In it for the long haul
May 26, 2003
Beaconsfield
SFFC, Aussie Women's Cricket, HNK
Hi folks

Spur of the moment decision last night I booked flights to come to Adelaide on Saturday for 4 nights with my kids aged 13 (girl) and 11 (boy). The only thing we have on the calendar at the moment is a concert on Sunday afternoon at the Festival Centre. I need some suggestions of fun things to do with kids that age in your fair city. We'll do the "regular" stuff like a day trip to the Hills / Barossa - but apart from that I am open to suggestions.

I'm thinking about maybe rocking up to AAMI on saturday night for the game - would there be tickets available at the gate, or would I be wasting my time? Drive, or catch public transport??

I've never been to Adelaide and I am looking forward to it!!

Any info much appreciated - Thanks in advance! :thumbsu:

:)

Cant usually rock up and get tickets - its like an Eagles game over there. I would say go to Victor harbour, but that is pretty losuy weather this time of the eyar - although Im not sure, someone might be able to help me, is it whale-watching season at the moment?

Other than that, not really a hell of a lot here. Maybe the markets in town, Rundle Street/mall etc.

There won't be tickets at the gate :(

Should buy some online from www.bass.net.au

Should check out Marion shopping centre, it's absolutely HUGE.

Go down to Norwood, Glenelg etc

True, Marion and Glenelg are quite close. Whenever I trek down to Marion, always go for a leg down at Glenelg at Colley Reserve, and have a game of Mini-golf at the Beachouse. :thumbsu:

Thanks - just tried on the BASS website without much luck. But I thought it maybe it was like Ticketmaster here when it says "sold out" but it actually isn't. :rolleyes: Oh well, we don't arrive till 5.30, so it might be pushing it for time anyway - it was just a thought.

Someone suggested the Snow Dome, but then they said they thought it might have closed down... :confused:

Might do something "cultured" and take the kiddlies to the gallery and museum, also check out Glenelg... I'm sure we'll fill up the time. But any specific suggestions for an 11 and 13 year old would be great. :)

Thanks - just tried on the BASS website without much luck. But I thought it maybe it was like Ticketmaster here when it says "sold out" but it actually isn't. :rolleyes: Oh well, we don't arrive till 5.30, so it might be pushing it for time anyway - it was just a thought.

Someone suggested the Snow Dome, but then they said they thought it might have closed down... :confused:

Might do something "cultured" and take the kiddlies to the gallery and museum, also check out Glenelg... I'm sure we'll fill up the time. But any specific suggestions for an 11 and 13 year old would be great. :)

Beachouse down at the Bay, or Greenhills at Victor Harbor. I think Snowdome is still open too.

5.30pm from thei airport to AAMi wouldnt really be pushing it unless you have your flight delayed. 10 min trip tops in normal day to day traffic - you would have to go straight there though I would think. As someone above mentioned, Monarto Zoo as well - its a mini-safari trip sorta through the zoo on a bus. the animals are free to roam within their massive enclosures. I went earlier in the year with my cousin from WA, and had a great time. Would need a car to get there though.

You could take them up to Hahndorf in the Adelaide Hills perhaps, or the Brickworks Markets, which is extremely close to the city.

Actually the Adelaide Zoo is quite good - they also have free tours at about 2 in the afternoon with a guide and if you are lucky you can pretty much have a guide one on one.

Pity you have just missed the Egyptian treasures exhibition at the Art Gallery that had some great hands on stuff for kids. Although they may still get a kick out of our Green Rhinoceros in there.

If you do drag them into the Museum make sure you stand by the lion in the glass box for a little while and check out your kids reaction when it moves....

SANFL footy is free to your kids...

I thought about a SANFL game - we do go to the WAFL a bit here, my son is more into the WAFL than the AFL so I thought it might be something interesting for him - but this show we're seeing is at 2pm on Sunday, so that might make it difficult.

The Monarto Zoo sounds terrific; and I think I'll definitely have to go to Hahndorf - I just got a new job starting in a few weeks replacing a woman called Hamdorf, so it's quite appropriate at the moment!

The Markets, The Lion at the museum? OK, got it. :thumbsu:

I'm getting excited!!

Yeah, don;t mind a spot of whale watching - if we head down that way, may as well make a go of it.

Cheers guys - shame this show couldn't have coincided with the Freo game in a couple of weeks - could have really made a weekend of it!

