FattyLumpkin

RIP
Brisbane Lions
Woodville,Roys,NT Thunder
A nice little story in Saturday's Courier Mail about the roots of suburban VFL footy, with an emphasis on some longtime FFC supporters who basically lived a "droppy" from Brunswick St their entire lives. Can easily understand why such example would support Fitzroy, but what about the rest of us? Why do you (did you) support Fitzroy?

From my perspective, I honestly don't know. I was living in SA (pre formation of Crows) when I started an interest in VFL. No-one I was remotely interested in moved from SA to Fitzroy (in fact, being an old Woodville supporter, I probably should have supported North after Blighty moved there). Perhaps I'm just a supporter of the underdog (Woodville & Fitzroy - since shifted allegience to South in the SANFL & Peel in WA, not too mention Hereford, Halifax & Exeter in UK Soccer (all who have either been relegated or are so close to it)). Perhaps it's just me character that draws me to the battlers.??

Moved to Brisbane in '89 & followed the Bears in addition to Fitzroy. Became a Bears member when they moved to the Gabba. Note - yet another struggling team I chose to support. Not having ever been to a Fitzroy game in Vic, and with little understanding of the effect on you "dinkum" FFC fans, I was very, very happy with the merger purely for personal reasons - my two teams were now one. (However being an old Woody fan & having gone to a ton of games at old Pecker Park, I can no longer support the merged Eagles - I guess many of you old FFC fans feel the same with Brisbane).

Back to the original thread - why Fitzroy? Geographical location; friend/relative who once pulled on the jumper or just good taste?????

Cheers,

Fatty

I played with a team where everyone went for Carlton including Danial Southern (Who changed to a Saints supporter) but I fell in love of the jumper (A calsh of primatry colors)

Family tradition starting with my Great Grand father who played 1884-85, one side barracked for Fitzroy the other side barracked for Collingwood.
Grandfather lived in Freeman Street, next to the ground, Aunty had a milk bar in Brunny St opposite the ground.

Got it from my Mum and my Grandad, who grew up in North Carlton but for some reason followed the Roys.

Whe I was a kid growing up in Moorabbin there was only one other kid I know who barracked for the Roys, but even when we were hopeless and hardly able to win a game, I couldn't imagine barracking for anyone else.

Butch Gale and Len Smith's team in the late 50's ( should have made the GF in 1960 ) caught my fancy as a lad. Loved the combination of skill, speed and passion. Then I met some of the players who took time out to have a kick with an 8 year old after the game so I was hooked.

Everyone else supported Pies or Demons generally on sectarian grounds. I had no interest in all that.

Family tradition. Mum was born in North Fitzroy, went to Alfred Crescent Primary School and Fitzroy High School.

Dad came over from Italy as a kid during the 50's with his family and also resided in North Fitzroy.

My first game of footy was in '76 at the Junction. Dad picked Fitzroy as a kid in the late 50s (though no one else in his family liked footy) because they were the underdogs, and was fortunate enough to then see some finals action in about 1960 from memory. He managed to convince Mum to swing her allegiances from the Blues in the 70s (now that was a smart move - power house side winning premierships over to the Roys!). Hence the family were Roys and thus I became a Roy.

In hindsight, as a supporter of the underdog in other sports that I don't have a great interest in, and also not following 'the crowd' (into the Pies or Blues or Hawks or North, who were 'the' sides of the era when I was growing up, and every kid followed them) barracking for the Roys was a fortunate-mirror of my life attitude..... through following the Roys I have seen the darkest of days, yet I am still proud of the fact that I am a Royboy to the core, and continue to support sides that reflect the Royboy spirit.

Dad was a Carlton fan growing up in country Victoria, but when he moved to Melbourne for teacher's college he moved in near the Junction Oval. He began going to a few games and fell in love! I quickly followed in his footsteps and have followed them all my life. Once the merger hit, I continued to follow the Lions, dad on the otherhand decided to throw his support behind Hawthorn as he thought they would be the next team to fold and he could become a football martyr!

Originally posted by cjwalkley
Dad was a Carlton fan growing up in country Victoria, but when he moved to Melbourne for teacher's college he moved in near the Junction Oval. He began going to a few games and fell in love! I quickly followed in his footsteps and have followed them all my life. Once the merger hit, I continued to follow the Lions, dad on the otherhand decided to throw his support behind Hawthorn as he thought they would be the next team to fold and he could become a football martyr!

Love your Dad's approach! Where in country Vic was he from?

Originally posted by Broken
Family tradition, my Dad brought me along to Fitzroy games, his Dad did likewise and grew up in Fitzroy, so it was their suburb their team.

Ditto for me. Father and Grandfather both followed the Roys. Colours, Lion emblem, Name were the best in the League.

My Grandpa followed the Roys (who started following Fitzroy, only because he was taken to a few Fitzroy games by his best mate, Rod), and although nearly all of my family barracked for Essendon (my mother was even in the cheersquad back in the 60's), I decided to follow Fitzroy after my Grandpa took me to a game when I was about 6 (our last year in the finals), and I loved the colours and the fact that there (sadly now) were so few of us compared to the sheep that followed the bigger clubs, even though I have toyed with barracking for Essendon, and in 1997, I went to quite a few Hawthorn games, but after a two year hiatus after the merger, I decided to barrack for the Lions once more.

My connection with Fitzroy is that my dad barracked for them. Even though I cheer for the Swans now, being Sydney born and bred, I still feel the connection with Fitzroy.

My dad says that his allegiances become mixed when he goes to a Sydney vs Brisbane match and talks to fans who like him are Fitzroy fans from way back.

I also inherited Fitzroy supporting from my father, who inherited it from his father. My father was a professional runner & used to train on the Brunswick St Oval in the 1940's. The Roys invited him to train with them, but he decided to stick with running. His uncle also played for Fitzroy's reserves.

My great-great-grandfather moved from Horsham to Fitzroy, in 1892. My paternal forebears followed Fitzroy from the time they were in the VFA. My mother grew up in Fitzroy also.

My father played for Fitzroy 2nds for just over a season from 1931 onwards. He then wrecked his knee.

I started going to the footy from 1955 onwards. There was never any doubt about whom I was going to follow.

Originally posted by skilts
My great-great-grandfather moved from Horsham to Fitzroy, in 1892. My paternal forebears followed Fitzroy from the time they were in the VFA. My mother grew up in Fitzroy also.

My father played for Fitzroy 2nds for just over a season from 1931 onwards. He then wrecked his knee.

I started going to the footy from 1955 onwards. There was never any doubt about whom I was going to follow.

1955 was the year University Reds commenced! Must have been a big decision :)

skilts you would've seen my favourite teacher I ever had from school. Jack Gervesoni, played with the Maroons in the 50s, played about 70 games. I remember him because he asked who the class supported at the start of the year. First asking for Hawthorn supporters then Carlton, Collingwood, Essendon and Fitzroy. When I was the only kid to put my hand up he told me I was on easy street all year because he played with them.

He also told me the club song was written on a trip to Geelong (still yet to verify but sounds good).