What are your expectations?

• Thread starter Thread starter Fall Out Boy

F

Fall Out Boy

Obviously we all hope and pray for a premiership, but what are your genuine expectations given our current position?

Personally, my only expectation is that we continue playing the hard, committed brand of football that we've played all season.

We still have the youngest list in the league, and less than half our squad have played finals, so the experience of at least two finals will be invaluable.

So, what do you expect from the finals?

An Honourable loss in the preliminary final would be good. Means we will have won a game, gained valuable finals experience and had a red hot go against one of the Grand Finals teams. experience for future finals series is the most important thing we can gain out of this, unless we go all the way.

id be happy to be competitive against port and then maybe win a final the week after then to be competitive against brisbane.

I too just want us to play a committed brand of footy.

I understand the side's inexperience is a hurdle in itself for the boys to get over, and actually win a final. Personally, i'd be bitterly disappointed if we didn't at least win one final. We've had a terrific season and we deserve to win at least one final to show for it.

The worst case scenario is to bomb out in straight sets. Many people, particularly in media circles, are alluding to the fact that, because Geelong is a young team, with not many 'stars', we are likely to get knocked out pretty quickly.

Now, to me, this not only seems disappointing, but psychologically counter-productive. Yes, the inexperience would be an added bonus, having been there and actually participated in a final. And okay, the boys would supposedly 'be ready' for the next finals appearance. But my opinion tends to differ. I think it would actually be psychologically adverse. We are a team, who in the past, has been looked upon as 'chokers' especially when Grand Finals are considered. And our Wizard Cup loss to St Kilda further added to our reptuation, and MUST have some bearing in the player's minds when they run out.

We have to give our all and make it to the Preliminary Final, and then get knocked out (preferably by Brisbane, not those ********ing Saints). I feel getting into a Grand Final would only exacerbate our chokers mentality we still seem to have hovering over our heads, unless of course, we did what seems to be the unthinkable at the moment.

Undoubtedly, we are a different team to that of the early-mid 90s. But we are still the same club, with a similar sort of country-club culture. It is a dangerous time psychologically for us, as it could totally ruin the young crop of players we have coming through. A respectable showing, getting us to the Prelim and losing by a goal or so would be the best case scenario. Why? Because realistically, and i stress not pessimistically or negatively, we are not ready for the big Grand Final stage.

Next year however, if we have the firepower up forward, we should grit our teeth and go all out to break the Premiership drought.

Hope we can beat Port, though. GO Cats!

Honestly, if we play at our best, and do everything within our power to win, but go out in straight sets, I'll be disappointed, but not disheartened. Just to play at our absolute best on the day will be enough for me. 1 win would be great, and brilliant for the club.

And that's not accepting mediocrity, because I believe we're about 6mths ahead of ourselves.

Shaitan said:
I too just want us to play a committed brand of footy.

I understand the side's inexperience is a hurdle in itself for the boys to get over, and actually win a final. Personally, i'd be bitterly disappointed if we didn't at least win one final. We've had a terrific season and we deserve to win at least one final to show for it.

The worst case scenario is to bomb out in straight sets. Many people, particularly in media circles, are alluding to the fact that, because Geelong is a young team, with not many 'stars', we are likely to get knocked out pretty quickly.

Now, to me, this not only seems disappointing, but psychologically counter-productive. Yes, the inexperience would be an added bonus, having been there and actually participated in a final. And okay, the boys would supposedly 'be ready' for the next finals appearance. But my opinion tends to differ. I think it would actually be psychologically adverse. We are a team, who in the past, has been looked upon as 'chokers' especially when Grand Finals are considered. And our Wizard Cup loss to St Kilda further added to our reptuation, and MUST have some bearing in the player's minds when they run out.

We have to give our all and make it to the Preliminary Final, and then get knocked out (preferably by Brisbane, not those ********ing Saints). I feel getting into a Grand Final would only exacerbate our chokers mentality we still seem to have hovering over our heads, unless of course, we did what seems to be the unthinkable at the moment.

Undoubtedly, we are a different team to that of the early-mid 90s. But we are still the same club, with a similar sort of country-club culture. It is a dangerous time psychologically for us, as it could totally ruin the young crop of players we have coming through. A respectable showing, getting us to the Prelim and losing by a goal or so would be the best case scenario. Why? Because realistically, and i stress not pessimistically or negatively, we are not ready for the big Grand Final stage.

Next year however, if we have the firepower up forward, we should grit our teeth and go all out to break the Premiership drought.

Hope we can beat Port, though. GO Cats!

Top post Shaitan , Its like your thinking my thoughts. I remember 1994 , we really would have been better have been done by North.

MY expectation is to refelct the diference in Geelong now and the Geelong of the past.Tough, no nonsence and plenty of drive from the young players. The one thing I would love to see is we have a 75/25 goal ratio. With accuracy we could upset Port.With Accuracy and form we could do damage. If we play 2 finals or 3, lets be a gutsy respected side that lets every one know we mean the biz from this year on.

I reckon Geelong will acquit themselves pretty well. They may not have as much finals experience as some other teams, but nor does St Kilda and you wouldn't want Port's finals experiences. I expect us to make the Preliminary, quite possibly through beating Port on Sunday. Depending on who we play in the prelim, I would expect us to win that as well.

