Why the "We took a hard-line" argument doesn't cut it

• Thread starter Thread starter btdg

parrot said:
Yes we lost getting a 3rd or 4th round pick for our 2004 #8 pick. We also missed out on losing one of the most talented young KP defenders in the comp. Both look like re-signing now. If that's a loss, I want more of them. :)
I thought Bower and Setanta could easily replace Thornton?

Hawk_Hero_Win said:
How can retaing players who want to leave be good for a club? (yes thorton would of been nice at the hawks, but nothing ventured nothing gain).

Carlton is the biggest Losers of the trade period overall.

1. You can redraft the one of two players who wanted to leave and not even team mate loyalty could change that fact.

2. Yes you can use your 1 Psp & may keep them both, but they dont really want to be their as they have both said they wanted out.

3. Carlton has lost out on 4..... draft picks. As they may have to use pick 1 in the preseason draft to keep one of the two players. So thats four high picks you've missed out on. Your drafy picks could of been this:

1, 17, 19, 23, 24, 33, 35, 51, 67

1 to 35 should give you at least a couple of champs to be and service-able players!

Pagan have you just signed you're own death warrant as coach of the blues?

Man what a short memory you must have. You talk about loyalty and disgruntled players, **** it was only a few years ago that Hawthorn traded Trent Croad (a first round pick) against his and many other Hawthorn people's wishes. A few years later you traded to get him back. Was Croad still dirty on the club. Not much loyalty towards your good players I would suggest.

Besides once we explain to BT than it is better to live in Melbourne than Tassie he will see the light;)

SA HAWK said:
Look through old threads and you will find them.
Your statement. Point it out to me. I know some said that if he wanted to leave, then he should basically **** off. They get angry at what they perceive is disloyalty. I don't know of any who said he was not a good player and now say exactly the opposite. The ones that bagged him are the ones now lamenting the missed opportunity to get draft picks.

As I said, we are not a collective group when you are discussing individual posts. If poster A says that Thornton is overrated during trade week and poster B says 'welcome back' after Trade week, they are two distinct opinions from two distinct person. As I said, if someone is a hypocrite over this, expose them, don't generalise by talking about Blues hypocrites in general.

See I know we have 3 groups here, the left, the right and the conservative centre that prefers to wait before lashing out one way or the other. I'd be surprised if anyone other than an impulsive teenaged supporter here or there did anything like the backflip you are suggesting. To make that observation, you must have read something from a poster, remembered the username and saw that same person change their mind. A general sense that the supporters were saying different things as a group does not equate to hypocrisy.

Blue Thunder said:
Man what a short memory you must have. You talk about loyalty and disgruntled players, **** it was only a few years ago that Hawthorn traded Trent Croad (a first round pick) against his and many other Hawthorn people's wishes. A few years later you traded to get him back. Was Croad still dirty on the club. Not much loyalty towards your good players I would suggest.

Besides once we explain to BT than it is better to live in Melbourne than Tassie he will see the light;)

I agree with you over the trent croad issues, i was pissed off like nothing else and was happy to see him return!

I believe the hawks have learnt there lesson since then and Mangement has also changed.

The diffence bettween carlton and the hawks is the blue boys waited to leave the club, trent croad want too stay!

Hawk_Hero_Win said:
I agree with you over the trent croad issues, i was pissed off like nothing else and was happy to see him return!

I believe the hawks have learnt there lesson since then and Mangement has also changed.

The diffence bettween carlton and the hawks is the blue boys waited to leave the club, trent croad want too stay!
And why did Everett, Thompson, McPharlin and Hay want out of Hawthorn?

Glass houses.

cypher said:
And why did Everett, Thompson, McPharlin and Hay want out of Hawthorn?

Glass houses.

They left for the following reasona;
Everitt = run of sooking as hawks wouldn't give him a 2 year deal.
Thompson = couldn't handle his depression.
Hay = was pushed i believe after a few error of judgement and attitude problems (hawks got it right).
Mcpharlin = Was a mummys boy and wanted to return home.
Chicky -= Well his brother passed away and he needed to go home
Nothing to do with the hawks winning lost, while these guys went through trying times, i believe carlton has player have had a worst time thanks to their mangement!

Well done on keeping thorton, somethings gone write for you (pagans lost the plot, get a new coach!)