BroadhurstMonk

Jun 3, 2004
Why does every one on here bag Nick Maxwell?????

He has come into the team and done everything that has been asked of him. It has been a long time since I have seen a young guy so hard at the ball.

Originally posted by BroadhurstMonk
besides being a **** and being skinny what else has he done wrong?

nothing, but look who is waiting on the sidelines. I made a thread/post about him 4 weeks ago. I am not against him but he has done nothing write.

I wasn't aware anyone had bagged him. Lonie_from_50 WTF do you want from a bloke fresh from the rookie list? He was good last year at Willi and so far this year he hasn't made a mistake. He's played a couple of games FFS.

Nothing wrong with Nick Maxwell, but he's cerrtainly no automatic selection at this stage of his career.

Originally posted by MarkT
I wasn't aware anyone had bagged him. Lonie_from_50 WTF do you want from a bloke fresh from the rookie list? He was good last year at Willi and so far this year he hasn't made a mistake. He's played a couple of games FFS.

Spot on Mark. Give it a break Lonie_from_50.

I was unaware that Maxwell was being bagged, but for crying out loud, what more do you guys want?

The kid has done admirably to come off the rookie list, and actually look like a player.

I like teh kid, Needs more tim though, Just like the Rest of our young players.. need 2 -3 more years to become solid footy players. He has done nothing wrong, or nothing right for that matter.

Originally posted by Lonie_from_50
nothing, but look who is waiting on the sidelines. I made a thread/post about him 4 weeks ago. I am not against him but he has done nothing write.

Nick Maxwell = better footballer than Lonie_from_50's grammar.

For the record Maxwell has done EVERYTHING right in the backline, I dare say his opponent has marked probably twice in a marking contest with him and he stood up to Embley's bumping and what not very well. Didn't back down at all.

So what would you want from a 3 game player? I mean he isn't Carl Ditterich.

Wow now that is a relief - thought I was the only person who saw what a great job Maxwell has done in his 3 games so far - I think he has been great and yes needs time to develop but shows signs of having the right stuff to be a league footballer.

Originally posted by BroadhurstMonk
Wow now that is a relief - thought I was the only person who saw what a great job Maxwell has done in his 3 games so far - I think he has been great and yes needs time to develop but shows signs of having the right stuff to be a league footballer.

Mate, I was a fan after I saw his finals series for Williamstown last year.

have been pleasantly suprised by this kids composure. looks like a prospect to me. hasn't done much wrong and although he hasn't stood out, in this case methinks that's a good thing.
deserves his place in the team at the moment.

Sorry guys!

I think that was the first and only negetive comment about the kid, I am sorry fella's for the comment. I am really ****ed off and stressed at the moment (because of VCE Exams) and i do think the kid can play as a 'loose' defender.

Hoggy, "Nick Maxwell: better footballer than Lonie_from_50's grammer". I just saw the mistake, and i am sorry for stressing you out for the incorect spelling of Right . Get over it and sit with you girlfriend and open another can of VB by the television, or the computer and chill out.

I will jst give you an insight to what Maxwell has done for the club.

v Adelaide - Marks 6 (0 contested), Ball Gets 1 (1 hard-ball get)
v Kangaroos - Marks 1 (0 contested), Ball Gets 3 (0 hard-ball gets)
v West Coast - Marks 7 (0 contested), Ball Gets 0

By the way, you are giving me flack boys for that negetive comment which i will take back. But i had a hug rap over the guy, as i thought he was a footballer when i did the poll a month ago.

Remember that time v Kangaroos when Maxwell took a mark and got up and tryed to sidebump some Kangaroo and fell over himself and pleaded for a 50m penalty. Something Ben Kinnear would do.

Re: Sorry guys!

.Remember that time v Kangaroos when Maxwell took a mark and got up and tryed to sidebump some Kangaroo and fell over himself and pleaded for a 50m penalty. Something Ben Kinnear would do.

I dont think the Kids That Bad ey?

Originally posted by Whisky_McKay
I like him, he probably needs a couple of hard pre-seasons to bulk upp a bit but that would be my only concern

Certainly, the only real problem on his side is his physical strength.

I really liked his game against Fremantle over at the Oval in London last year aswell.

Not much wrong with 86.

He falls into the Dane Swan-esque grey area of player. That is, he doesn't stand out, but he doesn't do much wrong either.

His size always meant that he'd be a late bloomer. Still, if he can pack on the pounds, he could be a very servicable backman in the Clement mould.

He turned 21 last week. Still young and will get bigger naturally over the next couple of years and we should whack him on the Lonie & Tarrant diet.

If pressed for an answer today, he'd be an automatic elevation IMO.

Originally posted by FIGJAM
His size always meant that he'd be a late bloomer. Still, if he can pack on the pounds, he could be a very servicable backman in the Clement mould.
I reckon there is a bit too much fixation with bulk. Strength is important but not everyone can be a KPP and you still need flankers. If he can play as a quickish, agle tallish flanker he could be value.

Hoggy, "Nick Maxwell: better footballer than Lonie_from_50's grammer". I just saw the mistake, and i am sorry for stressing you out for the incorect spelling of Right . Get over it and sit with you girlfriend and open another can of VB by the television, or the computer and chill out.

Mate, you have problems.

Blind Freddy could have told you that my comment regarding your grammar was tongue in cheek, I guess since I did not put one of the following :) :( :eek: :D ;) :p :cool: :rolleyes: :mad: :eek: :confused: you got it messed up. My bad.

Why are you referring to me and my girlfriend?

I don't drink alcohol.

Now why was it that you pm'ed me asking to sit with me at the football the other week?

Funny how quickly you grab your shovel and retreat isnt is Lonie_from_50.
I've heard nothing but negative stuff come out of your mouth about Maxwell, and don't say other wise.

Personaly i don't think the kid has set the world onfire, but he certainly has not done anyting wrong. Yeah he is skinny but he has just come of the rookie list. Look at how skinny Robert Murphy was two or three years ago. Maxwell has had limited time on the ground and hasn't done anything wrong.

... I am really ****ed off and stressed at the moment (because of VCE Exams)...

Don't be stressed out, you'll be right. You've got next year, and the year after. Don't worry just try harder next year.;)

Re: Re: Sorry guys!

Originally posted by Hoggy
Now why was it that you pm'ed me asking to sit with me at the football the other week?

when did i say that i want to sit next to you, I have had the best seats each week this year and certainly would not invite someone like you to sit with me.

I did ask to meet up, you made negetive phsical appearances about me and i think us 3 guys would like to have a go at you!!!

Whats Wrong with Nick Maxwell