why all the ump hate?

Not sure if this has already mentioned but what i can't understand is why the last centre bounce wasn't recalled... absolute shocker

Incorrect disposal/holding the man were two calls that apparently don't apply to us.

I also think it's easier for opposition/neutrals to blame umpiring than admit that possibly they had moments to win the game but didn't? All 3 close games we've won have had moments where Dogs/Saints/Crows had a chance to win the game but didn't. I think it's more our experience and belief in these situation that more often then not sees us win.

Neither can our defenders apply bear hugs like our forwards have to put up with.

But its like the howls on lake in that prelim whan monfries was holding his arm, yet they wanted a free?

also the free against Breust in the last for contact below the knee when he simply bent down to pick up the ball and on the flip side moments later a crows player dangerously slid at a hawthorn defender as he kicked it hurriedly out of deep defence which resulted in a goal...

for what it's worth i think Smith is very lucky because he pretended to not be able to handball before he was even tackled, that said the centre bounce should have been recalled and that should never have happenend

Also Jenkins blocking Frawley at around 10min first quarter allowing Tex to mark. Commentator (Ling?) says "perhaps should have been a free but not obvious enough"....bullshit. Jenkins clearly had his arms spread out prevent Frawley from running around. How is that not obvious? Bang..gift goal!
Didn't happen in the last half minute so doesnt count apparently

I dont think it is jealousy or hate, I certainly dont hate Hawthorn. The majority decision is generally correct, and seeing as the commentators, neutral supporters, random famous people on twitter, actually most people think Adelaide got screwed over by the umpires makes it a fairly safe bet that it was the case.

Great game regardless guys
Unfortunately 'generally' isn't 'always'.

I'm not suggesting Adelaide didn't get shafted by the umpires last night. However, it's the utter lack of recognition, from that same majority you mention, that Hawthorn was on the end of some terrible calls. Terrible calls, that, on a handful of occasions, gifted Adelaide goals. It's extremely selective memory.

The commentators don't help matters. They took every opportunity to mention that they *thought* something was a free that doesn't get called by the umpires. Therefore, the neutrals believe anything these 'experts' say. These so-called experts of the game need to just call the game and leave any emotion at home.

What they need to do is call the damned game and leave the umpiring up to the umpires. If commentators want to focus on how many times people get things wrong, they need look no further than the end of their own microphones. It is staggering how often the callers get decisions wrong, and what's even more alarming, their own personal lack of knowledge on the rules of the game.

According to the footage, the umpire said "Holding the ball, dragged it in, hawthorn".

If you watch it, you can see that he reaches under the hawks players and pulls the footy in and then makes no attempt to dispose of it. I would have thought that was pretty self-explanatory.

Got it. I figured since they hadn't paid it all night they might have been consistent the whole game through.

Just rewatched last 1/4.

3:15 to go, 3 points the difference, Shiels is held without it 70 from our goal. Both commentators mention it. Not paid.

Kick goes into 50 walker takes dubious Mark. Paid. Hits posts.

There's two chances for the bias umps to help the Hawks but hey don't take either and instead rely on walker hitting the post before implementing their devious plan.

Just rewatched last 1/4.

3:15 to go, 3 points the difference, Shiels is held without it 70 from our goal. Both commentators mention it. Not paid.

Kick goes into 50 walker takes dubious Mark. Paid. Hits posts.

There's two chances for the bias umps to help the Hawks but hey don't take either and instead rely on walker hitting the post before implementing their devious plan.

Yes my instant reaction, as i was watching and facebook chatting with a crows friend was to call OMG shiels was held, and THAT WAS NOT A MARK.... but yeah.... nevermind the the illegal blocking from contests that lead directly to crows goals... but nope its all about how a non call as it was paid all day cost the crows... I just think if you're going to coplain abotu decisions in a subjective game, which umpiring footy is, you need to be willing to look at th eentire game as a whole. Crows might not have been in the contest if they were correctly pinned for their holding the balls/incorrect disposals, off ball blocking, etc.

I dont think it is jealousy or hate, I certainly dont hate Hawthorn. The majority decision is generally correct, and seeing as the commentators, neutral supporters, random famous people on twitter, actually most people think Adelaide got screwed over by the umpires makes it a fairly safe bet that it was the case.

I think you're wrong. I think it is selective memory, and barracking against the team that has won 3 in a row. If we'd lost the game, there were PLENTY of questionable decisions I could whinge about (a few people have given examples in this thread), but it is too easy to forget all those, and focus what happened in the last few minutes of the contest, as it is easier psychologically to match those events up with the outcome, despite the fact that they can have the same impact on the scoreboard as free kicks missed in the any of the previous quarters. As for "neutral" supports, please. There are no neutral supporters when it comes to the winner of the last 3 flags. It is like suggesting Port supporters are neutral observers of an Adelaide game they are not involved in. Commentators suggested several frees should have gone to Hawthorn during the commentary, I don't see you referring to them. Perhaps because they didn't occur in the last few seconds of the game. Since when are "famous people on twitter" the benchmark?

