When we win our next flag I will actually appriciate it this time around

• Thread starter Thread starter relapse

After 98, a mate said to me "how lucky are we? We might never see another flag, and yet we've just won two in a row."

I was dumbfounded to think anyone would be so pessimistic, considering we were simply too good for everyone else when it really counted. We would surely win the next two as well...at least.

Straight after you win a flag, it's so easy to get carried away with yourself and the team. Just have a read of Geelong and Hawk posters, (even after the initial rush had subsided).
You think the team is invincible, and looking at next year, ask the question - who's gonna beat us? It is incredulous to even consider there may be a team good enough to beat you next finals.

Thats how i felt in 97, and i was right. When it came to the sharp end of the season we were again simply too good.

Silly enough to fall for it once already, you now truly believe there is no team to challenge your indisputable dominance.

THEN, it all turns to sh!t and you realise how stupid you were in the first place, and that like everything else, nothing in footy lasts forever... particularly now a days.

If I see another crows flag, -- notice I said 'if' -- i know how much I will appreciate it, because of just how effing hard it is to win one...let alone TWO IN A ROW!!! Ask Geelong (called invincible at times), how hard it is to win two in a row.

To put a two flags flag in a row into perspective Geelong North and Essendon have all been touted as "SuperClubs". None of them have won two flags in a row in the AFL era. Only Brisbane have also done this, going one better than us. By chance neither club finished top in a Premiership year.

Yet the flogs from other teams are still in denial as to how good those finals campaigns were.....Fools.

I'll hit the Crown Casino, piss the night away, and the tri-coloured shots are the best suggestion ever put forward on Bigfooty.

Talking about paying our dues though, the big one is playing in a losing grand final. It'll happen eventually, hope we win our third before that though.

Yea I was only 11 and 12 for them, got to witness the '97 one live, but still think i'll appreciate the next one as others have said thought it was all too easy by 98 and was a bit young.

Though I have vivid memories of '97, with Saints supporters abusing my brothers and I as kids, stealing our flag and snapping it. Then leaving melbourne seeing crows (the bird) killed and tied up to bridges with signs saying piss off back to SA. Made me proud how much we pissed off the Vics winning that.

Well I was 43 and 44!
Also lucky enough to get to both GF's (in fact every final for those 2 years, except Sydney)

Does this mean I will appreciate the next one any less? Hell no!!!

Just hope I don't need to get my walking frame up the stairs in the Southern Stand, or spit out my false teeth yelling at the umps!

Well I was 43 and 44!
Also lucky enough to get to both GF's (in fact every final for those 2 years, except Sydney)

Does this mean I will appreciate the next one any less? Hell no!!!

Just hope I don't need to get my walking frame up the stairs in the Southern Stand, or spit out my false teeth yelling at the umps!
Wow, you are older than my Dad haha.

And I'll certainly appreciate it. The day we win our next flag, I will break down in tears of joy, it would mean everything to me. After going through the past few years of agonising heartache, all of the players and supporters deserve a flag!:thumbsu:

I was 17 and 18 for the flags. I vividly remember the 93 prelim as well. My brother and his mates went over for the 97 GF but I couldn't get tickets. Had a BBQ at home (for both games) That second half was unbelievable. Had 1 Port supporter there who had put 5 bucks on the crows at 20 to 1 to win the flag earlier in the year to jinx us and he just sat there getting grumpier and grumpier. Then remember hitting the town. Rundle street was amazing - People everywhere in Crows colours screaming, singing, waving flags. Cars beaping their horns. Channel 7 pretty much replayed the game straight away and just about every pub/bar/cafe had it going on their big screens. The comraderie amongst the people of Adelaide was unbelievable. 98 was just the same.

I also remember heading to Wayville the next day to see the boys get presented to the Crowd. As each player got presented the crowd went absolutely nuts.

