When will Jesse Smith be available for selection?

the emergency

Suspended
I've constantly done research on when young Jesse will be back, but he has been TBA since he came to the club...

Dont know who he would replace, but it would be nice to have that depth in the list

So does anyone have an inside word of some sort of how he is progressing and/or approximately when he will be ready to go?

I've constantly done research on when young Jesse will be back, but he has been TBA since he came to the club...

Dont know who he would replace, but it would be nice to have that depth in the list

So does anyone have an inside word of some sort of how he is progressing and/or approximately when he will be ready to go?

I think almost 2 months left before he can start playing for Sandi.. going on previous media reports.

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/new...ake-to-the-stage/story-e6frg7mf-1225842562988

There's a quote about Jesse in there at the bottom - even though its an article about richmond debutants.

BJ said on SEN's morning glory about two weeks ago that they were wrapped with his progress and that he had been running pain free for over a month; the first time in years. I also read on a blog that the club was very confident of getting him up and ready to play AFL again. I have heard that he could be playing in the VFL around June.

We're gonna go slowly with him. And as the others have mentioned, VFL in 2 months is possible. And that would be a great result.

Wouldn't imagine he would play a game for the Saints this year though? Unless he completely dominates for Sandy and we have a couple injuries...?

Nah not expecting him to get a game this year, it would just be nice to have that depth in the side, because apart from safeguarding us in case of injury, depth creates the mindset for the players that none of their spots are safe, which ensures they continue to hold their high intensity in order to retain their spots.

if possible he could be a talented player for the end of the season as when he is on the park he is a exceptionally good HB.
my be a handy finals asset.

I wish I had a dollar for every time I've heard that over the past 3 years.

Wish I had a dollar for every time I've heard a North supporter wish they had a dollar for every time they've heard that over the past 3 years.

I think a no expectations kind of thing placed on JWS would be the best thing, gave up very little to get a player that has plenty of talent although i'm sure his Body was well and truly ****ed by the time we got him.

If he plays a game i'll be happy for him.

Hopefully he becomes a good player for the Saints, but if he doesn't I won't be angry at him or the club, more just feel sorry for the Kid who hasn't been able to get his body right.

I think a no expectations kind of thing placed on JWS would be the best thing, gave up very little to get a player that has plenty of talent although i'm sure his Body was well and truly ****ed by the time we got him.

If he plays a game i'll be happy for him.

Hopefully he becomes a good player for the Saints, but if he doesn't I won't be angry at him or the club, more just feel sorry for the Kid who hasn't been able to get his body right.

Yeah. I honestly doubt that Jesse will ever play senior footy again.

One suggestion I saw on the North board back after yet another of his breakdowns was that given he is still only 23, he might be wiser to try and get fit and play regualr footy at a lower, slightly less intense level, like the VFL or WAFL.

Then, if he can string together a season or two with his body right, he'd still be only 25 and given his undoubted talent, I reckon he's get picked, especially by a side in a premiership window.

As I said though, I doubt Jesse will ever play again and even if he does, it will be at nowhere near the capability he once had. Tragedy. Last freakin' minutes of a bloody practise match too.

Admittedly we haven't gone through years of waiting for him to get his body right SLF but from the last we heard his rehab is going well and he could play in the VFL in a month or two.

We took him with a late pick in a weak draft so there's certainly no big expectations on him to play senior footy in the short term (or any time for that matter).

Admittedly we haven't gone through years of waiting for him to get his body right SLF but from the last we heard his rehab is going well and he could play in the VFL in a month or two.

We took him with a late pick in a weak draft so there's certainly no big expectations on him to play senior footy in the short term (or any time for that matter).

Agreed you didn'tv waste a pick on him and I'm glad he ended up with you guys, not Hawthorn.

But the first par - we heard that so many times too.

Hopefully Jesse has head together and gets a bit of luck. At North he must have smashed a blackt cat to death with a mirror or something. Then wasn't professional and diligent with his rehab.

But I'd be gutted for him if his career ends on 28 odd games or whatever it is. Such a huge talent. If it wasn't for THAT ANKLE, would be in the top 20 players in the game now.

Agreed you didn'tv waste a pick on him and I'm glad he ended up with you guys, not Hawthorn.

But the first par - we heard that so many times too.

Hopefully Jesse has head together and gets a bit of luck. At North he must have smashed a blackt cat to death with a mirror or something. Then wasn't professional and diligent with his rehab.

But I'd be gutted for him if his career ends on 28 odd games or whatever it is. Such a huge talent. If it wasn't for THAT ANKLE, would be in the top 20 players in the game now.
Big Call SLF.

But yeh the kid was pretty talented, again hopefully can get his body right.

Smith a punt that may pay off
The Age, 2/4/10

Smith could return to senior footy soon.
Smith will begin training with the main group next week with the view to getting some match conditioning in the VFL in about a month. And provided everything goes to plan, he could break into the Saints' senior side around round eight.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/smith-a-punt-that-may-pay-off-20100401-ri3s.html

Interesting read, good to hear the young bloke's going to get on the track soon

Thanks SF - it was a good read. Explains alot, as to why the bloke has had recurring injuries.

Just watching the pre-match warm up at the VFL practice game indicates how players have to withstand a bloody heavy workload these days to make it as a footballer.

Training for the elite level can't be easy for someone who's a bit light on in the cartilage department.

If you ever get the chance try find a copy of the 2007 Semi-Final against Hawthorn, he was absolutely unreal.

Will be tragic if he doesn't get back to AFL fitness.

Well it's only been positive news on the kid since we got him. Round 8 seems a little unrealisitc. Hell I don't care if it takes him till Round 8 2011. This kids still got 5-6 years of quality football in him if we can get him right.

All the best Jesse.

If you ever get the chance try find a copy of the 2007 Semi-Final against Hawthorn, he was absolutely unreal.

Will be tragic if he doesn't get back to AFL fitness.
Yeh was at that game benno, and he was sensational! Remember turning to my mate and saying "Gee this guys got some talent, really hope he gets his body right".