What is the go with Nathan Foley?

How quickly we forget.
Foley is a jet and is a clearance machine.
Certainly shouldn't be tossed aside like a ragdoll. Wouldn't have commanded much at the trade table anyway due to injury. Anyone suggesting he would have been a top 20 trade is having too many pre-Christmas drinks.

I am prempting what will most likely happen. That Foley will be a shadow of his former self due to injuries taking their toll and missing AFL football. Trade him now before it becomes a reality and we lose even more trade value. Why wait until he could hypothetically, god forbid, become a Coughlan.

I hope he becomes like he was but the probability's are that he wont. History shows this. Anyone who disagrees with this is a deluded moron. Which is what most of the people on this site are anyway. Instead admitting the unfortunate truth you stick your head in the sand and attack small technicalities of my posts such as me changing the draft picks we could recieve for him. The fact is I made a small error because in the 2009 trade/draft period we could of potentially recieved picks 1-19 (not so much pick 1 but in that similar range). Now we are more likely to recieve picks 13-28.

Stop being so pessimistic and wake up to the facts. Foley has been and presumably will be one of our premier onballers who will do more than enough to damage opposition clubs from next season. The reality is, he played only one game last year and tore the Hawks a new one, whilst the team fell so agonisingly short of claiming an unlikely victory. This proves that under the clubs careful guidance, it won't be long before we witness him fit and firing again.

I laugh at your comments and most posters would rightfully believe that you (Sleeping Giant) are a joke!.....Goodnight!

We all agree that foley "could" be great if he can recapture the 2007 form, but our past experience with LTI is not good,

Foley was pushed back onto the field, Richo too, and we can probably add brown to that list.

pushed when they clearly wernt ready, and why not compare him to cogs, He was an elite extrractor, JD meddalist, future captain etc etc and well i gues his body didnt stand up.

Free , Knights Campbell ring a bell?

We all agree that foley "could" be great if he can recapture the 2007 form, but our past experience with LTI is not good,

Foley was pushed back onto the field, Richo too, and we can probably add brown to that list.

pushed when they clearly wernt ready, and why not compare him to cogs, He was an elite extrractor, JD meddalist, future captain etc etc and well i gues his body didnt stand up.

Free , Knights Campbell ring a bell?

The difference between most of them and Foley are that they were mainly soft tissue injuries.

Coughlan, OP led to constant hammy issues and other soft tissue injuries.

Brown, Broken leg, and from that led into soft tissue injury that he himself said was his own fault for pushing too hard.

Richo, although I wouldn't put him in the same category as he was a lot older then the other 2 when he retired, but still had soft tissue injuries.

Foleys issue is with his ankle, from all reports he hasn't done any further injuries to the surrounding area such as hamstring issues.

Yes last year he was brought back far too early, but this year he was right to go, and if you take the clubs word he would of been able to play out the year in the shape that he was in, but given that the year was a right off, and we had nothing to gain from playing him the club wrapped him up put him away and sent him in to get him 150% right.

And I also believe the club did the same thing for Griffiths, they saw enough of him after 6 games, so they wrapped him up and put him away also to get right, I mean it's not like he re-injured the same shoulder he partially dislocated his good one, in normal circumstances the club probably would have popped it back in and sent him back on.

The same thing happened to many young players this year, Salopek, Hannebery and the boy from NM Leigh Adams (?) I'm sure there were others but I can't think of them right now.

For those criticising Foley's decision making delivery etc you seem to forget that the last time he played any significant football was unde the wallace regime with no game plan and/direction. Notice the improvement in decision making of many other poor performers in that area since Hardwick has come along.

Tigers have played the careful medical game with him for the last 15 months and the injury was not in the COG's category.

Foley has a very high chance of coming back fit and well, will come into a team with much better structure, game plan etc. He will be a major asset.

can you tell me whos kicking and decision making has consistently improved under hardwick.
i reckon the real improvement comes from the side instead of having 12 who use or think poorly its down to half that. blokes like king mcguane white jackson tuck etc are all still ordinary in these areas.