I think after winning one you do appreciate it but winning 98, whilst being incredible, almost spoiled us into thinking it was easy. 12 years later, so many heartbreaking finals losses, so near but so far so many times and you realise just how damn hard it is to win one in this comptetition. I can't imagine being like the Doggies, or Saints supporters - many of whom have been following their clubs for 30 odd years without seeing a flag, yet we've been fortunate enough to see 2 in our 20 year history. We've never seen our club lose a Grand Final but knowing how devastated I've felt after each and every finals loss, I can not begin to comprehend how that would feel.

The next time round, being a Gold member, I'll be over in Melbourne watching the game live and it will be incredible. 97/98 were the makings of our recently retired champions - it was when a young McLeod, Goodwin and Edwards made names for themselves. I still remember in the 97 prelim in the last quarter, Jars taking a mark around the 50 on a reasonable angle and he passed off to a young Goodwin about 30 out on a pretty tight angle. I thought to myself, I really wish Jars had just gone back and taken the shot, I'd rather have the ball in his hands than this young fella - And then Goody calmly went back and slotted it. Was a great moment.

BTW Anyone else getting a hankering to get out the DVD's and watch those games again. I also have on video every one of those finals games in 97/98 (except the final against Melbourne in 98) each one I actually recorded off the TV so has all the original ads and everything - pity I don't have a video player anymore....

Just read most of this thread not realising it was a big bump, but yes, lump me in with the too young to realise how great it was crowd. I was 11 and 12 for each one and knew it was a big deal, but i only really started getting into the game in 93, and still wasn't watching every game like i do now. Short attention spans and all that.

I don't know what i'd do if i see us win another one. First thing would probably be to call work and tell em i won't be in any shape to come in on monday.

Nothing sporting wise will ever beat 97 for mine unless Australia win the World Cup.

It was just a huge day. Never been happier.

I found on You Tube on the weekend the Channel 7 post game highilights and music from the 97 and 98 wins by the Crows. I have them on VHS but they are great little pakcagaes. Va Pensiero and Misere are the songs. Awesome.

I remember images of people down town honking their horns an waving flags after the 98? grand final.

Does anyone actually remember where the 'big' celebrations were after the 97/98 GF's?

97 was pretty tame for me in a pub in Gawler but really ramped it up in 98. I remember being in the city very drunk after watching the game at Players bar. I was running down Hindley St high fiving people in their cars. All the cars were on their horns and doing burnouts. The police had to close Hindley Street in the end as it was getting out of control. Pretty sure I also ended up at Joplins till daylight still wearing my crows scarfe! Happy Days!

I've joked about getting a tattoo the next time we win a premiership. But after going to a training session earlier in the year and seeing Goody and Macca barefoot - they both have a Camry Crow tattoo on their left ankles and it says something under it, but I couldn't see what - but I was guessing maybe the whole team in either 97 or 98 got it done together as a momento of the premiership/s??

Saw Ben Hart at Victor Harbour one year in his thongs and he definately has a crow tattoo on his foot/ankle.

I was only 6 years old when we won in 98 and after years of bad luck and heartbreaking losses, it will certainly be a great day when we next win a flag. When I've sat back and watched teams like Brisbane and Geelong win flags Im am so envious.

Even just to be in a GF would be good, I love the week leading up to the GF and it would be all that more special if the crows were involved

We should have won it in 2005 ...... hmm not sure when we will get into our next Grand Final. Hopefully sometime this decade ..... last decade is history.

Ive still got a six pack of West End Draught Premiership Edition from both 1997 and 1998. Everytime the missus sees it in the cupboard she ask if we can throw it out yet.

Only 16 when we won in 97 and I really enjoyed it having sat through the 93 prelim loss and then the debacle of 96 (very similar year to this year, excellent side but injuries and stupidity cost us)

The 98 was even more exciting, spent the day drinking with Jonathon Ross (remember him? he gave me some helpful advice about not eating urinal cakes! :eek:) and then celebrating into the night at the Price Hotel

Ive still got a six pack of West End Draught Premiership Edition from both 1997 and 1998. Everytime the missus sees it in the cupboard she ask if we can throw it out yet.

I have an individual can from each. They are a bit dented though unfortunately.
I was 11 and 12 for 97 and 98 lucky enough to be there in 98. Would definately appreciate it more this time round though!