What's happening in the Bendigo Football League #2

This is a perfect example of what happens when a club spends up on "imports".

Totally incorrect, spoke to a square official last friday and was told that Brad had not been training with square and and with four players already missing out on a game each week with the two's they thought that it would be unfair to play him in the seconds. A good club orintated approach I think

Expect an improved performance from Kyneton this week with players returning from Bombers and Pioneers as well as the Piccione brothers back from injury.
Another interesting inclusion is Rambo!
It is also good to see that the Tiges apparently have pretty good numbers with two full teams being named.
Keep up the good work Ox, Paul and others, things will turn around.

Good call D23!!:thumbsu:

Well done Kyneton!!!:D

See the tigers paws of leather
booting goals in any weather
we're all mates, we fight together
the mighty yellow and black.

let us strive for Kyneton's honour
land a premiership upon her
never say we're a goner

What a day for the The kyneton football club... best thing that has happend at the club in years... Just shows what happends when we dont lose all our players to the bombers and the pios.. and we still had 3 out because of Vic... To those at the game today Lance Picioanne run down in the dying minutes shows what a gun he is and what he wants to do for the football club... but i can honstly say that all 21 players contributed today.... The crowd atmosphere was amazing.... and lets here the song once more

See the tigers paws of leather
booting goals in any weather
we're all mates, we fight together

let us strive for Kyneton's honour
land a premiership upon her
never say we're a goner

Just in regards to the highlighted comment. You'd be happier to hold those kids back all year and not give them an opportunity to better there footy?

1. You call Bomber seconds better football?

2. Losing players to the Bombers and Pioneers clearly hurts the likes of Kyneton, Maryborough & Castlemaine more than say a Golden Square or South Bendigo who have greater player numbers.

3. In any event, what a great effort by the Kyneton Football Club. Congratulations to their players and committee. I think outside of a premiership that would have to be as good as it gets - enjoy it, you guys all deserve it.

there was an article in the addy yesterday explaining why he is playing at MB this week. collingwood dont have vfl 2s, so everyone who doesnt get a game in the ones will go back to a country club, etc. read the article to find out more on why he chose MB

Yeah no probs with the bombers situation, but he did not play the week before either, and Sqaure were still not prepared to play him. He chose MB because he is originally from there and was so disillusioned by what's happened at Square, and the bloke just needs to play footy!!

Totally incorrect, spoke to a square official last friday and was told that Brad had not been training with square and and with four players already missing out on a game each week with the two's they thought that it would be unfair to play him in the seconds. A good club orintated approach I think

As Brad would have bombers commitments untill he is told mid-week he will not be playing how can he be reasonably expected to train with Square?? I know for fact that as soon as he was told of his ommission a couple of weeks ago, he trained at Square. Not only this but he trained whenever his bombers schedule allowed pre-season as well, and not forgetting the last 3 or so years he has been at the club :rolleyes:

I'm a bit worried if you think it's a good club orientated decision to alienate the best young players on your list who have been with your club for many years and have them play elsewhere...

Just in regards to the highlighted comment. You'd be happier to hold those kids back all year and not give them an opportunity to better there footy?

Is that what i said did I. I was refering to the times when we are luckily enough to have these boys, how much stronger our team is.

Interesting to see young Brad Stringer named in the Maryborough side to face Castlemaine! He was a big part of the Square team last year and played in the grand final. He is currently on the Bendigo Bombers list but is not getting a game due to Essendon having a fairly good run with injuries and has been told there is no room for him at Sqaure, not even in the two's!!??

What are they smoking down at Square? A young player who is one of their own, tries his hand at playing bombers and they just shaft him when he returns for a game! It's not like he has just signed with them for when he gets dropped, he is and has been a Square player for ages. I can perhaps understand not wanting to mess with their senior line up to a degree, but to not even give him a game in the two's is nothing short of a disgrace and a slap in the face to a very talented young player....

Any Thoughts??

Stringa is a Maryborough boy from way back, he joined square in 2006 as his family had moved to Bendigo and he had a few mates playing at square. He eventually progressed to be a senior player for the club last year and chose to have a crack at the bombers this year which he can't be blamed for. He obviously stayed on square list incase he didn't get a game at the bombers, however when he was dropped by the bombers 2's for the easter weekend game Square weren't able to fit him into either team. This wasn't due to talent it was due to Square having an abundance of players to choose from who had all been training with the club on a regular basis and the club decided that they didn't want to drop a player for that reason.

