Which is the best

Votes: 0 0.0%

1999 for me because 1996 I was a Fitzroy supporter reeling from the extraordinary turn of events that destroyed the club and consigned it to the history books.

Despite the fact that I was a Fitzroy supporter, 1975 was pretty good too because it was great to see as a neutral supporter, one of the perrenial cellar-dwellars (like us Royboys) get up and win its first flag.

96 for me, I was 16 and while I had crap seats at the game, I will forever remember the party afterwards, McKernan coming on stage at arden st and saying "see if they can take this medal off me!"

With all the talk of the 96 cup and shoving it up the AFL, well I reckon that our next one will be better than that. in 96 they may not have wanted us to win. We win it again (and soon) and the AFL will have a huge amount of egg on its face. The debarcle that was 07 will come back and haunt them as we will be ultimately vindicated for staying in Melbourne.

1996 for me, can't remember 75 and 77 as I was too young. Remember after I think Stevo kicked a goal early in the last that I felt we had won. Was hugging some bloke behind me who I had never spoken to before and u know what he didn't care lol, I think he was hugging me back but who the hell knows. It was a great day as a North Melbourne supporter.
Go Ther Roos

Like a few others 1996 was the first sign of real success I experienced.

After the horror 94 and the smashing in 95 plus the way the Swans touched us up in the 96 H&A I thought we might have to pay our dues in a GF and then go and take one out the next year.

How wrong was I... Awesome day, North Reserves over Essendon by over 100pts and North wins the golden cup, the centenary flag.

Other than Corey getting denied the Norm Smith (bah.. not a bad consolation in Arch getting it instead) it was bloody terrific. Loved that by getting there around 11 you got to watch 2 North flags.

The next one ;-)

But, seriously, '99. Needed redemption after '98. Horrible. I was only 11 in '98 but I will never forget that feeling knowing we'd kicked ourselves out of it.

Another vote for 96. Just had sooo many stars in that team all at their peak. Corey, Carey, Schwatter, Arch, the list goes on & on.

I was truly disappointed for Horse that year, who was a massive player for us up until his injury.

I was too young to really appreciate 75 and 77.

99 was good, but I felt it was more a sense of justice, so to speak.

With all the talk of the 96 cup and shoving it up the AFL, well I reckon that our next one will be better than that. in 96 they may not have wanted us to win. We win it again (and soon) and the AFL will have a huge amount of egg on its face. The debarcle that was 07 will come back and haunt them as we will be ultimately vindicated for staying in Melbourne.
So will a certain 'football writer' at The Age (if they're still in business).:p

I was alive, but too young to remember 1975 or 1977. So 1996 was the first one I saw and what I had bee dreaming for for more than half my life at the time. Some people never see their side win a flag so to have that feeling was very special. For some reason 1999 was bloody awesome, but not the same. In '99 I guess I was a bit more arrogant about how good we were and felt we won against Carlton because we bloody well should have.

I think for the club however, 1975 is the most significant one and the greatest day in the history of the club.

Our next one will be won with a whole new generation of players (sonner rather than later I hope), so like '96 there will be that 'first' factor and a feeling of having paid our pennance after what I hope will have been a rather short drought and a period of relative mediocrity.

1996 for me,but i can recall the 1977 grand final replay ,i was in grade 5 (showing my age here)the old man a one eyed north supporter and his best mate had been to the game ,they arrived home around 9pm catching the train back to bendigo .The old man was as pissed as a cricket ,passed out with the a big cheesey grin on his face ,a very happy man:D . BUT COPPED IT FROM MUM THE NEXT DAY:mad:

Remember '75 and '77 but was in primary school and too young too appreciate premierships, how hard they are to win and what they mean. 20 odd years later and after thinking 'poor and small' clubs like North don't win flags the dream came true. I was a complete wreck in '96. Must have gone to the toilet at least 10 times in the 2 hrs b4 the game. It was the only time in my life I have ever completely lost the plot at the footy when the Swans got a goal from a dodgy free early on. I was thinking AFL/Sydney conspiracies etc. Was just a mentally draining day, got home around 10pm looked at my parents and I could tell by their faces they were just so happy for me. They knew what it meant for me. Just one of those moments that live with you. Anyway showered up, hit the town but was too exhausted to go beserk.
The overiding thing about '96 was just pure and utter relief.

Will be nice to win another one soon and have my 3 young children along with me to share the thrill and excitement of a premiership. It would probably top '96.

I didn't know about Aussie Rules in 1975 and was too young to really appreciate the 1977 Premiership. The 1996 Premiership is the one I enjoy the most, firstly because by the late 80's, early 90's I was beginning to believe that we may never win another one and secondly because I watched the team develop, firstly under Wayne Schimmelbusch and then really take off under Denis Pagan. Also the pain of previous year campaigns (especially '94) added to the enjoyment factor.

1977. I was on our U10 end of season trip in Daylesford for the first Grand Final. We watched the game at the camp owners house on a projector and large screen. This set up must have been quite progressive for ’77.

Most in the room were barracking for Collingwood so I was in the minority. When they won the next week I was well pleased and let everyone know at school.

I don’t recall watching the 1975 Grand Final live? I don’t think I really started to follow NM till 1976. I was a self taught North fan. None of my friends or family followed the Roos. I began liking the two successful team of the time, North and Hawthorn. They were both star packed and exciting to watch. I preferred the royal blue stripes and that no.27 was such a smooth mover. North it was.

At school others would try to emulate the heroics of Jesaulenko, Hudson and Knights but I just loved Keith Greig. I had the white ankle supports just like his. I’m not sure if he really needed them but I know I didn’t.

When I realized I would never play like Keith Greig I retired from the game in 1988, despondent and only 19 years of age. My game was recently compared to Mark Blake’s not Keith’s. Sadly it’s a fair comparison.

I have both ’75 and ’77 on DVD. IMO ’75 is actually a better game to watch with all the stars starring that day. Plus you can’t beat the emotions surrounding your first… premiership.

From the late 80’s to mid 90’s I only showed a passive interest in football. From 1994 to 2002 I was working overseas. I was in the West Indies for ’96 and Japan for ’99. I didn’t actually watch the replays of these games till 2005. It is only through reading this forum that I have grown to appreciate the importance of ’96 and ’99.

So whilst 1977 is my favorite, I believe 1996 is the most significant. Oh, and 1975 is the best to watch.

The next one ;-)

This is actually a good point. I think the next one we win will have more significance to me than the others, as I'll actually see it. I'll see the development of the players involved (Which has probably already started, provided we win one short term) and I think it'll just have more personal significance to me.

This poll will close on 1 Jun 2017 at 13:27.

Lets hope we are all forced to change our answers before the poll closes. The next one will indeed be the sweetest one of all.

the 1996 premiership is my favorite because its the only gold cup in league history,also i was close to swatter-rocky-flossy-sholly-mickey-arch-duck-crock-corey etc
i will take that flag to my grave....go rooboys

ps also denis pagan a great coach-miss him heaps.

Which premiership is your favorite?