Dry July", which was pretty easy since all of the things that usually trigger drinking for me (going out, events, nice weather) were not really a factor. Since then I think I've only had maybe 4 beers in 4 months, and I think that has helped lead to healthier choices in general, and I've lost about 7kg in that time. I think now the weather is improving and things are opening up I will probably start drinking more, but hopefully not to the extent I was previously. It's better for the bank balance too, I was a bit shocked going back over my credit card records to see how much I was spending per month on alcohol.

I turn the big 5-0 next year and I'm still yet to have a beer. I don't feel I'm missing anything.

I used to have the occasional Scotch and Coke, but I haven't had one for probably 15-20 years. I don't feel I'm missing anything.

My drinking has changed during covid. Last few years I've been tending to drink quite a bit Fri-Sun, especially when out with friends or at sporting events etc. Once things shut down this year I still kept up the habit of having a few beers over the weekend, but I did start packing on the weight with the lack of gym and work commute. When July came around I thought I would try to do the "Dry July", which was pretty easy since all of the things that usually trigger drinking for me (going out, events, nice weather) were not really a factor. Since then I think I've only had maybe 4 beers in 4 months, and I think that has helped lead to healthier choices in general, and I've lost about 7kg in that time. I think now the weather is improving and things are opening up I will probably start drinking more, but hopefully not to the extent I was previously. It's better for the bank balance too, I was a bit shocked going back over my credit card records to see how much I was spending per month on alcohol.
How crazy is it how quickly the kg's come off when you stop boozing.

Slowing right down. Gone from a weekly binge on 3/4 of a bottle of some shitty bourbon or Smirnoff at a mates place 10 or so years ago, to a pint or 12 at the pub a couple of times a month, to 2 or 3 pints at pub trivia. To now, where I can go a month without.
I'll have an occasional drink. I'd like to drink a red more often than I do. I take the old school blood thinners Warfarin, and alcohol increases their effect.
I have at times attempted to balance out the effect of certain foods like spinach (green leafy ones in general) which contain high amounts of Vitamin K and so decrease the effect of anticoagulants. Generally you need a consistent amount of certain foods across a week - I would need to bring it up with my doctor if I wanted to start drinking a red more regularly.

How crazy is it how quickly the kg's come off when you stop boozing.

If you don't give in to high calorie foods while you booze and also drink low cal booze it's really not a problem.

I have 3 or 4 beers with mates these days, which during COVID translated to 2 or 3 tinnies when Richmond was on the telly. I don't mind having a scotch & coke as well from time to time. My binge drinking days look over though, I can't stand hangovers anymore and as of last year they've become 2-day affairs when more than 10 drinks have been consumed.

Back in the before-fore time, my habits were pretty similar to many others. They either swung social (beer / single malt) to self medicating for anxiety or dickhead overexposure (rum & coke / single malt).

As the world changed, I entertained ideas about riding out the pandemic rat-arsed. Making jokes about hoarding rum whilst others hoarded toilet paper. Laughing internally at strangers in the bottle shop who weren't sure whether it was a joke or a cry for help.

But the increasing iso-rules turned it from a fun distraction to drinking alone in the dark. So in late April I stopped. There was no theme or goals, just one day I thought, 'nah, not today.' And I haven't thought, 'OK, today!' since.

I don't think this is me though. So once we get into December and the working year is done, I'm going to start again. And not just regular drinking either. Crazy blackout trailer-park shit! Hard drugs too! **** it. See if this stupid ****ing year has got any bucks left in it as it rides off into the sunset.

If you don't give in to high calorie foods while you booze and also drink low cal booze it's really not a problem.
Reckon it depends on what you drink. Red doesn't seem to put it on like beer.
Spirits the white ones tend to be more of a quick effect then the dark ones.
During pandemic I drank a bit more.
Probs have 4-6 a night with a couple of days off.
Cutting back a bit now to 2-4. Don't really have plans to stop but can't be bothered getting rat faced and hungover anymore.
Who knows what will happen once 40s hit.

I like to have a good time and will happily get tanked on the weekend but don't see the point in drinking during the week because you just feel shit going into work hungover.

I like to have a good time and will happily get tanked on the weekend but don't see the point in drinking during the week because you just feel sh*t going into work hungover.
Seriously how much money would someone make if they invented a tablet or something that 100% stopped hangovers the next day.

I watched a documentary about alcohol a few years ago by that Michael Mosley dude. He went to this lab where they are experimenting with a drug as an alternative to alcohol. Mosley tried it and said it was very similar to getting drunk. They then gave him another drug and he was stone cold sober. I think there's too much money invested in alcohol that something like that would never be legalised.

I drink alone in my room, seriously. I would say the drinking has increased slightly over the past couple of years as well as the amounts in a session.

I can’t seem to watch a Friday night game without booze even alone in my room. I will however make sure I’ll have some days where I don’t touch it so I wake up fresh in the morning.

I watched a documentary about alcohol a few years ago by that Michael Mosley dude. He went to this lab where they are experimenting with a drug as an alternative to alcohol. Mosley tried it and said it was very similar to getting drunk. They then gave him another drug and he was stone cold sober. I think there's too much money invested in alcohol that something like that would never be legalised.
Australia still yet to legalise a plant, imagine these old white men in government legalising a pill that can get you munted.

My drinking habits are unbalanced. I basically don't touch alcohol for a few weeks, and then when I have a party/function I get somewhat drunk - not falling over drunk, but happy drunk. I think I'm still well in control of my actions when I do so, and the next day I feel a bit crappy but only a bit.

I had more beer on one weekend of my end of season under 17 footy trip than I had in the last five years combined.
Never been a big drinker beyond my youth, and even then I could go weeks without a drink but if I did drink it was for a good time.
In all the time I ever been to the footy, which would be over 500 games, I reckon I have drank maybe three times. Never seen the point of getting blasted at the footy.

I had my first hangover in a long time on the previous weekend. Had about 5 drinks within 2-3 hours, including both gin AND whiskey drinks, got to that point where I was dazed and not really aware, had a gentle vomit in the toilet, and just went to lie down and fell asleep. Next morning I felt like crap. Just binge-drinking/mixing spirits when you aren't used to it anymore in my now early 30s (and only being about 55kg). My previous hangover was probably NYE 2009.

I didn't drink at all from about 2011-16, was a teetotaller then after the typical 15-21yo high & low shenanigans. But then long-term grief sort of lured it back in then. I remember really having a great reaquaintance with red in Easter 2017, and since then I might have an evening drink 2-3 times a week (typically scotch).