Where were you when...

• Thread starter Thread starter cats2rise

I saw this thread title on another board and thought I'd start one up.

Lets be honest - The last 5 or so years has been a blessing. Footy can be like that though as one minute you are down and out, but three weeks later you find yourself on the up. The other great thing about footy is that it can define your mood for the rest of the weekend, and memories of certain games will stick around with you forever.

Where were you when...
* ...we beat the Lions at Skilled Stadium for the first time in years?

I was at the local footy, eating a sausage roll and watching a mate play. Had one ear on the radio in the car. Was pretty icy conditions where we were and I remember being frustrated whenever a goal was scored in the local footy cause the car horns would go off and I couldn't hear the radio properly.

I remember the Sausage Rolls were really good too!

* ... we headed over to AAMI Stadium in 2007 and won a very hard fought game by less than a couple of kicks against the Crows?
Kicking the footy with a mate at the local park and had the radio going full bore. I was pumped for that game and could feel the pressure and intensity through the radio. For me it was a statement that we had arrived.

* ... our club obliterated Richmond at the Dome?
I was at the 'G during the day with the same mate as above and saw Melbourne V Port Adelaide and it was an absolute garbage match. A dodgy umpiring decision gifted Port the game in the final minutes. My Melbourne supporting mate was in a bitter mood and said he hoped that the Tigers beat us at the Dome. We were stuck on a train between Jolimont and Flinders for 15 minutes and got into the dome at the 9 minute mark and we were already 4 or so goals up. I remember I had great tickets for that match.. probably the best I have had at the Dome.

* ... Nick Davis single handedly won the game for Sydney (or did we lose it?) in the Semi Final?
A night at home watching the TV. Phone switched off, laptop off. When Davis kicked the last goal I threw the remote across the room and it broke. I stormed off outside, let out an expletive or two and went back in. I was still living at home then, and my mum (who was trying to make me feel better) said 'Its ok, there is always next week.'

Words cannot describe how close I was to blowing my top.

I also remember as clear as day driving slowly around the carpark at the supermarket when we played the Dees at Skilled and Matty Egan had a shot after the siren to win the game. And I also remember being super excited when I was a kid to sit down and watch Geelong play Sydney years ago up at the SCG on TV. It had rained heaps into the lead up to the game and our change rooms were flooded... We went on and lost by 123 points (if I remember right).

Great thread, C2R.

Lions at SS 2004 - Was at the game, and can remember gaining the upper hand in the third quarter I think it was and hoping we'd be able to hold on. To actually win quite convincingly in the end was the first real sign of hope for a long time. I can remember all the stars of today playing key roles - SJ, JB, Kelly etc. The excitement of the win for myself was almost of finals levels.

Crows at AS, 2007. My boss (Carlton fan) all week was suggesting that if we win, we'd finally be seen as the real deal, because they were notoriously hard to beat at home and their tactics were going to be a true test for us. He was singing The Monkees' song "I'm A Believer" all week in an attempt to convince me. Can remember watching the arm wrestle unfold at home, holding them off late to win by a kick of two. I sent an instant text saying "I'm A Believer..."

Richmond at the Dome, 2007. Was almost hoping we'd lose and Bomber would be gone in the leadup, but come game day, I just wanted a win. Of course, we blew them away with 10 goals in the first quarter then inflicted relentless pain all night. I wish the siren wouldn't sound. Very enjoyable night at the footy but a little surreal at the same time. Never thought that it would be the turning point for us at the time.

Sydney SF, 2005. Was at the game. Just behind the 08 GF as my worst football experience. Decided early in the week that we'd go as the belting we gave Melbourne in the first week had me feeling confidence we could beat them up there. Got flights cheaply enough at such short notice then ended up getting a tip off a Cats Claw user for accommodation. We had quite a few Cat fans ending up saying at the same place, IIRC.

The game couldn't have gone to script any better and I can remember saying at 3/4 time, if we kick the first goal, we're just about home. Of course, David Johnson did and in a low scoring scrap a 4 goal lead may as well have been 10. We all know what happened after and I can vividly remember Davis' winning goal sailing through, as the majority of Cat fans were situated in the same area at half forward, outer side, right behind the kick. I just put my head in my hands and left them there for what seemed an eternity - devastated. I didn't cry, I was close to tears, but I was just gutted. We worked so hard but fell just short.

As it turned out, we were shot physically and had we won, St. Kilda would have probably beaten us easily in the PF and with the rivalry in it's infancy, none of us wanted them getting a flag first (I smile broadly now, what is it again? Geelong 3, St Kilda 0? ;))

Unfortunately the ridicule we received about choking, our culture etc, from such commentators as Rex Hunt only rubbed more salt into the gaping wound.