Brad was obviously disappointed but he understood where the club was coming from, his uncle is Jamie Bond so his first port of call was his hometown of Maryborough. There are 2 ways of looking at the situation and in my opinion neither party are in the wrong, Brad is trying to get the most out of himself by playing with the bombers and square are looking after those who are at training every night.

Unfortunately on the weekend with a few injuries square 2's were short and had to call on the great Brock Pinner rather than having the option of Stringa!

Yeah no probs with the bombers situation, but he did not play the week before either, and Sqaure were still not prepared to play him. He chose MB because he is originally from there and was so disillusioned by what's happened at Square, and the bloke just needs to play footy!!

Spot on, he needs to be playing footy, he understood where square were coming from but he just wanted to play.

As Brad would have bombers commitments untill he is told mid-week he will not be playing how can he be reasonably expected to train with Square?? I know for fact that as soon as he was told of his ommission a couple of weeks ago, he trained at Square. Not only this but he trained whenever his bombers schedule allowed pre-season as well, and not forgetting the last 3 or so years he has been at the club :rolleyes:

I'm a bit worried if you think it's a good club orientated decision to alienate the best young players on your list who have been with your club for many years and have them play elsewhere...

Yeah he trained at square on the Thursday night, the night before the Flat game. The club made the decision to stick with those who had been training, they were not trying to alienate Brad in any sense they just didn't want to be affecting the morale of the player who would have been dropped to fit him in. It is unfortunate from a square supporters perspective to see him leave but as a mate of his he just wants to play footy and if square couldn't offer that then i'm glad he got an opportunity elsewhere.

Still can't believe how a bloke on a VFL club list (no matter what people opinions are of the Bombers 2's) can't get a game for his home clubs 2's when he is available and even trained at the club when he new he was going to be available.

Square have stuck to theirs guns on this for a little while now, the same thing happened with both the Young boys. It isn't a matter of who is most talented it is a matter of looking after those who have been at the club week in, week out. The fringe player on the bench for the 2's who would have been dropped would have been frustrated if this happened yet wouldn't have created a stir within the footballing community as he is just your average 2's bench player. He has as much right to play as a Bombers 2's player does.

Oh and on a personal level if I was coaching I would pick the bombers player but I like that the club is sticking with what they have done in previous years.

I agree Hank, always play your best side.

And if you look after those blokes they'll always come back to the club.
But i understand the clubs decision aswell

Square have stuck to theirs guns on this for a little while now, the same thing happened with both the Young boys. It isn't a matter of who is most talented it is a matter of looking after those who have been at the club week in, week out. The fringe player on the bench for the 2's who would have been dropped would have been frustrated if this happened yet wouldn't have created a stir within the footballing community as he is just your average 2's bench player. He has as much right to play as a Bombers 2's player does.
Oh and on a personal level if I was coaching I would pick the bombers player but I like that the club is sticking with what they have done in previous years.

Fair enough and as you stated we are both of the same opinion. Just think the club needs to look at it a bit differently, they are saying the players their training with the club are preferred before those players that are from the club and representing that club at VFL level.
Interesting to see what the club hierarchy would do about the statement I have put in bold if a Nick Carter decided to play Bombers twos and play for Square when available, wonder if they would find room in either side for him? Or a Matt Dillon when it was the Diggers and he played spasmodically for part of the year and won the B & F that year in the seniors!

Fair enough and as you stated we are both of the same opinion. Just think the club needs to look at it a bit differently, they are saying the players their training with the club are preferred before those players that are from the club and representing that club at VFL level.
Interesting to see what the club hierarchy would do about the statement I have put in bold if a Nick Carter decided to play Bombers twos and play for Square when available, wonder if they would find room in either side for him? Or a Matt Dillon when it was the Diggers and he played spasmodically for part of the year and won the B & F that year in the seniors!

Very true, I also noted that Woosha made a comeback that day for square 2's.

The likes of the Bomber 2nd's has created a new breed of players - 'refugees'.
They are cast adrift and looking for a (temporary) home.

If Collingwood doesn't need a VFL 2nd's team why do the Bombers need one?

Imagine if Golden Square decided they didn't need seconds but Sandhurst did. Anyone who couldn't get a game with the Square could say wander over to North Bendigo. Then anyone that couldn't get a game with North Bendigo 2nds could turn out for Maryborough 2nds. Who do you think these blokes should train with? - I am sure Stringer would like to know!

Is that what i said did I. I was refering to the times when we are luckily enough to have these boys, how much stronger our team is.

