why did we ...

• Thread starter Thread starter kidstyler

Ripper said:
So you would rather have Hurn than Tarrant, Ysaye?

Yep, Hurn is 18/19 and by the time he is 25 will be twice the player Tarrant is. No point you guys drafting in the super draft in 2006, your results in the last super draft of 2001 show you would be out of your depth!

Jimbob said:
Yep, Hurn is 18/19 and by the time he is 25 will be twice the player Tarrant is. No point you guys drafting in the super draft in 2006, your results in the last super draft of 2001 show you would be out of your depth!

Look at the top 20 picks of the superdraft, and pick out the superstars after the first 3 picks.

Trading pick 13 was a calculated risk and no doubt the draftee would have been more risky than Tarrant.

Tarrant is only 25 and is a gun :thumbsu:

Kenny_01 said:
Look at the top 20 picks of the superdraft, and pick out the superstars after the first 3 picks.

Trading pick 13 was a calculated risk and no doubt the draftee would have been more risky than Tarrant.

Tarrant is only 25 and is a gun :thumbsu:

Tarrant is NOT a gun! He is a disillusioned footballer who threatened to walk out of Collingwood previously and who has stated publicly that he wants to win a premiership. How long do you reckon he is going to put in when this premiership at Freo doesn’t materialise. Plenty of players have left clubs searching for premierships at other clubs and pulled up short…Buckley, Colbert etc. Players searching for premierships rarely find them!

Ripper said:
So you would rather have Hurn than Tarrant, Ysaye?

Yes.

And for what it is worth, I would have preferred if they had taken Hurn over Drum as well last year, even if (and I leaning towards this idea) Drum turns out to be the better player.

The point I am making is that a cohesive team is more important than just collecting a bunch of players (whether they be champions or no) that can play well. Let me give you an example -For years we have played the Irish with a selection of AAs with only mixed success.

Enter Sheedy, and he doesn't take the best players but a team that will cause the most damage in relation to the opposition and the rules of the game. Next thing we find is that the Irish can't compete.

I firmly believe we need a footy-skilled centreman of standard AFL height (IE Not below 180cm) and reasonable speed from a team perspective. Hurn would have given us that. Yes he might not turned out, or he might turn out to be injury ridden.

I hate to point to the folks down the road, but there is a point to there midfield gathering. Far from collecting "good" players, it gives them a competitive advantage in the area of the ground where 80% of the game is played. If you can't get the ball in the middle, it is very hard to make use of your forwards.

Building up a forward line is no use if you don't have the midfield to get it there. Look at the Saints - they probably have had the best forward line in almost ten years and yet now they can't take advantage of it because they are getting killed in the midfield. They lack speed and strength. They were at their best when they had Aussie Jones, and the loss of Hayes was huge to them this season.

Jimbob said:
Tarrant is NOT a gun! He is a disillusioned footballer who threatened to walk out of Collingwood previously and who has stated publicly that he wants to win a premiership. How long do you reckon he is going to put in when this premiership at Freo doesn’t materialise. Plenty of players have left clubs searching for premierships at other clubs and pulled up short…Buckley, Colbert etc. Players searching for premierships rarely find them!

Hhhmm...

Help me out people because I am sure there are heaps of them. But off the top of my head..

Barry Hall
Tyson Stenglein
Daniel Chick
Colbert???....didnt he play in a roos flag team??

Ysaye said:
Yes.

And for what it is worth, I would have preferred if they had taken Hurn over Drum as well last year, even if (and I leaning towards this idea) Drum turns out to be the better player.

The point I am making is that a cohesive team is more important than just collecting a bunch of players (whether they be champions or no) that can play well. Let me give you an example -For years we have played the Irish with a selection of AAs with only mixed success.

Enter Sheedy, and he doesn't take the best players but a team that will cause the most damage in relation to the opposition and the rules of the game. Next thing we find is that the Irish can't compete.

