Why does Bower always take on the opposition??

reg_lower91

May 7, 2007
Watsonia F.C.
Honestly, it shits me up the f#$%ing wall. Every time Bower gets the ball running out of the backline he looks so stylish, but he tries to do TOO much. He never "just passes it". He always feels the need to take on the opposition and usually gets caught or comes close to it! It really does shit me. It happened a few times on the saturday against Hawthorn too.

I like to see such confidence in the kid and I don't think Ratts should discourage it, but honestly, he needs to have a word to the kid and let him know that taking on the opp should be a sometimes thing.

Thoughts??

i dont mind him trying to take on the opposition, at least he has the confidence to do so. and with some more games under his belt and a little bit more mature strength he will be able to do it a little better.

he is still young and only played a dozen games.

i think his problem is disposal.

he likes to give hospital handpasses that not only dont hit a target properly but also has the forward spinning motion which means the ball dips and is harder to grab for his team mate

but he is improving. he will find his feet this year and play some solid games mid year i think!

Honestly, it shits me up the f#$%ing wall. Every time Bower gets the ball running out of the backline he looks so stylish, but he tries to do TOO much. He never "just passes it". He always feels the need to take on the opposition and usually gets caught or comes close to it! It really does shit me. It happened a few times on the saturday against Hawthorn too.

I like to see such confidence in the kid and I don't think Ratts should discourage it, but honestly, he needs to have a word to the kid and let him know that taking on the opp should be a sometimes thing.

Thoughts??

Because maybe that's his strength?? What a strange concept that you'd encourage a player to play to his strength :rolleyes:.

But seriously, I don't know why people expect the kids to be stars straight out of the box......we all know that his Decision Making is not the strongest point to his game, but it won't improve if he goes back into his shell......it would be like an inexperienced fire officer not wanting to deploy his troops on the fireline in case they get burnt over. You gain experience by doing ....of course he will make mistakes in the beginning, it is all part of developing experience. If he is doing the same things in 2-3 years and not learning and improving with experience then you probably have validity for your concerns.

Developing player; let him make his mistakes, and learn from them.

Jesus *&$#ing christ, we lost a practice match, let's start 22 threads highlighting the weaknesses of each players game? :eek::rolleyes:

Because maybe that's his strength?? What a strange concept that you'd encourage a player to play to his strength :rolleyes:.

But seriously, I don't know why people expect the kids to be stars straight out of the box......we all know that his Decision Making is not the strongest point to his game, but it won't improve if he goes back into his shell......it would be like an inexperienced fire officer not wanting to deploy his troops on the fireline in case they get burnt over. You gain experience by doing ....of course he will make mistakes in the beginning, it is all part of developing experience. If he is doing the same things in 2-3 years and not learning and improving with experience then you probably have validity for your concerns.

and how is he going to learn if there is no-one there to guide him and give him tips? that's why Ratts needs to tell him that taking on the opposition is great to see, but only soemtimes. Usually, the best way out of defence is, really, a "quick-kick". I know he is young and he is developing n blah blah blah but i think it is pretty much common sense when you should and/or shouldn't take on the opp in the defence.

Tips and education have to come at training, impossible during a game......what you fail to consider is that whether to take the opposition on is a split second decision in and of istself ..... A quick kick risks turning the ball over if you kick to a contest.....it is a high possesion game these days and not as simple as bang it on the boot to position 50m up the field.

It isn't common sense because it isn't like sitting in the stands with a nice comfy overview of the entire playing field, and the benefit of analysinig decisions 10 seconds after the fact.....it is about time pressure and perception of what is in front of you, both your players and opposition under conditions of time pressure.....natural footballers like chess mastrers can analyse these situations very quickly, others can't, large individual differences........in fact taking people on might be able to buy him some time and let the unfolding pattern of play become apparent....

I'm glad he takes on opposition, need players like him coming out of the back half. As someone else said, his disposal needs a bit of work.

This is Carlton's problem we don't have enough players prepared to run 15 meters with the ball before they handball or kick.

For christs sake don't discourage this in Bower, along with Judd & Walker he's the only one who does this.

I hope Benjamin develops I'm sure he'll tuck it under the arm & run.

runrunrunrunrunrunrunrunrunrun boys

I think its good to see him have the confidence to take them on.Its something he can develop more when he has stints in the 2s.With time he should sort out the disposal and we could have ourselves a very handy backman.

Jesus *&$#ing christ, we lost a practice match, let's start 22 threads highlighting the weaknesses of each players game? :eek::rolleyes:

Correct Gilly. If we had won it would have been thread after thread on 'peaking to early', 'why not concentrate on Rd 1', blah blah blah.

Did not look at Big Footy at all on Sunday wanted to wait until all the 'doomsayers' had had their go.

Unfortunately it seems the "spleen venters" are still out there.:confused:

Think I'll give it another couple of days and then see if it is safe to venture back into BF.:rolleyes:

Tips and education have to come at training, impossible during a game......