I sent an instant text saying "I'm A Believer..."
Haha nice one - that put a smile on my face :)

Richmond at the Dome, 2007. Was almost hoping we'd lose and Bomber would be gone in the leadup, but come game day, I just wanted a win.

Also something else about the Richmond game I just remembered.. When me and my mate were at the Melbourne/Port game earlier and they lost, my mate snapped the chair in front of him in frustration hahahaha :D

I remember our board on bigfooty was crazy in the lead up to that match. So many 'in the know' posters were saying that if we lost, Bomber would be gone. I kind of did at the time too :thumbsu: I still think the change came from the playing group though, and not so much the coach. Looking back now, I still think Bomber wasn't the best tactically but he certainly helped the club.

Unfortunately the ridicule we received about choking, our culture etc, from such commentators as Rex Hunt only rubbed more salt into the gaping wound.
Re the Sydney match: I don't kknow why but I have listened to Rex Hunts call on youtube of the last few minutes a dozen or so times on youtube. Its pretty chilling.

1. LIONS GAME. We were at Skilled, freezing conditions, Ben Graham brilliant, our performance warmed us up.

2. CROWS game 07. Was at Heatherdale ground watching my son play under 12's. Went into the rooms at intervals, then nervously drove home. Close game, but the beginning of our era had strengthened.

3. TIGERS massacre. We were there stunned at 1/2 time, and at 3/4 time thinking the record was in sight. Chappy brilliant until injured, the whole team clicked. I remember being on the train coming in, feeling strangely fatalistic. I said to my mate that we'd either smash them, or we'd go down and Bomber would walk or be pushed to walk. The rest is history.

4. NICK BLOODY DAVIS game. Knew we were struggling at 3/4 time. NAB AWOL, GAJ injured, King injured, then Davis finished us off. Almost inevitable, but utterly shattering. I was on my treadmill watching the game until the last/4 and got off in fear of a heart attack.

Great thread as these were pivotal games.

2005 - SF - Swans: Was at the game, with my elderly Mother, a Swans supporter. And God bless her, knowing how distraught I was, she tried valiantly to suppress her joy. We went to the Swans celebration and my heartbreak was eased slightly, when I watched her standing on the stage with her beloved Paul Roos and the other Swan's players, jumping around and reveling in delight. I remember thinking Mum was far more sensitive and gracious towards me than I was when Gary Ablett Sr kicked 14 goals at the SCG.

* ...we beat the Lions at Skilled Stadium for the first time in years?[/B]

Watching the game at my parent's place, was just coming out of my late teen/early twenties disinterested in footy period. Remember being amazed that they were matching the Lions physically, and beating them when they had been so poor in the first few weeks of the season.

* ... we headed over to AAMI Stadium in 2007 and won a very hard fought game by less than a couple of kicks against the Crows?

At a mate's BBQ, getting blind drunk and trying to sneak score checks whenever possible. For some reason I felt I knew before the game they were going to win that one.

Was at the game for this one, have to travel a bit to get to Melbourne and don't get to too many. Think this was my now wife's first game of footy. Was there with some family members including my Richmond supporting brother, the feeling even in the first quarter was surreal, was almost embarrassing cheering the Cats goals. Was still livid with some atrocious umpiring in the last quarter to try and even it up a bit.

Best was an old lady behind us who gave my brother a 'well done for staying for the entire match' speech, my brother replied he was only still there because he had to drive us bastards home :D

* ... Nick Davis single handedly won the game for Sydney (or did we lose it?) in the Semi Final?

Watching at the old's, threw the remote, drilled in into the ground hard, swore my head off when the last goal was kicked. Was pretty shattered, walked up the road to a party shortly afterwards, they'd heard about the result and I was comforted by some of the girls there, so not all bad.

Lions / In a pub in Alice Springs. It felt hugely significant and another Geelong fan and l just nodded at each other across the room. We knew what it meant. Brilliant.

Crows / Walking laps in the backyard of a remote desert community listening to a shocking radio connection.

Tigers / Trying to salvage a relationship and listen to the radio at same time (didn't work)

Swans / Gutted. Can barely remember, was just completely spun out and in a haze, maybe smashed a cup?, went and sat in the car for about 30 minutes just to be alone. Was worse than some of the Grand Finals (94/95 when there was little hope anyway).

(excellent game choices btw)

love your work C2R

Where were you when...

I was in Darwin at the time but I recall watching it online 24 hours after the game as the telecast in the NT was shit and I didn't know about torrents then.

* ... we headed over to AAMI Stadium in 2007 and won a very hard fought game by less than a couple of kicks against the Crows? & our club obliterated Richmond at the Dome?

