Terry Tan

Oakland Raiders
Ok, another year of disappointment and no finals. I know everybody is sick of this.

So where we really at???

Yesterday we played the Bulldogs who have got a lot of really good experienced players like Grant, Johnson, West and Smith supporting their young gun players. At RFC we have an ordinary bunch of senior players Johnson, Richo, Bowden supporting our young players.

Our backline is pretty ordinary with Gaspar, Hall, loose Joel Bowden. Kellaway is a warrior and can not be questioned. Gaspar & Hall are basically finished. So who's going to play in defence in '07??? I know people are going to mention Thursfield, but his spindly framed body can't cope with AFL.

Rodan, Chaffey and Tivendale are all useless hacks. Stafford has been disappointing and will retire.

Our forward line is a joke. Richo can't kick goals, and Schulz and Krak are up and down. Nathan Brown, for all his injury problems, is a big mouth media seeking over rated player. He's getting on in age too. How many good games has he played for RFC?

Our shining lights this year have been Raines, Polo, Simmonds, and the improvement of Pettifer, Hyde, and Tambling. We all know Delidio is talented but he has not delivered this year.

Roach, Knobel, Jackson, Pattison, Hartigan and Moore's careers are all on the line.

I am starting to see the frustration and strain is getting to TW. He looks frustrated by our turnovers, bad decision making, and butchering of the ball by foot.

So where are we going to finish is '07 and when will we ever see finals footy again, let alone a Flag????????????????????????????????????????????

Terry Tan said:
Ok, another year of disappointment and no finals. I know everybody is sick of this.

So where we really at???

Yesterday we played the Bulldogs who have got a lot of really good experienced players like Grant, Johnson, West and Smith supporting their young gun players. At RFC we have an ordinary bunch of senior players Johnson, Richo, Bowden supporting our young players.

Our backline is pretty ordinary with Gaspar, Hall, loose Joel Bowden. Kellaway is a warrior and can not be questioned. Gaspar & Hall are basically finished. So who's going to play in defence in '07??? I know people are going to mention Thursfield, but his spindly framed body can't cope with AFL.

Rodan, Chaffey and Tivendale are all useless hacks. Stafford has been disappointing and will retire.

Our forward line is a joke. Richo can't kick goals, and Schulz and Krak are up and down. Nathan Brown, for all his injury problems, is a big mouth media seeking over rated player. He's getting on in age too. How many good games has he played for RFC?

Our shining lights this year have been Raines, Polo, Simmonds, and the improvement of Pettifer, Hyde, and Tambling. We all know Delidio is talented but he has not delivered this year.

Roach, Knobel, Jackson, Pattison, Hartigan and Moore's careers are all on the line.

I am starting to see the frustration and strain is getting to TW. He looks frustrated by our turnovers, bad decision making, and butchering of the ball by foot.

So where are we going to finish is '07 and when will we ever see finals footy again, let alone a Flag????????????????????????????????????????????
Whoa there boy. Settle down now. Pattison's career is not on the line. Hyde hasn't improved that much, in fact in the past two months he's gone backwards. Every team has a few hacks on their list. Every team. otherwise we'd have 38 guns and we would never lose a game. Ok, carry on.

The Dice Man said:
Geez settle down.. It aint all that bad.

We never expected to make finals this season, just remember that.

our situation is very bad. We have made some progress, but once again we have faded away late in the season. Are the senior players mentally tough enough to play out a whole year?

Terry Tan said:

So where we really at???

We're a couple of years and a couple of good solid talented KPP away from being a consistently competitive side. We need a good finisher on the forward line ala brad johnson and a big strong tallish backman. Our midfield will be good with the kids coming thru.

Not all doom and gloom. The broom will be swept this year by plough. Hang tough.

Terry Tan said:
Yesterday we played the Bulldogs who have got a lot of really good experienced players like Grant, Johnson, West and Smith supporting their young gun players.

Our game matched the Dogs yesterday only being let down by accuarcy by boot. The Dogs are not a measuring stick by a long way. Our window of opportunity for a flag should start to open in '08+ when the majority of the list have 50 games under their belts.

itsintheblood said:
BULL!!!!!!

My god, have a look at some of the exciting youngsters we have carrying some of these senior hacks running around for us.

but have a look at our spine. No FB, No CHB, No CHF, no FF.

It comes down to our seniors being duds.

Terry Tan said:
Ok, another year of disappointment and no finals.
I`m going to tell you a little w@nky story from the back in the days when i used to play footy .

