whats the story with watts

• Thread starter Thread starter stefoid

stefoid said:
can he play?

Dont know cant wait to find out when we do we will let you know i would say if he dont get a game by the end of the year i would say he may head home .

MY OPINION ONLY

fergie has had some injureis that kept out out of the first half of the season and since then has been on the emergencies list for about 4 weeks,,,,finding it hard to break into the firsts with the crows doing so well

stefoid said:
can he play?

do youwant to keep him?
Yes & yes.

As mentioned by FFCx3, he is close to a game, as he has been named as an emergency.

FFC + BBFC = BBFFC said:
fergie has had some injureis that kept out out of the first half of the season and since then has been on the emergencies list for about 4 weeks,,,,finding it hard to break into the firsts with the crows doing so well

yes we are doing well but we are screaming out for a foward

Despite all the talk about how promising he is, I am not convinced. Last year I thought he was going to be a superstar, and although he may still be, his progress has been rather slow. His stats in the SANFL are very consistant, not great but solid. Needs to take more marks and kick more goals.

Drummond said:
Despite all the talk about how promising he is, I am not convinced. Last year I thought he was going to be a superstar, and although he may still be, his progress has been rather slow. His stats in the SANFL are very consistant, not great but solid. Needs to take more marks and kick more goals.
Give the bloke some time to develop. Not too many bigmen dominate the AFL at Watts' age.

Drummond said:
You don't judge a book by its cover and you don't judge a player by his stats.

He is 19 year old player who holds a CHF position for a top of the table SANFL club. He gets double teamed a fair bit. His role doesn't allow him to kick a bag of goals. He plays the sort of role Jonathan Brown played for the Lions when Lynch was still playing.

Ferg's mobility, agility, ability at ground level and clean handling of the ball (not double grabbing) this year has improved out of sight. We can't expect every draftee (especially talls) to come in and be the type of players we expect over night. They generally take 3 years to get themselves up to AFL standard. This year Fergus has mad significant improvements in a lot of areas that would have been considered as weaknesses this time last year. Now they are probably some of his strengths (eg for a 197 cm player he is bloody good below his knees).

If Fergus can beef up over the pre-season and work on his set shots he would make drastic improvements in his game. Next year, Fergus will be regular in our side. Kid can play trust me.

Personally I've only see him play live when we played at the SCG (obviously) and he was as skinny as a rake. In saying that you could see he had natural potential and he would make a significant impact for us at some stage. Whether he is ready for that step up now? Well that's for the coaching staff to decide.

Stiffy_18 said:
You don't judge a book by its cover and you don't judge a player by his stats.

He is 19 year old player who holds a CHF position for a top of the table SANFL club. He gets double teamed a fair bit. His role doesn't allow him to kick a bag of goals. He plays the sort of role Jonathan Brown played for the Lions when Lynch was still playing.

Ferg's mobility, agility, ability at ground level and clean handling of the ball (not double grabbing) this year has improved out of sight. We can't expect every draftee (especially talls) to come in and be the type of players we expect over night. They generally take 3 years to get themselves up to AFL standard. This year Fergus has mad significant improvements in a lot of areas that would have been considered as weaknesses this time last year. Now they are probably some of his strengths (eg for a 197 cm player he is bloody good below his knees).

If Fergus can beef up over the pre-season and work on his set shots he would make drastic improvements in his game. Next year, Fergus will be regular in our side. Kid can play trust me.

100% accurate summary there mate.

Great work Stiff. :)

Well said Stiffy.

He needs time to develop, a bit of meat on the old bones is needed if he wants to play as a key forward in the AFL. The fact that Ron Fuller has chosen Watts to control their forward line (they have quite a few big men in their team) says he must pretty decent. Hasn't had too many huge games in the SANFL yet, hopefully over the pre-season he will team up with Scotty Thompson in the weights room. There's no point rushing him into the team, considering we are sitting second, and watching him get slaughtered by bigger, stronger, more experienced defenders. Let him learn the game for the Eagles, maybe next year he will play some more games with the Crows.

RoosterLad said:
Well said Stiffy.

