Why are the Bummers so on fire and we're not??

We will belt your rabble by over 10 goals. All the pre season hype has dissapated within a week this year it seems. Essendon have had numerous picks over the past few years which the recruiters have used effectively. The 06 draft was simply sublime. Whereas Carlton continue to pick average players. Also there is a terrible culture at Carlton which has spawned after years of pathetic displays. No wonder it seems the players dont play with any heart. PP looms.

Guess we'll have to wait and see for your 10 goal prediction.

Since 2003 though we have just had the wood over you guys ( can't be bothered looking back further) Link here

Carlton 5 wins
Essendon 4 wins
Draw - 1

Lets hope Hampson jumps over Hille and Laycock in 2 weeks time 2006 will prove as good for Carlton as it did for Essendon.

We will belt your rabble by over 10 goals. All the pre season hype has dissapated within a week this year it seems. Essendon have had numerous picks over the past few years which the recruiters have used effectively. The 06 draft was simply sublime. Whereas Carlton continue to pick average players. Also there is a terrible culture at Carlton which has spawned after years of pathetic displays. No wonder it seems the players dont play with any heart. PP looms.

Gee Willikers, 48 point comeback in Round 3, 2007 - pathetic display? But Essendon lost. A pathetic display from Carlton yet we won the match. Therefore Essendon's display was..............?

Guess we'll have to wait and see for your 10 goal prediction.

Since 2003 though we have just had the wood over you guys ( can't be bothered looking back further) Link here

Carlton 5 wins
Essendon 4 wins
Draw - 1

Lets hope Hampson jumps over Hille and Laycock in 2 weeks time 2006 will prove as good for Carlton as it did for Essendon.
Matches are usually close between the two teams. Dont think itll happen this game. Tough game against the Cats this week but the Blues the week after is perfect. Really expecting us to belt you.
Regarding Hampson, how many AFL games has the kid played because there are a hell of a lot of Blues fans that hold him in high regard when I dont think he has actually achieved very much at all:confused:
Gee Willikers, 48 point comeback in Round 3, 2007 - pathetic display? But Essendon lost. A pathetic display from Carlton yet we won the match. Therefore Essendon's display was..............?
You couldnt possibly be insipid in every match last year. Dont worry, I was at that game last year and was left speechless after the game. Pathetic by the Bombers after half time. We have improved dramatically since that time which is why I feel that we will comfortably put Carlton away. You just look as if you have barely improved.

Matches are usually close between the two teams. Dont think itll happen this game. Tough game against the Cats this week but the Blues the week after is perfect. Really expecting us to belt you.
Regarding Hampson, how many AFL games has the kid played because there are a hell of a lot of Blues fans that hold him in high regard when I dont think he has actually achieved very much at all:confused:

I wouldn't get ahead of yourself mate, this time last year James Hird was labeling Essendon as top 4 material.....you started the year well and then fell away.

Hampson has only played a couple of AFL games and needs to do a lot of improving but considering how much time he has played the game most are very impressed. His raw rucking ability is superb.

You couldnt possibly be insipid in every match last year. Dont worry, I was at that game last year and was left speechless after the game. Pathetic by the Bombers after half time. We have improved dramatically since that time which is why I feel that we will comfortably put Carlton away. You just look as if you have barely improved.

I too was at the game. But I wasn't speechless, far from it. That's one you'll never get back. Don't insult my footy team, buddy. You had a great win on the weekend but if you think you have Carlton covered in the near or distant future you are heading for heaps more speechless.

I wouldn't get ahead of yourself mate, this time last year James Hird was labeling Essendon as top 4 material.....you started the year well and then fell away.

