What role will Ottens play this week?

Exhale You

Veteran Geelong Cats - Travis Varcoe 2011 Player Sponsor Geelong Cats - Travis Varcoe 2010 Player Sponsor
Will he walk straight back into his number one ruck role? Will he back up Blake until match fit? Will he spend a great deal of time forward, both to exploit Carlton's weakened defence and to ease his way back in? Or a combination of rucking/forward?

And, what sort of gametime do you think he'll get?

I'm thinking he'll play about 2/3's of the game, alternating between ruck and playing out of the goalsquare.

Thoughts?

Will he walk straight back into his number one ruck role? Will he back up Blake until match fit? Will he spend a great deal of time forward, both to exploit Carlton's weakened defence and to ease his way back in? Or a combination of rucking/forward?

He'll either start on the bench or up forward.My guess is the bench and come on after 10 minutes.

And, what sort of gametime do you think he'll get?

About 60 %

I reckon they'll start him on the pine and he'll play between 50% - 60% mostly rucking but occasionally going forward to apply extra pressure, as you said.

I'll be interested to see what his fitness is like.

I'd be highly surprised if he was able to spend more than 5-10 minutes at a time in the ruck at any stage over the next few weeks.

Anyone know how much work he's done on the track in the past few weeks?

take it with a grain of salt but a couple weeks ago doc larkins said he was quite fit and had done a fair bit of cardiovascular work.

we should wait til he actually gets on the park on saturday night...

2nd ruck.
No time forward.

I can't see us being able to resist the temptation of putting him forward for a bit given how bereft of quality talls Carlton's defence is.

Either way, i'm sure we've got a plan in place to make sure Brad is playing come finals time, and hopefully playing good footy.

Wouldn't mind seeing Otto take the centre bounces and then moving forward. Then freeing up Moons to play the follower role around the ground,letting him loose around the packs.
When Blake is on Mooney goes to FF and Hawkins to CHF.

Interesting idea.

I'd be all for it, although i have real doubts over whether Mooney would have the fitness to play a following role.

It's a big transition to go from playing key forward to following for even half a game.

Ruck. That's his position. He's not a forward, although he can sometimes be adequate in that position. He's our #1 ruckman, that's it.

Wouldn't mind seeing Otto take the centre bounces and then moving forward. Then freeing up Moons to play the follower role around the ground,letting him loose around the packs.

Mooney's back is fairly cactus, I'm told. Don't know if he'd be up for rucking.

I keep reading that he has kept fit with a lot of swimming and time on the bike, but that said, that sort of fitness wont be anything compared to what he'll need on the field. He'll probably spend 50-60% of time on the ground and I think it would be wise to try him up forward at least for a little bit and see if he can't stretch Carlton that way.

Looks like I might get to see it after all!!:cool:

perfect ! :thumbsu:

I keep reading that he has kept fit with a lot of swimming and time on the bike, but that said, that sort of fitness wont be anything compared to what he'll need on the field. He'll probably spend 50-60% of time on the ground and I think it would be wise to try him up forward at least for a little bit and see if he can't stretch Carlton that way.

This is what Tom Harley said on SEN about an hour ago.