A win would be great and I will be a little disappointed if we don't get one.

But what I really want to see is Geelong play tough and accountable footy, like they have since round 3. If have a real crack at it and still lose, I will still be proud of them.

They have given me a lot of joy over the years, and it feels great to see them back this year. Hopefully this side is building toward something great. It may take a few more years, but the first steps begin this Sunday.

Just want us to play hard, tough, uncompromising footy and not leave anything out on the field. If we do this we will give a good account of ourselves.

But considering where we finished, to get knocked out in straight sets would be extremely disappointing so at least one win would be pleasing.

Next year will be the big opportunity.

Seems the feelings are pretty similar across the board.

Just hope that we don't throw the baby out with the bathwater if we do happen to go out in straight sets.
It will be horribly disappointing and we'll be copping it from every angle, but we need to stick fat and have a bit of faith in the direction of the club.

I think 2006 will be our year.

My thoughts are similar to those above. The interesting aspect is this feeling of being better off losing a prelim than a GF because we are not quite ready. This is kind of tricky because you have to take a chance to be a chance,. I think if we get any sniff of a chance of getting into a GF you just have to take it. Footy is too unpredictable and random to think anything else. 2005 and 2006 may be our years. They may also be St Kilda's, Freo's after they sack the air guitar coach or whatever. Then you have injuries and form to work with as well. The competition is too even to make any assumptions about the next few years.
A big challenge and one that I think bomber and his cohorts are up to is too get this team as far as possible as early as possible and dealing with the consequences as they arise. You may have to deal with the mental challenges that a GF loss might bring particularly to our club with our history. Being the hunted instead of the hunter, handling the criticism, preparing the mind to play with no fear of failure, preparing the mind to continually wipe the slate clean and go again, keeping a focus on the relevant (the ball and the moment) and not the irrelevant (the past and others expectations).

I say no guts then no glory. Bring it on and remember Brisbane are closer to the end of their reign than the beginning

I think we've got at leat 2 or 3 weeks of the season still left in us

Sometimes having such a yuoug team can be an advantage, they feel they are bulletproof.

This will be good experience and you just never know, we may get closer than most ppl think.

I seem to share the same point of view as most others, 1 victory in September would be great and that would mean that we then get to play in the prelim, possibly against Brisbane down here, in which we could cause a massive upset but I dont think it will happen.
I think the fellas are not ready for a serious charge at the premiership this year, but as they say, you have to be in it to win it. Who knows, next year we might be struck down with huge injuries and it might set us back another year. I know the fellas that are out on the ground will give their best and will play the brand of footy that we have been playing most of the year which has gotten us to this point of time and who knows perhaps we will make it to the big day.

When you finish top four, have form and confidence, have beaten or gone terribly close to beating all the major aspirants during the season, you go for the prize, you gun for the Premiership, you can't settle for a final win or two, and wait a year or so thinking you'll get the cup then...you may not be in the finals or in the position with lack of injuries, form, and a finish in the the top four with double chance again for years to have a realistic chance. Scarlet, Ling...Ablett could have serious injuries at the wrong time next time....anything can happen. Where in a great position to luanch from now with all the variables bar Kelly. When your in the position to have a fair dinkum crack, settle for nothing less then grabing the prize I reckon....your time may not come again. Bring on Port I say, and anyone else, and if ya go down make them hurt on the way.

Rodion said:
I don't see any reason why we can't win the flag.
I agree. All this BS about how it's going to be next year or the following year is rubbish. When you have the opportunity you have to strike, because you may not get the opportunity again. Bomber knows this as well as the next man. After '93 when Essendon won, the baby bombers were expected to go on with it over the next few years. But it didn't happen, for the next 5 years, Essendon were a middle of the table team.

Players like Riccardi and Graham have learnt this the hard way, and they know that this is realistically their last chance to wear a premiership medallion. The younger brigade have developed a hardness for the ball and the determination to do the hard yards, essential to be a success in September. Simply making the finals is no longer good enough.

I am already proud of the boys this year & all i want is for them to have a red hot go during the finals series & get at least 3 finals under the belt(either W+W+GF or L+W+PF+?). I really don't want us to go out in straight sets because '97 was equally as disappointing for me as any of the runner up years & it would be a terrible end to a very good year. I have faith that if we don't get up this week (we are a very good chance over there) we will bounce back the following week...but being fresh in a prelim would be the preferred option... c'mon boys.. we are due!!

Jim Boy said:
All this BS about how it's going to be next year or the following year is rubbish

You don't agree with the premise that we will be more of a threat in the following two years?

phatandphreaky said:
You don't agree with the premise that we will be more of a threat in the following two years?
No, I don't. Of course if everything goes our way, we will be more of a threat, but making predictions in football is very difficult. Who knows what injuries or other unseen clamaties are heading our way. The luck of the draw, the bounce of the ball, the rise of other teams. What we do know is only what has already come to pass and right now we are in a position where we are in reach of the ultimate goal.

Looking back over the period of 1989-1997, Geelong was of course a force, but everytime we made the grand final, we lost. You can look back each of those grand finals and say that we lost to not only the better team on the day, but the better team of the year. But ultimately we squandered our opportunities, I don't want to go through that again, so now it's payback time.