The difference between most of them and Foley are that they were mainly soft tissue injuries.

Coughlan, OP led to constant hammy issues and other soft tissue injuries.

Brown, Broken leg, and from that led into soft tissue injury that he himself said was his own fault for pushing too hard.

Richo, although I wouldn't put him in the same category as he was a lot older then the other 2 when he retired, but still had soft tissue injuries.

Foleys issue is with his ankle, from all reports he hasn't done any further injuries to the surrounding area such as hamstring issues.

Yes last year he was brought back far too early, but this year he was right to go, and if you take the clubs word he would of been able to play out the year in the shape that he was in, but given that the year was a right off, and we had nothing to gain from playing him the club wrapped him up put him away and sent him in to get him 150% right.

And I also believe the club did the same thing for Griffiths, they saw enough of him after 6 games, so they wrapped him up and put him away also to get right, I mean it's not like he re-injured the same shoulder he partially dislocated his good one, in normal circumstances the club probably would have popped it back in and sent him back on.

The same thing happened to many young players this year, Salopek, Hannebery and the boy from NM Leigh Adams (?) I'm sure there were others but I can't think of them right now.

You obviously have never had a kne reco, achilles , broken leg to make statements like that, all those injuries lead gennerally to soft tissue injuries down the track due to muscle wastage.

If foley hasnt got a achilles injury then it is even worse as that point to a structuaral problem, given the stesses on the foot /ankle it is preferable to be abn achilles problem.

either way it seems that anyone who disagrees with the company line about our faith healers gets lambasted.

LlMAO @ Faith Healers

"YOU WILL PLAY IN 2011,NATHAN!!!!"
faith.healer.jpg

can you tell me whos kicking and decision making has consistently improved under hardwick.
i reckon the real improvement comes from the side instead of having 12 who use or think poorly its down to half that. blokes like king mcguane white jackson tuck etc are all still ordinary in these areas.

I would say Edwards & King's decision making improved out of sight .

You obviously have never had a kne reco, achilles , broken leg to make statements like that, all those injuries lead gennerally to soft tissue injuries down the track due to muscle wastage.

If foley hasnt got a achilles injury then it is even worse as that point to a structuaral problem, given the stesses on the foot /ankle it is preferable to be abn achilles problem.

either way it seems that anyone who disagrees with the company line about our faith healers gets lambasted.

You obviously missed the point I was making or I worded it wrong, all those players I mentioned have had a reco, Brown with that severe leg break Coughlan/Richo with the knee recos.

Foley is in a totally different category, yes hes had some injuries but not to the extent of others mentioned, only because of poor treatment has he had set backs and not returned to play out a full season, I am pretty confident that he will be able to get over the injuries hes had and play to the elite level he was once at.

How do you come to that conclusion mt? Your not suggesting that an ankle injury affects you less than an injury higher up the leg are you?

The longer foley has trouble with this ankle the more concerning it becomes. I am worried that the injury is now a degenerative one, in which case he will be effed as whatever repair work they do, the damage will just keep reoccurring.

I hope I'm wrong, though.

How do you come to that conclusion mt? Your not suggesting that an ankle injury affects you less than an injury higher up the leg are you?

The longer foley has trouble with this ankle the more concerning it becomes. I am worried that the injury is now a degenerative one, in which case he will be effed as whatever repair work they do, the damage will just keep reoccurring.

I'm just going by some of the medical the reports the club has put out for Foley, at the end of the day though all we have to go by is the word of the clubs, and DH seems pretty confident that he will be cherry ripe to go Round 1 by saying they will have effectively gotten another top10 draft pick with Foley returning.

from the medical reports, earlier in the year they said he had to go back for surgery to remove floating or foreign material ( words to that effect). That is hardly encouraging as it hints there could be bone shavings or fragments, which indicates an ongoing problem.