Been hearing heaps on here the last fortnight about how we won`t be playing finals this year

Played for a mob called Nunawading back in the early nineties 92 we were flying , made the Semi`s won a heap in row , came up against Surrey Hills who had got a few of thier old VFA players back and subsequently pantsed us and went on to win the flag .

Next year we went in full of promise , but got the staggers early , think we were something like 5-7 by round twelve .. few close losses ... our coach kept saying for a couple of weeks that since we can`t make the finals we had to play for pride .

Stackie stopped a drill about half way through one night and gave us a bake because we were half @rsed and mentioned again that we can`t make finals and pride etc. ... then i piped up and said "Well boys .. we win 5 of our last 6 and we can still actually make the finals "

Stackie grabbed me by the jumper and dragged me out the front of the group and said "FFS .... finally one of you weak pri.cks gets it ... WE CAN STILL MAKE THE FINALS " .... and went on a massive tirade about how it had taken three weeks for one of us to say something .

LMAO because we ended up going nowhere any way ... but the moral of the story is .. we win our last four games against beatable opposition we can still make the finals ... forget about this carp of we won`t go anywhere , we all know that and that goes without saying but the fact is to turn your toes up and chuck the season in now is just bowing down to our traditional loser mentality.

We still have a lot to get out of this season and it aint over yet ... the boys showed a fair bit yesterday which we as the downtrodden is all we ask for .

IDGAF said:
I`m going to tell you a little w@nky story from the back in the days when i used to play footy .

Been hearing heaps on here the last fortnight about how we won`t be playing finals this year

Played for a mob called Nunawading back in the early nineties 92 we were flying , made the Semi`s won a heap in row , came up against Surrey Hills who had got a few of thier old VFA players back and subsequently pantsed us and went on to win the flag .

Next year we went in full of promise , but got the staggers early , think we were something like 5-7 by round twelve .. few close losses ... our coach kept saying for a couple of weeks that since we can`t make the finals we had to play for pride .

Stackie stopped a drill about half way through one night and gave us a bake because we were half @rsed and mentioned again that we can`t make finals and pride etc. ... then i piped up and said "Well boys .. we win 5 of our last 6 and we can still actually make the finals "

Stackie grabbed me by the jumper and dragged me out the front of the group and said "FFS .... finally one of you weak pri.cks gets it ... WE CAN STILL MAKE THE FINALS " .... and went on a massive tirade about how it had taken three weeks for one of us to say something .

LMAO because we ended up going nowhere any way ... but the moral of the story is .. we win our last four games against beatable opposition we can still make the finals ... forget about this carp of we won`t go anywhere , we all know that and that goes without saying but the fact is to turn your toes up and chuck the season in now is just bowing down to our traditional loser mentality.

We still have a lot to get out of this season and it aint over yet ... the boys showed a fair bit yesterday which we as the downtrodden is all we ask for .

that is a bloody admirable story, but the reality is the Tigers are not going to make the finals, we all know that. yes we've had a tough draw the last 4 weeks, but we've either crawled up and been hammered (Saints, Swans) or we've shot ourselves in the foot (Demons, Dogs).

We've had our injuries, but it is mainly our senior players that have let us down again - Johnson, Richo, Bowden, Brown, Gaspar, Hall, Tivendale. Nothing ever seems to change at Tigerland.

Great little story Idgaf Winter :thumbsu:

Your toleration level seems to have risen....please share.

Be intrested in reading postd by the players after a game.

I'd rekkon they'd be pretty pizt too.

We're phasing out the old guard this year.

Look at the way Schulz leads - straight as a die and right up the corridor. He leads like Tony Lockett.

Then look at Richo, does his usual run out to the flank thing and run around in circles. I saw that again and again yesterday. Schulz actually times his leads.

Richo's been great for us, but we have one guy who plays like a proper FF and another that plays like a giant turbo charged flanker.

I think that sums it up. We're slowly straightening out all the kinks that have been in our lineup for over 10 years.

For the first time in a long time we are building a team proactively, really building it in the direction we think footy will go, not playing a constant game of catchup.

We're still a bit weak on KPP stocks, but you know, how well did we do when we had the vaunted 'land of the giants' lineup anyway?

bootom line is that we are about a 10-12th type team with promise. Key word there we hav ben saying it for years, keep the faith and all that....we do nee dsome quality players but for me the key ingredient is skills under pressure, we still turn it over and we still do not hit targets, despite winning plenty of it....weneed players who can on teams and back themselves with good disposal, that is a tough ask, raines and co have got it, but we need qulity everywhere....lets hang in there and promote the positives and unearth another howat, polo etc....build it and they will come

Terry Tan said:

So where we really at???