I firmly believe we need a footy-skilled centreman of standard AFL height (IE Not below 180cm) and reasonable speed from a team perspective. Hurn would have given us that. Yes he might not turned out, or he might turn out to be injury ridden.

I hate to point to the folks down the road, but there is a point to there midfield gathering. Far from collecting "good" players, it gives them a competitive advantage in the area of the ground where 80% of the game is played. If you can't get the ball in the middle, it is very hard to make use of your forwards.

Building up a forward line is no use if you don't have the midfield to get it there. Look at the Saints - they probably have had the best forward line in almost ten years and yet now they can't take advantage of it because they are getting killed in the midfield. They lack speed and strength. They were at their best when they had Aussie Jones, and the loss of Hayes was huge to them this season.

I think you are seriously underrating our own midfields performance , particularly in the last half of the year.

It managed to run with the much vaunted WC line up not once but twice.

Ysaye said:
Yes.

Hurn is old news and may or may not turn out to be special..

But please tell me where this skilled centreman was in this years trade period and what guarantee is there that we would draft one in this years draft???

We made the right move for the club and the depth to cover the midfield with our group.

bushie said:
Hhhmm...

Help me out people because I am sure there are heaps of them. But off the top of my head..

Barry Hall
Tyson Stenglein
Daniel Chick

Nick Davis
Blake Caracella

bushie said:
Hhhmm...

Barry Hall
Tyson Stenglein
Daniel Chick

Stenglien and Chick wanted to come home to WA, Stenglien and Chad Fletcher have been best friends since primary school so West Coast was his choice.
They didn't come to win premierships, geez we have had to beat Adelaide in both our Prelims that led to GF's, so Stenglien would have had just as much chance at the Crows.

The only other player I can remember saying they wanted to leave a club because he wanted to win a premiership was Buckley when he left Brisbane. We all know how that turned out! :D

bushie said:
Hurn is old news and may or may not turn out to be special..

But please tell me where this skilled centreman was in this years trade period and what guarantee is there that we would draft one in this years draft???

We made the right move for the club and the depth to cover the midfield with our group.

If they could so forcibly go after Tarrant, why couldn't Simon Black, Daniel Wells or Daniel Kerr been targeted? Or if you are prepared to look outside SoO, why not formulate some scheme to get at Jude Bolton, Brett Burton, Daniel Cross or Lenny Hayes?

As for drafting, there is no guarantee with anything. There is no guarantee that Peake will improve his kicking or that Drum, Mundy or Johnson will have enough endurance either or be effective midfielders. Pick Eight in this years draft would have been fairly close to the mark for a normally Top 3 Midfielder like Selwood, assuming the lower clubs rush for the KP players.

Ysaye said:
If they could so forcibly go after Tarrant, why couldn't Simon Black, Daniel Wells or Daniel Kerr been targeted? Or if you are prepared to look outside SoO, why not formulate some scheme to get at Jude Bolton, Brett Burton, Daniel Cross or Lenny Hayes?

As for drafting, there is no guarantee with anything. There is no guarantee that Peake will improve his kicking or that Drum, Mundy or Johnson will have enough endurance either or be effective midfielders. Pick Eight in this years draft would have been fairly close to the mark for a normally Top 3 Midfielder like Selwood, assuming the lower clubs rush for the KP players.

Because all the players you mentioned are either marquee players or highly paid and tied in with big contracts...

But the most important point is that none of them (publicly) expressed a desire to leave their clubs where Taz did.

As for our younger blokes not improving enough to be consistent top flight players....at least they have already shown enough at the top level to prove they have the potential to become the type of players that we require....but a draft pick is a blind gamble on a boy showing potential against other boys.

bushie said:
Hhhmm...

Barry Hall
Tyson Stenglein
Daniel Chick

Where did Hall, Stenglien and Chick say in the media that they left their respective clubs to win a flag?

Oh and which flag did Leigh Colbert, former 1999 Geelong Captain win at the Roos?