How old are you mate? Or are you just illiterate? In regards to another post about Bombers seconds. Obviously when talking about this, we must bring up young Jack Redpath. Surely a kid of his ability, who was never given an underage opportunity at the Pio's etc, deserves an opportunity to play at VFL level. He seems to be not far away from a ones birth either. Terrific for the kid and the town:thumbsu:

It's good to hear some intelligent banter and even some opposing views on this subject. FWIW I would play it on a case by case basis depending on who the player is, if they get picked or not. In this instance i believe they have made a mistake. One that will almost certainly cost them one of their best young players for good.

it is a matter of looking after those who have been at the club week in, week out. The fringe player on the bench for the 2's who would have been dropped would have been frustrated if this happened \

I agree with this view in principal. But would it be fair to say there would be at least a couple of first year players at the club playing 2's?? In the interest of looking after your own, I would of thought excluding a young player who has been a good clubman for several years to not upset a first year 2's 'battler' is a bit misguided and fairly stupid....

As it turned out they were short on numbers anyway so it is even worse for sqaure...

Brad was obviously disappointed but he understood where the club was coming from

he understood where square were coming from but he just wanted to play.

This is where we must agree to disagree. I, as you claim to as well, know Brad and his family very well, and he was bitter and confused about the situation to say the very least. I am going to say categorically that from what he told me he is at odds with Sqaure's decision and is very unhappy about it. Even though he is from MB, it is far from ideal for Brad to be playing there from his POV let me tell you, otherwise why would he of not signed there pre-season??

hey bears boy, i was upstairs at dower park on saturday nite after the games and i was blown away with their set up. (awesome) just imagine if that set up was in gizzy. i think it would be fair to say we would be better than what we are at the moment ( and we are good at the moment),with that kind of spondulas i reckon we would be untouchable. but then again the jumper is more important than the spondulas. thats what makes gizzy what they are. special.

This is where we must agree to disagree. I, as you claim to as well, know Brad and his family very well, and he was bitter and confused about the situation to say the very least. I am going to say categorically that from what he told me he is at odds with Sqaure's decision and is very unhappy about it. Even though he is from MB, it is far from ideal for Brad to be playing there from his POV let me tell you, otherwise why would he of not signed there pre-season??

Yeah I'm just going by what he told me when we hit the discos that Thursday night, he said he understood where they were coming from but you're definitely right in saying that he was very bitter and annoyed about it. I cannot blame him either, if I was in his position I definitely would have cracked the shits with the club. It obviously wasn't made clear to him when he first decided to play with the Bombers what would happen if this scenario did arise. What Square need to do now to stop losing any more promising players is to sit any of their players down who decide to have a crack at the Bombers and let them know where they stand when it comes to selection.

Not many blokes stick around at clubs from the under 18's and in my opinion they should do whatever they can to hold onto them. Although there is constant debate about the standard of the bombers 2's team, training with the club in itself is more beneficial for the young blokes and if they are lucky enough to get a game or 2 in the ones then that is also gonna hold them in good stead for the future. You want these blokes after having a few years at VFL level to come back to the club.

The likes of the Bomber 2nd's has created a new breed of players - 'refugees'.
They are cast adrift and looking for a (temporary) home.

If Collingwood doesn't need a VFL 2nd's team why do the Bombers need one?

Imagine if Golden Square decided they didn't need seconds but Sandhurst did. Anyone who couldn't get a game with the Square could say wander over to North Bendigo. Then anyone that couldn't get a game with North Bendigo 2nds could turn out for Maryborough 2nds. Who do you think these blokes should train with? - I am sure Stringer would like to know!
thats exactly what will happen next year, when essendon dont re-align with bendigo, and become a stand alone vfl club just like collingwood an gelong, and therefor forcing bendigo bombers to fold. as they wont be able to survive in the vfl without the monetary support.

How old are you mate? Or are you just illiterate? In regards to another post about Bombers seconds. Obviously when talking about this, we must bring up young Jack Redpath. Surely a kid of his ability, who was never given an underage opportunity at the Pio's etc, deserves an opportunity to play at VFL level. He seems to be not far away from a ones birth either. Terrific for the kid and the town:thumbsu:

Jack redpath is one of my good mates... and yes he was offered an opportunity at the pioneeers but for different reasons didnt take them.... but this yeear his commitment is sensational... and is guarenteed a game in the bombers seniors in the upcoming weeks. I can assure you if we had more Jack Redpaths at the Kyneton football club in the next few years we would be a very very good side.... But lets not forget a kid of his size and build is a rarity and with the Gold Coast side coming in and talls becoming rare.. a rookie spot on an afl list would not at all surprize me

This is the type of shitty fairytales that have been constantly put forth to starry eyed young talented footballers by this pathetic organisation. The sooner it dies a natural death the better for all ! The fact of the matter is very few footballers get drafted out of the VFL, and those that do usually have some sort of insider connection.

