HBF
Flying Scotsman
- Sep 24, 2002
- AFL Club
- Carlton
We also need to make more of our opportunities when we go forward. Our conversion rate in front of goal has been terrible.

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
I hope the backline looks something like this.
Lloyd = Setanta
McPhee = Waite
Lovett-Murray = Bower / Thornton
Winderlich = Jamison
Pending selection hard to name who will play on Dyson and Jetta.
Just a tip, Winderlich is a half-back wingman and you wouldn't play your most promising tall defender on him.
Jamison is capable of player smaller faster players such as Medhurst, Tarrant.You would play Jamison on Lloyd and Setanta on the resting ruckman.
Although, I wouldn't be surprised to see as play a small and fast forward line.
After this game, I can't see us winning until round 5 V Melbourne.
We also need to make more of our opportunities when we go forward. Our conversion rate in front of goal has been terrible.
u sure??? i reckon u guyz will tank....good luck carltank !!![]()
Good call mate.u sure??? i reckon u guyz will tank....good luck carltank !!![]()
Good call mate.
Especially from someone who barracks for a team in which their coach admitted to not wanting to win the last game of last year.
You're an idiot if you are trying to suggest that Richmond would have preffered to win that game.get your facts right mate.... he said he never felt so bad about losing a game of footy after u started all this tanking rubbish. he thought everyone would criticize him over a loss, saying that Richmond tanked. .![]()
get your facts right mate.... he said he never felt so bad about losing a game of footy after u started all this tanking rubbish. he thought everyone would criticize him over a loss, saying that Richmond tanked. .![]()
Do we have the legspeed and game plan to match Essendon's runners on the larger MCG to fill space in their forwardline?Yes, yes it will. Will be a massive game the the 'G. If Carlos/Jamieson can hold Lloyd, I honestly can't see where the Bombers will get over the top of us.
Do we have the legspeed and game plan to match Essendon's runners on the larger MCG to fill space in their forwardline?
I can't see Carlton controlling the middle of the ground and the game as much as Geelong to keep the ball running our way and out of their hands. Our boys don't chase as hard or as work as Geelong's player who take inspiration and play just as hard when they see their teammates perform a selfless act. Our problem with our backline isn't lack of height and talent like everyone keeps saying, it's the midfielders up the ground who don't run as hard the other way and chase like their life depends on it to help them out. Harry Taylor looked like a gun in his debut match against Essendon, but he isn't a better player than Waite or Thornton.
We were belted by Geelong last year and upset Essendon the following week, so I wouldn't be calling this game when it's the opposite situation this year.
The result on the weekend was more a case of how good were Geelong than how poor are Essendon.
get your facts right mate.... he said he never felt so bad about losing a game of footy after u started all this tanking rubbish. he thought everyone would criticize him over a loss, saying that Richmond tanked. .![]()
You are an idiot.
RFC tanked more than Carlton last year, and if you believe otherwise then you really have no idea.
Let me paint the picture;
Tanking; is the modern term for a team playing its youth, to build the experience in the young kids, and planning for the following years. In this process clubs expect to be up and down, and don't expect many wins, however the upside is the experience gained. Most clubs will also send players in for season ending ops to make sure they are ready for the next preseason.
This is a practice that has gone on for at least the past 10 years and usually occurs during the last 5 rounds when teams are aware there is no chance of competing for the finals.
2007 - Round 6
RFC hold a media conference, attending are Terry Wallace and Darren Gasper. The media conference is to confirm that Darren Gasper is retiring effective immediately. During this conference, Gasper talks about the disappointment that he won't have the chance to finish on his terms after a discussion with coach Terry Wallace concluded that he would struggle to be in the seniors after it had been decided that RFC were planning for 2008 after 6 straight losses and would be playing youngsters ahead of him and that he could finish out the year at Coburg.
2007 - Round 22
Prior to the RFC game against StKilda, Terry Wallace talks to FoxFooty as explains that this is the first time he feels compromised in a game of footy. For his club a win means a loss of hig draft pick and a loss would mean they retain a high draft pick, but concedes that is the system and he can't do anything about that but still feel compromised.
- now what happens?? (remembering StKilda can no longer make finals, so they aren't fighting for a place in the 8)
RFC lead all day, the final 5 minutes of the match StKilda run over RFC, during the last quarter (from memory) key players in Bowden and Foley spend time on the bench.
- Terry Wallace covered himself prior to the game to make it look OK to lose and suspected it would go unnoticed, however the Carl-Melb game overshadowed it.
Now who do you really think is guilty of this so called Tanking you refer to??
We were simply outclassed by the Cats. Carton will be a much easier task then last week and I still expect a big win by the Bombers. We have improved much more than the Blues in the past year.People still want to play like Essendon? I know they are playing Geelong, but it goes to show that you cannot get too excited / depressed after the first 1-3 weeks of the season.
And to this clown bomba4eva, will you be reassessing your Nostradamus prediction?
Was not expecting a 99 point thumping. Carlton werent that flash on the weeked also. I am still expecting us to win very comfortably. Always a match I look forward to before the season. Usually a massive crowd and being on the saturday night this year is even better. Much prefer night matches. Cant see this game being a nail biter as it was last year. Simply too much pace and our skills are better. Lloyd should have a field day on Jamieson/O'Hailpin. Lacking a CHF could hurt but hopefully one of Welsh/McPhee/Lovett Murray can play this role successfully. Hoping that Fevola doesnt turn it on as he single handedly won it for you last season. Ryder may well get the job. Carlton dont have too many good talls in the forward line. Fisher is a good prospect though and Ryder may play on him and Michael on Fev.Are you needing to reassess your thoughts??
Was not expecting a 99 point thumping. Carlton werent that flash on the weeked also. I am still expecting us to win very comfortably. Always a match I look forward to before the season. Usually a massive crowd and being on the saturday night this year is even better. Much prefer night matches. Cant see this game being a nail biter as it was last year. Simply too much pace and our skills are better. Lloyd should have a field day on Jamieson/O'Hailpin. Lacking a CHF could hurt but hopefully one of Welsh/McPhee/Lovett Murray can play this role successfully. Hoping that Fevola doesnt turn it on as he single handedly won it for you last season. Ryder may well get the job. Carlton dont have too many good talls in the forward line. Fisher is a good prospect though and Ryder may play on him and Michael on Fev.
Hope for an exciting game and early on it should be intense. We get off to good starts a lot of the time and Carlton will have to be wary that we dont jump them early. Essendon by 7+ goals.
We get off to good starts a lot of the time and Carlton will have to be wary that we dont jump them early.
That just does NOT add up B4E
Anyway, i have been pretty disgusted with Cartlon this year so I'm not gonna make any brash calls.
Why wouldn't Michael play on Fev?
The fact that Sheedy was slammed for leaving Michael on Fev for so long last time (r3)
Anyway was a bit harsh on Mal last year Fev was on fire that 2nd half.