Hampson has only played a couple of AFL games and needs to do a lot of improving but considering how much time he has played the game most are very impressed. His raw rucking ability is superb.
Not getting ahead of myself. Merely expecting a win against Carlton. Most teams would think they are a good chance to knock you off. I think Blues fans are putting too much pressure on the kid. Heard he was injured?
I too was at the game. But I wasn't speechless, far from it. That's one you'll never get back. Don't insult my footy team, buddy. You had a great win on the weekend but if you think you have Carlton covered in the near or distant future you are heading for heaps more speechless.
Not insulting Carlton. Everything I have said is true. Im sure you'd be more than ready to accept that you have been pathetic over the past 5-6 years. I think we have Carlton covered in two weeks. If we get belted by Geelong I might have to reassess. If you surprise against the Saints then I might have to revise my prediction but as things stand I expect a big win against the Blues and I am fully aware of our past few games.

Not getting ahead of myself. Merely expecting a win against Carlton. Most teams would think they are a good chance to knock you off. I think Blues fans are putting too much pressure on the kid. Heard he was injured?

Not insulting Carlton. Everything I have said is true. Im sure you'd be more than ready to accept that you have been pathetic over the past 5-6 years. I think we have Carlton covered in two weeks. If we get belted by Geelong I might have to reassess. If you surprise against the Saints then I might have to revise my prediction but as things stand I expect a big win against the Blues and I am fully aware of our past few games.

Even though no matter how bad we have been i cannot remember a Carlton vs Essendon game being won by more than 4-5 goals in a long time. Carlton have been bad but I haven't seen Essendon making the finals lately either.

Reassess that's pretty gutless don't you think? You've stated now that you expect to beat us comfortably by 10 goals minimum, but pending the outcome of the next round you might change your opinion....Gee we have a sharp one here :rolleyes: Time to go back to bummer land I can't see you lasting long on this board.

can somebody give this kid a medal....

So because the Dons have a tough game against the Cats you think that'll make the next game against Carlton easy....uuummmm?? Logic please.

I wold think a tough game would make it hard to come up the next, and could cause many injuries and general soreness...

Do you rate any of these players houli, Jetta, Lonergan or Dempsey??

Last year Fev beat Michael and Fletcher at the one time in 2 quarters to kick 8, Fev on most occasions has a field day against the dons, just who will stop him this year...and what midfield do you have that will stop Carltons of Judd, Stevens, Murphy, Simpson, Hadley, Bentick, Carrazzo??

How do you expect to fill the loss of Lucas?? and just who do Essendon have that can ruck??

Don't live on the fact you beat the Roo's, they were highly tipped to finish low in 2007 and surprised everybody by playing above themselves, in round 1 in 2008 they showed what we all believed...but hye enjoy the win and if you think that will continue you might have some sleepless KINGHTS!!

Not insulting Carlton.
Everything I have said is true. Im sure you'd be more than ready to accept that you have been pathetic over the past 5-6 years. I think we have Carlton covered in two weeks. If we get belted by Geelong I might have to reassess. If you surprise against the Saints then I might have to revise my prediction but as things stand I expect a big win against the Blues and I am fully aware of our past few games.

Have any trouble with pants or shoes first?

Not insulting Carlton. Everything I have said is true.

Everything is true??

2006 draft sublime??

Its time for another medal....

2006 draft recap: Gumbleton, Jetta (those 2 for finishing 15th don't forget) Hislop, Davey, Houli and Reimers.

Interested to know who of that bunch are so sublime??

The reason i'm so interested is, that Carlton fans according to you can't expect that much from Hampson as he has only played a few games and isn't proven, yet all but Davey have played less than 5 games at the start of 2008 and have proven nothing.

Even though no matter how bad we have been i cannot remember a Carlton vs Essendon game being won by more than 4-5 goals in a long time. Carlton have been bad but I haven't seen Essendon making the finals lately either.

Reassess that's pretty gutless don't you think? You've stated now that you expect to beat us comfortably by 10 goals minimum, but pending the outcome of the next round you might change your opinion....Gee we have a sharp one here :rolleyes: Time to go back to bummer land I can't see you lasting long on this board.

Didn't we beat you by 99 points in 05??