But anyway - thanks for your help - has given me a big help with planning some activities. :thumbsu:

Thanks again. :)

I thought about a SANFL game - we do go to the WAFL a bit here, my son is more into the WAFL than the AFL so I thought it might be something interesting for him - but this show we're seeing is at 2pm on Sunday, so that might make it difficult.

The Monarto Zoo sounds terrific; and I think I'll definitely have to go to Hahndorf - I just got a new job starting in a few weeks replacing a woman called Hamdorf, so it's quite appropriate at the moment!

The Markets, The Lion at the museum? OK, got it. :thumbsu:

I'm getting excited!!

What weekend are you coming over?

If its this weekend, the SANFL is going over two days.

Saturday -- Norwood vs. North @ Norwood Oval, Eagles vs. West @ Thebarton Oval
Sunday -- Glenelg vs. Central District @ Glenelg Oval, South vs. Port @ Noarlunga Oval

I see you're a South Freo supporter, so the Centrals mob would be happy to have you.

Coming this weekend. What time do the SANFL games start?

I arrive 5.30pm Saturday so that's out, and we have a concert in the city at 2pm Sunday (should be finished about 3.30pm). Maybe I could head down to Glenelg after that and catch the second half...

I'd love to see some SANFL. :thumbsu: Wouldn't mind getting to AAMI on sat night either, but that's looking unlikely. :(

Do you reckon I could make it for the second half at Glenelg?

If you bring the warm wollies, I can highly recommend the Warrawong night walks. The kidlets might especially like the quoll :eek: it's an angry little bugger!

Bloody hell it's looks like it's been chilly over there! We've got forecasts of 22, 20, 21 over the next few days... and I see it's sitting around 15-16 in Adelaide. :eek: I woke up this morning to the news of the Adelaide storms and floods and I wondered what the hell I'd done booking for this weekend... ;) I don't do cold weather all that well... :eek:

The kiddies do like a bit of wildlife, so maybe that might be a good thing to do one night - it's not like we're going to hit the pubs and clubs!!

Is it Gouger St where all the restaurants are?

Hmmmm... games start at 2pm.

Yeah, unfortunately I think I might be pushing it... Shame, but it's this concert that's the reason we're coming, so can't really cancel that one...

Gouger street has some nice restaurants and you could also hit Rundle st or O'Connell St in North Adelaide for some great cafes and easy meals for the kids. You pretty much can't go wrong hitting any eatery in Adelaide because they won't survive here if they are no good (I think we still have the most amount of restaurants per capita of any city in the world)

Site for Warrawong here You will either need a taxi driver who knows where they are going or a hire car to get there though.

I've just asked my kids (girl aged 11 and boy aged 13) what they like to do here. Their suggestions were the snowdome, Rundle Mall, Hahndorf (particularly the lolly shop) the Central Market on Saturday morning/early afternoon and the dolphin cruises on the Port River. These only cost a few dollars and have lunch on board which is suitable for kids. Glenelg is also good with the Beach-house, Rodney Fox shark museum and the Town Hall which has a very good (and free) display about the history of SA. Plus there's heaps of shops that appeal to kids.

If you're thinking of going to the SANFL, I'd recommend the Eagles v West game at Thebby Oval. Easy to get to from the City and the Eagles were Matty Pav's old team.

Hope you and the kids have a great time.

Lolly Shop in Hahndorf will be "a must". I also have an 8 year old whose currently in Europe with her Dad (ie my husband), so something from there would be a good "souvenir". Plus, if there's promises of sugar, then the older two are more malleable and are more likely to do the things I want them to do!! :thumbsu:

Beach-house has been recommended a few times, so will add that to the itinerary.

And despite Pav having formerly played for the SA version of the Eagles, I really couldn't imagine anything that would get me to voluntarily go and see a game involving a team called the eagles - let alone feeling like I would have some sort of obligation to support them in any way... :thumbsdown: Although, Schammer's a West Adelaide boy isn't he - maybe I could support them instead. ;)

We're staying in North Adelaide, so it sounds as though eating out will be easy enough. That's good - one thing I can say about my older two kids is that they are adventurous with their food, so we might be trying a few different things out.

You guys have been really helpful - thanks. And we might yet get out to AAMI on saturday if I can work it out.

Westies need all the help they can get at the moment....

Good luck and I hope you and the kidlets enjoy your stay.

I would also recommend our seafood and be interested to know how it stacks up to what you get over west.

yep in the old Co-op building

although the factory outlet of Menz down south where they will put anything in the store into chocolate for you is yum and the 1kg bags of fruchocs :D

What to do?