what do we think about TAR 2004

Originally posted by nonchalance
Absolutely.

I rang up Strategem and told them that, and they said that they understood my feelings, and sent out a registration key for free.

Their kids don't need clothing or food.

are you serious coz i would much rather play it 4 free than save my pocket money.

whats the number

Oh wonderful. I just lost to Richmond by exactly 100 points in Round 1.

Any tips on how to avoid getting flogged?

I might fast-sim the season and check out all the pre season jazz. This is where Footy Fanatic was disappointing... I once traded 2 duds and a 5th round pick for M.Voss. :rolleyes:

Originally posted by lamby29

Any tips on how to avoid getting flogged?

Basically, I jsut did the following:

(V's St Kilda)

Tagged L.Hayes with B.Holland = B.Holland 21 pos, 1 goal - L.Hayes 14 pos.

Dragged A.Jones back to the square with T.Lockyer = A.Jones 9 pos, T.Lockyer 13 pos, 3 goals.

When you have the wind, you MUST go long and direct - I had a 6 goal 4th quarter to nab the win.

Just play to the conditions.

Oh, and I'm sure being Melbourne wouldn't help...

;)

Originally posted by leonmagic
Basically, I jsut did the following:

(V's St Kilda)

Tagged L.Hayes with B.Holland = B.Holland 21 pos, 1 goal - L.Hayes 14 pos.

Dragged A.Jones back to the square with T.Lockyer = A.Jones 9 pos, T.Lockyer 13 pos, 3 goals.

When you have the wind, you MUST go long and direct - I had a 6 goal 4th quarter to nab the win.

Just play to the conditions.

Oh, and I'm sure being Melbourne wouldn't help...

;)

it helped on queens birthday ;)

but i have a question guys...

when you buy this game with money order do you just simply print out the form and shove in the $29.90 to an envelope and send it??

or do i have to go to the post office and do some special thingys

Originally posted by melbournemartin
it helped on queens birthday ;)

but i have a question guys...

when you buy this game with money order do you just simply print out the form and shove in the $29.90 to an envelope and send it??

or do i have to go to the post office and do some special thingys

Mate you have to go to the Post Office and get some money order thing.

I was putting the cash in the envolope and my girlfriend nearly fell over laughing...... :confused:

Bloody women.

Does anybody know how much - if any - effect training has on a player's attributes? For instance, if you put a player (and the team) on a heavy weight training regime, will the player's strength attribute rise?

TAR 2004 is an improvement on 2003 and makes for a fantastic game. It's not perfect, but then, for the budget they probably have we can't expect it to be.

For those who don't like the omission of rookie lists - I'm in the same boat BUT, you can always edit them into your list. I know I'll be doing that when I get the full version with Aaron Davey.

The screens are easy to use, and I like the newspaper additions. The training part is pretty good also, and it gives you a good range of areas to train them in. The game screen is good too, and I love the fact you are told what the opposition is trying to do and who the stat leaders are. Sending out the runner is also a nice touch.

The only area I'm a tad disappointed in is the fact they don't seem to have updated the lists since the start of 2004. Alot of player have improved but on the game they aren't up to scratch. As a Melbourne fan, it annoyed me to see Miller as a "Tall Back" which he isn't. But again, I can always change that when my full version arrives (sent my stuff today, money order, should get it by Thurs/Fri.)

All in all, it's a great game.

I might fast-sim the season and check out all the pre season jazz. This is where Footy Fanatic was disappointing... I once traded 2 duds and a 5th round pick for M.Voss. :rolleyes:
The trading is crap. You're only allowed 8 'proposals' and then you're not allowed to trade again.

David Neitz wouldn't re-sign, so he nominated for the Pre Season draft. I recruited him with the first pick. Suck **** Neita! :)

The trading is crap. You're only allowed 8 'proposals' and then you're not allowed to trade again.

David Neitz wouldn't re-sign, so he nominated for the Pre Season draft. I recruited him with the first pick. Suck **** Neita! :)

I wouldn't say it's crap - but it's different. 8 proposals is probably not enough, but then it just adds to the whole realism of it all. You will only make one or two trades a season in real footy like (Blues the exception), plus the computer teams offered me a few trades as well.

Someone offered me Michael Johnson in a straight dwap for "God"! :p Keep dreaming!

perhaps something like a timer would be a change instead of just a limit

but i think its fine if i just make sure i keep track of proposals

as for neita, he wanted to retire and i tried to make him not but it didnt work

luckily its only a demo and i cant play 2005 coz i know i'd be ****ed if i did

just recently i played against essendon and got smashed by over 100

30-70 for inside 50s in favour of essendon and they had like 100 more possies

didnt get a goal until either late 2nd or early 3rd term

though i wasnt takin the game 2 seriously

i think that unless i edit some of the melbourne players to bring their attributes up to how they are preforming in 2004, then i doubt i'd be able to make the 8

though one thing i have noticed is that melbourne is always on top of the reserves ladder, similar to the VFL where we have always had a strong team

Originally posted by CowboyFromHell
I wouldn't say it's crap - but it's different. 8 proposals is probably not enough, but then it just adds to the whole realism of it all. You will only make one or two trades a season in real footy like (Blues the exception), plus the computer teams offered me a few trades as well.

Someone offered me Michael Johnson in a straight dwap for "God"! :p Keep dreaming!

I think the limited number of proposals is also there to protect against offering peanuts for gold and then just rapidly clicking "offer trade" until the odds fall in your favour.

Can someone please tell me how to set your trade bait?

it sucks how you can only play 3 games but i no it is a demo and stuff but you could play a full year of the 2003 version.

i dont understand ive won 2 games from 20 matches and my reserves are top undefeated.

i got no idea where im gonna find $30 so i wish you could play very game

Originally posted by meh
it sucks how you can only play 3 games but i no it is a demo and stuff but you could play a full year of the 2003 version.

i dont understand ive won 2 games from 20 matches and my reserves are top undefeated.

i got no idea where im gonna find $30 so i wish you could play very game

with the reserves, mine are always on top

i thought it was just for melbourne

but in the actual AFL i find it very hard 2 not get trashed

It seems like you can't coach a match half-arsed - I coached my **** off against the Saints and won by a couple of goals, then the next week I didn't tag anyone and didn't use the runner more than once (tried to drag Joel Smith back to the square) and got pumped by 113 pts...

I'll start a new season when I get the full version (hopefully Thursday) so I can adjust some ratings and play a new season with an easier salary cap - it's too stupid to have to delist guys like Buckley, Lockyer and Rocca every year just to be able to get 38 players.

if i send off money order at the post office todaty i should hopefuylly get sent the email on thursday

wat do u guys use 2 win games?

like wat strategys and who do u tag etc

Originally posted by melbournemartin
if i send off money order at the post office todaty i should hopefuylly get sent the email on thursday

wat do u guys use 2 win games?

like wat strategys and who do u tag etc

i dont win regularly but when i do win and its strong breeze you've got to defend into by holding onto the footy, playing defensive, using a loose man in defence and kicking it wide.

then with the wind you use the opposite

with tagging after 10 mins look at the players rankings and shut them out of the game whether it be dragging them back to the goalsquare or tagging.

Originally posted by leonmagic
Just made heaps of moves - tagged L.Hayes with Brodie, dragged A.Jones back to the square, double teamed Riewoldt with Clement and J.Cloke - Cloke loose.

have u tried the "create an option upfield" thing if so did it work??

what do we think about TAR 2004