Bomber supporters who say this is going to be a thumping will most probably be wrong. Sure you guys had a bad start but we too were alot of peoples bottom 4 predictions, and because we got the jump on an underdone side and our supporters expect us to be consistent (with the youth we have in our side and the pace we are playing at I think we will tire out as the season goes on).

I still think we will beat Carlton but not by much as some Dons supporters are predicting. I expect by round 3 you guys will come good with some more match fitness to Judd and Stevens, and we will be tired out from 2 fast paced hard running game (assumtion about the cats game). Looking forward to good a clash.

Didn't we beat you by 99 points in 05??

Bomber supporters who say this is going to be a thumping will most probably be wrong. Sure you guys had a bad start but we too were alot of peoples bottom 4 predictions, and because we got the jump on an underdone side and our supporters expect us to be consistent (with the youth we have in our side and the pace we are playing at I think we will tire out as the season goes on).

I still think we will beat Carlton but not by much as some Dons supporters are predicting. I expect by round 3 you guys will come good with some more match fitness to Judd and Stevens, and we will be tired out from 2 fast paced hard running game (assumtion about the cats game). Looking forward to good a clash.

Yeah you're right forgot or maybe maybe blocked that game out :D

Personally don't know who will win this upcoming game but as you say I doubt it will be the thumping others are suggesting.

If Lloyd and Fletcher go down of course Ill have to reassess. Plenty will have to happen next week for me to revise my predicition as I fully expect us to beat Carlton comfortably. Why wont I last on this board?
can somebody give this kid a medal....

So because the Dons have a tough game against the Cats you think that'll make the next game against Carlton easy....uuummmm?? Logic please.

I wold think a tough game would make it hard to come up the next, and could cause many injuries and general soreness...

Do you rate any of these players houli, Jetta, Lonergan or Dempsey??

Last year Fev beat Michael and Fletcher at the one time in 2 quarters to kick 8, Fev on most occasions has a field day against the dons, just who will stop him this year...and what midfield do you have that will stop Carltons of Judd, Stevens, Murphy, Simpson, Hadley, Bentick, Carrazzo??

How do you expect to fill the loss of Lucas?? and just who do Essendon have that can ruck??

Don't live on the fact you beat the Roo's, they were highly tipped to finish low in 2007 and surprised everybody by playing above themselves, in round 1 in 2008 they showed what we all believed...but hye enjoy the win and if you think that will continue you might have some sleepless KINGHTS!!
Nah, no kid mate. Just being optimistic and probably fairly realistic after viewing both teams Round 1 form. Blues were deplorable after half time whilst the Bombers were scintillating after the first quarter. If we play like we did in the first quarter then Carlton will get over us.
Why would a tough game incur injuries? Injuries are spontaneous. Pfft general soreness. In Round 3 it should be fine.
Last year Fev took Michael to the cleaners. Does that imply that he will belt us every game? Clearly not. Michael is much sharper this year. Fevola can be hot and cold. Im sure you saw the midfield for the Bombers on Monday. McVeigh, Watson, Stanton, Dyson, Houli etc. Definately a weakness for the Bombers but we will have to exert enormous pressure on your ball carriers to force turnovers. Im sure the midfield can hold its own against Carlton's. Lucas was covered for last game. He went off early. Lovett Murray and McPhee filed in. By Round 3, Gumbleton or Neagle may get an opportunity provided they are fully fit. The structure looked good on Monday. Big loss nonetheless. Hille and Laycock are our rucks.

Everything is true??

2006 draft sublime??

Its time for another medal....

2006 draft recap: Gumbleton, Jetta (those 2 for finishing 15th don't forget) Hislop, Davey, Houli and Reimers.

Interested to know who of that bunch are so sublime??

