What would you do with Griffiths?

He's supposedly fit to play soon,fantastic news.
But what approach should we take with bringing him back?
Personally I'd like him to put a sustained run together in the twos regardless of form.I don't believe there is any need whatsoever to rush him and I'm confident they won't.
Be great for him to put games together,build confidence in his body and perhaps kick a few bags all things going well.
Brad Miller is doing a mans sized job and I'm mindful of the fact he may run out of steam but we should cross that bridge when we come to it.
Griffiths is a huge asset for the future way beyond 2011 so if he doesn't even play one game this season it won't matter,although a few would be nice.
I ask because I've read in here at various stages where some are pinning a hell of a lot of hope on an unproven player,some even going as far as having us believe he is the second coming!
Fingers crossed he can have an injury free run and really take off on the right foot in 2012.

Yep, lets do what all strong teams do, play guys like Moore, Griffiths in the magoos until they deserve a spot.

He's supposedly fit to play soon,fantastic news.
But what approach should we take with bringing him back?
Personally I'd like him to put a sustained run together in the twos regardless of form.I don't believe there is any need whatsoever to rush him and I'm confident they won't.
Be great for him to put games together,build confidence in his body and perhaps kick a few bags all things going well.
Brad Miller is doing a mans sized job and I'm mindful of the fact he may run out of steam but we should cross that bridge when we come to it.
Griffiths is a huge asset for the future way beyond 2011 so if he doesn't even play one game this season it won't matter,although a few would be nice.
I ask because I've read in here at various stages where some are pinning a hell of a lot of hope on an unproven player,some even going as far as having us believe he is the second coming!
Fingers crossed he can have an injury free run and really take off on the right foot in 2012.
He is a real wildcard Rodney ... be an interesting one to see how the match committee handle him .

I reckon it was very shrewd getting Miller and i reckon it was done purely and simply to give Griffiths maximum time to get his body right.

We heard Hardwick talk of how Miller gives us structure , very similar to Collingwood .

My view is that this kid has played very little footy the last 2-3 years and just needs to spend some consistent , quality time out on the park before i would even consider him at the highest level . More for his own confidence going forward .

If he is as good as a lot of pundits say he is then i would not care if we didn't see him at all this year . Going to be so important if we can get his body right in the coming 5-7-9 years that absolutely no risk should be taken with him this year .

I would like to see him string 6-8 solid weeks together at Coburg ... get some miles in his legs and get through unscathed . Should he be able to do that then sit down and re-assess then . At this stage .. this year .. any experince at any level of senior footy is going to do him good .

Needs to get some belief and trust in his body

He is a real wildcard Rodney ... be an interesting one to see how the match committee handle him .

I reckon it was very shrewd getting Miller and i reckon it was done purely and simply to give Griffiths maximum time to get his body right.

We heard Hardwick talk of how Miller gives us structure , very similar to Collingwood .

My view is that this kid has played very little footy the last 2-3 years and just needs to spend some consistent , quality time out on the park before i would even consider him at the highest level . More for his own confidence going forward .

If he is as good as a lot of pundits say he is then i would not care if we didn't see him at all this year . Going to be so important if we can get his body right in the coming 5-7-9 years that absolutely no risk should be taken with him this year .

I would like to see him string 6-8 solid weeks together at Coburg ... get some miles in his legs and get through unscathed . Should he be able to do that then sit down and re-assess then . At this stage .. this year .. any experince at any level of senior footy is going to do him good .

You're right Iddy, how many times have blokes suddenly come out of the blue and people who watch footy go jesus, where did that kid come from, when in reality, they had time to learn and develop in the two's. I feel this is the case with a few of our youngens. Play them when their ready.

Coburg reserves
Coburg
Coburg
Coburg
Coburg
Coburg
Coburg
Coburg
Coburg
Coburg

Nothing to gain by playing him in the ones this year. Let him cut his teeth in the minors and build an appetite for a big pre-season and run at CHF in 2012:thumbsu:

You're right Iddy, how many times have blokes suddenly come out of the blue and people who watch footy go jesus, where did that kid come from, when in reality, they had time to learn and develop in the two's. I feel this is the case with a few of our youngens. Play them when their ready.

Not sure mate , he is the exception to the modern rule IMHO . Look at kids like Conca and Batchelor ... play them every day of the week in the ones . Young ... fit ... ready to go . young mans game and i'm wrapped they are being givin their heads and let go . Love it

Griffiths has been so fragile and played so little footy ... he just needs to string some quarters together ... then in time games together.

Put him in the ones and he has inferred pressure on him ... play him @ Coburg and he has no pressure . Its all about the big picture with him not immediate results

Coburg reserves
Coburg
Coburg
Coburg
Coburg
Coburg
Coburg
Coburg
Coburg
Coburg

Nothing to gain by playing him in the ones this year. Let him cut his teeth in the minors and build an appetite for a big pre-season and run at CHF in 2012:thumbsu:
pretty well agree with this . Not sure he'll play that many in the twos though

With the exception being him stringing 6-8 4 quarter performances @ Coburg and demanding to get a run

If he puts in a couple of decent performances at Coburg he'll pretty quickly get his go, just like last year. Dimma wants AFL games into the young 'uns, not VFL.

Agree that this is Dimmas philosophy and i also agree whole-heartedly with it (the philosophy that is)... but as i said this kid will be the exception to the rule and its why we got Miller to let him be the exception to the rule

I personally believe Griffiths should be made to work for it and at this stage Post deserves it more. I want him to be a real project player, get him right and pay alot of attention on his development.

But I dont want to see him in the Yellow and Black any time this year. It takes abit to get a big man up for AFL Level. Yeah sure we could draw comparisons to someone like Conca but they are built to do a different job and even Darling but Darling is a rare case.