The word that often appears in reports on foley from the club is "hope". Again hardly encouraging but probably a true reflection of what most of have in regards to him, hope that he can actually come back.

I'd err on the side of saying you're wrong. I'd say the damage was bad, yes, (he was still limping last season at the Sydney game but then, can't remember when his last operation was) but that all of this is due to his 2009 season. He hurt himself and Rawlings, in pursuit of wins, kept injecting him and playing him hurt. Any layman will agree that causes things to get a lot more screwed up. It's that he is coming back from. Thus, in a way the suggestion we are lucky it is not soft tissue injury is a good one, repeated soft tissue injuries caused by a weak player's body or other condition (OP) are harder to treat and prevent than a damaged ankle which is largely a single occurence (which he just had another op to fix/clean up)

I must ask.

Foley has played virtually zero football in 3(?) years.
Of the games he did play, 75% were average or below.
He can't even train properly.

Where does the blind faith come from?
Lmao.
Wake TF up.

I must ask.

Lmao.
Wake TF up.

He played 4 games in 2010 and in the games he did play in he looked like he hadn't missed a beat, go watch the Hawthorn game this year and come back and tell us that he was average or below.

I must ask.

Lmao.
Wake TF up.

i thought he played about 15 odd games in 09.
i reckon hes a proven afl player not as good as most richmond supporters make him out to be but a good footballer never the less.

was rookied in 04 and absolutely dominated at vfl level thus keeping his spot for 05.
was promoted in 05 after again killing the pig at vfl level for 10 games . wallace being the fool he was would not give him game time rarely got more than a half of footy in 05 yet racked up the stats. he did more than enough to earn a spot on the list proper.

06 was a ripper season played 21 games and did what he does best getting plenty of hard ball lots of tackles and shooting out lots of handballs.

07 was even better finished 2nd in b/f dominated at stoppages and added some run to his game breaking away from stoppages but unfortunately not always useing well. kicking is not a strength for him.

08 another good season. played 18 games started to cop heavy tags and was quelled to a degree.early season form was good enough to get picked for victoria in the hall of fame side.

09 not so good still played 14 games but struggled a bit with injury. never the less having played just 14 games he still finished 3rd for hard ball gets and hand ball gets.

10 well it was a write off.

to me nathan has always been an excellent inside player but on the outside his kicking has always made me cringe a bit. ive always rated him somewhere between good and very good.

unlike most on our list hes a proven footballer has dominated at vfl how many players have we promoted over the yrs that can even boast that.
he has also strung together 3 very good seasons how many do we have that can boast that.
get him back fit and well doing what he does best that being getting it out from the bottom of packs. hes one of few players on the list who we can definately say is afl standard and consistent when not injured.
im hoping foley can dish of to a player like martin hitting the fringes at pace getting into space and useing his superb footskills to maximum effect.

i reckon hes a proven afl player not as good as most richmond supporters make him out to be but a good footballer never the less.

was rookied in 04 and absolutely dominated at vfl level thus keeping his spot for 05.
was promoted in 05 after again killing the pig at vfl level for 10 games . wallace being the fool he was would not give him game time rarely got more than a half of footy in 05 yet racked up the stats. he did more than enough to earn a spot on the list proper.

06 was a ripper season played 21 games and did what he does best getting plenty of hard ball lots of tackles and shooting out lots of handballs.

07 was even better finished 2nd in b/f dominated at stoppages and added some run to his game breaking away from stoppages but unfortunately not always useing well. kicking is not a strength for him.

08 another good season. played 18 games started to cop heavy tags and was quelled to a degree.early season form was good enough to get picked for victoria in the hall of fame side.

09 not so good still played 14 games but struggled a bit with injury. never the less having played just 14 games he still finished 3rd for hard ball gets and hand ball gets.

to me nathan has always been an excellent inside player but on the outside his kicking has always made me cringe a bit. ive always rated him somewhere between good and very good.

unlike most on our list hes a proven footballer has dominated at vfl how many players have we promoted over the yrs that can even boast that.
he has also strung together 3 very good seasons how many do we have that can boast that.
get him back fit and well doing what he does best that being getting it out from the bottom of packs. hes one of few players on the list who we can definately say is afl standard and consistent when not injured.
im hoping foley can dish of to a player like martin hitting the fringes at pace getting into space and useing his superb footskills to maximum effect.