The reason i'm so interested is, that Carlton fans according to you can't expect that much from Hampson as he has only played a few games and isn't proven, yet all but Davey have played less than 5 games at the start of 2008 and have proven nothing.
Love handing out medals dont you?
Ive seen thise six kids play and if early signs are anything we look like we have struck gold. Gumbleton played in the seniors for the latter half or last season and without impressing enormously was serviceable and played the toughest position on the ground. His stats werent dissimilar to Brown in his early days. KPP always take longer to come along. Unfortunately he has been hampered by injuries, with his hamstrings being very suspect. Tore it in the Nab Cup Round 1 soo he has had a solid 6 weeks or so. Im sure the Bombers will take a soft approach with him.
Jetta played eearly last year before being struck down with a groin injury. It kept him out for the rest of the year. From what I have seen the kid oozes class. Has pace and skills are good. Pre season was decent and he will get plnety of game time this season.
Hislop only played in the seniors once last year and seemed very classy. Seen the least of him from the 6. Misdemenours in the pre season robbed the Bomber fans of the chance to see him play. Unfortunate and he faces an uphill battle to get a spot in the seniors. Plenty of competition.
Davey you have seen. Enough said.
Houli played in the seniors last year before getting dropped. He didnt make it make into the Essendon team. Showed promise last year but has taken his game to a new level. Class. Rewarded with a Round 1 nominaton. Gets the hard ball. A steal so late in the draft.
Reimers debut last season. Didnt do too much but played reasonably well over the pre season. Snuck a few goals in most games and was mildly surprised not to see him in the team Round 1. Lonergan pushed him out. At pick 48, he looks a keeper and I look forward to seeing him in the Essendon team.
Of course you cant expect too much from Hampson. What exactly is your point? I havent trodden on him and labelled him a hack. Dont want the boy to feel too much pressure. Still very young. Sure you'd expect him to show glimpses of what he is capable of but if you expect him to make an enormous impact on the game then you could be in for some disappointment. I dont expect Gumbleton, Houli etc. to take games by the scruff of the neck. That would be unreasonable. Excitedly awaiting our clash.

People still want to play like Essendon? I know they are playing Geelong, but it goes to show that you cannot get too excited / depressed after the first 1-3 weeks of the season.

And to this clown bomba4eva, will you be reassessing your Nostradamus prediction?

People still want to play like Essendon? I know they are playing Geelong, but it goes to show that you cannot get too excited / depressed after the first 1-3 weeks of the season.

And to this clown bomba4eva, will you be reassessing your Nostradamus prediction?

Welcome back to earth, Essendon. Humiliated at the Dome. Speed ain't much use if you don't have the ball and basically don't want it.

Next weeks game will be interesting after their sherlacking this week.

Yes, yes it will. Will be a massive game the the 'G. If Carlos/Jamieson can hold Lloyd, I honestly can't see where the Bombers will get over the top of us.

I hope the backline looks something like this.

Lloyd = Setanta
McPhee = Waite
Lovett-Murray = Bower / Thornton
Winderlich = Jamison

Pending selection hard to name who will play on Dyson and Jetta.

We really need our mids such as Carrazzo, Scotland, Simpson to add some defensive pressure. If Stevens and Judd can play at >80% I feel we can keep them under 80 points.

If Lloyd and Fletcher go down of course Ill have to reassess. Plenty will have to happen next week for me to revise my predicition as I fully expect us to beat Carlton comfortably. Why wont I last on this board?

Nah, no kid mate. Just being optimistic and probably fairly realistic after viewing both teams Round 1 form. Blues were deplorable after half time whilst the Bombers were scintillating after the first quarter. If we play like we did in the first quarter then Carlton will get over us.
Why would a tough game incur injuries? Injuries are spontaneous. Pfft general soreness. In Round 3 it should be fine.
Last year Fev took Michael to the cleaners. Does that imply that he will belt us every game? Clearly not. Michael is much sharper this year. Fevola can be hot and cold. Im sure you saw the midfield for the Bombers on Monday. McVeigh, Watson, Stanton, Dyson, Houli etc. Definately a weakness for the Bombers but we will have to exert enormous pressure on your ball carriers to force turnovers. Im sure the midfield can hold its own against Carlton's. Lucas was covered for last game. He went off early. Lovett Murray and McPhee filed in. By Round 3, Gumbleton or Neagle may get an opportunity provided they are fully fit. The structure looked good on Monday. Big loss nonetheless. Hille and Laycock are our rucks.

