Originally posted by bunsen burner
What drugs are you on?

- Those 4 players put together would not be worth the value of Polak
- Johnson looks like a dud
- Gaspar has injury problems
- McDougall has potential but is far from a sure thing. Also is mentally soft.
- Lynch is dumb and slow

Polak on the other hand can take a grab better than anyone in our team.

Mate what do you think Freo is gonna want for him!

We've already got the players in those positions. I reckon we only need to fine tune the side

Originally posted by Clayton

We've already got the players in those positions. I reckon we only need to fine tune the side

i think that you're over estimating the ability of our KPPs. sure we can fill the positions but we want to fill the positions with guys that can beat the opposition. of our KPPs (not including ruckmen) i would only back glass and gaspar to do the job and they haven't set the world on fire.

Re: Casey, its like this...

Originally posted by coasting
look_newbie.jpg

why the **** do you feel the need to have a go at guys just because they haven't been around the 6 months that you have?

at least have the good form not to steal the graphics from zekes site.

Got to pay if you want quality.

You don't know much about football. A team that is 11th on the ladder needs a bit more than fine tuning. You also can't win a flag without a first rate spine. Polak is a much better chance of being a first rate KPP that any of the players we have.

We've invested alot of time in McDougal & I think that he'll be better than Polhack. It may take a while for him to develop but it'll pay dividends in the future.

What makes you think Polak is better than him, sure he can take a mark but he can't put it on the scoreboard yet.

I'd back Lynch & Glass in their respective postions aswell.

Lets not forget that this side sat 2nd on the ladder this time last yr,

We've invested alot of time in McDougal & I think that he'll be better than Polhack. It may take a while for him to develop but it'll pay dividends in the future.
You don't get it because you know little about football.

1. Polak can take a better grab that McDougall at the moment
2. Our spine at the moment is poor - although still developing. Glass is the only one who looks like a sure thing. Polak looks a better proposition atm to all our other KPPs
3. Why would we just sit and hope that all our KPPs turn into first rate KPPs? The chances of this are slim.

What makes you think Polak is better than him, sure he can take a mark but he can't put it on the scoreboard yet.
Once again you demonstrate your lack of football knowledge. Polak hasn't put the results on the score board yet because he mostly plays defence. he's also a few years younger than McDougall and Lynch.

Lets not forget that this side sat 2nd on the ladder this time last yr,
With jako at CHB and Haynes at FF. You don't know what you're talking about.

Polhack.
I dare you to go to the Fremantle board and tell them Polak is a hack and that Quentin Lynch is better. Actually, why don't you go to the main board so everyone can see how much of a fool you are.

Originally posted by bunsen burner
I dare you to go to the Fremantle board and tell them Polak is a hack and that Quentin Lynch is better. Actually, why don't you go to the main board so everyone can see how much of a fool you are.

Polak is a good player but I know who I would rather have as my forward if the only two choices are Polack and McDougal and its not Polak.

In the backline Polak is a rare talent, but a bit like Jako he does tend to struggle when thrusted forward.

As far as a comparison between Polak and Lynch is concered Polak is more athletic and a better mark, however Lynch is a better kick and is a great deal meaner. Personally I would love to see them both on our half backline...

you W@nker where did I say that polak is better than Lynch.

I simply said that i was prepared to back him & Glass in defence.

Simply put Freo won't want to part with him anyway.

Yeah, 'Polhack' just makes you look like a troll.

You know your footy bunsen but seem to completely lack patience. The current crop has barely played together, I think they deserve a little more time, all have shown something in their positons and all of them have been thrown in the deep end.

Polak is obviously talented, he's touted as one of the leagues most talented youngsters but I'd question exactly how much of this hype is based on performance. The lad struggled when given a role up forward and has not been given a set role in the team (ie like Lynch as a CHB, McDougall at FF etc) due to Freo having guys like Hadrill and McPharlin. I'm yet to be convinced he can hold down a key position week in week out and if he was to come to the Eagles (which he won't) he'd bring the 'how will he cope with the extra responsibilty?' tag. Don't get me wrong, very talented, a great mark, but there are question marks at this point. Seen as how your in somewhat of a hurry bunsen, are you very confident that Polak can be drafted in and become our best tall and hold down a key position consistently in 2005? Wouldn't anything else just be waiting for youngsters again?

Originally posted by no1bankteller
Polak is a good player but I know who I would rather have as my forward if the only two choices are Polack and McDougal and its not Polak.
I'm not the one who is alluding to this being the only choice. Go read Clayton's posts.

In the backline Polak is a rare talent, but a bit like Jako he does tend to struggle when thrusted forward.
And that's why I think we should trade agressively for him - to put him at CHB. I reiterate - I have never suggested he play forward.

you W@nker where did I say that polak is better than Lynch.

I simply said that i was prepared to back him & Glass in defence.
- I suggest we go after Polak for a KPP.
- You say the positions are already taken
- You call Polak a hack
- You say you back Glass at CHB
- If you knew anything about football, you'd know Polak's best position (from what we've seen of Fremantle) is CHB.
- You say you'd back Lynch at CHB.

You didn't say in directly, but you implied that you think Lynch is the better option. W@nker.

Simply put Freo won't want to part with him anyway.
probably not, but getting him isn't impossible.