Now that's just dumb... your telling me a coach can't send out the runner to give the palyer a tip?? i saw denia pagan do it to Jordan Russell last year. Jordan ducked his head when marking, then Denis spoke to him and Jordan went back on and took a courageous mark.

what you fail to consider is that whether to take the opposition on is a split second decision in and of istself ..... A quick kick risks turning the ball over if you kick to a contest.....it is a high possesion game these days and not as simple as bang it on the boot to position 50m up the field.

Risking turning the ball over on the wing is much better than risking to turn to the ball over on the half-back line after trying to take on the opp. if you ask me.

It isn't common sense because it isn't like sitting in the stands with a nice comfy overview of the entire playing field, and the benefit of analysinig decisions 10 seconds after the fact.....it is about time pressure and perception of what is in front of you, both your players and opposition under conditions of time pressure.....natural footballers like chess mastrers can analyse these situations very quickly, others can't, large individual differences........in fact taking people on might be able to buy him some time and let the unfolding pattern of play become apparent....

so then why, when Bower knew he had a hawthorn player right behing him, and another one right in front of him, did he attempt to take them on? He had clear view of both men and knew both were there. That is just one example and it is common sense. it you have two men on your tail, especially in the backline, you don't take them on... that IS common sense really.

more than likely he would have been instructed to back himself

as a junior he was very good at running nad taking on the opposition, the problem he is no onger playing juniors, the opposition now are stronger fster and smarter.

his disposal is not great and his real asset is his run he is instructed to stop running & taking on the opposition he doesn't really offer anything more.

my impression of bower is that he is not a 'smart' footballer, he struggles to think his way through situations.
hopefully this will change with experience- but i ma not sure as this is his 3rd year in the system and this problem still exists.

patience is required but clubs can only be patient for so long.

Bower, along with Russell and Kennedy, featured in the 3-worst AFL players of all time trio at Carlton, now, we're rid of one of the trio, time to move on the remaining two of the three worst players in AFL History.

Bower to West Coast/Freo for their last pick in the draft
Russell to Adelaide/Port Adelaide for their last pick in the draft.

Done deals already

Now that's just dumb... your telling me a coach can't send out the runner to give the palyer a tip?? i saw denia pagan do it to Jordan Russell last year. Jordan ducked his head when marking, then Denis spoke to him and Jordan went back on and took a courageous mark.

That is different to instructing a player on how to play the game in general terms...you can't take a tip out to him during the play telling him whether to take a bloke on or slow it down, it is a split second decision and is incident dependant...that is what we are talkin about....that instinct some players have in the moment (e.g. Gibbs) and some don't have (Bower)... you can give him general tips but he has most probablybeen told to use his athletic prowess to take blokes on....how he does in a game in each single decision situaiton can't be determined by a runner's tip. It's not dumb, it's not difficult to comprehend

Risking turning the ball over on the wing is much better than risking to turn to the ball over on the half-back line after trying to take on the opp. if you ask me.

so then why, when Bower knew he had a hawthorn player right behing him, and another one right in front of him, did he attempt to take them on? He had clear view of both men and knew both were there. That is just one example and it is common sense. it you have two men on your tail, especially in the backline, you don't take them on... that IS common sense really.

IIRC the situation you are refering to he did not have much around him by way of support or blokes talking to him.

Bower, along with Russell and Kennedy, featured in the 3-worst AFL players of all time trio at Carlton, now, we're rid of one of the trio, time to move on the remaining two of the three worst players in AFL History.

Done deals already

You're going back to being a spanner, Bannister :rolleyes:.

Bowers development has been great.
Given their relative experience I'd say he beat Boyle Sat night.

The only thing he needs to do is improve his kicking......expect during the year to see Simmo, Walker, Scotty etc running past him a lot for the dish off.

I think his attack on the ball is great and gets opposition forwards chasing tail immediately. His defensive work has improved heaps.

I can't believe anyone has an issue with him other than for his disposal, which has improved. Better still his decision making has improved.....execution still with much room for improvement.

Done deals already
Can we trade DC to the Tiges Board?:D

i think bower did well, i enjoyed it when he backs himself, its a good thing, the only thing that he lets me down on is his decision making and the inability to hit a target

For all you know Ratts is telling him to play on at every opportunity. If he gets into trouble sometimes it's probably because someone downfield didn't present and left him without a clear option.

I'm perfectely happy watching Paul try to run out of defence. The guy is still young and is still trying to perfect the flaws in his ability to take on Half Back lines and win.

I reckon Ratten should continue doing what he's doing, as Paul is getting precious experience from each mistake.

I'm perfectely happy watching Paul try to run out fo defence. The guy is still young and is still trying to perfect the flaws in his ability to take on Half Back lines and win.

I reckon Ratten should continue doing what he's doing, as Paul is getting precious experience from each mistake.

I'd be happy too, if my heart would leave my mouth and resume it's rightful place in my chest cavity ;):p

Why does Bower always take on the opposition??