In 2007 I lived in Queensland but I watched these games on Fox sports. I also recall the west coast game at Geelong was a ripper especially after we gave up such a big lead to lose in 2006.

I was at a pub with some mates and boy did we drown our sorrows after that game.

I was listening on the radio and after we had been smashed by them for years it was a surprise and a sign of things to come. If only we had taken our chances in the Prelim we may have had an extra Cup?

I was in a Superbox at Etihad Stadium watching St.Kilda V Kangaroos. Ours was the early game and I was standing at the back of the box watching the match on the TV. The win made the watching the Saints Roos match more enjoyable especially when St.Kilda lost!

I was at the match and it was an awesome performance but it was only against Richmond! This kicked off our run of success.

My second trip to Sydney for the footy. The first was in 1996 when we got smashed by 10 goals and then this. I went with my sister who is a Sydney supporter and we were sitting half forward down the "Davis" end. Like Catman when Johnson kicked the goal early in the final term I thought we were home. Because of my Sister I couldn't leave when the siren sounded and sat there with my head in my hands for ages. I had been to the 4 losing Grand Finals but that easily beat them for devastation! (2008 topped it). I was glad that the Swans went on to win the Grand Final for my sister but I have never been able to watch that goal and always turn away when it comes on TV.

Where were you when...

At the game! Front row with my brother, a mate and my grandmother. Great game. Remember the rain and knowing when we had it won in the last qtr.

Watching on TV at home.

At the Trinity Beach Tavern in Cairns almost choking on my dinner! So excited that night. Was with a couple of girls who didnt know anything about Football and enjoyed telling them how good the Cats were!

Watching on TV at home. Cracked the sh*ts! I think I might have even cried a little. My hatred of Josh Hunt started that day and Steven King and his bloody injuries!

Lions at Skilled - listening on the radio, one of my proudest moments as a Cats fan. Looking back, probably the moment we knew we were building a premiership calibre team.

Crows at AAMI - watching at The Rose hotel in Fitzroy with some other random Cat supporters. A great pub and always a good atmosphere when the footy's on. I was very happy with the result and clearly remember driving home listening to SEN and the commentators asking "is this Geelong team a genuine premiership threat this year?"

Richmond at Etihad - at the game. It was so surreal. I was sitting in the AFL reserve, right near where Bomber ran on and off the ground. He got a standing ovation at quarter time and was trying very, very hard to not burst out in a big smile.

Nick Davis - watching at home on TV with my dad. I was so nervous at work all that day that at around 4pm my boss told me to just go home and prepare for the game! I was planning to meet some friends at a pub if we won. Before Davis went berserk, a friend texted me and asked whether I'd be there soon. I wrote back and said 'are you mad, we haven't won yet!' The rest is history. I was completely silent after the game, drove to my boyfriend's house and burst into tears. The next morning my dad texted me and said he was absolutely shattered but it was the most proud he had been of a Geelong side since the 1989 GF. It's absolutely mind blowing to think that was only six years ago, and how far we have come since.

Lions - At the game, behind the Brisbane bench. That was the beginning of the belief that this team could go somewhere.

Adelaide - At the Arcadia Hotel in South Yarra (The one that gets painted in blue and white hoops when the cats make the GF) with a group of friends, some Crows some Cats. I walked in to work that Monday and the boss who was and still is on the Carlton board of directors just looked at me and said Premiership.

Richmond - At the game. I didn't want to go but a mate who supported Richmond asked me last minute so I thought I may as well head along. The Richmond supporters in front of us left at half time but we stayed until the end.

Sydney - In an internet cafe in my mum's home town in Essex, England. when D***s kicked that goal I just stared at the play by play for about 10 minutes. I have never seen footage of the goal and never want to. The only part of that game I've seen is Mooney walking of the ground in tears. That was enough

Where were you when...

Watched it at home with a mate who's ex-Fitzroy and now Brisbane. He's commented very early in the piece how intense Geelong were. Always remember the roar that went up when the final siren sounded.

At a mate's place around the corner, drinking and biting nails until Johnson sealed it very late in the piece. Great win, memorable for Harley's complete demolition of Risciutto.

Mexico City.

I'd just gone on holidays, and after the North loss the week before (following the narrow Hawthorn loss in Tassie) I didn't have huge expectations for the Richmond game. I jumped on the net in Mexico and saw "Will the real Geelong stand up" or something like that. The browser wasn't maximised so I saw "Richmond 9.11.65 Geelong 3", at which point I was worried they'd only kicked 3 goals. Once I maximised the window I felt a lot better.

Watched it at Mum and Dad's. Fumed silently afterwards. Horrible, horrible game. Typified Sydney's atrocity of a game style.