Originally posted by Black JuJu

You know your footy bunsen but seem to completely lack patience. The current crop has barely played together, I think they deserve a little more time, all have shown something in their positons and all of them have been thrown in the deep end.
I wouldn't call it impatient. I'm reasonably happy with the KPP development atm. BUT, you have to consider that we need to build a team that can win a flag. To win a flag you need a strong spine (ie Lynch, Brown, Leppitsch, Michael). Just sitting back and putting all our eggs with our current spine/basket when a player like Polak (4th pick in the best draft in history) might become available is pure stupidity.

Seen as how your in somewhat of a hurry bunsen, are you very confident that Polak can be drafted in and become our best tall and hold down a key position consistently in 2005?
As confident as you can get. Lynch currently holds down CHB and I'll eat my hat if Polak couldn't do it better short and long term.

As for hurry? No spine = no flag. Can't be anymore simple. The midfield group are mostly early 20s, but we would need to find afirst class spine before Cousins is 28, not to mention before Judd may take off. If the spine we have doesn't develop into a first rate spine within 2-3 years, we risk missing a golden opportunity.

Going to draft will mean a good KPP will be 3 years behind Polak. Considering Polak was 4th pick in what is considered to be the best draft in history, we would be crazy not to have a crack.

The opportunity (however slight) of being able to obtain a 20 year old KPP who has indicated he will play 10 years of footy doesn't come by often. If you don't hurry, you don't get.

When I said i'd back Glass I was eluding to the fact that he & Lynch were playing some good footy in their respective positions.

Look man it's pointless to carry on this argument. I'll concede that Polak has more talent than Lynch. I just think that the KPP's we have at the club will do the job for us & Polak might be an expensive trade. If we can get him for a steal I'll take it:D

When I said i'd back Glass I was eluding to the fact that he & Lynch were playing some good footy in their respective positions.

Look man it's pointless to carry on this argument. I'll concede that Polak has more talent than Lynch. I just think that the KPP's we have at the club will do the job for us & Polak might be an expensive trade. If we can get him for a steal I'll take it:D

Exactly. I don't know why people say "Do whatever to get this player" Like Fremantle are going to give him up anyway and if they are they are going to want well and above what he is worth.

It would be like Essendon saying "We want Chris Judd... go get him" well the Eagles aren't going to give him up are they.... unless Essendon gave up Matthew Lloyd and a couple of others... and I doubt Essendon fans are going to want that.... so I cant see Eagles supporters wanting us to get rid of 2 or 3 of our best players just to get Polak.

It's not going to happen. We will not get Polak so don't even bother trying.

Originally posted by Mark Viduka
We will not get Polak so don't even bother trying.
That's a ridiculous attitude. My gut feeling is that his manager is just playing the negotiation game and he'll stay at fremantle, but it's not impossible. If the Eagles make a good wage offer to Polak and he wants to leave, we could get him for an expensive but worhwhile price.

Originally posted by franky_mojojo
i like us to get mooney. he's a bit of a nutcase(we are lacking in toughness), but can play forward and back and probably won't be too expensive.

Depends what you expect to pay for a player leading (or very close to) a current top 8 side's B+F. Last year you could have got him for sfa but good luck now.

I noticed a mention of Haynes, would you say that you guys have missed him much?

Along with Mackie he has improved our forward line. He is never going to be a worldbeater but is dangerous as a 3rd-4th target.

Originally posted by Unwritten_Law
I noticed a mention of Haynes, would you say that you guys have missed him much?

Along with Mackie he has improved our forward line. He is never going to be a worldbeater but is dangerous as a 3rd-4th target.

No. I didn't have a high regard of Haynes when he was here... and even more-so now. Possibly one of the worst kicks for goal in the AFL. I'm a lot happier having Andrew McDougall at Full Forward. McDougalls only played 20 odd games and has shown more than Haynes who had 50 games with us and wasn't up to it.

We got Pick 20 for David Haynes... which allowed us to get Sam Butler... and he's looked very exciting... so I am ecstatic with the trade.

Originally posted by Unwritten_Law
No. We're better off going backwards while mcDougall develops in order to go forward. Haynes was never really a long term FF option.

Originally posted by Mark Viduka
We got Pick 20 for David Haynes... which allowed us to get Sam Butler... and he's looked very exciting... so I am ecstatic with the trade.

Fair enough.

We got pick 20 off the doggies for Street so we are pretty happy as well. Throw in Matthew Spencer (pick 42) and it would have to be a win-win trade.

Originally posted by franky_mojojo
i like us to get mooney. he's a bit of a nutcase(we are lacking in toughness), but can play forward and back and probably won't be too expensive.

Mooney hasn't had a suspension for a good deal of time. Oh and he wouldn't come as cheaply as you'd think. The last year of his contract (albeit backended) is worth plenty.

Originally posted by phatandphreaky
Mooney hasn't had a suspension for a good deal of time. Oh and he wouldn't come as cheaply as you'd think. The last year of his contract (albeit backended) is worth plenty.

For 1 club to have to pay the the back end of his contract yes... its alot.... but it could be the same as the Croad situation... where Geelong are happy to trade him and pay only 1/4 of his salary rather than be stuck with him and pay the full amount.