Who do you know

Everton FC
Think most of us know someone or had someone close to us who have died in a car/bike accident.

Personally my grandmother was 51 and rode a motorscooter back in 1983 and got killed out the front of my house leaving for work.

I reckon almost all of us would have a close relative or friend who has had their lives cut short in this kind of way.

Depressing thread yes, but if it is as common as I suspect, why arent GPS devices driving our cars?

The world is overpopulated as is without disease, accidental deaths, wars. We'll need to ship half the earth to Mars if we're gonna just keep breeding, minimizing death, finding cures, reducing the affects of aging, etc.

Meanwhile, any idea of further relying on computers, is a bad idea at heart, regardless of issues of safety.

Btw, yes, I've had many people in my life die from road deaths, drugs, misadventure, war, disease, suicide etc.

You havent seen Terminator 1, 2, 3 etc?

But seriously....in terms of car driving....it's like humans losing the art of DOING anything.

Self-service checkout in malls, the manufacturing industry, computers in modern cars that cause more trouble already, etc etc. Next, doing all the driving, people losing the skill of life and living, operating and doing things, just promoting mindlessness. No fun either. Also, more employment harder to come by for ever-increasing population + ever increasing reliance on computers.

But consider what you could do in your car while it drives itself... You could read a book, watch a movie, have a wank... whatever.

It will happen.
More mindlessness. Already listening to the radio or cds is there. Now you can be like in an airplane -- sleep, read a book, watch a movie. Which is a mindless journey. And watching movies, more mindlessness.

Whereas, compare riding a motorcycle to driving a car....you're really engaging in the doing of the journey, the art of operating a vehicle.

Yeah thats cool but maybe there could be parks, or reservations where you can drive your car.

Driving a car is not some kind of spiritual journey.. Id rather read a book and be transported somewhere safely than driving with the risk of coming across someone who has no idea...

Yeah thats cool but maybe there could be parks, or reservations where you can drive your car.

Driving a car is not some kind of spiritual journey.. Id rather read a book and be transported somewhere safely than driving with the risk of coming across someone who has no idea...
Always run the risk of computer malfunctions, hacking, or things like mass gridlock when systems collapse, even GPS often goes haywire.

Why is it a bad idea, relying on computers?

Humans havent exactly proved themselves as being reliable.

Reliable at what? Surviving? Actually we're pretty darn good at it.

Always run the risk of computer malfunctions, hacking, or things like mass gridlock when systems collapse, even GPS often goes haywire.

Obviously a system like that would have to have plenty of development. My idea isnt a 1984 kind of thought, more an advancement of the speices.

I mean lets face it, we are well and truly on the way to becoming cyborgs, if we arent already. You could argue that the bicycle was the beginning of man becoming part machine.

Its inevitable. Its the future. We will evolve into something other than what is now known as human beings.

Cars used in the 1940's really aren't much different then the cars we use today, the principles are still exactly the same except we can drive slightly faster and with greater comfort. Were not even close to using GPS devices to drive our cars because the entire automobile will have to be redesigned and the manufacturing process restructured. Maybe in 100 years time, but my bet is we will still be driving to work grinding our way in the peak hour traffic while the over half wait to catch the train using the same rail network that was buit over a century ago. Life in the 1940's really ain't much different than it is today.

Computers are only as reliable as their weakest point. That weakest point is us(western civilization). We're yet to be able to be relied on anything but destruction. So the terminator or battlestar sci fi stories people use to warn off computerizing everything is not all that far off the mark, from a certain point of view.

Brothers mate went out to get fish and chips, he was in the passenger seat. 1 of the 3 occupants in the back had the food when the driver turned round to grab some chips. Brothers best mate went straight threw the windscreen into the bonnet that was pushed up by the stobie pole they hit. From there he rebounded back into his seat. From there he went forward again but this time the dash all lifted off and he ended up under almost decapitated. However that might sound gruesome but he was dead on impact as a valve from his heart was ripped away the moment the stobie pole was hit at around 80 k's. Big old ford as well.

Mates mate had just had big money spent on his Torana brakes. this hot little lj kept chewing them.On his way home from having them fixed he braked for a dip at 100 mph when the front right caliper seazed from the heat and he was then a passenger as the car propelled straight at a tree.

A mates brother in law traveled down Adelaide to protest the Iraq war. On his way home late at night on highway one someone drifted onto the wrong side of the road.

His foster sisters ex was in a hot car his mate lent off his brother, they were with two younger chicks hooning around when chased by coppers.As there was drugs and that involved they took off. 10 minutes later about 25 k up the road they hit a rise at over 200, the car bottomed out and missed a corner, slid into a gum tree that caused to barrel roll up in the air (about two stories) where they hit a big mallee tree. Thousands of pieces of car and humans littered an area nearly as big as a footy field.

I can go on.....

You havent seen Terminator 1, 2, 3 etc?

But seriously....in terms of car driving....it's like humans losing the art of DOING anything.

Self-service checkout in malls, the manufacturing industry, computers in modern cars that cause more trouble already, etc etc. Next, doing all the driving, people losing the skill of life and living, operating and doing things, just promoting mindlessness. No fun either. Also, more employment harder to come by for ever-increasing population + ever increasing reliance on computers.

i thought all this was representing our drive to perfection in the human race? :p

The Google "driverless" cars will be incredible. Imagine going to the pub and then letting a car drive you home when you're slathered..

Then again it will just mean more cars on the road, less use of public transport, etc..
You can absolutely stone cold guarantee that you won't be allowed to operate them (even just sit there and let them operate themselves) drunk.

To answer the OP, money and red tape.

About 13 years ago my boyfriends best friend died in a motorbike accident. He was decapitated.

Horrible :thumbsdown:
I also had that happen to a good mate 13 years ago. Was driving to work on a sunny july morning, got to a T junction with the Sturt Highway, couldn't see to his right because of the sun and followed the car in front around the corner. Car in front got through fine, my mate got hit by a B Double at full speed.

Wasn't wearing his seatbelt.

Apparently there wasn't a lot left of him. Poor bastard