A captain should provide:

LEADERSHIP
TALENT
ABILITY
ROLE MODEL
MEDIA APPEAL

based on the above criteria

RICHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

Would of agreed with you 2-3 years ago, not now with 1-2 years left in him.... time for future players to take over.... my vote goes to Brett Deledio:thumbsu:.

P.S. Captain Kanestick should of never got ahead the the big fella!!

Oh... and for what it is worth, I have been spruiking for Deledio to be named Captain for next year as soon as this season is over.
Our Club needs to feel a generational change right now and Lids has stepped up big time this year.
He can handle the extra "pressure" and I actually expect the added responsibility to spur him on to yet another level next year.

Agree with what you say about Lids being a captain..looks like the best candidate

But it seriously worries me, senior players are there to provide leadership and set an example for the kids, especially when the going gets tough.
Not the other way around.
I know it's good that Cotch was doing that but he shouldn't be the one doing it.

And in regards to Kane Johnson
I ****ing loved Jason Torney, was one of my favourite players in my younger days. I was pissed off when we traded him. I ****ing hated Kane Johnson for being the reason we got rid of him. I still hate Kane Johnson. People are now catching up to my viewpoint of what I've said about him all along.

I'd really like to see at the Jack Dyer medal night, Richo let slip that Kane Johnson isnt going to be there next year, before someone has told Kane.
sweet
sweet
irony:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

had this conversation with a fellow tigerhead this evening (many beers under the belt mind you :p)

Deledio :thumbsu:

i reckon throw him in the deep end....newy is a candidate...but not captaincy material imo...

the way TW does things......Sylvester will be our next captain.

Time to hand in the resignation TW. You have failed. Dont you dare try and get out of this one by trading away draft picks to pick up what we should now have in abundance, to gloss over your failures. I will say it again, for me, its to strange a coincidence that we are where we are, and your former club that you must have great ties to, who is run by players who you fought in the trenches with, is where it is. Its damning IMO. ;)

And one final thing...
When the time comes to appoint our next Captain, (and I think we all hope to God this happens after this season ends), the decision should be made by the coach and anounced. (Coaches need to show leadership as well)
None of this "take it to the senior group and then have the players vote" shit that goes on nowadays.
Soft players will appoint a soft Captain because he is a good bloke.
Good leaders don't have to be liked... just respected.

Having said that, Deledio would be both respected and liked IMO.

And one final thing...
When the time comes to appoint our next Captain, (and I think we all hope to God this happens after this season ends), the decision should be made by the coach and anounced. (Coaches need to show leadership as well)
None of this "take it to the senior group and then have the players vote" shit that goes on nowadays.

at the momentm the most damning thing is that Cotchin is the only player who looks like a captain with his application. ;)

And one final thing...

Player empowerment is a good thing when you've got the right mindset and strong leaders, ala Bucks, Hird, Crawf, blokes who put every ounce of effort into their footy and who command respect. Player empowerment @ Tigerland would be/is an unmitigated disaster with our senior group.

Time to give the young blood a chance to change the future of this club. If we don't do it we will continue to go through the motions. I'd like to know what a player like Lids or Cotch are thinking when they see their skipper look like a stunned mullet every time he gets the pill :rolleyes:

Player empowerment is a good thing when you've got the right mindset and strong leaders, ala Bucks, Hird, Crawf, blokes who put every ounce of effort into their footy and who command respect. Player empowerment @ Tigerland would be/is an unmitigated disaster with our senior group.

Time to give the young blood a chance to change the future of this club. If we don't do it we will continue to go through the motions. I'd like to know what a player like Lids or Cotch are thinking when they see their skipper look like a stunned mullet every time he gets the pill :rolleyes:

wild guess.....cant ****ing wait for the contract to end. Get me out of this ****ing mess. ;)

Agree with what you say about Lids being a captain..looks like the best candidate

But it seriously worries me, senior players are there to provide leadership and set an example for the kids, especially when the going gets tough.
Not the other way around.
I know it's good that Cotch was doing that but he shouldn't be the one doing it.

And in regards to Kane Johnson
I ****ing loved Jason Torney, was one of my favourite players in my younger days. I was pissed off when we traded him. I ****ing hated Kane Johnson for being the reason we got rid of him. I still hate Kane Johnson. People are now catching up to my viewpoint of what I've said about him all along.

I'd really like to see at the Jack Dyer medal night, Richo let slip that Kane Johnson isnt going to be there next year, before someone has told Kane.
sweet
sweet
irony:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
I love your work Tuck. Always look forward to reading anything you or the Oxx post about Captain Hack. Countdown.... 3 games left till he will gone and quickly forgotten about

well we share a common interest in the downfall of our hack of a "captain"

im thinking of making a banner for his last game, round 22

"Is It Too late to ask for Torney Back?"
"Captain pisser...taking the piss out of our proud club"
"Kane-Od...goodbye Sugar"
...any other ideas for the text

who's our new captain for next year???