Why the negativity towards Eade?

Originally posted by Pred
Bizarre that they would interview him then :confused:

Eade fan here by the way. Hope u dont get him ;)
Reckon the Crows are over an issues they may have had with Eade a few years back. It's not like he stabbed the club in the back or anything serious.

Re: Re: Why the negativity towards Eade?

Originally posted by Bojangles17
popular opinion is that the crows post would be about the worst going...list is chronic and expectations always rampant....Vic coaches are simply in a NO win situation.....John Cahill would be more chance than eade/wallace
You are clueless about football in SA if this is an example of your footy knowledge. Ayres lasted longer at the Crows than any other coach in the history of AFC - & also longer than most coaches last in the AFL.

You over-rate your own list, as the Tigers list is far worse than the Crows IMO. Certainly wouldn't be swapping them!!!

What Eade did in 1999 could probably help him at other clubs as it proves he is a loyal man, not someone who will just jump ship at the next best available offer...Adelaide have seen this at first hand and obviously it hasnt affected their decision making as he was in town yesterday i think.
What Eade did in 99 was the right thing to do, i wouldnt want a coach of the AFC jump out part way through a contract to join another club, why should we expect any different from another club. The AFC are not that childish, this job offer will be a complete fresh start for both of them.

Originally posted by Wayne's-World
No doubt Wallace would prefer the Crows!!!

His decision to take the Hawthorn job will be purely based on Adelaide's in-action and in-decisiveness:(

Reading between the lines, I suspect that is the intention of the Crows hierarchy to delay the selection process so as to hopefully eliminate the only real threats to Craig (Wallace and Eade). This will leave only untried coaches/assistants as Craigy's competition and it would be far easier to sell "the devil you know" to disgruntled supporters rather than if they had to choose between Wallace and Craig.

Both Wallace and Eade should be snapped up by round 20 allowing the Crows management to appoint Craig in week commencing August 16 - the week after Adelaide plays and wins comfortably as expected against Richmond.

I may be way off the mark but.................

You could be right on there and i bloody hope thats not the case.
You would have to think that Wallace is the best coach available so why not snap him up straight away?
You would have to say that Hawthorn and Richmond have only sacked their respective coaches now rather than later because Adelaide have. They are being the smart ones and getting in before Adelaide, i would not be suprised if we are left with just Craigy. I have nothing against the bloke and I think he is a great assistant coach but i dont think he is the best available coach and thats who we should be going after and straight away.

Originally posted by tatts00
You could be right on there and i bloody hope thats not the case.
You would have to think that Wallace is the best coach available so why not snap him up straight away?
You would have to say that Hawthorn and Richmond have only sacked their respective coaches now rather than later because Adelaide have. They are being the smart ones and getting in before Adelaide, i would not be suprised if we are left with just Craigy. I have nothing against the bloke and I think he is a great assistant coach but i dont think he is the best available coach and thats who we should be going after and straight away.

tatts, as you know, the Crows do not have a cash flow problem and there is no salary cap when it comes to coaches. if they were fair dinkum about Wallace (and I agree he is the best choice by a mile) they could offer him a contract he could not refuse and would get him - but have they made a deal with Craig.

I feel they have done that as well, and thats what annoys me with the AFC. I dont understand their reasoning at all.
At the end of 1996 we went out and got the best coach available and look what happened.
Its just the whole boys club thing going on down there.
Craig, great bloke, great ASSISTANT coach, but he is not the man to lead the AFC in 2005, why can everyone see that but not the board?

can someone tell me why we have to get an established coach in the first place , all this talk about eade and wallace i think the crows should find someone that can develop with the squad not just develop the squad, look at pagan at the roo's he developed with the squad and turned them into a premier side in the 90's i think getting a first year coach (not fussed if it craig or not), would bring a refreshing change , not some sacked coach who has baggage from there last job and still want to prove their game plan works and that they should not have been sacked

Its not about finding a coach with experience or not but its all about finding the best available coach there is.
Both Wallace and Eade are proven coaches at AFL level, Craig, although not his own fault does not have experience. The AFC would be taking a risk with him, it may well pay off, but why take the risk when you have 2 proven coaches just sitting on the sidelines waiting.
It would be interesting to see who the other candidates were when Pagan got the job, was there a proven coach amongst the lot?

yeah thats a good point , from what i remember the crows had just thrashed Nth Melbourne and they dumped the coach at the time and given pagan the job - not sure they looked to hard !!
i suppose he had the benefit of being the reserves coach - which really is similar to assistant coaches these days - as long as gary Mcintosh doesnt get the job