Lions 2004 - Was at work (Safeway) on a dreadful day and there was a power outage. Got home later to discover we had gotten up and it was the best feeling i had about the Cats in years!

Richmond 2007 - At work (again) and checked score on my phone during a break. Popped up with 123 - 7 in the second qtr and i was convinced it was a typo.When i checked later it was 185 - 45 and then i knew it was for real. Got home in time to try and cheer us on to get the record breaking score.

Adelaide 2007 - Was at a family function where we were all crowded around the TV. Incredible finish to the game. Got the 'hard earned win' feeling.

Sydney 2005 - Was at home and bawled my eyes out for at least 45 minutes. Lost a friendship that night as my mate kept texting me that we choked with other expletives...and he didn't even go for Syd.

Lions: Was at work. Remeber listening to ouldn't believe we'd done it!

Tiges: Was in Perth. I remember turning the radio on and hearing we were 19 goals. Thought I'd gotten the time difference wrong and it was late in the fourth quarter, not approaching half time. Imagine my surprise when the siren went and they said it was only half time...

Crows: I think it was a birthday party or something. I remember not being able to see/listen to the game until late in the 4th (driving form one venue to another). Was pretty pumped when we got to the second venue.

Swans: Watching at the Allstar Cafe at crown casino. I remember when the 5 minute warning came up and had been up for a while and we were still approx 2 goals up. I turned to the girl next to me (a complete stranger) and said - they're not that team anymore - they wont drop this one. How devastated I was when I was wrong....

Nice thread.

Where were you when...
Watched this one at a mate’s house in Carlton, this and the win over St Kilda the same year were hugely significant wins in those early years. I remember it being incredibly exciting that day. We were on the periphery for what seemed like an eternity (but really wasn’t by some other clubs standards) and we were now back in the main game as serious contenders.

* ... we headed over to AAMI Stadium in 2007 and won a very hard fought game by less than a couple of kicks against the Crows? Was at the Isle of Wight music festival, getting score updates on a blackberry. Remember thinking it was a pretty big win though was too hungover to care that much at the time.

* ... our club obliterated Richmond at the Dome?I was in Cambridge, was very flat after loss the previous week and had promised myself not to sit around listening to a computer all morning, so was out sightseeing and (even as a atheist) actually went to Church that morning, so maybe there is something to this religion lark. My brother was texting through scarcely believable score updates. Was a huge turning point in the history of the club, I remember Kevin Sheedy declaring Geelong the likely Premiers in the papers the next week.

* ... Nick Davis single handedly won the game for Sydney (or did we lose it?) in the Semi Final?I was at the game, it was absolutely horrific.

Lions: I was at the game with mates. What a phenomenal game that was and a real turning point. The young Cats were on the verge of something great. We had quite a few celebratory beverages that night!

AAMI 07: I was at the game with my future wife and her young son who are both huge Crows fans. Needless to say, only one of us left happy!

Richmond: I was in a remote area of SA north of the Flinders Ranges with no radio reception. Not that at the time I cared, as I thought we were going to lose. When I got back to the pub that night I saw the final score on the TV and nearly fainted.

Swans: Watching the game at home in Adelaide, again with my future wife who I had only recently moved over from Geelong to be with. To say I was gutted would be a gross understatement. She was sympathetic as she is an equally passionate Crows supporter.

Another 'memorable' game for me was Round 3 in 2006. In Round 1 and 2 we had smacked North and Brisbane in the first two rounds, and everyone was calling us flag favourites. We then had Hawks in Round 3 at Skilled and after a drab first half, the Hawks blew us away in the last term and we lost by about 8 goals I think.

That match typified the Cats team for me, and I was livid leaving the ground and listening to ABC Grandstand in the car on the way home.

As far as the Geelong Richmond destroyation's concerned, one of the greatest games ever I reckon.

Followed it online on the old Gameday Live at my grandparents and it happened to coincide with that year's Logies IIRC.

I remember being absolutely shocked, stunned, gobsmacked etc etc etc.

I was updating my sister the then latest scores and she too was the superlatives I used in the line prior.

Seeing it hit 151, then 157, all the way up to 175 and then seeing 183, was incomprehendible.

I had caught wind of it during the News and heard what I thought was an impossible scoreline.

It was then I decided to follow it intently online and from there on end it was something special to behold.

With it (AFL Gameday Live) ticking over at every 30 second interval, I saw it (Geelong's score) hit 200+ and thought, HOLY F$%K!

Experienced the same feeling in 2008 (vs WCE 182-47) and 2011x2 in consecutive weeks vs Melbourne (233-47) and vs Gold Coast (188-38.)

I'm the only AFL fan who loves a 100 point win be it my team (for or against) or any team, also for or against.