One of the many rare times I agree whole heatedly with one of your posts. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

I'd err on the side of saying you're wrong. I'd say the damage was bad, yes, (he was still limping last season at the Sydney game but then, can't remember when his last operation was) but that all of this is due to his 2009 season. He hurt himself and Rawlings, in pursuit of wins, kept injecting him and playing him hurt. Any layman will agree that causes things to get a lot more screwed up. It's that he is coming back from. Thus, in a way the suggestion we are lucky it is not soft tissue injury is a good one, repeated soft tissue injuries caused by a weak player's body or other condition (OP) are harder to treat and prevent than a damaged ankle which is largely a single occurence (which he just had another op to fix/clean up)

Fully agree about the doing more damage after pain killing injections ( thats a another issue though).

Cant quite get my head around an ongoing joint problem being less problematic than a soft tissue injury.

Any joint is a complex structure of ligaments and cartlidge that hold two bones together and allow articulation. There is alao a requirment of some sort of lubrication to stop the bones from grinding together.

Whatever the nature of the injury you can be pretty sure there has been some damage to the connective tissue and the lubrication mechanism. Perhaps you could argue this connective tissue is not quite soft tissue, but it would be hard to argue successfully that damage to this, the bone itself, or the mechanism for providing lubrication is somehow not as bad as soft tissue injuries.

Fully agree about the doing more damage after pain killing injections ( thats a another issue though).

Cant quite get my head around an ongoing joint problem being less problematic than a soft tissue injury.

Any joint is a complex structure of ligaments and cartlidge that hold two bones together and allow articulation. There is alao a requirment of some sort of lubrication to stop the bones from grinding together.

Whatever the nature of the injury you can be pretty sure there has been some damage to the connective tissue and the lubrication mechanism. Perhaps you could argue this connective tissue is not quite soft tissue, but it would be hard to argue successfully that damage to this, the bone itself, or the mechanism for providing lubrication is somehow not as bad as soft tissue injuries.

I'm no doctor, or physio or medical professional so whatever I opine is obviously just rhetoric. I didn't really too pointedly clarify when I said 'repeated' soft tissue injury. As in, multiple recurring incidences. I agree with you that in the instance of one soft tissue injury vs one ankle injury, the latter is worse, but in the Cogs/Richo comparison they had 'recurring' soft tissue injuries, when you repeatedly tear your hammy that's never good.

All I'm trying to get to is say that, intuitively, you'd say we're merely getting one problem fixed (that we ourselves made worse) rather than many. Operations have failure rates as well, might be we just needed to follow up and remove remaining spurs or fragments or scar tissue.

Merely asking the doomsdayers to chillax :D

I have no doubt that foley will be ready to go in 2011, may not be cherry ripe round 1 but within the first 6 games due to the fact that he will be effectively starting preseason in january which puts him 2 months behind the rest of the players.

When he is fully back foley will be a lot more damaging than he ever was,
one must remember that when foley last played without injury our midfield was very very diffrent and only really had lids to share the load.

With cotchin cherry ripe, Martin ready to go and grigg to help out.
Foley will find life alot easier than what it was

We need more of these FYI. In top flight he is an A grade mid. 2008 season showed how good he could be and he was only still a kid then. Vic v All Stars game he absolutely dominated.

FYI to might T I think it was you...your ankle region, knees and shoulders are the 3 worst things to do.

it sounds like he is having trouble with the lack of cartilage in his ankle, when there is loose particles floating around it is not a great sign, could be a degenerative type thing which means he will always be up against it in the future.

i think we have the potential to cover him from next season on, its a loss but thats footy.