Give the Boy sometime, get him working on his shoulders non stop so when it comes to game time he is ready to go in fearless

That'd be about my take on it iddy.

I'm probably in the minority but he needs games in his legs and not VFL reserve games. He's just as likely to injure himself (particularly his shoulders) at VFL level so I'd much rather we were getting games of a higher caliber into him.

I'm not advocating simply throwing him to the wolves, particularly if his fitness work isn't up to scratch and I understand the rationale of easing him back in. That being said I see little point and little development value playing him in the Coburg ressies for the rest of the season. It should be made clear to Ben what we expect of him and that he should be working towards achieving a level THIS YEAR where he can contribute. Similarly to Miller his actual output is of secondary value to his structural importance and we are not yet at the level where we are challenging therefore I advocate playing him at senior level.

He just simply won't develop to the standard we all seem to expect of him playing on some no name on a sodden night out at Werribee.

Agree that this is Dimmas philosophy and i also agree whole-heartedly with it (the philosophy that is)... but as i said this kid will be the exception to the rule and its why we got Miller to let him be the exception to the rule
I actually think Vickery's the one in Griffiths' place at the moment. Miller is there to provide structure and take the heat off either of the young talls in the forward line.

Given how well Vickery's traveling (five-goal game around the corner I reckon) maybe it will be a case of slowly-slowly with Biggie. I'm cool with whatever the coaching staff decide is best for the lad, but the prospect of seeing him in action is mouth-watering. If Taylor had stuck around he could potentially add another dimension too. Shame.

To suggest that Griffths will play the year out in the VFL is laughable. Reserves? WTF?

He'll play a few weeks at Coburg then he'll be straight in.

Dimma has said over and over that he is all about winning a premiership and part of that is getting AFL games into players he sees as important going forward.

Griffiths is definitely a big part of the plan.

I honestly dont care if his in Coburg all year if that means he gets through injury fine i just want him to get through fine, what ever we do we can not rush him.

I actually think Vickery's the one in Griffiths' place at the moment. Miller is there to provide structure and take the heat off either of the young talls in the forward line.

Given how well Vickery's traveling (five-goal game around the corner I reckon) maybe it will be a case of slowly-slowly with Biggie. I'm cool with whatever the coaching staff decide is best for the lad, but the prospect of seeing him in action is mouth-watering. If Taylor had stuck around he could potentially add another dimension too. Shame.

Vickery's improvement has pleasantly surprised for sure ... because for me up until this year he had shown less than Benny Gale had at the same juncture and Ben had shown bugger all as well and was a slow burner in the end ...

If he can turn in a similar career as BG i think we will have done well.

Taylor is project that needs to be scrapped sooner rather than later . Be interested to know if we could get dispensation to elevate a rookie in his place ?

i concur with idy that millers recruitment was very much around allowing us to take time with this thoroughbred whilst providing the necessary structure that has how forward line functioning better than ever. Under ordinary circumstances, yes 2 or 3 and throw him in. this aint ordinary circumstances, he's played bugger all footy and we are building momentum with the setup as it stands...Griff needs a minimum of 4-6 before he should be considered...Miller and TV are going along very nicely

I'm probably in the minority but he needs games in his legs and not VFL reserve games. He's just as likely to injure himself (particularly his shoulders) at VFL level so I'd much rather we were getting games of a higher caliber into him.

I'm not advocating simply throwing him to the wolves, particularly if his fitness work isn't up to scratch and I understand the rationale of easing him back in. That being said I see little point and little development value playing him in the Coburg ressies for the rest of the season. It should be made clear to Ben what we expect of him and that he should be working towards achieving a level THIS YEAR where he can contribute. Similarly to Miller his actual output is of secondary value to his structural importance and we are not yet at the level where we are challenging therefore I advocate playing him at senior level.

He just simply won't develop to the standard we all seem to expect of him playing on some no name on a sodden night out at Werribee.

Count me in the minority ! As soon as he is fit , seriously fit get him in there and get some games into him. He should definately get at least 7 games this year if fit. Be happy if 2 of those are in finals

I would like to see us make sure that he is as close to 100% right physically before we play him again. When I say this I'm not talking about developing his body because he is already a great size for a KPF, what I'm talking about is making sure that he is highly unlikely to have any more trouble with his shoulders. Once that happens then we start playing him at AFL level, for I see little point in having him in and out of the side when he is seen as such an important part of the structure, as you just can't get consistency.

Given the vastly improved professionalism of our medical dept, and coaching staff that can actually demonstrate patience in bringing a player back (yep lookin at you Terry), if he's back playing at any level you'd have to say his shoulder is 100% structurally sound. The only thing missing then will be match fitness and getting his touch back.

If Dimma was happy to play him last year when fit, then there's absolutely no reason he won't or shouldn't play him if he's showing enough at Coburg to warrant selection.

This is more likely reason we won't see him anytime soon, because if we continue in the kind of form we're in currently he'll really struggle to force his way into the team. As stated earlier, Vickery's really is the spot he's competing for, and he's going far to well to drop. He's also valuable as a back up to Gus.

If we drop off and it looks as though we aren't gonna make the 8, then I'd fully expect him to play around 4-6 games towards the end of the year.

Good problem to have, and he's definitely a long term prospect...so more than happy for us to take our time with him. :thumbsu:

Griffiths will hopefully be a good footballer but I dont see him in our best 22 at the moment.

Yer sure we could rush him back but does he deserve to go straight back into the team?

I have big tickets on this bloke dont get me wrong but he doesnt have it yet, there is still alot of work to go for him so who do we make move for him to play?

Does Griffiths deserve to be in the 22 more than Post at this stage, or Miller or Vickery?