He needs time to develop, a bit of meat on the old bones is needed if he wants to play as a key forward in the AFL. The fact that Ron Fuller has chosen Watts to control their forward line (they have quite a few big men in their team) says he must pretty decent. Hasn't had too many huge games in the SANFL yet, hopefully over the pre-season he will team up with Scotty Thompson in the weights room. There's no point rushing him into the team, considering we are sitting second, and watching him get slaughtered by bigger, stronger, more experienced defenders. Let him learn the game for the Eagles, maybe next year he will play some more games with the Crows.
Its often said that most players should or do play 50 reserves games of footy B4 going to the next level - even more appropriate for a 197cm 19 year old forward getting co-ordinated and built up physically.

We all agreed with this when he was recruited - but now? - are we all that impatient? ;)

Fergal is coming along nicely.

Given his OP issues towards the end of last year, he is playing some pretty good footy for the budgies.....and at least hasn't suffered any related back or hammy injuries.

he's not far away from a stretch in the A's........ ;)

Drummond said:

He's still 19 remember. Let him do another pre season, add some muscle and improve his engine and then we'll see how he goes. I'd doubt we would see much of him this year, but I'd be disappointed if he doesn't make more of an impact next year.

Edit: Sorry, just realised I repeated what a lot of other people said.

birdmanptr said:
Dont know cant wait to find out when we do we will let you know i would say if he dont get a game by the end of the year i would say he may head home .

MY OPINION ONLY
If he did wanted to come home what would it cost us?

bogan4life said:

it all depends on whether the 'official' view is he is in front of the development curve or not.

If he is, it will cost plenty - top 5/6 pick.
If not, first round pick.

he is doing fine, so he will still cost. It all a matter how much.

I am more than happy with Watts development so far. There's always a chance a first rounder will be a bust and never make it. Fergus is showing enough to suggest he has a long AFL career ahead of him. Whether he turns out to be a good player or just an average player is yet to be seen. But the fact that we've got a tall forward, at just 19 years of age, on the verge of selection in a full strength side (rather than just a hyped one straight out of the draft) is exciting and something that we haven't had for a long time at the Crows.

**** said:
I am more than happy with Watts development so far. There's always a chance a first rounder will be a bust and never make it. Fergus is showing enough to suggest he has a long AFL career ahead of him. Whether he turns out to be a good player or just an average player is yet to be seen. But the fact that we've got a tall forward, at just 19 years of age, on the verge of selection in a full strength side (rather than just a hyped one straight out of the draft) is exciting and something that we haven't had for a long time at the Crows.

I honestly think there is some kind of mental game going on between Craig and Watts on this one. At the start of the season Craig said that he will select any player of form regardless of time at the club. Lets face it this year Watts seems to be playing more consistent football and better football at that. which you would think warrants a recall to the team especially when Perrie was struggling (but he is important to the spine so maybe thats why he wasn't dropped)

So Watts is playing good football but not picked (I think he may have got an emergency listing ?) its almost as if Craig is tellings Watts to really Force his way in not just get a game based on his 1st Round status.

saying that he also needs a few kilos over preseason !!

bogan4life said:
What would you be willing to give for him?

I tell you what, we'll give Watts and our first rounder (probably #12+ overall)for either Griffen or Cooney. If neither of them are on the table(and I bet their not), you have nothing but draft picks we would be interested in. If thats the case, your first rounder, if its in the top 5-6 might get the deal done. Anything less than that and there is no deal, we've put too much into him to let him go cheaper.

Crowked said:
What would you be willing to give for him?

I tell you what, we'll give Watts and our first rounder (probably #12+ overall)for either Griffen or Cooney. If neither of them are on the table(and I bet their not), you have nothing but draft picks we would be interested in. If thats the case, your first rounder, if its in the top 5-6 might get the deal done. Anything less than that and there is no deal, we've put too much into him to let him go cheaper.

Cam Faulkner ? (Plus picks)

Remember it was John Reid who said he was the next McLeod! ;)

Draft Pick said:

You should have offered him to us before he proved he won't be. ;)

Draft Pick said:

Depends what the picks are I guess. One in the Top 10?

I think John Reid was wrong. He looks a pretty average player to me. I dont see him every week though, maybe he's better than I think.

Capitalist said:
saying that he also needs a few kilos over preseason !!

exactly, thats the hurdle he has to overcome. he needs some serious weight training.

he has the skills but i doubt he will make it while he has the figure of a middle aged woman.

slappy said:
he has the skills but i doubt he will make it while he has the figure of a middle aged woman.

I haven't seen him.
You mean he's got a huge arse?