What happened to Stephen Quartermain?

• Thread starter Thread starter Chadwiko

Great mates who virtually started out together at Channel 10. Eddie's gone ahead in leaps and bounds while Quarters stagnated.

And Quarters was always the anchor man !:D

Used to not like Quarterman but don't mind him now to be honest. Probably because he no longer commentates on TV but still...
I'm the opposite, I used to like him, but then he would constantly over-sensationalise everything and now I don't like him.

So watching the Channel 10 news last night as I occasionally do and good old Stephen is the anchor.

He starts a story about Essendon's current drug predicament like this:
"Collingwood Coach Mick Malthouse says the AFL must be seen to be ......."
Hmm, I says to myself.....I wonder if someone has told Bucks he's been fired?

poor mans Eddie Mcguire, doesn't have the talent to be the main man at a major network

From what I've seen, Channel 10 have never been a major network. Always seems like amateur hour on there.

Very true, the only thing they did well was the footy, and they did It very well.

Yeah, Ch 10 have pretty much always been the poor cousin the Channels 9 and 7.

Grandpa story: :p

For memory, the only time they kicked big goals was in the mid-to-late '80s, when Perfect Match (Greg Evans), their news (with Jo Pearson and David Johnson) and The Comedy Company did very well. Comedy Company was, at one stage, the biggest show on tv (I dunno if that was national or just Melbourne), and even out-rated 60 Minutes.

So, what did Ch 9 do? They bought and warehoused Jo Pearson and Greg Evans, and that was it: they killed Ten's early-evening ratings

Quarterbrain's not too bad, however,.,,,,:D

When he started out doing the sport on Ch Ten, I reckon he delivered his stuff with bit of a grin and a hint of a sense of humour that always gave me the impression he'd be good value on radio, in a funny smartarse kinda way, a bit like Brayshaw. But, when he got on Triple M, it quickly became obvious that he wasn't as charismatic and entertaining as I thought he'd be.

I remember several times he'd patronise and "bossy-boot" talkback callers, and sometimes get a little high and mighty and indignant if they disagreed with or snapped back at him.

The "pizza resistance", and the final straw for me, was Rice Gate, where I thought he acted like a pompous flog. :p

Another little thing that used to annoy me was that, every Sunday at about 5:45pm, from about round 15, he'd crap on and on, trying to predict the whole final series! I was like: "Who gives a heck?! There are 7 rounds left; anything could happen!!" But he'd be like: "Ok, I reckon the final 8 will be *this*, which means that *this* team will play *that* team in the Elimination Final.....", etc, etc. Aaaagh! It's just pointless speculation! Ha :p

I didn't watch Sat night footy when he was doing it.

Hmm, I've got too much time on me hands.,. Ha

The thing i hated about 10 commentry was Robert walls... he was just state the obvious when he would commentate

Quarterbrain was an awful commentator. No colour or excitement at all save for the Leo Barry mark.

Don't mind him as a sports presenter though

Very true, the only thing they did well was the footy, and they did It very well.

Only from about 2005-2009 they did a good job with the AFL IMO.

The first couple of years they had the football, their coverage was very cheap and nasty. Then they rejigged the graphics in 2005 and had a few years of good coverage. Then when they decided they had enough of the AFL they really let the coverage go.