Adelaide were unlucky to lose, not because of the umpiring , but because they played a great game, and we had to kick 3 goals in the last few minutes of the game to win. I could easily agree that Adelaide played better footy across the full course of the game. I couldn't agree they got diddled by the umpires, not from what I saw across the entire game.

for what it's worth i think Smith is very lucky because he pretended to not be able to handball before he was even tackled, that said the centre bounce should have been recalled and that should never have happenend
I thought so as well. Looks bad in slow motion but in real time there was about 2 seconds in that and would have been extremely harsh if paid HTB against.

Got it. I figured since they hadn't paid it all night they might have been consistent the whole game through.

Well, considering a hawk player got called for that exact thing in an earlier quarter, I'd say that was a pretty even balance sheet. In fact, if anything, the crows got away with a lot of dragging-in throughout the game.

I remember reading about a study that showed that when different supporters watch the same footage, they are something 10% more likely to see infringements by opposition players and 10% less likely to see those by their players. Even when attempting to be 100% neutral.

We can't help it. We generally need to accept that the umpires are going to attempt to be neutral, and both supporters are going to feel mildly slighted by them. It's when the game feels close and there is a big call, that these decisions and non-decisions are blown out of proportion.

I remember reading about a study that showed that when different supporters watch the same footage, they are something 10% more likely to see infringements by opposition players and 10% less likely to see those by their players. Even when attempting to be 100% neutral.

We can't help it. We generally need to accept that the umpires are going to attempt to be neutral, and both supporters are going to feel mildly slighted by them. It's when the game feels close and there is a big call, that these decisions and non-decisions are blown out of proportion.
perfect example of this is the last bounce. not one crow or 'neutral' is whingeing about that not being called back. yet hypothetically that same bounce and we are 3 points down and mcevoythumps that forward we goal and win, they would be screaming blue murder about the bounce not being recalled.

I have no idea why people are going on about the Smith incident. It clearly wasn't a free kick. That wasn't my issue with the umpiring. But I do take exception to the free paid against Richard Douglas about half way through the 4th quarter just outside Hawk's attacking fifty. If someone can tell me what the free kick was for and how any umpire can justify blowing the whistle for that incident, I'm all ears, because it looked like a free kick plucked out of thin air to me.

I don't recall it to be honest but there are decisions every game where we get frees against that make no sense.....as do every team. I reckon we conceded 2 or 3 free kicks just for legit spoils that the umps seem to pay just because there is body contact.

perfect example of this is the last bounce. not one crow or 'neutral' is whingeing about that not being called back. yet hypothetically that same bounce and we are 3 points down and mcevoythumps that forward we goal and win, they would be screaming blue murder about the bounce not being recalled.

Yeah, and the point is that it's not people who are "selectively remembering" things. These opposition supporters are 100% convinced that they are looking at it fairly and that they were crucified by the umpires. So we should cut them a little slack.

conversely we would be screaming blue murder about that bounce had we lost, and the opposition fans would be saying to forget the umpires and blame olayers like smith for holding the ball! were all the same really!
my point in the OP was that its understandable the crows fans feelijg this way, but its a bit bizzare that no less than 4 threads have been started on the MB by 'neutrals' about apparently obvious corruption.

I thought so as well. Looks bad in slow motion but in real time there was about 2 seconds in that and would have been extremely harsh if paid HTB against.

Absolutely right, i think.

Channel 7s super slo-mo after the event looked damning - he seems to tuck it under the arm and brace for contact while pretending to try to handball.

But looking at the replay in real time, he is set upon almost instantly, with precious little prior opportunity, just as happens a hundred times every single game.

Not even a 50-50, I don't think. Maybe 70-30... you could probably justify a free if they had paid it, but would be very harsh to be pinged.

It would have been a bigger uproar if it was paid.
This is just Carey trying to say something relevant and insightful to prove how much of an expert he is and Lingy agreeing with his Alpha mate he is trying to please.

I don't recall it to be honest but there are decisions every game where we get frees against that make no sense.....as do every team. I reckon we conceded 2 or 3 free kicks just for legit spoils that the umps seem to pay just because there is body contact.

I suppose, it's probably a case of me being really pissed off the Crows lost. As good as it would have felt to win that game as a Hawk supporter, it felt like the most rotten of losses from my end, it really hurt to lose considering the way we played and the position we were in. You guys wouldn't have felt that feeling very much for a few years now.

Just rounds 2, 4, 6 and 8 last year