Why do you barrack for Richmond?

Ormond FC
Thought it would be interesting to find out why most Richmond supporters support Richmond. I'm talking about do you follow the Tiges because your dad did, you liked their uniform, some hot chick at school liked them, you think they're the greatest side on earth, grew up through their era of dominance etc.

For me it's because my Dad did and so did his Dad.

Short answer, I'm insane.

Long answer, none of my family liked footy but I loved it since conception. So subsequently I was a confused young man and after dabbles at Essendon, West Coast and Sydney in my preschool days, I finally settled in on Richmond mainly due to my favourite animal being the tiger. My footy mad mate at the time also escorted me to the tiges before he jumped on the Melbourne bandwagon. Quite the merry-go-round.

Since the age of 5 I've been a true yellow and black fan and wouldn't change it for the world. And rest assured all the little hougie's will also don the famous colours.

u mean masochists, idiot. aren't u running late for a xavier college reunion?

for me, it's in the family. dad grew up in richmond so i never had a choice. it all started so well too, my first real footy memory is the 1980 GF.

Long story but here goes...my sister was dating a guy in Hobart who could play a bit by the name of Ian Stewart who left to play for the Saints. In Hobart he played for the Hobart Foootball Club, also the Tigers, who were the local side everyone followed. Gave me a Ditterich and Baldock signed jumper hence I became a Saints fan but still Tigers locally. In the famous swap he went to the Richmond and Barrot went to the Saints and I went with him, despite he and my sister being ancient history. Yes I know...I'm old..get stuffed!

Damn that Ian Stewart you must really hate him now :D

I used to support Fitzroy but when they amalgamated I still wanted to follow a Victorian team, so I chose Richmond.

People often query my decision not to support Brisbane :o

But I love the tigers now...

My story is actually quite embarrassing considering I made it all by myself as a six-year-old.
One day I was sitting in our loungeroom and decided I would barrack for either Essendon, Carlton or Richmond. I don;t know why but I choose Richmond. Dad barracked for Essendon, Mum didn't care less and barrack for Essendon coz Dad did.
I remember the moment clear as day. For a while there I made the right call, but after 1982 I sometimes wish I had chosen the other way.
Will make it all the more special when/if we ever get back to glory.
By the way, Mum started following Richmond with me. We'd listen to the radio together every Saturday arvo and she's as fanatical as me nowadays.
This thread beats the shyte out of another Richo bagging thread. :thumbsu:

I used to support Fitzroy but when they amalgamated I still wanted to follow a Victorian team, so I chose Richmond.

Good on you Colonel, I just about shed a tear when we smacked the RoyBoys in one of their last games. I felt no joy in that game.
I can remember feeling angry that a team was about to disappear. The Brisbane Lions AREN'T Fitzroy.
I didn't want the RoyBoys to die. ****in AFL.
The RoyBoys had many a great player. And a great jumper.
Very sad day for all Victorians when a Vic team dies.
Cheers

are you brett phillips pops by any chance?

i didnt choose to follow richmond i was just born a tiger and long may the pain continue!

Good on you Colonel, I just about shed a tear when we smacked the RoyBoys in one of their last games. I felt no joy in that game.
I can remember feeling angry that a team was about to disappear. The Brisbane Lions AREN'T Fitzroy.
I didn't want the RoyBoys to die. ****in AFL.
The RoyBoys had many a great player. And a great jumper.
Very sad day for all Victorians when a Vic team dies.
Cheers

Yeah, I loved Paul Roos, Bernie Quinlan, Alistair Lynch, Matty Primus... I cried my heart out when we lost to Freo.... absolutely balled my eyes out..:(

Unlike many of you I actually chose a lifetime of pain!!:eek:

Yes I was not a born Tiger as my folks really weren't into football at all, as a wee nipper of around 7 or 8 in my first season of junior footy I decided the tigers were the team for me:)

I grew up in the Essendon area - at primary school every kid who followed the game followed Essendon. My three brothers (all older) barracked for Essendon. But my parents were not interested in Footy being post war migrants (They came out in 1946).

When i was about 6 or 7 years old all the kids at school were at me to follow the Bombers , but i just could not do it - something told me no. When i found out that the bombers worn black with a red sash i asked someone which team had the nearest jumper to them - they said Richmond - black with gold sash. then i asked who was on the top of the ladder and sure enough that week it was Richmond. That was the moment - since then i have followed, no loved the tigers.

My mum who passed away 18 months ago knew nothing about footy but she knew i followed the tigers and always asked how they were going. ( where are the playing ? Against who are they playing? ) In her last 15 months she was slipping away with alzheimers and as i went into the home to visit her she remembered less and less and me and my family. About a month before she died i was visiting her and she knew me as a regular visitor but had no idea who i was in her life so i would just sit there and talk to her. This particular time i was talking to her telling her what i had done the last day or so (I was sure she had no idea who i was) I mentioned to her that Richmond had made an announcement (can't remember what it was) when i said thiis she turned around and looked at me and called me by my first name. The first time she had in about a year and the last time she did before she died.

For this alone i will be forever indebited to our great club and will always feel that my loyality has been repayed.

You can imagine how i feel everytime i hear the famous "Yellow and Black".

u mean masochists, idiot. aren't u running late for a xavier college reunion?

for me, it's in the family. dad grew up in richmond so i never had a choice. it all started so well too, my first real footy memory is the 1980 GF.
why would i go to xavier when i live in w.a.?

I arrived in Australia in November 1980, and who won the premiership that year? Yep. So jumped on the wagon that year and been following them ever since. Have wanted to stab myself a few times since then, but am still on the wagon.