Dont delude the boy whatever you do, its way to cruel.

DOGS' OVAL SHOCK

28/04/2009 8:40:00 AM The Bendigo Advertiser

GISBORNE may be forced to move their Bendigo Football League round four clash from Gardiner Reserve after soil containing asbestos, broken glass and rocks was dumped on the ground.

A contractor hired by Macedon Ranges Shire dumped 220 tonnes of contaminated topsoil on the oval as part of routine ground maintenance this month. Samples of soil from Gardiner Reserve contained four small pieces of white non-friable asbestos, not considered to be a significant health risk.

Gisborne Football Netball Club president Graeme Love said the club should find out tomorrow if the ground could be used on Saturday for the match against Sandhurst. Mr Love said WorkSafe and the Environmental Protection Agency had to give approval for the game to go ahead.
“It’s a debacle, that’s for sure,’’ he said.

“There’s a problem with the ground and we won’t get an answer before Wednesday. “I’m glad we played Kangaroo Flat (away) on the weekend because we certainly wouldn’t have been able to have the game here.’’Mr Love said Gisborne would consider several options if Gardiner Reserve was deemed too unsafe for play.

“There’s about four or five alternatives,’’ he said. “We could change grounds with Sandhurst, but we haven’t spoken to them yet. “There’s a couple of different grounds locally we could play on.

“But we really want to play on our ground, it’s a home ground and we really want to get the crowd.’’ Should Gisborne be forced to switch the home game with Sandhurst, a Sunday match at the QEO looks the most likely alternative. Gisborne would then host the round 13 match between the two sides on July 11.

Central Victorian Football chief executive officer Steven Oliver said he expected the fixture to go ahead as scheduled. “We’ll have a look at some fixturing (if the ground cannot be used), but we’re very confident the ground will come up and nothing will need to be changed,’’ he said.
What is Oliver on??? No way should this ground be used in the short term??

This is the type of shitty fairytales that have been constantly put forth to starry eyed young talented footballers by this pathetic organisation. The sooner it dies a natural death the better for all ! The fact of the matter is very few footballers get drafted out of the VFL, and those that do usually have some sort of insider connection.

Dont delude the boy whatever you do, its way to cruel.

pull ya head in!! ask any ex-VFL player and 90% would say they dont regret playing VFL football b'cos of the experience even at twos levels. I bet you that no one has told jack redpath that he might have a chance.... they would be saying to the boy train well and finish the season strong

you clearly have never had a link nor been anywhere near the club pull your head in and go see what they do. the professioanlism is head and shoulders above BFL and the players that are that proffessional will have links to VFL or AFL clubs@@

pull ya head in!! ask any ex-VFL player and 90% would say they dont regret playing VFL football b'cos of the experience even at twos levels. I bet you that no one has told jack redpath that he might have a chance.... they would be saying to the boy train well and finish the season strong

you clearly have never had a link nor been anywhere near the club pull your head in and go see what they do. the professioanlism is head and shoulders above BFL and the players that are that proffessional will have links to VFL or AFL clubs@@

No need to get upset. Your replying to someone that over rated their kid and blame the VFL club and not his kids lack of talent for not making. Maybe if he had spent some extra time working on his kids left foot or decision making he would not be so bitter about having to watch country footy each week.

i Aint getting upset just think its funny when people start talking bout wat a club says when clearly the bloke hasnt stepped foot in the club before or maybe he is just jelous that people are talking bout other people rather then is own sun ??

or the fact that people actually dont make it despite there opionon of the own kids.. here's a pointer be realistic at your own kids abilty. and stop blaming the clubs like a said ask
connaughton, bowles, leech, childs, bowe,maddern, geary, downie, roy, ford, youngs, C hall, whitshead, pilcher, growthrop,
any names sound familiar im sure they all we agree with me. that it is not a waste of time through there experience

it has its flaws the VFL i agree. but i think now we will see the system working for the BFL, will the filtering back of players to the BFL, there is ex VFL players in prob all teams.