Roast Why can't we defend? A deep dive

Why can’t we defend the ground? Not just now – not ever (well, not since we were any good)

Every season we hear the same old barbs, Essendon are leaky, they can’t defend, easy to play against. We hear the coach spout the same messages, its not lack of effort, they are all trying, we are as frustrated as you, be patient.

Maybe it’s time to look a little deeper, see if we can’t find out why systemically we just cant defend an AFL ground.

First of all, let’s not pretend defending an AFL ground is an easy thing to do, we have the largest playing space of almost any sport, there are different spaces and angles that open up at every play… in soccer or basketball you can just compress the space. We don’t have the luxury (anymore) The AFLs rule changes are all geared towards opening the game up and stopping teams dragging better teams down for a slog. Currently one player being out of positions can set of a chain reaction that makes the entire team look stupid, lazy and undisciplined.

When Scott says its not about effort, the effort is there, the GPS tells us we are running as much as anyone, I believe him, in my humble, defence relies more on system than effort. My mind casts back to when I played this old stager at squash – I had him for age, physicality, manoeuvrability… 20 minutes later I was sweating, hunched over, nearly dead, he smashed me.. I was running around like an idiot, he was almost rooted to the spot – just knew where to stand, and where and when to hit it. Structure > Effort. Of course there is a place for effort in defence, it’s the first line of defence, pressure on the ball carrier. If that happens and you can either panic them into a mistake, or get them to kick some dirty ball, your job has become infinitely easier.

The good teams barely look like they are trying or putting in any effort, they know their starting positions, they react to the play early, they trust their teammates to cover and they know when to roll up, fill space or hold shape. It’s actually a beautiful dance to watch a team that fully in sync, moving as one across the ground like a web, they aren’t doing the work, the structure is doing the work..

Clearly our biggest issue is transition defence, Most goals come from here because you are already spread out in attack formation and your defenders are outnumbered. A team who knows how to defend properly are already holding exit positions and guarding the dangerous space, while anticipating the next kick…In a nutshell, bad teams chase the error, good teams defend before the error. Guess which one we are?

Good teams recognise danger earlier, close space faster, get numbers where they are needed quicker, force dirty ball or bad kicks and force you wide, Bad teams do, or try to do all these things but at a slower rate which makes them look reactionary, lazy, not two way runners.

So why are we a bad team?

A lot of it is chemistry, we just don’t have mature leaders who read the play, we don’t have trust in our teammates, communication seems poor, we miss kicks, we take poor options, we fumble and panic under pressure, all of this breaks down any structure you are trying to maintain. In the new game of AFL, turnovers punish poor structures savagely…teams just play checkers until they score, again. I do feel for the players, they react late to danger, They have no defensive cohesion, poor skill errors destroy structure, They lack experienced readers of play. Like me playing squash, they’re running hard but running the wrong patterns or reacting too slowly makes it seem like they’re doing nothing. It's about this time you go into self preservation mode and the goose is cooked.

OK im sure we all knew most of that, we have eyes, but why us? Why does it seem that we as a club have a particular issue with defence, across eras more than most?

Number 1, ever since Matthew Knights came in, we’ve had a long term identity of attack over defence. fast ball movement, we prioritised run and gun, corridor play, drafted skill-based attacking players over defensively strong ones.

When you build your identity on “run and gun,” it creates a kind legacy where defensive habits and defensive systems are undervalued and underdeveloped, worse still, players are selected for flair more than for discipline

Once this identity is embedded, I reckon you are cooked. It even subconsciously affects little things like body positioning in contests, even whether you stand goal side or defensive side of a contest.

Number 2, recruiting. Thanks to a certain jacket wearer, we have prioritised the drafting of outside runners, smooth movers, line-breaking kicks, attacking half-backs, flashy mids, zone off tall defenders while totally neglecting defensively minded mids, disciplined half-forwards, genuine lockdown smalls, tall defenders who can win 1v1s…

Across 10–20 years, that compounds into not only a mindset, but a bloody ethos, Even if the list looks talented, it will be structurally fragile, and mentally fragile.