^

Bentleigh-esque

Bentleigh said:
Terry Tan comments are why I said we needed to totally rebuild, ie. Hawthorn when Wallace came into the club.

No one listened.

We are now in the middle of nowhere, forever.

- http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=192945

I didn't listen to your ridiculous arguments and i'm still not listening.

Let's have a look at your example club, Hawthorn.

Where are they on the ladder?

Your stupid arguments fail again and again to deal with facts, only your misguided opinions.

What kind of person goes around dredging up their own posts? Fair dinkum you have so many tickets on yourself yet no credibility.

tigerdan said:

Look at the way Schulz leads - straight as a die and right up the corridor. He leads like Tony Lockett.

Then look at Richo, does his usual run out to the flank thing and run around in circles. I saw that again and again yesterday. Schulz actually times his leads.

Richo's been great for us, but we have one guy who plays like a proper FF and another that plays like a giant turbo charged flanker.

I think that sums it up. We're slowly straightening out all the kinks that have been in our lineup for over 10 years.

For the first time in a long time we are building a team proactively, really building it in the direction we think footy will go, not playing a constant game of catchup.

We're still a bit weak on KPP stocks, but you know, how well did we do when we had the vaunted 'land of the giants' lineup anyway?

I definatly agree about Schulz and Richo, you just wanna tell him to make a decision and stick to it. He always leads to horrible deep pocket areas, or he runs a few steps then goes back the other way, then the other way again before he finally just stands there yelling at the poor bastard with the ball cause he didn't give it to him.

Take a look at yourself Richo

Schulz puts himself into positions where he knows he can havee a chance of scoring if he gets the ball.

Parabola said:
I definatly agree about Schulz and Richo, you just wanna tell him to make a decision and stick to it. He always leads to horrible deep pocket areas, or he runs a few steps then goes back the other way, then the other way again before he finally just stands there yelling at the poor bastard with the ball cause he didn't give it to him.

Schulz puts himself into positions where he knows he can havee a chance of scoring if he gets the ball.

Yes,

tigerdan said:

Bollocks.

- We relly on Kellaway & Gaspar more than ever down back, we get rapped when they don't play.
- Stafford is playing as a key forward.
- Without Richo we'd struggle to score a goal a quarter in the latter part of this year.

Bentleigh said:
Bollocks.

- We relly on Kellaway & Gaspar more than ever down back, we get rapped when they don't play.
- Stafford is playing as a key forward.
- Without Richo we'd struggle to score a goal a quarter in the latter part of this year.

God you speak some crap Bentleigh. How many goals has Richo kicked in the latter part of this year? How many times has Stafford played a game, let alone as a marking forward?

In case I wasn't clear enough for you, we are gradually introducing young players to the side so that they grow into their roles. For example, we've eased Pattison and Schulz into the team this year, but have made them earn their spot without gifting it to them.

We have given a few of the young kpps like Hughes and Thursfield a taste of the game.

We've blooded a lot of kids yet you think we're not phasing out the old guard.

Parabola said:

You are on drugs.....I watched yesterday as Richo ran a stack of unrewarded kilometres. He would lead and by the time the guys up the ground stopped ****ing around with it, yeah he was either in a pocket or having run in circles to make a fifth or sixth lead.

A couple of times, they even ignored him and bombed it in high at Krakouer!! or kicked it out on the full.

I felt sorry for the poor bastard (again) yesterday.

Last week he kicked 4 (I think) in a side that was a disgrace. And yesterday only he and Krakouer even looked like it.

Terry Tan said:
our situation is very bad. We have made some progress, but once again we have faded away late in the season. Are the senior players mentally tough enough to play out a whole year?

You will find most sides that have a young list fade away late in seasons. Terry Wallace never said it would take 2 years to turn this around.

Truetiger said:
You will find most sides that have a young list fade away late in seasons. Terry Wallace never said it would take 2 years to turn this around.

Very True, but......

Plough keeps referring to the improvement graph. Last year, 10 wins - faded towards the end of the year.

This year, so far 8 wins with 4 games to go..

Is it fair to say that if we don't win at least 2 (with 3 very win-able games to come) that we have gone backwards on the graph?

I know this year we have a had a tougher draw, and lots of injuries. But most sides have had their share of bad injuries too.

Excuses aside - you would still like to see the win/loss ratio improve??