Who are the most overrated players?

AuntyBlindEye

Slick Bear
Chess Club Member EKA Medal - Sweet FA Rising Star BeanCoiNFT Investor
Jul 19, 2019
Who are the most overrated players in the league? Preferably current players, but any interesting takes on past players is welcome. Also let's try not to take this ****ing thing personal ey.

Tom Mitchell. Great player. Tom is love. Tom is life. Tom is God. Tom no overrated by people. Tom good man.

It kills me to say it but also Sydney Stack. The kid has shown glimpses and I am unashamedly in love with him, I just don't want to get in too deep just to be disappointed later. I feel he will live up to the hype though, but the sample size is too small right now for the amount of praise that is heaped onto him.

Adam is a nice young kid.
His development might get stunted under Bucks.
Hey! You watch your mouth young man. Complimenting a player that slightly insulted out list a few years ago. Shame.
Yeah I'm not sure where I rate Bucks as a coach anymore. It confuses me because they have kept in touch, but I haven't really seen any of that player development like at other clubs.
Matt Crouch, the master of the 1m handball and running around in circles getting cheap stats. Opposition would be more than happy for him to get 40 touches a game
Hadn't even considered him but spot on. Seems like there is more and more players getting huge numbers but not really converting that into anything super meaningful.

Really? Gaff? I guess I can see that, and the fact that I don't really pay attention to him when I watch them should speak volumes to me.

I haven't really heard many positive statements about Walker in a while. There isn't really anyone pumping him up right now is there?

Probably an unpopular opinion but all the current best defenders like Rance, McGovern and Sicily are all massively overrated. If they were that good they would be playing as forwards and kicking bags. Its a helluva lot easier to play down back and 'read the play' than it is to have the forward craft and ability to find space against modern defenses.

Who are the most overrated players in the league? Preferably currentbplayers, but any interesting takes on past players is welcome.

Tom Mitchell. Great player... Well a pretty good player. No he is probably great, I just feel he gets too many empty possessions. I don't feel he damages opposing teams as much as he should or could. He is prolific, sure, but does he actually do any more than the lesser praised players in his team.

It kills me to say it but also Sydney Stack. The kid has shown glimpses and I am unashamedly in love with him, I just don't want to get in too deep just to be disappointed later. I feel he will live up to the hype though, but the sample size is too small right now for the amount of praise that is heaped onto him.
This Hawthorn team is very similar to the one that finished the home and away season last year in the top 4, it is very likely that we are going to miss the finals from here. I would say he has a huge huge impact on how good this team is.

Mason "the potplant" Cox.
Has the ability to stand still with arms outstretched toward the sky hoping for a ball to land between his hands. Heaven forbid he actually has to pick up the ball or gets a slight knock when trying to take a mark. Though tbh probably only rated on the Collingwood board.

On Pixel 2 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Really? Gaff? I guess I can see that, and the fact that I don't really pay attention to him when I watch them should speak volumes to me.

I haven't really heard many positive statements about Walker in a while. There isn't really anyone pumping him up right now is there?
Yep, our fourth best midfielder this year. Has average disposal and does look at times that he is padding his stats. He is an elite runner though.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Who are the most overrated players in the league? Preferably currentbplayers, but any interesting takes on past players is welcome.

Tom Mitchell. Great player... Well a pretty good player. No he is probably great, I just feel he gets too many empty possessions. I don't feel he damages opposing teams as much as he should or could. He is prolific, sure, but does he actually do any more than the lesser praised players in his team.

Great OP.

Stack is good for a young kid but the media love is way out of proportion.

Mitchell was being called a top 5 mid lol wtf.

My additions are: Laird and Lloyd

These 2 HBFs dont do as much damage as their stats say. Lack both elite pace or kick. Gaudy numbers make these 2 overrated as anyone.

Adam Treloar surely wins this.

Leads the AFL in possessions but is not sighted on the AFL Coaches votes leaderboard, and doubt he's doing anything in any of the media awards. Guy just runs around getting cheap stats. It only looks great when the Pies are flying, but at other times...

I reckon opposition players and coaches are happy to give him a longer leash and put more effort into Pendles, Sidebottom and just about anyone else who goes through the midfield. He is just not a damaging player.

People will hate me for this but Tippa. He can turn it on in a win but plays shit in a loss. Fox footy put up a stat a couple rounds ago showing goals in wins (24) and losses (1) so to be a BETTER player he needs to play better in losses. Plus he does nothing up the ground.

Great OP.

Stack is good for a young kid but the media love is way out of proportion.

Mitchell was being called a top 5 mid lol wtf.

My additions are: Laird and Lloyd

These 2 HBFs dont do as much damage as their stats say. Lack both elite pace or kick. Gaudy numbers make these 2 overrated as anyone.
Laird has been so overrated because of his AA year(s) he is having a poor year.

Mason "the potplant" Cox.
Has the ability to stand still with arms outstretched toward the sky hoping for a ball to land between his hands. Heaven forbid he actually has to pick up the ball or gets a slight knock when trying to take a mark. Though tbh probably only rated on the Collingwood board.

On Pixel 2 using BigFooty.com mobile app

In a weird way I see Cox as the KPF's version of a downhill skier. He needs the ball to be placed just right for him to mark it, he doesn't have a natural skill at taking contested marks and using his body, or leading out. We've seen players have good moments and then regress to their talent before.

If Mason Cox was a project player from Thomastown instead of Texas you'd barely even know who he was. It's not his fault though. The amount of mayonaise the media have poured on top is insane.

Reminds me of my school days when an American student enrolled and everyone wanted to be his mate, even though he had the personality of a sack of barley.

Who are the most overrated players?