Number 3, continuity… how many coaches have we had in the last 20 years? The great clubs have stability, a system that stays while the people and players move in and out of it. We have what appears to be a series of half learnt structures that then get tossed out for the next coach to try another one

Number 4, and this is the biggest one in my mind. We have a culture that does not reward defensive behaviours. When was the last time you saw a bunch of players go over and congratulate a player for a smother or a great tackle? Like they do after a player kicks a goal? Other teams do it. We as a culture reward: high-possession games, flashy ball movement, players who take attacking risks, attacking highlights over defensive reliability. What does this type of mentality produce? Mids who don’t defend, half-backs who run forward early, forwards who don’t press, defenders who zone off at the wrong times because they are always wanting to attack.

Ergo, This is not about effort at all, the effort is there, it’s about what the club subconsciously values. We don’t value defence.

There are three key pillars to a great team defence in my opinion, and we don’t have any of them.

A Luke Hodge style defensive general in the back half who can organise, read the play and generally set standards and crucially hold others accountable. Maybe its ridley, maybe we just got unlucky?

An elite defensive minded 2 way running mid who organises shape at stoppage and again drives defensive standards and holds others accountable.

A manic set of small forward tacklers who can pressure the ball coming out, or better still lock the ball in.

Without these three components, systems break more easily, communication is shot and players choose when they defend, its negotiable.

Defensive leadership is generational; if you don’t have it, it doesn’t suddenly appear. We have not had it for… counts fingers, have we ever had it? Dodo was too busy worrying about flair and flankers.

He consistently drafted players who are skilful but not combative, run hard but don’t crash in, can accumulate but don’t defend instinctively – over time this doesn’t just become a problem, it becomes an identity.

How do we redress it? Well ****… slowly it would seem, but part of it has to be flushing out all remnants of the old guard before it poisons the new crew. Start incentivising defensive habits and traits, I want 5 players to go and congratulate every defensive act that stops a goal. Draft the next Hodge and Dunkley, actually every player we draft MUST have defensive attributes and mindset along with leadership. We need to start this thing from ground zero. Its going to hurt, we might look like shit for a few years but will it be any worse than now?

Scott has tried and is trying – hes just playing with a loaded deck.

Why can’t we defend the ground? Not just now – not ever (well, not since we were any good)

Every season we hear the same old barbs, Essendon are leaky, they can’t defend, easy to play against. We hear the coach spout the same messages, its not lack of effort, they are all trying, we are as frustrated as you, be patient.

Maybe it’s time to look a little deeper, see if we can’t find out why systemically we just cant defend an AFL ground.

First of all, let’s not pretend defending an AFL ground is an easy thing to do, we have the largest playing space of almost any sport, there are different spaces and angles that open up at every play… in soccer or basketball you can just compress the space. We don’t have the luxury (anymore) The AFLs rule changes are all geared towards opening the game up and stopping teams dragging better teams down for a slog. Currently one player being out of positions can set of a chain reaction that makes the entire team look stupid, lazy and undisciplined.

When Scott says its not about effort, the effort is there, the GPS tells us we are running as much as anyone, I believe him, in my humble, defence relies more on system than effort. My mind casts back to when I played this old stager at squash – I had him for age, physicality, manoeuvrability… 20 minutes later I was sweating, hunched over, nearly dead, he smashed me.. I was running around like an idiot, he was almost rooted to the spot – just knew where to stand, and where and when to hit it. Structure > Effort. Of course there is a place for effort in defence, it’s the first line of defence, pressure on the ball carrier. If that happens and you can either panic them into a mistake, or get them to kick some dirty ball, your job has become infinitely easier.

The good teams barely look like they are trying or putting in any effort, they know their starting positions, they react to the play early, they trust their teammates to cover and they know when to roll up, fill space or hold shape. It’s actually a beautiful dance to watch a team that fully in sync, moving as one across the ground like a web, they aren’t doing the work, the structure is doing the work..

