Why Essendon?

My family are Bomber fans, and in my younger days Dad used to take me to Windy Hill to watch the footy - and from there it was obvious I was going to continue the family line of Bomber support. I used to have Terry Daniher's number 5 on my duffle coat in those days - that dates me.:o But I've been a Bomber ever since and can't see any reason why I'd switch to someone else.:) :)

Im a fourth generation Bomber....and proud to be.
I love our Club.
Essendon always have been and always will be number one for me.

Why Essendon?.

I dont come from a family of 'Don supporters,but have been 1 all my life.As is my Daughter.

I'm a fourth generation Bomber also (and my younger sister), at least. Don't think it goes any further than that, they were Irish ;) The other side might have a longer footy supporting tradition, but heck, who'd want to have a Geelong history ;) Anyway, my mum, her parents, and her grandparents are all Essendon supporters, or were when they were alive (obviously). I could have ended up Geelong, but there was no way that was going to happen, I had plenty of family on mum's side to help brainwash me to the red and black :) And there is no way my future kids will support anyone but Essendon, or I'll disown them :D

My dear old grandad took me to the Lake Oval (remember the Lake Oval?) mid 1978 intent on moulding 9 year old Wally into the South Melbourne (remember them?) way of life. I remember catching the tram down Clarendon St., stopping to 'Have An Ale With The Whale'........raspberry on the rocks in my case......at The Cricket Club Hotel (hey windy, remember The Cricket Club?)

The Swans or 'Bloods' as grandad called (he STILL calls 'em that today) 'em were playing Essendon this day. It was p*ssing rain, 5 goals from a young T.Watson, 4 goals from Maxy Crow (remember Maxy windy?) and i was hooked. A five goal win to the Bombers and little Wally was to be a Bomber for rest of his days. Apart from Essendon winning the match, i never really took to South despite the old boys best intentions. To me, the red and black jumper looked better than South's red and white.

Grandad was a little disappoited in his first grandson's choice in life, but was still good enough to take me to watch the Bombers (provided we go and watch South the next week) until iwas old enough to go with my mates. So, as a kid, i got to see a lot of South in the late 70's. They were an awful team, but they were good days.

I still have a soft spot for 'The Bloods'.....even though grandad......in jest.....still calls me a 'turncoat'....... but i'm Essendon 'til i'm in the ground.

----------------------------------------------------------
EFC: We Hate You Too

When I was a youngan my old man said I went for Essendon or I found somewhere else to live and I've been Essendon ever since!!

My old man was an Essendon supporter. Unfortunetly, the first AFL Game I can remember was the 1990 Grand Final. My mum was a Collingwood supporter, and as they split up a couple of years before, so therefore Mum's house was all Collingwood, and Dad's place was all Essendon. So me and my older brother went around to Dad's place to watch Essendon win. I was only 10, so I didn't know much about the whole situation. It was a somber mood very early into the game, and at the game's conclusion, my Mum called up Dad'd place. When he answered the phone, she just began to sing the Collingwood team song.

Ever since then, I have supported Essendon, while the rest of the family began to support Brisbane.

Originally posted by mongrelpunt
Ever since then, I have supported Essendon, while the rest of the family began to support Brisbane. [/B]

Began to support Brisbane. Just curious, but was that before or after Round 10, 2001? :)

Originally posted by Stealth bomber
Began to support Brisbane. Just curious, but was that before or after Round 10, 2001? :)

Well before. We were at the 1996 Qualifying Final, where everyone around us was supporting the Bears, while me and the bloke next to me were supporting Essendon. When Wangas had that kick at goal, me and this guy jumped up celebrating, then when it hit the post, we slumped back into our chairs while the rest of the crowd went nuts.

So basically ever since then, they have supported Brisbane, but both my sisters have moved onto other clubs. Which is a good thing.

They therefore don't fit into the mould of a "modern day" Lions supporter.:D :D

Oh yeah, I assumed they were - I'm sure the majority of Brissy supporters honestly do go back to the Bears days, but you know the question had begged to be asked. :D

I suppose I should post my own reasons for supporting Essendon, since I started the thread.

As a kid I watched footy very casually from the States, but I did not have a team (although I distinctly remember not liking Collingwood!). I forgot about it for awhile, then became interested again when I met my Australian girlfriend (who I have since married). She and her family are all mad Essendon supporters.

