Veteran 10k Posts
Sep 10, 2003
Seagulls, Bushrangers
I am being accused for wearing the 28 on my back whenever at a football match because i am a supporter of Ben Kinnear!!! I am part of the BK Army and have followed it right along because adds a little more excitment into the footy.

What number is on your back and why?

I have gone 36 (Rocca) 12 (McKee) 2 (Woewy) 28 (BK) and might have 21 soon!

I've only ever had one number on my back.

When I was about 5-10 years old I had the big '35' on my back for Daics on my spicers papers old school guernsey ;) Haven't had a number since.

My crowning moment for my number '35'? I was in Melbourne with my Dad in 1994 for the Collingwood/Carlton match as a youngen. It was Daicos' tribute match when he did the lap of honour. Before the match outside the ground, Channel 7 took a shot of me with the '35' on my back for their telecast. :)

None but if I had to put any one it would be Tarrant (20)

I could see myselfe with Guy Richards (21) or Dickie Cole (13)

When I was a kid I sported Peter Moore's number 30 on my back. Suffice it to say that I was none too impressed when he crossed over to Melbourne at the start of the 1983 season. After that, I never had another player's number on my back.

i dont have a number on my back at the moment...as a matter of fact i dont have an up to date Pies jumper, but if the choice was there id take either number 4, or number 20...or maybe number 36
its a hard choice

the most recent pies jumper i have is circa 1999, before that it had number 5 on it from about '96

I too wear the mighty 28 on my mighty jumper. You get some weird looks wearing the 28 on the back, and some general comments from others pies fans just being friendly, "So a BK fan are ya?" reply: "Yeah mate!" then they say, "Yeah? Benny goes alright, got some talent that boy" all the time their thinking to themselves "Who the **** is Ben Kinnear?".

Used to have the number 36 on my back when Sav was around.

The only numbes I wore on my back were those from my days of playing junior footy those numbers were "30" "48" and "9"

The only jumper I ever owned was a Black and White jumper with hoops with a magpie badge in it. That jumper never had a number on it.

on my first jumper i had savs number 36 and on my second jumper i had bucks number 5, coz at that stage sav was no longer at the pies :(.

Yeah Dids is a popular character. I rate him, but what has he really done to earn people making him a website and wearing his number on their back?? (goals against Brissie last year brought a tear to my eye) Thats what confuses me so much about you BK Army haters. It confuses me that you attack Lonie_From_50 and myself about liking Ben so much, when liking Dids is just the same really (i can hear some ben bagging and dids to Ben comparison coming). People like all different players for different reasons. Id wear dids' number on my back.

This gripe isnt against Dids just airing my confusion. It is also a number board and nothing to do with ben, so i apologise for that.

Originally posted by brentoncowell
Yeah Dids is a popular character. I rate him, but what has he really done to earn people making him a website and wearing his number on their back?? (goals against Brissie last year brought a tear to my eye) Thats what confuses me so much about you BK Army haters. It confuses me that you attack Lonie_From_50 and myself about liking Ben so much, when liking Dids is just the same really (i can hear some ben bagging and dids to Ben comparison coming). People like all different players for different reasons. Id wear dids' number on my back.

This gripe isnt against Dids just airing my confusion. It is also a number board and nothing to do with ben, so i apologise for that.

Didaks no BK thats for sure :p

I used to Greg Phillips number 2 i think on my back. Then Gavin Brown i think

Too old for that now, dont have any players numbers on the back as players are expendable after all. :eek:

Wear jumpers without numbers.
Too superstitious for if I put a number on that player will do both cruciates, hammys, develop altzheimers and come down with ebola virus.

...and don't suggest I put on No. 28 as poor BK already has an almighty emotional load to carry on those overburdened shoulders. (though talent isn't part of that load).

I have #4 on my two most recent jumpers as Did's is my fave Coll player, and I also have #17 on an older jumper and on the old long sleeve woollen one I have #10, for my ex-fave player Willo :)

Originally posted by NICK THE PIE MAN
I've only ever had one number on my back.

When I was about 5-10 years old I had the big '35' on my back for Daics on my spicers papers old school guernsey ;) Haven't had a number since.

My crowning moment for my number '35'? I was in Melbourne with my Dad in 1994 for the Collingwood/Carlton match as a youngen. It was Daicos' tribute match when he did the lap of honour. Before the match outside the ground, Channel 7 took a shot of me with the '35' on my back for their telecast. :)
I have a similar story. WHen I was about 6, and living in Melbourne, there was an appearance by Daics, Tony Lockett and (I think) Jason Dunstall at a shopping centre. Anyway, they started talking to Daicos and then scanned the room for kids wearing #35. They originally asked my brother but, although he was wearing a Collingwood jumper, he had #1 - but I had #35, so got to go up on stage and talk to the great man!!! A massive thrill at six years old.

What number is on your back?