Clearly our biggest issue is transition defence, Most goals come from here because you are already spread out in attack formation and your defenders are outnumbered. A team who knows how to defend properly are already holding exit positions and guarding the dangerous space, while anticipating the next kick…In a nutshell, bad teams chase the error, good teams defend before the error. Guess which one we are?

Good teams recognise danger earlier, close space faster, get numbers where they are needed quicker, force dirty ball or bad kicks and force you wide, Bad teams do, or try to do all these things but at a slower rate which makes them look reactionary, lazy, not two way runners.

So why are we a bad team?

A lot of it is chemistry, we just don’t have mature leaders who read the play, we don’t have trust in our teammates, communication seems poor, we miss kicks, we take poor options, we fumble and panic under pressure, all of this breaks down any structure you are trying to maintain. In the new game of AFL, turnovers punish poor structures savagely…teams just play checkers until they score, again. I do feel for the players, they react late to danger, They have no defensive cohesion, poor skill errors destroy structure, They lack experienced readers of play. Like me playing squash, they’re running hard but running the wrong patterns or reacting too slowly makes it seem like they’re doing nothing. It's about this time you go into self preservation mode and the goose is cooked.

OK im sure we all knew most of that, we have eyes, but why us? Why does it seem that we as a club have a particular issue with defence, across eras more than most?

Number 1, ever since Matthew Knights came in, we’ve had a long term identity of attack over defence. fast ball movement, we prioritised run and gun, corridor play, drafted skill-based attacking players over defensively strong ones.

When you build your identity on “run and gun,” it creates a kind legacy where defensive habits and defensive systems are undervalued and underdeveloped, worse still, players are selected for flair more than for discipline

Once this identity is embedded, I reckon you are cooked. It even subconsciously affects little things like body positioning in contests, even whether you stand goal side or defensive side of a contest.

Number 2, recruiting. Thanks to a certain jacket wearer, we have prioritised the drafting of outside runners, smooth movers, line-breaking kicks, attacking half-backs, flashy mids, zone off tall defenders while totally neglecting defensively minded mids, disciplined half-forwards, genuine lockdown smalls, tall defenders who can win 1v1s…

Across 10–20 years, that compounds into not only a mindset, but a bloody ethos, Even if the list looks talented, it will be structurally fragile, and mentally fragile.

Number 3, continuity… how many coaches have we had in the last 20 years? The great clubs have stability, a system that stays while the people and players move in and out of it. We have what appears to be a series of half learnt structures that then get tossed out for the next coach to try another one

Number 4, and this is the biggest one in my mind. We have a culture that does not reward defensive behaviours. When was the last time you saw a bunch of players go over and congratulate a player for a smother or a great tackle? Like they do after a player kicks a goal? Other teams do it. We as a culture reward: high-possession games, flashy ball movement, players who take attacking risks, attacking highlights over defensive reliability. What does this type of mentality produce? Mids who don’t defend, half-backs who run forward early, forwards who don’t press, defenders who zone off at the wrong times because they are always wanting to attack.

Ergo, This is not about effort at all, the effort is there, it’s about what the club subconsciously values. We don’t value defence.

There are three key pillars to a great team defence in my opinion, and we don’t have any of them.

A Luke Hodge style defensive general in the back half who can organise, read the play and generally set standards and crucially hold others accountable. Maybe its ridley, maybe we just got unlucky?

An elite defensive minded 2 way running mid who organises shape at stoppage and again drives defensive standards and holds others accountable.

A manic set of small forward tacklers who can pressure the ball coming out, or better still lock the ball in.

Without these three components, systems break more easily, communication is shot and players choose when they defend, its negotiable.

Defensive leadership is generational; if you don’t have it, it doesn’t suddenly appear. We have not had it for… counts fingers, have we ever had it? Dodo was too busy worrying about flair and flankers.

He consistently drafted players who are skilful but not combative, run hard but don’t crash in, can accumulate but don’t defend instinctively – over time this doesn’t just become a problem, it becomes an identity.