The first week I was here, I saw Essendon beat the Bulldogs by four points in a real nail-biter of a game. It was the first game I'd seen in probably 10 years. About a week or so later, I went to see the Dons play Freo at the G, which was my first live game. Ironically, the date was July 4th. :)

I came into the game very late, and as I look back on it now I probably jumped on at the absolute best possible time - mid-1999 when things started to get good. I had no idea what was about to happen, for all I know Essendon could have been lousy and it wouldn't have mattered.

I haven't been an Essendon supporter as long as everyone else has, but I definitely made the right choice. I just couldn't ever see myself having chosen one of the other 15 clubs.

If I ever have kids, I'm going to make sure they become Bombers from the start, even if I don't stay in Australia.

Originally posted by windyhill
Born Essendon, Live Essendon , Die Essendon, one of the many fine things my old man passed on to me.

Ditto.

Missed four games since 1973-... (in Victoria) must keep run going

Not quite ditto ;)

I moved to Melbourne form Country NSW in early 1976. Lived and went to school in Essendon. A school mate arranged for us to go to a game at Windy Hill to see Essendon v Melbourne. We go free tickets from the school (they used to get several EFC Memberships to give out to the students) and went along. Never seen a game of Aussie Rules live before then, and only had limited exposure on the telly. However, after that experience, I was hooked.

BTW - The Bombers won and my mate didn't show up!!! I still went in, obviously. We ended up going to a few more games later on and he introduced me to the subtlities of footy following - like queuing up early to make sure we got a seat (only 3 rows of seats at Windy Hill in the outer), banging on the fence after a goal or when the oppostion were having a shot, keeping score in your record, getting the around the grounds scores etc. Little things that a wide eyed country boy had never experienced.

My family were among the first farmers in what became Essendon.

They farmed on an area stretching from near Puckle St up to what became Essendon Airport.

Strange but true, the family homestead still stands, not far from Windy Hill -- unfortunately, we no longer own it. Haven't done for at least 100 years. The family were squatters and got kicked off their allotment by then Premier Tommy Bent.

My great, great uncles both played footy and cricket with the Essendon sides of their day - it was just a natural thing to play with the local team.

As a kid, Dad either took me, or I walked to Windy Hill. My sons' first lullaby was the club song and they are already starting their collection of supporters gear (at 1 month and 16 months, respectively)

It just isn't questioned in our family. You are born, live and die an Essendon supporter. I cannot conceive life being any other way.

It is not meant as a put-down to anyone here, but I do not understand how someone can "choose" a footy club -- the whole idea of doing so is just so far outside my experience of life that I cannot begin to understand it -- in my family, Essendon was the only choice.

Was born Essendon, will live Essendon and will die Essendon. I know this statement has been said before ... but this is what Essendon means to me. I love this club!! It is a part of me and will be a part of my children and my children's children. The club for which dreams are made ... my club .. our club!

i was born in east melbourne, which was once home of essendon, but i lived in flemington for few years. however moved to essendon at the age of 6. reason i go for essendon, family. my mum and dad are from essendon and moonee ponds respectively, and my grandfather played for the essendon under 19's team that went the year undefeated. unfortunenatly he gave the game away when he got married but the mere fact that he played for them ment that all but one of his kids went for essendon.

Basically supported them because they were the old mans team and it was just Essendon, Essendon, Essendon. And really I wouldn't have it any other way.

I was born in Essendon, grew up in Essendon, and all my family on my Dads side were Essendon. (born there, lived there etc.)

My Mums family were all disinterested (funnily enough) Collingwood supporters, and were never quite as serious about the footy as my Dad's side.

I moved into melbourne when I was six. Dad was/is a norf supporter and had been to all the finals they'd been in and me Mum well she couldn't give a **** about footy. Anyway, I remember my Grandmum used to send me heaps of carlton stuff when I was living outside melbourne. Dad wasn't having any of that, and bannished any carlton stuff out of my room, and understandably so.

When we did move to melb, I saw mostly norf games being at the MCG. Saw a few melbourne ones, then we moved next door to Essendon. Anyway, that was it. I really didn't get into any team at all until primary school and it was all Essendon. Me cousins, uncles aunties Essendon. I thought the colours were **** hot and I played a few little league matches at Windy Hill and I was hooked. I sorta converted Dad in the process as he'd be taking me to games every week. :D