Love handing out medals dont you?
Ive seen thise six kids play and if early signs are anything we look like we have struck gold. Gumbleton played in the seniors for the latter half or last season and without impressing enormously was serviceable and played the toughest position on the ground. His stats werent dissimilar to Brown in his early days. KPP always take longer to come along. Unfortunately he has been hampered by injuries, with his hamstrings being very suspect. Tore it in the Nab Cup Round 1 soo he has had a solid 6 weeks or so. Im sure the Bombers will take a soft approach with him.
Jetta played eearly last year before being struck down with a groin injury. It kept him out for the rest of the year. From what I have seen the kid oozes class. Has pace and skills are good. Pre season was decent and he will get plnety of game time this season.
Hislop only played in the seniors once last year and seemed very classy. Seen the least of him from the 6. Misdemenours in the pre season robbed the Bomber fans of the chance to see him play. Unfortunate and he faces an uphill battle to get a spot in the seniors. Plenty of competition.
Davey you have seen. Enough said.
Houli played in the seniors last year before getting dropped. He didnt make it make into the Essendon team. Showed promise last year but has taken his game to a new level. Class. Rewarded with a Round 1 nominaton. Gets the hard ball. A steal so late in the draft.
Reimers debut last season. Didnt do too much but played reasonably well over the pre season. Snuck a few goals in most games and was mildly surprised not to see him in the team Round 1. Lonergan pushed him out. At pick 48, he looks a keeper and I look forward to seeing him in the Essendon team.
Of course you cant expect too much from Hampson. What exactly is your point? I havent trodden on him and labelled him a hack. Dont want the boy to feel too much pressure. Still very young. Sure you'd expect him to show glimpses of what he is capable of but if you expect him to make an enormous impact on the game then you could be in for some disappointment. I dont expect Gumbleton, Houli etc. to take games by the scruff of the neck. That would be unreasonable. Excitedly awaiting our clash.

Are you needing to reassess your thoughts??

Should be a cracker of a match, I would love to see Ryder go forward as I think we have one to many tall backmen for your forward line and would love to see Waite on him IMO it would be a great contest. Its always hard to match up on Fev but I think with Mal slimming down he should get the job on him. Dons should win unless Judd and Stevens get there bodies right they have looked terrible the last 2 weeks. I think the winner of the match will have alot to do with how damaging Murphy and Carrazzo are.

are you kidding??

Both Judd and Stevens were great against the Tigers.

Against the Saints Judd was here and there but fought hard, Stevens found it a bit hard going....

....but both far far far from terrible!!

are you kidding??

Both Judd and Stevens were great against the Tigers.

Against the Saints Judd was here and there but fought hard, Stevens found it a bit hard going....

....but both far far far from terrible!!

Judd and Stevens were good against the Tigers but still nowhere near their best, Judd still looks very sluggish and slow, obviously still recovering from his injury not sure whether he need more time to rest as we saw what happened last year when he played. Hopefully he can come good as the games go on.

Judd was tagged well against the Saints by Fisher......who did a great job the week before on Goodes.

The bombers taggers are not all that good TBH. Peverill on Judd......can't wait.

Stevens was good vs Saints in that he won the ball well, but he sprayed it. Very out of character and he will bounce back.

The most plaesing thing is young Murphy has put two stellar games together and appears to be taking his game to the next level as we all hoped he would.

He really hurt the bombers last year, and is on target to di it again as the best run with players fight over the injured Judd and unfit Stevens.

Good luck sorting that one out.

My main concern is getting the Bombers on the rebound. Their pride will be hurt after this week, and they are not as bad as what they dished up.

Then again neither are we.

Should be a great game.:thumbsu:

Why are the Bummers so on fire and we're not??