How do we redress it? Well ****… slowly it would seem, but part of it has to be flushing out all remnants of the old guard before it poisons the new crew. Start incentivising defensive habits and traits, I want 5 players to go and congratulate every defensive act that stops a goal. Draft the next Hodge and Dunkley, actually every player we draft MUST have defensive attributes and mindset along with leadership. We need to start this thing from ground zero. Its going to hurt, we might look like shit for a few years but will it be any worse than now?

Scott has tried and is trying – hes just playing with a loaded deck.

This has been a consistent issue under multiple head coaches, with different coaching panels, and different fitness staff. The only constant through all of this was list management.

This isn't a 'just change the head coach and it'll fix everything situation'. You can only work with the cattle you've got, and right now ours aren't great.

If Scott has lost the playing group and can't get them to put in effort every week then that's on him and he's in trouble. If the playing group is going out and giving everything they've got and they're just shit, that's on the list management team (of which we're only 2 drafts in to the new regime).

I suspect we're seeing a bit of both playing out right now. Some disillusionment in the senior cohort meaning they're not putting in the effort they should, and that senior cohort not being strong defensive running players anyway so less effort is very noticable. The younger guys Rosa has brought in are a bit TBC on the defensive running front.

Durham is probably the only senior body in the middle right now that's actually doing the defensive work. At one point in the first half he had 50% of the teams tackles.

This has been a consistent issue under multiple head coaches, with different coaching panels, and different fitness staff. The only constant through all of this was list management.

This isn't a 'just change the head coach and it'll fix everything situation'. You can only work with the cattle you've got, and right now ours aren't great.

If Scott has lost the playing group and can't get them to put in effort every week then that's on him and he's in trouble. If the playing group is going out and giving everything they've got and they're just shit, that's on the list management team (of which we're only 2 drafts in to the new regime).

I suspect we're seeing a bit of both playing out right now. Some disillusionment in the senior cohort meaning they're not putting in the effort they should, and that senior cohort not being strong defensive running players anyway so less effort is very noticable. The younger guys Rosa has brought in are a bit TBC on the defensive running front.

Durham is probably the only senior body in the middle right now that's actually doing the defensive work. At one point in the first half he had 50% of the teams tackles.

Durham and Caldwell seem like two great starting points but they are being overwhelmed and were fumbly AF, you can't plug 50 holes with two fingers

Have we actually drafted that many skilled ball users? Seems like half our problems stem from having too many below average kicks and as a result we are unable to execute a game plan even if the players actually buy in in the first place

If I were to distill it down to one choice, Steinberg over Parker (hope I have my memory correct if that was the right one) Parker is 100% the guy you choose in this project

feel like it actually starts with the forward line and midfield.

- we dont have enough forwards that are capable of locking the ball in for repeat entries (key forwards that either can take a contested grab/bring the ball to ground and smalls that have speed to apply pressure/take advantage of ground ball in dispute). Our tall forwards are largely all lead up guys that need pinpoint delivery to be effective (which they arent going to get at essendon).

- Our midfield has no balance/variety in the set up, we have a lot of midfielders but most are all the same type of player /size. There is no trust within the team that the midfield will get the job done at the coal face so all the outside guys get drawn into the contest instead of holding their positioning, so once the oppo mids get a clean break out of congestion they will always find the extra guy on the outside because our man has been drawn in.

Having played last line of defence at a reasonable level, I can tell you that there is nothing more demoralising than seeing no forward/mid pressure on opposition backs & midfielders. It pretty quickly becomes every man for himself.
We should bring in a full time ex Rugby/Rugby league guy to not only teach proper tackling technique but just overall basics about defensive structure.
Yeah footy is 360 vs the straight line game that those codes are but I think the fundamentals of team defence is still the same. every man has to ensure they look after the guy they are guarding and conversely you need to trust your teammate to do play their role, dont get sucked in to leaving your man/zone to cover someone else because that just creates a bigger hole in the defensive structure.

Recently I'd say Rosa is picking guys that have decent skills at worst. With Farrow & Johnson being genuinely great kicks by the looks of it.

