When to count AFL premierships, and NOT AFL/VFL ones?

Except Collingwood didn't come begging to play in the SANFL or WAFL. Collingwood don't care about the SANFL or WAFL and hence only want their flags to count in the VFL/AFL.

No but Collingwood and the other ""money"' clubs went to SA and WA and took home with them the majority of good players therefore strengthening their brand whilst weakening the talent pool in SA and WA turning it into a C grade comp.This is why those Ïnterstate clubs wanted a piece of the VFL/AFL action.

I did note that you fail to raise an argument, just take pot shots with no ammunition. Your lightweight attempts to participate are dragging the thread down. Lift your game.

Spin mate, all you have is spin.

Your arguments are hopeless and I would be a fool to take them seriously and waste my time with detailed responses.

NOTHING you put forwards in this thread would lead me to reassess my stance in the slightest.

In fact, I challenge any respondent in this thread to come forward and state that your arguments have changed their opinions.

Spin mate, all you have is spin.

Your arguments are hopeless and I would be a fool to take them seriously and waste my time with detailed responses.

NOTHING you put forwards in this thread would lead me to reassess my stance in the slightest.

In fact, I challenge any respondent in this thread to come forward and state that your arguments have changed their opinions.

I'm not trying to make you reassess your stance. You have a steadfast opinion and have failed to address points made by the other side of the argument. Do you think the way you have presented your opinion would sway somebody over to your thinking.

You are from the 'if I just say it repetitively, then it is what it is and I don't have to explain it' school of thought.

Reminds me of a deer hiding its head behind a tree so the hunter can't see it but its arse is hanging out. It fails to execute properly.

.... he says as he drifts further and further away from any sort of lucid argument. What are you honestly doing in this thread if all you want to do is name call and fail to actually debate?

Slightly better than Plan B which is to make no argument at all and just slag off at people. They call that trolling I think.

Perhaps since you are so adamant that my arguments are ridiculous, you might have the courage to address them? Too much to ask for? I would have thought a ridiculous argument would be easily hit for six.

What have you got to lose?

Slightly better than Plan B which is to make no argument at all and just slag off at people. They call that trolling I think.

:rolleyes:

Reminds me of a deer hiding its head behind a tree so the hunter can't see it but its arse is hanging out. It fails to execute properly.

:rolleyes:

Like I stated, has this theory of making ridiculous unrelated claims and then foisting them upon your opponents worked for you in real life?

Argue all you want about it, as far as I see it, my club has won 35 premierships and no one can really tell me not to count them can they? Everyone sees it differently and there is no right or wrong.

That's true and you should be proud of your 35 premierships. However most people don't care about 34 of them.

:thumbsu: Wonderful Post. 35 > 16

Essendon also have 35 flags if you count each level of competition. Carlton have 34, Melbourne 33 and Richmond 31.

So the mods should close any thread that doesn't agree with your POV? What a fun place bigfooty would be if you were in charge Mein Fuhrer.

Here's an idea, instead of crying to the mods if you don't like a thread just don't read it.

It's not a point of view. It's fact and approved by the AFL.

No but Collingwood and the other ""money"' clubs went to SA and WA and took home with them the majority of good players therefore strengthening their brand whilst weakening the talent pool in SA and WA turning it into a C grade comp.This is why those Ïnterstate clubs wanted a piece of the VFL/AFL action.

They took players. So What? They don't care about the WAFL/SANFL and don't want to be recognised by them.

Like I stated, has this theory of making ridiculous unrelated claims and then foisting them upon your opponents worked for you in real life?

If you can't swim but don't want people to know, why flail around desperately when you can just stay out of the pool?

You're looking at history with far too much parochialism.

It's pretty clear that the VFL premiers were never anything more than champions of Victoria - that's why events like champions of Australia existed. And why state footy was far more important - that was the highest level.

And the fact that the overwhelming trend of these contests was for the VFL/Victorian state side to win proves the dominance of the league. You can argue in the years where another state's club got up that that supercedes that particular years flag winner, but you certainly cannot argue that the VFL was anything but the number 1 comp in the country.

Knock it off, it wasn't all that uncommon for VFL teams to get rolled by SANFL and WAFL clubs - especially when they had to travel. Even as late as the 80's, when the VFL used to send teams over to Perth for the pre season, it wasn't unusual for them to get beaten. It was probably fair to say that 2 or 3 years out of 10 from the 1890's to the 1970's, the best team in Australia wasn't even Victorian.

Those clubs can put their hand up and claim their due adulation, but they don't have the right to rubbish the entire history of our league. They blew the chance to be a part of the national comp when they allowed the VFL to change it's name without demanding to be included.

Nowadays if you pit an AFL side up against any other team in the country they'd win by 20 goals - and that's if the AFL side had their best dozen players out and they were on the piss the previous night. Otherwise they'd win by 40 goals.

It is unthinkable that you wouldn't acknowledge this.

So when did that start? 1990? Bullshit, the same could be said of the teams of the 80's. That is due to the players in the AFL being drawn from all states, and that has been happening in the VFL since it started. How many of the best victorians ever moved interstate to play in another league?

I actually agree with this, but my point still stands. You don't simply refuse to acknowledge changes in reality simply because it didn't happen on one day.

And you don't just wake up and all of a sudden realise that your history doesn't count anymore. Your argument might have alot of good points, but it will rightly never be officially sanctioned because it can't be. It's completely impractical.
Save it for cutting down "Big 4" barrackers in pubs, it's funner that way anyhow...

And 'why are the champions of Victoria not the same as champions of Australia?' without sounding like a parochial know it all?

Fair dinkum, it's like talking to Americans about their 'world champions'.

We acknowledge the "Champions of Australia" and State of Origin because they won their contests. As did all previous VFL/AFL premiers. There was no change for us. You can personally count them or not as you please but we always will, and so will the league, because it's simply the same league.

When to count AFL premierships, and NOT AFL/VFL ones?