Ysaye said:
Nick Davis
Blake Caracella

Oh dear. Davis wanted to go home! and Caracella was a victim of salary cap pressure....

Ripper said:
Mal Micheal.

Mal Michael was traded to Brisbane in 2001 along with a draft pick for Jarrod Molloy to Collingwood. He did not say he wanted to leave Collingwood to join Brisbane to win a flag ala Tarrant. Do we all understand now?

I know you Freo guys have some difficulty learning problems but surely you understand that. We can all name a 100 players who have joined other clubs and won a premiership, but how many said they left club x specificity to join club y to win a flag!

Jimbob said:
Mal Michael was traded to Brisbane in 2001 along with a draft pick for Jarrod Molloy to Collingwood. He did not say he wanted to leave Collingwood to join Brisbane to win a flag ala Tarrant. Do we all understand now?

I know you Freo guys have some difficulty learning problems but surely you understand that. We can all name a 100 players who have joined other clubs and won a premiership, but how many said they left club x specificity to join club y to win a flag!

Yes thanks for your undoubted wisdom...and to be fair you are probably right in your assumption about players saying they are leaving to win a flag.

What I am struggling with is...what is your point?? And, if you have one, what relevance does it have to Tarrant joining Freo.

I await your noble retort with bated breath.

Ripper said:
:thumbsu:

What is with WC supporters talking him down after it was their club that encouraged him to come West in the first place?

:confused:
Spot on Ripper! It reeks of a self defense mechanism to me.

West Coast could have been nigh on unstoppable next year with Tarrant, Lynch, Staker and Hansen capitalisizing on their midfield strength.

Young power forwards (even quality ones) can't make an immediate impact in the AFL strraight from the draft table, and quality experienced power forwards don't often come up in trade week.

West Coast actively sought him but didn't have the cojones to pull the trigger when it came down to it.

I think a few Weagle fans are a ittle upset they didn't get their man. They are scoffing at the price we paid now, but I think it is more a case of misdirected anger at their own clubs stubborn stance.

Poor misguided fools.

Ripper said:
It managed to run with the much vaunted WC line up not once but twice.

WC managed to beat Brisbane in their prime too. Did that make WC a better team? Absolutely not.

I'm not going to put down Tarrant, I would have liked him at WC. However, we're very good at keeping our interstate players, that's why we weren't going to send Rosa back to Victoria.

I personally thought Fremantle would have been better off with another speedy midfielder. Anyhoo, it shall be an interesting 2007.

Ripper said:
:thumbsu:

What is with WC supporters talking him down after it was their club that encouraged him to come West in the first place?

:confused:

West Coast didnt encourage him to leave, he stated in the media he wanted to leave and play for a premiership side. The one is he stated was West Coast. Freo decided that they were going to trump West Coast but needed to do some fast talking to get Tarrant to come to the purps!

No one is saying Tarrant isnt a handy pick up, but to state he is a GUN and the missing link to the 2007 flag is deluding yourself. If he was such a gun Collingwood wouldnt have let him go at any price. A handy pickup for West Coast, yes, but at any price, no!

Freo have a history of overcooking trades and for some reason love paying new car prices for used cars!

Ysaye said:
Pick Eight in this years draft would have been fairly close to the mark for a normally Top 3 Midfielder like Selwood, assuming the lower clubs rush for the KP players.

Selwood has already had knee operations, and like all players there is no guarantee. Look at the top 20 picks in the last "super" draft and then look at the percentage rates for success. After the fabled, fab three, it dives immediately. Polak was probably rated as highly as most of the KPP's in this draft, or certainly in the same bracket and was going to be selected #1 by the dockers. No guarentees with draft picks.

Jimbob said:
Oh dear. Davis wanted to go home! and Caracella was a victim of salary cap pressure....

Dear self proclaimed genius, could you please put up the list of players who said they wanted to be traded to win a flag? Several have been named who said they wanted to and were successful. How many have said they wanted to, and not been successful?