I don't think he's drafted anyone that's actively poor by foot.

Are we worse at defending the ground because we have to do it so often? Is there a stat for time in possession? Do we put ourselves under pressure and make mistakes that we don’t make in training?

Training something is you practicing something in a sterile scenario... It's not really teaching you how to allow your structure to move, stretch and close when the ball comes in at differing scenarios.

I think the best teams structure adapts to what is thrown at them play to play. It's about creating order out of chaos. Here is where the leaders and play readers have to take the lead

We seem to be folding into predetermined positions, while the other team literally picks a little kick over it to a free man.

Training something is you practicing something in a sterile scenario... It's not really teaching you how to allow your structure to move, stretch and close when the ball comes in at differing scenarios.

I think the best teams structure adapts to what is thrown at them play to play. It's about creating order out of chaos. Here is where the leaders and play readers have to take the lead

We seem to be folding into predetermined positions, while the other team literally picks a little kick over it to a free man.
Yep and I think that's part of the issue. We don't have on-field leadership, or enough of it, to work with an adaptable structure. Some of those players are on the list but not on the field, but we need more of them.

And if you can't adapt in this modern version of the game, you will take very heavy losses.

The modern game is faster, momentum is more rewarding and more punishing when it swings against you. There are more play-on and advantage calls, a last touch rule between the arcs, and no ruck nominations. There's no time to stage a conference and be told where to be, or for a runner to go from the bench to tell them. By the time they're told the game has moved on 6 times over.

I just do not understand how we can have 18 blokes stacked into the oppositions forward 3rd of the ground...focussing on which blade of grass they must stand on...whist the opposition chip it around at will. Eventually we move to them creating holes and they take it in. Hit targets and score at ease. If we have to guard space, be close enough to someone to be able spoil. 300 plus marks to them over the first 2 weeks tells me we are not focussed enough on getting close enough to them to apply pressure and spoil/intercept. If you can't do that stand next to someone ffs. We can't transition if we do turn it over because we are so deep too often and are not skilful enough to move at pace and execute (McGrath/Parish etc.). They sometimes try but run into trouble and their lack of poise from one player in that chain lets us down resulting in a panic dump kick forward or giving it to someone under the pump and making it his problem. Shit decision making.

We cannot stop transition because we have weak players through our midfield and defence that won't or cannot run both ways.

Our more experienced players were introduced to AFL footy post saga and I believe we were being too nice to the affected group after what we put them through...and these new young brigade did not learn the right way to play early on and we really see the holes in their makeup now.

I just do not understand how we can have 18 blokes stacked into the oppositions forward 3rd of the ground...focussing on which blade of grass they must stand on...whist the opposition chip it around at will. Eventually we move to them creating holes and they take it in. Hit targets and score at ease. If we have to guard space, be close enough to someone to be able spoil. 300 plus marks to them over the first 2 weeks tells me we are not focussed enough on getting close enough to them to apply pressure and spoil/intercept. If you can't do that stand next to someone ffs. We can't transition if we do turn it over because we are so deep too often and are not skilful enough to move at pace and execute (McGrath/Parish etc.). They sometimes try but run into trouble and their lack of poise from one player in that chain lets us down resulting in a panic dump kick forward or giving it to someone under the pump and making it his problem. Shit decision making.

We cannot stop transition because we have weak players through our midfield and defence that won't or cannot run both ways.

Our more experienced players were introduced to AFL footy post saga and I believe we were being too nice to the affected group after what we put them through...and these new young brigade did not learn the right way to play early on and we really see the holes in their makeup now.

Think it's referred to as teasing distance, that gap that looks big enough for your opponent to take on the kick , but you've actually tricked them into it as you can intecept.

Problem is, we arnt teasing we are rooted to our witches hat. Daisy had it bang on... JHF was watching the hips, as soon as he saw the Essendon players hips move he knew he was about to switch play and was already on his bike to intercept. This is the hallmark of a team defensively switched on vs one who is acting out a plan from a whiteboard.

this has been a constant not touched on too deeply by HM.

Our inability to hit dangerous kicks and open games up sees us chase tail when we do turn the ball over.

The mark - kick play over the year sees opposition teams just set up and wait for us to invariably turn the ball over

Recently I'd say Rosa is picking guys that have decent skills at worst. With Farrow & Johnson being genuinely great kicks by the looks of it.

I don't think he's drafted anyone that's actively poor by foot.
Rosa certainly seems to have prioritised skills, along with competitiveness.

But prior to that it hasn’t seemed like it was something we really targeted through the draft. The only genuinely elite kicks I can recall are Merrett, Ridley, Martin and Reid which is piss poor over such a long period.

Rosa certainly seems to have prioritised skills, along with competitiveness.

But prior to that it hasn’t seemed like it was something we really targeted through the draft. The only genuinely elite kicks I can recall are Merrett, Ridley, Martin and Reid which is piss poor over such a long period.

What did we prioritise then? certainty wasnt toughness , leadership or defence.

Was it just nice families? Athletes maybe?

Defending the ground starts from the forward line. We can talk about mids defending the ground, but forward pressure is the most important defence.

There's one team you need to look at who've done this so well for about 20 years and that's Collingwood. They haven't had the talent of teams like Geelong, Sydney, GWS, Brisbane, Hawthorn, Richmond and Gold Coast, yet they continuously compete with the best. Why? Because their forward half is stacked with competitors, even if they are battlers.

Their forward press slows ball movement to allow them to play a forward half game, which then makes it much easier to defend up the ground. Even a fraction of hesitation coming out of defence gives Collingwood players enough time to set up and either force a turnover or bring the ball to ground.

For us, our talls don't compete, which means opposition intercept markers run loose. Our small and medium forwards do not provide defensive pressure, which means our attack is easily rebounded with speed. Players across the field are then caught out of position (sometimes due to laziness or not responding quick enough defensively) and we can't do anything but concede a defensive 50 entry, where we rely on defenders caught out of position to defend an unfavourable entry.

Much has been made of our midfield woes (and rightly so), but our forwardline goes under the radar for how shit it's been the last 20 years.

2018 was probably the best ground defensive I've seen outside of 2014 under Bomber. We were way too defensive in 2014 though.

Another big issue is skills coming out of defence. There's no point having a gameplan when the defenders turn the ball over at half back.

Defending the ground starts from the forward line. We can talk about mids defending the ground, but forward pressure is the most important defence.

There's one team you need to look at who've done this so well for about 20 years and that's Collingwood. They haven't had the talent of teams like Geelong, Sydney, GWS, Brisbane, Hawthorn, Richmond and Gold Coast, yet they continuously compete with the best. Why? Because their forward half is stacked with competitors, even if they are battlers.

Their forward press slows ball movement to allow them to play a forward half game, which then makes it much easier to defend up the ground. Even a fraction of hesitation coming out of defence gives Collingwood players enough time to set up and either force a turnover or bring the ball to ground.

For us, our talls don't compete, which means opposition intercept markers run loose. Our small and medium forwards do not provide defensive pressure, which means our attack is easily rebounded with speed. Players across the field are then caught out of position (sometimes due to laziness or not responding quick enough defensively) and we can't do anything but concede a defensive 50 entry, where we rely on defenders caught out of position to defend an unfavourable entry.

Much has been made of our midfield woes (and rightly so), but our forwardline goes under the radar for how shit it's been the last 20 years.

2018 was probably the best ground defensive I've seen outside of 2014 under Bomber. We were way too defensive in 2014 though.

Another big issue is skills coming out of defence. There's no point having a gameplan when the defenders turn the ball over at half back.

It's also an overall mindset of valuing defence.

Remember when Nicks walked into Adelaide and was trying to Sydney up the place with defensive actions, was copping much resistance. He had that infamous meeting where he told Brad Crouch to do it or **** off somewhere else. (Off to STK next trade period)

Could you imagine Brad Scott saying to Parish do it or **** off somewhere else? No, and that's why we are where we are and Adelaide are going where they are going.